BBB Accredited Business since

Fence Connection, Inc.

Phone: (847) 622-8860 Fax: (847) 622-0479 970 Villa St, Elgin, IL 60120 http://www.fence-connection-inc.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fence Connection, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fence Connection, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fence Connection, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 02, 1996 Business started: 08/10/1990 Business started locally: 08/10/1990 Business incorporated 05/30/1995 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Juan Escobar, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Juan Escobar, President
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence Staining Fence Posts & Fittings Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fences - Vinyl Fences - Wood Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)


Additional Locations

  • 970 Villa St

    Elgin, IL 60120 (847) 622-8860

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2015 Delivery Issues
12/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid approximately $5,000.00 to Fence Connection to install my fence. On several occasions I have contacted Fence Connection to have someone from their office to come out and repair the fence they installed. Appointments were made with Fence Connections and on every scheduled appointments NO ONE NEVERS SHOWS UP. They do not even have the decency to contact me. I am continually sitting at home waiting for someone to show and it never happens. I never got a follow-up customer service call to see if the person showed up or just a simple courtesy call. I have also left several messages for the President/Owner to address this matter and again no return phone calls. Each time I speak with someone from their office I am constantly being told say that someone will be at the scheduled appointment and the President/Owner will contact me. Fence Connection is not standing behind the services they proclaim. Customer Service and assistance to repair their fence is HORRIBLE.. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Desired Settlement: I want Fence Connection to come out immediately as they repeatedly fail to do so when I schedule appointments and fix my fence that I paid approximately $5,000.00 for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/12/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******************** There had been an oversight in not responding to BBB on Ms. *****'s complaint. We had a meeting with her, or her husband, on Monday 10/21/2014 which resulted in a contract for repairs. After extensive research, in July, October, and November, we were finally able to locate a comparable product for her repairs - the original manufacturer of her PVC fence is no longer in business. Ms. *****'s fence repairs are scheduled for the week of December 8th, 2014 - Ms. ***** seems to be agreeable to this schedule.

6/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Fence connection in late April to get an estimate on lowering 5 fence posts which had raised out of the ground during the winter. *** came to our house and gave my husband an estimate to lower 5 posts between 3 sections of fence and the gate. During the estimate he stated that the work would take 5-5 1/2 hours to complete and would require that they dis-assemble the sections of fencing in order to set the posts in concrete.Based on this amount of work the estimate we were given was $700 to complete We received the estimate which was good for 30 days. We schedule the work to be completed on Friday May 9 and paid the $200 deposit. We confirmed the appointment and expected them to show up at 8:30 on May 9. Due to rain they did not show and never contacted us to say they would need to re-schedule. My husband contacted Fence Connection at 10:30 that morning to see why they hadn't showed and that is when they said they didn't send crews out. My husband got angry and *** at Fence Connection hung up on him. I took over communication at this point and called again to see when they would rescheduled. After 2 more phone calls they told me they would be at my house Sat May 10. The crew showed up at X:XX-X:XX and began work. By 9:25 they came to to tell me the work was complete and needed the $500 balance. They did not need to do any of the dis-assembly work originally included in the estimate and simply dug around the posts,pounded down the fence posts and set them in concrete. I felt the original estimate was way overstated and that a partial refund was in order. I called and talked to the woman answering the phone Sat May 10 and explained that the actual work took less than an hour and felt I should get a refund since the original estimate was based on 5-5 1/2 hours labor. She agreed and said she would talk to **** the manager when he got in.I realized late that day I had not heard from ****, so called at 5pm and left a message on his voicemail. I never got a response so called the next week several times. I talked to ****, he asked me who did the estimate which was *** and said he would have to pull my file and look into the matter.I told him the woman who answered my last call told me my file was on his desk so he shouldn't have trouble finding it. Again I never got a return call so followed up again on Wed or Thurs and was told I had to talk to **** and he was on the phone with a customer. On Friday I called again and was told **** was out and would have to return my call. I said that obviously won't happen because he hasn't returned a call yet and if I didn't get a response I was going to file a complaint on Monday. She put me on hold and said she would call ****. When she returned to the phone she said **** was going to send me a check for $150. I said that wan't acceptable since the total job was 1/5th the time they estimated. She said they usually have a minimum job fee of $300. I feel this is the fee I should have been charged as this job turned out to be minimal and wanted a detailed billing of the charges. I did not hear back Friday afternoon or Sat as requested which is why I am now filing a complaint today. I feel I have given Fence Connection ample opportunities to resolve this issue satisfactorily and they have not made any attempts to resolve this issue. I feel I am entitled to a refund of $400.

