Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Life Fitness

Phone: (847) 288-3627 Columbia Centre III  9525 Bryn Mawr Ave, Rosemont, IL 60018 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lifefitness.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Life Fitness is a health company which sells exercise equipment to residential and commercial customers. This company serves a national audience as well as customers throughout the Chicagoland area, including in Schaumburg, Arlington Heights, Rolling Meadows, Mt Prospect, Palatine, Rolling Meadows, Evanston, Skokie, Niles, Libertyville, Crystal Lake, Bloomingdale, Carpentersville, Burlington, Joliet, Aurora, St Charles, West Chicago, Wheaton, Lake Forest, Deerfield, Highland Park, Wilmette, Winnetka, Prospect Heights, Palatine, Romeoville, Bolingbrook, Rockford, DeKalb, and Oak Park. Products available from this company include treadmills, stair climbers, exercise bikes, bench press machines, weight racks, cable machines, and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Life Fitness meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Life Fitness include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Life Fitness
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2004 Business started: 06/01/1977 Business started locally: 06/01/1977
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lauren Platt, PR & Social Media Specialist Mr. Christopher E. Clawson, President, Life Fitness Division Ms. Sue Rakoczy, Supervisor Accounts Payable Mr. Tom Zentefis, VP, Customer Service the Americas
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lauren Platt, PR & Social Media Specialist
Business Category

Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales Exercise Equipment & Machines - Service & Repair Health & Fitness Program Consultants Sporting and Recreational Goods and Supplies Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423910)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Life Fitness has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • Columbia Centre III
    9525 Bryn Mawr Ave

    Rosemont, IL 60018

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an equipment mat from the LifeFitness online store on July 1, 2015. On July 15th I still had not received my merchandise. On July 16th I received a telephone call from a LifeFitness representative stating that he would like to "install" my equipment on July 21st. The equipment in question is a floor mat that requires neither installation nor someone from LifeFitness to enter my home. I purchased the mat assuming that it would be shipped to my home using a common commercial carrier like *** or *****. When I contacted LifeFitness Customer Service on July 20th I was told by the Customer Service Representative that I could not obtain a refund because the item had already "shipped". I explained to him that I had not taken delivery of the item and that I would not allow a representative from their company into my home. His response was to ask "well, then how do you expect to receive your merchandise?" He then transferred me to another person's voicemail after telling me that someone else would have to process my refund. I'm tired of being run around in circles by this company.

Desired Settlement: A satisfactory outcome would be for LifeFitness to keep their merchandise (since I have not, and will not, accept delivery) and for me to receive a refund in full for the $108.99 paid. For reference, the LifeFitness online invoice number is: *******.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/21) */ Per the customer's request, he will receive a full refund and his order has been cancelled. His credit is currently being processed. The customer received a voicemail and an email on July 16 in an attempt to notify him of this. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Interesting that I'd receive a voicemail and email on July 16 for a refund credit that on the 21st is "currently being processed". As it stands LifeFitness's credibility and sincerity is suspect insofar as it's now the 28th and I have yet to see a credit hit my account. Spoke with a LifeFitness salesperson today (July 28th) and was told that I'd receive a return call from someone in their Credit & Finance office. I believe I've given LifeFitness more than ample time to square this away and will be contacting my credit card company to see what recourse I have with them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/29) */ Per a conversation with the customer on July 28, the full refund credit has been processed to his account. It will take 5-7 business days for the refund to be reflected in his account.

2/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Check Refund in the amount of $273.80.

Desired Settlement: Written contact from Life Fitness confirming double payment was received in amount of a check and credit card payment. Resolution of a check refund in the amount of $273.80 to************* ***************************************************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/24) */ Life Fitness refunded the customer in the amount of $273.80 on January 28, 2015. The customer confirmed via phone on February 24, 2015 that she received the refund on February 5, 2015. The customer has been reimbursed for the duplicate payment.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Life Fitness
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart