BBB Accredited Business since

U. S. Gas & Electric

Additional Locations

3700 Lakeside Dr # 6, Miramar, FL 33027 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.usgande.com/markets/illinois View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that U. S. Gas & Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for U. S. Gas & Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on U. S. Gas & Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2013 Business started: 04/01/1999 Business started locally: 04/01/1999 Business incorporated 07/15/2010 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Michelle Mann, Compliance Paralegal Ms. Angela Bethge, Marketing Director Mr. Douglas Marcille, President Kevin McMinn, Chief Operating Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michelle Mann, Compliance Paralegal
Business Category

Energy Service Companies Electric Power Distribution (NAICS: 221122)

Alternate Business Names
Illinois Gas & Electric

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

U. S. Gas & Electric has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 27 N Wacker Dr
    Suite 703

    Chicago, IL 60606 (866) 705-7291

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    290 N W 165TH St.

    North Miami Beach, FL 33169

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3700 Lakeside Dr # 6

    Miramar, FL 33027

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was receiving an electric supply rate of $.0445 until service dates of Dec 12 2014 to Jan 14 2015. But starting in service dates of Jan 14-Feb 12 2015 the rates increased of $.0649. I received a huge increase on my bill from $346.91 to $718.98. This also interrupted the payment plan I had to go on in order to pay for the previous bill. In addition i had to go on another payment plan in which I must pay $345.00 by March 10 2015 in order to get another payment plan started or else my service will be interrupted. I did not receive any type of notoce from Illinois Gas and Electric that this increase was going to happen in which i was told by the agent that i spoke to when i first agreed to switch over to them that i would be notified in case an increase were to happen. I also have extra charges on each of my bills that i do not understand because the same charge of 800.00 kWh for distribution deliv chg non summer on every single bill and additional charge of the same description for a different rate everytime. Which in turn looks as if we are getting charged for the same description twice every bill. I spoke to Ameren about the reasons of my bill increasing and the agent told me it was the increase of their rates in which was higher than their rate. I called IGAE to cancel with them immediately. They ensured me their would beno charge for cancellation. i aslo did not receive any of their incentives to get me to sign up. NO FOOD DISCOUNTS OR RESTAURANT DISCOUNTS as promised. I would like to know why my rates up and why i didnt receive a notice that it was going to increase.

Desired Settlement: I would like the amount difference from the increase and the overcharge for any double charges credited to my ameren bill and a lump sum for my pain and suffering due to the stress of not knowing how i was going to pay such a high electric bill. I put my faith and trust in this company that they were going to follow through their promises but they failed me. I am hoping they understand the stress they cause and can fix their issues.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/05/26) */ Illinois Gas & Electric ("ILG&E") contacted Ms. ******* ****** on May 21, 2015, regarding the complaint Ms. ****** filed with the Illinois Better Business Bureau ("BBB") on February 25, 2015 concerning the sales call Ms. ****** received and rates associated with her electric account. Please note, although Ms. ******'s complaint is dated February 25, 2015, ILG&E did not receive notice of Ms. ******'s complaint from the BBB until May 21, 2015. ILG&E hereby, requests the BBB update its records to reflect this fact. Nevertheless, upon receipt of this complaint, ILG&E searched its customer database and was unable to find any record of Ms. ******'s electric account having enrolled with ILG&E using the information provided in her complaint. During our brief conversation with Ms. ******, Ms. ****** was asked to verify her account information; however, Ms. ****** was unwilling to do so. Accordingly, ILG&E determined Ms. ****** is not, nor has she been, an ILG&E customer; however, should Ms. ****** insists the contrary, we encourage Ms. ****** contact ILG&E at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, Monday thru Friday - 8:30AM to 5:30PM EST, and request to speak with a member of our legal department. In the interim, ILG&E kindly requests the BBB remove this complaint from ILG&E complaint statistics. Best Regards, ******* ******** Compliance Specialist Illinois Gas & Electric ** ** ****** ****** ***** *** Chicago, IL 60606 Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX **** **** Fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX *********@ILGandE.com www.ILGandE.com

2/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Illinois gas and electric called and harnessed my wife and told her that comed is over charging her and that they would lower my bill and now my bill for January 2014 is three times it's normal amount and when I called the company they said that's how much I used and when I asked them to come double check the reading the employee ********* **** told me that they would not do that

Desired Settlement: All I want is to make sure I have nothing to do with Illinois gas and electric anymore and I want 91.05 refunded on my bill

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/14) */ Illinois Gas & Electric ("ILG&E") contacted Mr. ******* ******* on February 11, 2014, regarding the complaint Mr. ******* filed concerning the: sales call his wife, Mrs. ******** *******, received, alleged billing discrepancies and rates associated with his electric account. During this call, ILG&E attempted to resolve the issues outlined in the below complaint, however, we were not successful in doing so as Mr. ******* abruptly disconnected the phone call on ILG&E. ILG&E has conducted research of its records and determined an ILG&E sales agent contacted Mrs. ******* once on November 11, 2013, and presented Mrs. ******* with ILG&E's variable rate program, which is a rate that fluctuates monthly and is not guaranteed to be lower than the utility, contrary to Mr. *******'s assertions that ILG&E told Mrs. ******* that her utility "is over charging her Mrs. *******" and that ILG&E "would lower my Mr. *******'s bill". During this call Mrs. ******* agreed to enroll her electric account into ILG&E's variable rate program and voluntarily participated in a Third Party Verification ("TPV") to finalize her enrollment. Furthermore, a welcome package was mailed to Mrs. ******* on November 15, 2013, for her electric account, which summarized the variable rate program into which Ms. ******* enrolled, along with our terms and conditions. Mr. ******* contacted ILG&E's customer service department on February 3, 2014, to inquire about the rates associated with his electric account and the recent invoice. Our customer service manager reviewed with Mr. ******* the variable rate program that Mrs. ******* enrolled their electric account into, which was also explained in the TPV that Mrs. ******* voluntarily completed at enrollment and in the welcome letter that was mailed to her. Additionally, our customer service manager explained to Mr. ******* that ILG&E does not conduct meter reads and that all charges made by ILG&E are based upon usage reported to ILG&E by the utility. Mr. ******* was advised that his utility reported an increase in usage, which is partially responsible for the Mr. ******* receiving a higher invoice, and he should contact his utility company directly to discuss this matter. Nonetheless, Mr. ******* requested cancellation of his electric account with ILG&E. Our customer service manager immediately processed the cancellation of Mr. *******'s electric account and advised Mr. ******* that ILG&E does not control when a customer's account is returned to the utility and it may take up to one billing cycle for Mr. ******* to receive electric supply from his utility company; however, Mr. ******* became irate and abruptly disconnected the phone call on our customer service manager. Nevertheless, ILG&E has confirmed that Mr. *******'s electric account is scheduled to return to the utility on February 25, 2014. Upon receipt of Mr. *******'s complaint, ILG&E conducted an account analysis for his electric account and was unable to find evidence to support Mr. *******'s claims that his bill "is three times its normal amount". In researching Mr. *******'s electric account, ILG&E determined that Mr. ******* actually saved money with ILG&E compared to what he would have paid with his utility. Therefore, no rebate is due to Mr. ******* for his electric account. With regards to Mr. *******'s allegations that ILG&E "told her Mrs. ******* that she Mrs. ******* had to choose a supplier", "ILG&E harassed my Mr. *******'s wife" and that "she Ms. ******* was not given any other options", ILG&E has searched its phone records and was unable to find any evidence to support Mr. *******'s claims. Accordingly, ILG&E finds that the allegations contained in Mr. *******'s complaint to be untrue. We regret any inconvenience that Mr. and Mrs. ******* may have experienced with our company. ILG&E prides itself in our sales and customer service teams and the ongoing training that we provide. We will continue to monitor our sales and customer service teams to maintain the quality of our sales and customer service calls and the resolutions that we provide to our customers. Finally, ILG&E has placed telephone numbers (XXX) XXX-XXXX and (XXX) XXX-XXXX on our internal "Do Not Call" list to ensure that Mr. and Mrs. ******* do not receive future sales calls from our company ***** has upheld its contractual obligations and considers this matter closed.