This business is not BBB accredited.

Allied Fence

Phone: (224) 321-4462 View Additional Phone Numbers 260 E Belvidere Rd, Grayslake, il 60030 http://www.alliedfencecorp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Allied Fence include:

  • Failure to respond to 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Allied Fence include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allied Fence
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2006 Business started: 04/01/2005 Business started locally: 04/01/2005
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Melodia Ruvalcaba, Principal
Contact Information
Principal: Melodia Ruvalcaba, Principal
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence Posts & Fittings Fence Material Gates Aluminum Products Iron Work All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
Allied Fence Company

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    260 E Belvidere Rd

    Grayslake, il 60030 (224) 321-4462

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The bad experience started when Allied Fence showed up without notice to install the fence. I came home to see that my hoses had been moved around to a broken spigot and my basement flooded. There were also some issues with the fence like a huge hole, broken gate and very loose posts. I called numerous times over the next 2 days and sent an email. When I finally got a reply, it only stated that the work was not finished and would be in the next day or 2. I asked that ****** (owner) let me know when they would be back as I wanted to be home. She said that she would. I asked if they had insurance to cover the flood and she said they did have insurance but they will not cover it. I reminded her that the signed contract specifically said that Allied Fence was responsible for all materials and tools needed to complete the fence and that it did not state they would be using my water or electricity to which she replied that they needed water for the cement. I came home from work 2 days later to find that they had been back and fixed the hole and gate and installed the tension wire but the posts were still very loose. I sent another email explaining my disappointment with no reply.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund or $400 in order to pay the person that had to come out to pull my carpet and dry my basement from the flood. The village will be out to inspect the fence soon and if they decide the posts are not to code because they are so loose I would expect Allied Fence to come back and fix the posts.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/27) */ To install the fence posts we needed to use water. Every company will do the same thing we did. We tried to use the water faucet that the hose was connected to and it did not work. The faucet on the other side of the house did turn on and that is where we got water from. Ms. ****** did not inform us that the faucet had a broken pipe. Everything looked normal from the outside. We are not responsible for the carpet getting wet or damaged. We will however warranty the fence and take care of any issues. We have not heard from the village and we do not expect to. The fence was installed up to code. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

10/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They over charged me $35 from the actual contract price. When contacted, the lady( ******) said the charge was for the village permit fee. I told her that I applied and paid for the permit and she said it was a mistake from her side and that she will refund my money back to my credit card. It has been more than a month and she never did.

Desired Settlement: Like she (******) said, she has to refund my $35 back to my credit card.

10/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've called every week for a month and a half (May & June) regarding fixing my locks on my gates and replacing a cracked railing which was cracked when installed. They said they would be coming every weekend and never showed. I finally had someone fix the gates locks because I couldn't wait any longer to get in and out of my yard. In July someone showed up to fix the locks which I already had fixed and knew nothing about fixing the cracked rail. And by the way, my fence is still under warranty until August of 2014. I certainly would like this taken care of soon.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of one fence railing.

9/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company took money and did not complete project.They left lots of gaps between ground and fence,left garbage and trew stones under the tree.The did not come to do it when they promised first.I had to call several times to find out why and if they are coming.After I said i am ancelling my deposit they came and did a veery ugly job. I calle dand asked to come to fix it and after numerous messages and phone calls finaly got in touch and was promised that the worker ids coming and will fix everything.Nobody came and now they do not respond at all,they did charge my credit card and I tried and tried to call but none of the number even has space to leave a message and nobody is responding. Even though I spoke to manager ******* and she asked me noy to write any bad report and she is the one who promised that it will be fixed next day I still have not resolved the issue.This project was upposed to be done in June and they did it at the end of July and now it is mid august and I am still struggling to get it done.They have been lying from date one and plus did very poor job installing fence. -------------------------------------------------- 9/3/13 info from consumer: I called several times and had man to come to finish all the problems but he did not finish ,he fixed some areas but left few unfinished and did not pick up huge stones that they threw under the tree when they were digging and building fence.I am so tired of dealing with this company and want this to be over ASAP or I will requests my money back

Desired Settlement: finish the job

9/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired Allied to put up fence while creating two gates, one being larger than the other. Within two days panels fell off, they came and put those back up and said they secured all with screws, not just the nails. Their workmanship was poor so I made pictures and numerous visits to Prospect Ave. So poor that the panels started coming off again. After looking at the repair I see that not all the panels were secured with screws and some of the fasteners, be screws or nails, don't even go into the posts thus the panels are falling off. I've called numerous times and set up appointments but they fail to come through with talking about this issue further. First part of this complaint is the panels falling off, currently there is one completely off and at least two that in the process of coming off. Second part is one of the gates they 'built' has never closed properly. The way they created the double door gate doesn't coinside with the hardware they put on. For almost the life of the fence, I've had that gate tied together with rope in order to keep it closed. Third part of this issue is that at they haven't reimbursed me for the hardware that is stated in the contract of 11/12/11 which is $98.40. I've given them two chances to fix the workmanship so now I don't want them back to fix it, I want to be reimbursed some or all of my money so I can hire someone else to fix the mess that Allied did. I've made numerous visits to their Prospect Ave address, which is a house. The person I talked to told me that that location was only used for overflow phone calls and that the Home Office was located in Kenosha, WI. That is totally untrue. I left pictures of the workmanship, called and got appointments but they are not responding. I talked to them in February this year and someone was supposed to come out to look at the fence, she never came. I called and got an appoinment to meet her at my address, she never showed up. I've mentioned the $98.40 that they owe me but never have received it. I'm tired of fighting with them over this. When talking to them before the contract, they were complimenting themselves on what good work they do and how fast they can put up a fence. I think they work on their craftmanship and customer service and not so much on how quick they can do a job. I would NEVER recommend them to anyone and have only kept their name on my fence so people can see who not to hire for thier fence job. All they have to do is look at the loose and missing panels.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for the $98.40 that they have owed me since the beginning of the contract. I'm also looking for a refund of, if not all of the cost I paid to put up this fence, then most of it. I'm asking for this reimbursment because of two reasons; They didn't fullfil their promise to put up a fence that would stay up and now I have to pay out more money in order to get this mess fixed.

9/9/2013 Delivery Issues
9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues