BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2013

Eligo Energy, LLC

Phone: (888) 744-8125

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
03/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Energy charges ...December billing $77.07. January billing $249.38......charges are skyrocket. My NYSEG (my main carrier)charges were $160.85..... then ELigo energy charges me more,unbelievable that a company charges such ridiculous amount!

Desired Settlement
$249.38 And then some!,

Business Response
The customer enrolled online with Eligo Energy in June 2014 for a 1 month introductory product at the rate of 5.7 cent per kWh, then to be followed by a month to month variable rate. Eligo Energy sent her the terms and conditions of the agreement, via regular USPS mail shortly after her authorization was obtained. The customer's service began with the fixed rate of 5.7 cents per kilowatt hour on 7/23/2014 and continued for one month until 8/21/2014. After this point, she began receiving the Eligo variable rate. Variable rate customers are under no obligation to remain with Eligo Energy and can cancel at any time. In addition, Ms. *** had the option of locking in another fixed rate that was being offered.

Unlike a fixed rate, a variable rate reflects market and weather conditions and varies month-to-month. Due to the nature of Ms. ***'s contract and because Eligo Energy has already supplied the electricity and Ms. *** already used it, Eligo Energy will not refund the customer for any electricity consumed during her service periods.

An Eligo Energy Customer Service Manager reached out to Ms. *** on 02/24/2015 with the intent of explaining this to her but was unable to reach her and left a voicemail message.

At this time, the customer has not requested to cancel her service with Eligo Energy.

03/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Left several messages in regards to processing a cancellation of service. I did not sign up for service and want services terminated immediately. I have not received a return phone calL in regards to this matter.

Desired Settlement
I want services terminated and a process of cancellatioN immediately.

Business Response
ligo Energy, LLC Official Response to BBB Complaint Case# XXXXXXXX

Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX
Consumer: ******* ******
Case Opened: XXXX-XX-XX

After investigating the complaint, Eligo Energy's records show that the customer previously reached out to customer service after regular business hours. We regret that an agent did not return her call as quickly as she would have liked. An Eligo Energy Customer Service Manager ("CSM") was able to contact the customer and verify that she still wanted to cancel her account. Ms. ****** confirmed that she wanted to cancel her service. Her account was cancelled promptly and a confirmation number for the cancellation was provided to the customer. The CSM also informed her that there would be no early termination fee assessed on the account because the customer had served the term of her agreement. The CSM then explained that her utility company, *** **** ***** ******** and **** would send her, via U.S. mail, written confirmation of the account cancellation. The written confirmation from the utility will contain the effective date of the cancellation, which may take between one and two billing cycles. Ms. ****** understood, had no further questions, and was satisfied with this resolution.

02/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On February 2, 2015 I received my electricity bill from nyseg **** **** ***** electric and gas). I have been using Eligo energy which is an energy service company (esco) for approximately one year. Approximately two months ago I checked the rate that New York State electric and gas had compared to Eligo energy. After checking the rate I decided to cancel my account with Eligo energy and restart my service with New York state electric and gas. When I received my bill on February 2 the amount of my electric for the period of November 25, 2014 through January 27, 2015 was $2197.86. The amount of kilowatt hours that I used was 11,618. They charged me .XXXXXXX/kWh totaling $1634.59. For the same period last year I used 12,421 kWh at a rate of .XXXXXX totaling $919.15. I have contacted there customer service to speak with them about my bill and they told me that I am on a variable rate. The woman I spoke with, ******* ******** stated that there was no supervisor in the office when I demanded to speak with one. She advised me that one would get in touch with me at there convenience. I have gone through every bill since I have started with eligo energy and the highest rate that I have been charged over the past year is .085/ kWh. I feel that the reason my rate has nearly doubled, is due to me advising eligo energy approximately one month ago that I was canceling my account and switching back to NYSEG. Ms. ******** also informed me that the current offer that eligo energy had was for twelve months at .7/kWh and told me I should switch back to eligo energy. Ms. ******** also advised me that the variable rate that I received was the market rate for electricity. I then advised ms. ******** that NYSEG's rate for the same period in question was .8/kWh on peak, .7/ kWh mid peak and .6/kWh off peak. Ms. ******** then rudely told me that her supervisor was just going to tell me the same thing (when she called me back at her convenience). As I write this explanation, it has been two hours and I have still not received a call back. I have been a customer of eligo energy for approximately one year. The second I decide to switch, my bill nearly doubles from the previous year and the rate nearly doubles from the previous bill. This is not right. I live in a 2300 square foot home and the electric is nearly $1100 per month for the last two months when it was only $330 per month the two previous months. This is NOT right. My NYSEG account number is XXXX-XXXX-XXX. You may also need what is called a Pod ID number because that is what they asked me for. That pod I'd # is NXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. PLEASE make this right!! Thank you for your time!!

Desired Settlement
I have not paid my bill yet and it is due on February 21, 2015. I am not disputing the fact that I owe money to the company I am just disputing the rate. I would like to receive a fair market rate around eight cents per kilowatt hour, which is the way that it has been for the previous year. The company has told me that the rate they are giving their new customers is seven cents per kilowatt hour and I feel that it is not fair to charge somebody that has been a customer of theirs for the previous year, two times the amount that a new customer is receiving. My current bill should be half of what it is!!

Business Response
Mr. ****** switched to Eligo Energy in October 2013. At this time, Mr. ****** authorized his enrollment via a third party recording, which stated that he would receive a fixed price of 7.4 cents per kilowatt hour for a period of 3 months followed by a month-to-month Eligo variable rate. He also received this information again via regular mail shortly after his authorization was obtained. The customer's service began with the fixed rate of 7.4 cents per kilowatt hour on 11/28/2013 and continued until the 3 month period expired on 2/28/2014.

At this time, he began receiving the Eligo variable rate as was agreed upon during Mr. ******'s enrollment. Variable rate customers are under no obligation to remain with Eligo Energy and can cancel at any time. In addition, Mr. ****** had the option of locking in another fixed rate that was being offered and not take on the risk of variable and less predictable pricing.

When Mr. ****** called to cancel service in December 2014, he had already began his current service period and was being charged the Eligo variable rate just as he had been since March 2014 after the fixed rate term expired. No additional fees or surcharges were added to his rate due to his cancellation. Unlike a fixed rate, a variable rate reflects market and weather conditions and varies month-to-month. Due to the nature of Mr. ******'s contract and because the Eligo Energy has already supplied the electricity and Mr. ****** already used it, Eligo Energy will not refund the customer for any electricity consumed during his service periods.

Additionally, Mr. ******'s assumptions about the NYSEG rate are incorrect. NYSEG's effective rate should include additional fees not charged by suppliers such as Eligo, including, for example, bill issuance charge and merchant function charge. These charges are added on top of NYSEG's supply rate.

01/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i have been trying to reach someone at this company and i'm unable to do so. I did not ask for this service nor do i want this service tacked onto my existing electric bill .

Desired Settlement
I want this business to be eliminated from my ******************* service bill as any type of provider and to re-imburse me for the service i was charged in the past 6 months with out my knowledge.

Business Response
In June 2014, the community of ************* elected to aggregate their municipality with Eligo Energy as the retail electric provider. Municipal aggregation is a government program that allows a community to receive electricity supply from a dedicated supplier and benefit as a whole from potential savings.

Over the course of the summer of 2014, residents received mailed correspondence from the town of ************* and Eligo Energy detailing the terms and conditions of the program. To opt-out from participating, residents were asked to mail in a portion of a form to indicate they were not interested. Any customers who were part of a previous aggregation were automatically included for participation. These customers received a ***** notification letter and an Eligo Energy Welcome Packet. Both mailings indicated ways for customers to opt out of the program by calling, mailing and emailing. Ms. ****** received a welcome packet via mail from Eligo Energy as well as a letter from *****

Eligo Energy did not receive any communication from Ms. ****** during this period and was enrolled in the program with an effective service start date of 10/6/14.

Since receiving the inquiry from the BBB, Eligo Energy has submitted a drop notification to *******************. Ms. ******' account with Eligo Energy is set to end service on 3/10/15, as it takes about a bill cycle to return to ***** for supply.

Eligo Energy will not be providing a refund to Ms. ****** for the electricity consumed while she received supply service from Eligo Energy. Ms. ****** actually used that energy. Ms. ****** was sent multiple communications from the Town of ******* ****** Eligo Energy, and *****. However, Eligo Energy will waive the early termination fee associated with leaving the aggregation program early.

