Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that International Video & Electronics Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for International Video & Electronics Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on International Video & Electronics Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 06, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 01/03/1992 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sam Shah, CEO Mr. Nick Shaw, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Shah, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Nick Shaw, President
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Video Tapes & Discs Sales & Rentals Converters - Electric Electronics Stores (NAICS: 443142)

Alternate Business Names
220-Electronics.com International Video & Electronic Inc

Additional Locations

  • 546 Crossen Ave

    Elk Grove Village, IL 60007 (847) 690-0843 (847) 690-0847 (877) 578-0587

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 19 December 2012 I purchased a DS **** voltage converter for $175. Sale number was XXXXXX and Purchase Order was XXXXXXXX. I paid with credit card. Vendor advertised a 5 year warranty. No limitations on that warranty were ever indicated. See website http://*****************************watt-diamond-series-voltage-converter.html. In December 2014 the product failed. I returned it for repair or replacement under warranty. I was told that it was a proportional warranty, so I would need to pay 2/5 of the cost of a replacement unit. This was the first time I was ever advised of this limitation on the warranty. Vendor admitted that this limitation was not indicated on the website.

Desired Settlement: Send a replacement unit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ******************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email:************************* I"m sorry our website was not clear regarding this. We will make the necessary changes. WE do say it's a limited warranty. Anyway we will go ahead and get you a replacement as long as you are willing to pay shipping charges to us of the defective one and from us to you of the new one. Thanks

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered ***** 50" TV, sales reciept # XXXXXX for 814.00 shipped by **** recieved TV screen was broken, callled and emailed company and was told they would not refund my money and if I wanted a tv I had to pay another 364.50 sales reciept # XXXXXX and they would send a replacement, I paid the additional money and they shipped the tv by **** it arrived on Dec. 19 2014 and it was damaged, the screen was broken again. Called and emailed company NO response.... Please help me get my money back for ordering a tv and getting nothing.....

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the $ 814.00 I spent for a broken tv.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ******************* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ************************ The customer purchased a 50" tv that shipped to a Air Force Base. The TV was then forwarded by the customer or the air force base to an address outside the United states. The tv arrived overseas damaged. NO damage was noted at the time of delivery to the address where we delivered. DUe to this we were unable to claim with ***. We offered the customer to partial on a new tv and we would ship him another one. He agreed and we did so. That one also arrived Damaged. Although I'm extremely sorry that 2 tv's were damaged on *** (the shipping companys) behalf; i'm not sure what we can do about this. WE have had *** pickup the 2nd Damaged tv and we will issue a refund of the customer 2nd payment. As for the first payment since the tv was shipped out overseas after we delivered we are unable to claim with the carrier and are therefore unable to refund to customer. We would be willing to offer the customer a 50% store credit of the value of the tv to settle this matter. This makes us fully responsible for the 2nd tv, and 50% partially responsible for the first tv that we shipped.

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product: 220 Volt Champion Juicer in Black - Commercial 50hz ********, payment amount of 269.00 for product and 37.60 for shipping and handling. Merchant's website recommendation of the product (http://www.220-electronics.com/220-volt-champion-juicer-black-50hz.html) is inaccurate and misleading: "Some juicers left pulp with fruits and vegetables full of juice, wasting produce. Others were too noisy, or had bits and pieces of fruit in the actual juice. This is the first juicer we can say that we personally endorse. Not only is it a great juicer that is easy to use and clean, but it also is a great value. This is the commercial version which has a heavy duty motor and is the best juicer you will ever own." The received product greatly underperformed the merchant's description (on above webpage), recommendation and claims. The merchant's reply to my request for refund/return was, "If the unit has never been used and in perfect condition you can send back to us but there is a 15% restocking fee. If you used the juicer we are unable to take back." To make my findings, I had to use the unit, which I did on one occasion, to find it was terrible and that I would not use it again. Before I made the purchase I had looked at the merchant's return policy (http://www.220-electronics.com/customer-service). However, as there was no information provided (strange as this business has been around since 1979), I assumed it would be a standard type return. I was surprised to received the above reply from merchant.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting for a refund of my purchase price.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ************************ I"m sorry about the issue you are having and that you are not happy with the Champion Juicer. The Champion is one of the best reviewed Juicers in the market today. WE sell many of them and we get great feedback. That said I have a few questions and comments. 1) You ordered a 220 volts version of this Juicer; so I"m hoping you tested this overseas and not in the USA where the voltage is 110 volts 2) If you are using it with 220 volts what country are you using it in? 3) What exactly is the problem with the Juice coming out of it. 4) IF it is defective we can replace it or fix it for you; 5) Since it is used we are unable to except it back for a refund. 6) The return policy is on our website and can be found here: http://www.220-electronics.com/shipping.html Thanks Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I purchased the Champion product because I thought it would be a good product as per your description and recommendation. I used it under 220V and the machine operates and juice is produced. However, it is a poor juicing machine and the machine vibrates and slides as it operates. It also leaves pulp still quite juicy, as well lots of pulp inside the machine. This is quite contrary to the product description. Is this a new machine or a refurbished one? I am not able to tell whether the product is defective or not. I already paid for the initial shipping, I don't think throwing good money after bad money and paying for expensive overseas shipping is necessarily going to change anything. Your may just tell me the product is fine and ship the same item back to me. I am disappointed I had to complain to BBB in order to get a formal reply from your company with a person's name rather than the two sentences you sent me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/06/03) */ Yes it's the International Video & Electronics, ************************************ address. The CA address is the manufacturer; please do not ship it there. Thanks Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thanks for your reply and consideration. Please let me know the procedure for returning/refunding the item. I would rather not deal with ********. As they are your supplier, you will likely have much better success dealing with them.

1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought this dvd player in october ******** stopped working on august ******** contacted them to respond about warranty thy said they couldn't back up any warranty more than 90 days, so I fought with them for like 4 weeks to repair this free of cost, so they said we will fix it for free if You are willing to wait 3 or 4 weeks, I agreed, paid 36 dollars to ship back, they kept the dvd player for about 2 more weeks, fixed it , sent it back to me after I paid another 13 dollars for shipping, Dvd worked for about 2 weeks and thats it , no longer works again, tried contacting them about this issue, no answer whatsoever. This company is a complete rip off, they sell this crappy products to last not even a year.The person that handle this issue his name is *****

Desired Settlement: I think I should get my money back, including all the hassles to ship back and forth expenses

Business Response: ***Initial Business Response******************************** *********************************************************************************************************** Customer past warranty period. Occasionally exceptions can be made on case per case basis by customer service reps. However in this case customer put a dispute using the credit card. Once this is done our reps can no longer do anything and it goes over to legal to defend the dispute to the card company.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on International Video & Electronics Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)