Desired Settlement: As stated above I feel I am entitled to a partial refund of $400 based on a minimum job fee of $300 which is what the Fence Connection representative communicated. The job took less than 1 hour to complete based an original estimate of 5-5 1/2 hours and only required the amount of cement to set 5 fence posts. I feel the $150 refund I was offered after several phone calls all initiated by myself is insufficient and was simply a way to try and get me to not file a complaint which I feel is legitimate.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/20) */ The minimum trip charge for a repair is $350.00 plus $100.00 per post totaling $850.00 giving her our best price of $700.00. The contract that the customer signed specifies and says the following, " 5 post move & fix, OR MAY need replace." The time to complete was only estimated by the sales rep. depending on whether or not the entire posts would have to be replaced. Based on what our foreman has told the office, the posts were still in shape and did not need replacement. Being that the consumer signed a contract with those specifications and that amount Fence Connection should not be liable in any refund. But when it was brought to the owner's attention he made the courtesy of offering a refund in the amount of $150.00 but the consumer did not accept it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason I do not accept this response is because I did not refuse the $150 refund. I told the woman on the phone (due to **** never returning one of my calls or being available when I called) was that I didn't think $150 was enough given the amount of labor and work involved compared to the estimate and that I felt I deserved a detail of the charges in the bill of how they came up with the original $700 estimate. I said if I didn't get that response by Monday (this was Friday morning)I would be forced to file a complaint with the BBB which is what I did when once again I never received a call back. What I asked for and never got (contrary to the response above from Fence Connection) was a return phone call or a detail of charges. My complaint is as much about the customer service of this company as the fact that I believe we were misled with the complexity of this job and therefore overcharged. Had we known the fence did not need to be dismantled and could have easily been repaired within an hour we would never have accepted a $700 estimate. Also had we known what the detail of the bill was a min $350 service call plus $100 per post (detail that was not in the original estimate)we would have reconsidered. Knowing what I know now I could have had a handyman do the work for $225. I believe given the job took less than an hour I should have only been charged the $350 call charge plus the cost of cement to set the posts. At this point I believe at least a $250 refund is a fairer solution. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/06/23) */ Fence Connection will refund $250.00 to customer with a check in the mail. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We accept the $250 refund and will look for the check in the mail.

2/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Invoice no. 13-312. I paid $1,575. The amount due was $1500 after 4 ft less fencing was installed. I have all documents and invoices.

Desired Settlement: $75

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/11) */ Check #XXXXX- $75.00 has gone out in yesterday's mail. Mr. ********* should be receiving it if not today, tomorrow. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received payment.

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Fence Connection, Inc installed a fence on my Neighbors property. In the process destroyed and/or removed trees on my property w/o my consent. I have tried to contact the owner Juan 2x now and have not heard back. I have had two tree companies (Wasco and davey trees) look at the trees and said the onces that were cut are permanentely damaged and need to be replaced. The both provided rough est. of cost.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for Fence Connection to pay for the replacement of the trees and bushes that they removed/damaged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@yahoo.com We installed a fence at the neighbors home. The tress in question we hanging over the neighbors property in the line where the fence was going. We could not install the fence with the limbs in the way. We did not trim all the trees that are overhanging into the property next door. The trees were cut in a professional manner and only the limbs that were in the way of the new fence. We were doing a service to our customer. The home owner still has trees that are over hanging into the neighbors property, which gives the other homeowner a right to cut anything over the property line. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** writes : "did not trim all the trees that are overhanging into the property next door." I have photos of his employees doing exactly what he states they did not do. They cut branches that extended toward my property. They have NO right to do so from a legal standpoint and they were NOT done in a professional manner. I have two of the most reputable companies Davey Trees and Wasco nursery that have noted the damage. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/11/01) */ We have never received a written estimate for the tress replacement, we would like to see that before we make a decision on this matter. We have turned everything over for our attorneys to review and determine IF we are in the wrong.

9/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted Fence Connection to install a 31' x 42" fence around our patio. They proceeded to install 6 panels of fencing when 7 panels were required as per drawing. Was told they would put a "Rush" on the 7th panel. We have been in communication with the salesperson who wrote the contract and who promised the "Rush" order and the person who installed the fence. We keep getting excuses after excuses as to why the fence panel hasn't come into the factory. As far as I am concerned this is very poor business practice on the part of Fence Connection and I would certainly not recommend them to anyone else. Hopefully something can be done soon to correct this problem to complete my fence installation.

Desired Settlement: I would like my fence to be completed per contract agreement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/27) */ Job is completed, the material was delayed at the factory due to the color. Everything has come and the job is completed Final Consumer Response /* (450, 10, 2013/09/27) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

9/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a fence repair contract on 7/2/2013 with Fence Connection. Every time I called the contractor, **** *******, to inquire when the work would be done I was told that the material was on back order. On 8/20 I spoke with another employee (***) and he said that **** did not even order the material until 8/3. I have left numerous messages both on ****'s cell and at their office to speak with **** and have never received a call back. The last straw for me is that I received an email from the company stating that the work would be complete on 8/16 and it has not been done and I have had no communication with ****.

Desired Settlement: I want a straight answer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/03) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@yahoo.com We have tried to match the existing fence, but the product is no longer available. The material that was used on the existing fence is no longer in stock and can not be matched. There is nothing else that can be done to the fence without replacing the whole fence.

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service