08/29/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On or about 27 August 2014 at or around 1010 am, I called Eligo energy and spoke with three representatives , *********** and someone who's name I didn't get. I called them to establish a new net metering agreement. Under Illinois Net Metering rules, all Illinois electric utilities and retail electric suppliers are required to provide a net metering agreement. No one I spoke with knew anything about this law and repeatedly said that they did not have a net metering program in existence. My account number with Comed is XXXXXXXXXX. In a letter dated 20 August 2014 from Comed I was directed to contact my new electric supplier to establish a new net metering contract. I view with concern and trepidation that the representatives at Eligo Energy il, LLC had no idea of what I was talking about . When I bought and had installed my solar panels the system was installed pursuant to all applipicable Illinois Commerce Comission laws and tariffs accordingly.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have a net metering agreement contract established with Eligo Energy Il LLC, two business days prior to 10 September 2014. If they do not have a net metering agreement program in existence then I would like to know how they are allowed to operate in Illinois under the current laws and rules as established by the Illinois Commerce Comission?

Business Response
Mr. ****** contacted our customer care team regarding his inquiry today, August 27, 2014, in the morning regarding his intent to engage in a net metering contact. Not being knowledgeable about net metering, the customer service agents opened an internal support ticket to obtain additional information for the customer.

Immediately after receiving the internal support ticket, Eligo Energy management requested additional information from ComEd. Upon receiving this information (including an application form), management contacted Mr. ****** on the same day as his initial call to Eligo Energy to walk Mr. ****** through the net metering application process. Management and Mr. ****** filled out a net metering application over the telephone, and Eligo Energy submitted the application on Mr. ******'s behalf to ComEd. After the telephone call and submission of the net metering application to ComEd, Mr. ****** was satisfied with the response.

02/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a phone call telling me I could save money on my energy supply by switching from NYSEG to Eligo. I was also told I would receive a second confirmation call ("to give me time to think about it"). I waited several days and no call. About a week later I advised NYSEG that I was NOT changing.Today I received an invoice NXXXXXXXXXXXXXX from Eligo for "early termination of services". I have sent the invoice back to them saying I will never pay becasue THEY LIED TO ME! Stop this deceptive company from hurting others. They are thieves.Thank you.
Product_Or_Service: energy supply
Order_Number: NXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: NXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
1. Cancel the Invoice2. Remove my personal information from their database (never call me again!).

Business Response
After investigating this complaint, Eligo Energy, LLC stands behind its decision to invoice Mr. ********* for the Early Termination Fees ("ETF"). We have records as well as independent verification of his decision to switch his electricity supplier. The ETF still has not been paid.

If you should have any further questions, please contact me.


Best,


******* *******

Counsel

Eligo Energy, LLC

205 W. Randolph Street, Suite 1040

Chicago, IL 60606-1813

Tel.: ***************

Mobile: ***************

Facsimile: ***************

********@eligoenergy.com



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The confirmation letter was NOT received until Dec 2, 2013. I cancelled the following day.

Final Business Response
Eligo Energy has attempted to contact Mr. *********, via telephone, multiple times over the course of the last 2 weeks in order to speak with him about this complaint. Unfortunately, Mr. ********* has been unresponsive to our outreach efforts.


On ******** 15, 2013, Eligo Energy called Mr. ********* to offer him electricity supply service. Records of a valid authorization are available.

The following day, on ******** 16, 2013, a Welcome Letter (including the Terms and Conditions of Service as well as New York DPS' Consumers Bill of Rights) was sent to Mr. *********'s address.

Mr. ********* had seven days from the postmark of his utility's confirmation notice to rescind the enrollment without penalty. On ******** 3, 2013, Eligo Energy received notification from NYSEG that Mr. ********* was terminating service. Mr. ********* did not exercise his right to cancel the account within the required time period to avoid Early Termination Fees.

Eligo Energy also states that the ETF is not meant to punish a customer. Rather, it is meant to compensate Eligo Energy for purchased electricity, which is obtained upon a customer signing up, in order to guarantee the promised low prices and protect the customer from market fluctuations.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Energy Service Companies, Solar Energy Products - Retail, Energy Management & Conservation Consultant, Energy Audits

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.