BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2013

Fence Connection, Inc.

Phone: (847) 622-8860Fax: (847) 622-0479970 Villa St, ElginIL 60120-8147 Send email to Fence Connection, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2013

BBB has determined that Fence Connection, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fence Connection, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fence Connection, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
12/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid approximately $5,000.00 to Fence Connection to install my fence. On several occasions I have contacted Fence Connection to have someone from their office to come out and repair the fence they installed. Appointments were made with Fence Connections and on every scheduled appointments NO ONE NEVERS SHOWS UP. They do not even have the decency to contact me. I am continually sitting at home waiting for someone to show and it never happens. I never got a follow-up customer service call to see if the person showed up or just a simple courtesy call. I have also left several messages for the President/Owner to address this matter and again no return phone calls. Each time I speak with someone from their office I am constantly being told say that someone will be at the scheduled appointment and the President/Owner will contact me. Fence Connection is not standing behind the services they proclaim. Customer Service and assistance to repair their fence is HORRIBLE.. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Desired Settlement
I want Fence Connection to come out immediately as they repeatedly fail to do so when I schedule appointments and fix my fence that I paid approximately $5,000.00 for.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********************
There had been an oversight in not responding to BBB on Ms. *****'s complaint. We had a meeting with her, or her husband, on Monday 10/21/2014 which resulted in a contract for repairs.

After extensive research, in July, October, and November, we were finally able to locate a comparable product for her repairs - the original manufacturer of her PVC fence is no longer in business.

Ms. *****'s fence repairs are scheduled for the week of December 8th, 2014 - Ms. ***** seems to be agreeable to this schedule.

06/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted Fence connection in late April to get an estimate on lowering 5 fence posts which had raised out of the ground during the winter. *** came to our house and gave my husband an estimate to lower 5 posts between 3 sections of fence and the gate. During the estimate he stated that the work would take 5-5 1/2 hours to complete and would require that they dis-assemble the sections of fencing in order to set the posts in concrete.Based on this amount of work the estimate we were given was $700 to complete We received the estimate which was good for 30 days. We schedule the work to be completed on Friday May 9 and paid the $200 deposit. We confirmed the appointment and expected them to show up at 8:30 on May 9. Due to rain they did not show and never contacted us to say they would need to re-schedule. My husband contacted Fence Connection at 10:30 that morning to see why they hadn't showed and that is when they said they didn't send crews out. My husband got angry and *** at Fence Connection hung up on him. I took over communication at this point and called again to see when they would rescheduled. After 2 more phone calls they told me they would be at my house Sat May 10. The crew showed up at X:XX-X:XX and began work. By 9:25 they came to to tell me the work was complete and needed the $500 balance. They did not need to do any of the dis-assembly work originally included in the estimate and simply dug around the posts,pounded down the fence posts and set them in concrete. I felt the original estimate was way overstated and that a partial refund was in order. I called and talked to the woman answering the phone Sat May 10 and explained that the actual work took less than an hour and felt I should get a refund since the original estimate was based on 5-5 1/2 hours labor. She agreed and said she would talk to **** the manager when he got in.I realized late that day I had not heard from ****, so called at 5pm and left a message on his voicemail. I never got a response so called the next week several times. I talked to ****, he asked me who did the estimate which was *** and said he would have to pull my file and look into the matter.I told him the woman who answered my last call told me my file was on his desk so he shouldn't have trouble finding it. Again I never got a return call so followed up again on Wed or Thurs and was told I had to talk to **** and he was on the phone with a customer. On Friday I called again and was told **** was out and would have to return my call. I said that obviously won't happen because he hasn't returned a call yet and if I didn't get a response I was going to file a complaint on Monday. She put me on hold and said she would call ****. When she returned to the phone she said **** was going to send me a check for $150. I said that wan't acceptable since the total job was 1/5th the time they estimated. She said they usually have a minimum job fee of $300. I feel this is the fee I should have been charged as this job turned out to be minimal and wanted a detailed billing of the charges. I did not hear back Friday afternoon or Sat as requested which is why I am now filing a complaint today. I feel I have given Fence Connection ample opportunities to resolve this issue satisfactorily and they have not made any attempts to resolve this issue. I feel I am entitled to a refund of $400.

Desired Settlement
As stated above I feel I am entitled to a partial refund of $400 based on a minimum job fee of $300 which is what the Fence Connection representative communicated. The job took less than 1 hour to complete based an original estimate of 5-5 1/2 hours and only required the amount of cement to set 5 fence posts. I feel the $150 refund I was offered after several phone calls all initiated by myself is insufficient and was simply a way to try and get me to not file a complaint which I feel is legitimate.

Business Response
The minimum trip charge for a repair is $350.00 plus $100.00 per post totaling $850.00 giving her our best price of $700.00. The contract that the customer signed specifies and says the following, " 5 post move & fix, OR MAY need replace." The time to complete was only estimated by the sales rep. depending on whether or not the entire posts would have to be replaced. Based on what our foreman has told the office, the posts were still in shape and did not need replacement. Being that the consumer signed a contract with those specifications and that amount Fence Connection should not be liable in any refund. But when it was brought to the owner's attention he made the courtesy of offering a refund in the amount of $150.00 but the consumer did not accept it.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason I do not accept this response is because I did not refuse the $150 refund. I told the woman on the phone (due to **** never returning one of my calls or being available when I called) was that I didn't think $150 was enough given the amount of labor and work involved compared to the estimate and that I felt I deserved a detail of the charges in the bill of how they came up with the original $700 estimate. I said if I didn't get that response by Monday (this was Friday morning)I would be forced to file a complaint with the BBB which is what I did when once again I never received a call back. What I asked for and never got (contrary to the response above from Fence Connection) was a return phone call or a detail of charges. My complaint is as much about the customer service of this company as the fact that I believe we were misled with the complexity of this job and therefore overcharged. Had we known the fence did not need to be dismantled and could have easily been repaired within an hour we would never have accepted a $700 estimate. Also had we known what the detail of the bill was a min $350 service call plus $100 per post (detail that was not in the original estimate)we would have reconsidered. Knowing what I know now I could have had a handyman do the work for $225. I believe given the job took less than an hour I should have only been charged the $350 call charge plus the cost of cement to set the posts. At this point I believe at least a $250 refund is a fairer solution.

Final Business Response
Fence Connection will refund $250.00 to customer with a check in the mail.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We accept the $250 refund and will look for the check in the mail.

02/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Invoice no. 13-312. I paid $1,575. The amount due was $1500 after 4 ft less fencing was installed. I have all documents and invoices.

Desired Settlement
$75

Business Response
Check #XXXXX- $75.00 has gone out in yesterday's mail. Mr. ********* should be receiving it if not today, tomorrow.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received payment.

11/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Fence Connection, Inc installed a fence on my Neighbors property. In the process destroyed and/or removed trees on my property w/o my consent. I have tried to contact the owner Juan 2x now and have not heard back. I have had two tree companies (Wasco and davey trees) look at the trees and said the onces that were cut are permanentely damaged and need to be replaced. The both provided rough est. of cost.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for Fence Connection to pay for the replacement of the trees and bushes that they removed/damaged.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@yahoo.com
We installed a fence at the neighbors home. The tress in question we hanging over the neighbors property in the line where the fence was going. We could not install the fence with the limbs in the way. We did not trim all the trees that are overhanging into the property next door. The trees were cut in a professional manner and only the limbs that were in the way of the new fence. We were doing a service to our customer. The home owner still has trees that are over hanging into the neighbors property, which gives the other homeowner a right to cut anything over the property line.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** writes : "did not trim all the trees that are overhanging into the property next door." I have photos of his employees doing exactly what he states they did not do. They cut branches that extended toward my property. They have NO right to do so from a legal standpoint and they were NOT done in a professional manner. I have two of the most reputable companies Davey Trees and Wasco nursery that have noted the damage.

Final Business Response
We have never received a written estimate for the tress replacement, we would like to see that before we make a decision on this matter. We have turned everything over for our attorneys to review and determine IF we are in the wrong.

09/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We contracted Fence Connection to install a 31' x 42" fence around our patio. They proceeded to install 6 panels of fencing when 7 panels were required as per drawing. Was told they would put a "Rush" on the 7th panel.

We have been in communication with the salesperson who wrote the contract and who promised the "Rush" order and the person who installed the fence. We keep getting excuses after excuses as to why the fence panel hasn't come into the factory. As far as I am concerned this is very poor business practice on the part of Fence Connection and I would certainly not recommend them to anyone else. Hopefully something can be done soon to correct this problem to complete my fence installation.

Desired Settlement
I would like my fence to be completed per contract agreement.

Business Response
Job is completed, the material was delayed at the factory due to the color. Everything has come and the job is completed

Final Consumer Response
The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fence Contractors, Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors, Fences - Wood, Fences - Vinyl, Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors, Fence Posts & Fittings, Fence Staining

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/02/1996Business started: 08/10/1990
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1995, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Juan Escobar (President)
Business Category

Fence Contractors, Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors, Fences - Wood, Fences - Vinyl, Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors, Fence Posts & Fittings, Fence Staining

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fence Connection, Inc.

970 Villa St

Elgin, IL 60120-8147

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 970 Villa St 

    Elgin, IL 60120-8147(847) 622-8860
    Fax: (847) 622-0479

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fence Connection, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Fence Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.