BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2011

ePal Inc

(877) 245-864923w122 Kings Ct, Glen EllynIL 60137-7215

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2011

BBB has determined that ePal Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered ePal Inc's rating include:

  • 18 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised ePal Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues12
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on ePal Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
09/19/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: We ordered 2 Garmin AIS 600 Automatic Identification System Transceiver w/ Programming online and via the phone on March 31st for a price of $772.86 per unit for a total of $1545.72. We submitted information regarding programing on April 2nd and did not receive anything or hear back from the company until we called again about the product on July 24th. In which case they lost one of the orders and we had to submit a bank statement showing payments for 2 orders. 3 weeks after, no item was found in the mail and there was no update so we contacted them and they finally indicated that there is a programming error. This was on August 20th. It is now September 10th and they cannot be reached via the phone nor do they reply through email. A full email transcript can be provided if needed.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********** President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******************
I talked to the customer this morning on the phone,**************, and asked him how he wanted to proceed as we had problems programming the AIS units. He stated that we should try one more time and if that fails issue a refund. I really don't understand customer's complaint as he suddenly changed his mind without telling us. We certainly will issue a refund for the 2 units he purchased and send a check in the amount of $1545.72.

Regards,

*****

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/05/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Delivery Complaint Issue

Complaint: PLEASE PRINT RECEIPT OUT AND RETAIN IT FOR FUTURE REFERENCE ***







Order Number

******



Customer ID

******



Order Date

8/5/2014 *******







Order Date:

8/5/2014***********









SKU:

Product

Quantity

Price

Ext. Price








*****

Lowrance Elite-4 Base Chartplotter/Fishfinder Combo w/**/****** TM Transducer-Lowrance Elite-4 Base Chartplotter/Fishfinder Combo w/**/****** TM Transducer

1

$169.95

$169.95












Order Notes:

None





SubTotal:


$169.95



Shipping:

Economy Shipping

$0.00



Tax:


$0.00



Total:


$169.95
attempted to talk with customer service, first was told item is on back order which it wasnt the day I ordered since I placed an order over the phone and was told it was in stock
15 days later talked to customer service first he said he would be able to ship next week and we discussed this for an hour and then he said he is not SURE when it will ship. As I was talking to him the website still shows product available and in stock ready to ship. I asked how that is: he stated computer glitch.

was lied to multiple times




Initial Business Response
The merchandise was out of stock. We are shipping an upgraded newer model via next day air today.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/21/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: 7-6-14 Ordered part with 3 day shipping. Still no part as of 7-12-14.
XXXXXX is the order number.XXXXXX is my customer i.d.XXXXX RAM Mount Quick Release Mount f/******** Elite and ****-RAM Mount Quick Release Mount f/******** Elite and **** 1 $15.45 $15.45

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********** President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******************
Hi,

We have issued a refund of $9.95 to your PayPal account. We are sorry that you didn't get the merchandise in time.

Regards,

*****

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: After ordering the wrong part,(my fault) 10/24/13, I returned it with authorization 11/20/13, and spoke to ***** who assured me they would send the correct part. After 6 weeks, I wrote and called and eventually reached ***** who said it would ship in 10 days. Never received it, called and wrote again biweekly till April 20 2014 when I left a message that I had to get the boat in the water, and had to order the part elsewhere, requesting a refund, while agreeing to a restocking charge. The total bill was $203.30.

Since then I have called and written twice a month, finally reached ***** who said he would send a check, sometime in May. Since then EPal has refused to answer their phone or return the messages I sent, the last one threatening to tell you guys and Google review about it, last week.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **********
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ******************
A check was sent to *********** last week, we told him about thaat

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/13/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint:

Initial Business Response
Hi,

We are in constant contact with the customer to give him an update on the order. He ordered marine antennas for TV reception which he wanted to have shipped from one location. As the merchandise is bulky and heavy it is best to have it shipped directly from the manufacturer. As the manufacturer has different manufacturing locations we are having logistical problems to get the merchandise ordered to one location. We can't cancel this order as the merchandise is on order with the manufacturer. We hope to be able to ship the merchandise within the next 2 weeks depending on the manufacturer's cooperation. We will keep the customer informed about any further information we get. Please let us know if you need anything else.

Regards,

*****

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We appreciate the assistance of BBB and the providers speedy response.

We agree to extend the delivery time one last time, by another 2 weeks, as requested by the provider. If the delivery can not be completed, for whatever reason by June 27th, 2014 Friday, we demand that the order be cancelled immediately and the payments made to date are returned in full. We will not accept a delivery beyond this final deadline.

Regards,
***************

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3
09/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: On Sept. 1st I ordered a Davis Vantage View weather station via the web. I ordered it before I set up an online account so I couldn't go online and check the status of the order. When I called customer support they said they would send me the tracking number via email when it shipped. The web site indicated it was in stock. After about 3 days I didn't receive any emails so I tried calling them. All I could get was voicemail so I left them a message to send me the tracking number. After two more days without any email I called them again and got customer support. A guy named *****. He told me it had shipped FedEx smartpost and he would email me the tracking number. Two more days and no email. I called again and got voicemail and left a message. No response from them again. I called again and finally got ***** again. He said there was some kind of problem and it would ship today and he would change the shipment to 3 day service so I would get the product by Thursday. After I threatened to cancel the order I finally got a tracking number but according to UPS it still didn't get shipped on that day. It finally shipped the next day and I am due to get the product on Friday, not Thursday as promised. They appear to sell items they don't really have in stock, don't answer voicemails and then tell lies to try to cover it up. Very poor customer service.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **********, President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******************
Customer purchased merchandise on 9-1-14 and will receive the merchandise on 9-12-14, according to tracking: ****************** via UPS. Customer ordered the merchandise with economy shipping, which will be delivered within 6-10 business days from the date of purchase according to the shipping information stated on our website. Customer receives the item well within the stated transit time. We offer many different shipping upgrades at an additional cost if the customer wants it faster.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did not ship the item in the time frame promised and then had to up the shipping to 3 day UPS in order to meet the 9-12 delivery date. This only happened after 8 phone calls and 2 emails threatening to cancel the order. They still sell items they don't have in stock, lie when contacted, and don't answer voicemail messages. They deserve a lower BBB rating.

Final Business Response
The fact is that you received the merchandise in the promised time frame. How do you know that we are selling products that are out of stock? We provide many different shipping options, if you need it faster, you can choose the appropriate shipping option. We provided exactly the service we promised and you received the merchandise in that time frame. We are also answering calls and spoke to you several times. I don't understand why you are upset if you are getting the merchandise in the promised time frame. However, as a sign of good will and customer support, we are offering you a 10% discount on your next purchase.

Regards,

*****

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

07/03/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: On May 2 I ordered a marine stereo online from ************* I paid by credit card and received an invoice via email. On May 13 I was informed it would be shipped today. On May 26 I received another email saying the item wasnt in stock on May 13 and it has been shipped now. I received an email with a tracking number and have tried to track my package and the number does not exist. It is June 27 and I still have not received the package.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******************
Hi,

As you know we shipped the product May 14 via RR Donnelly priority mail and we contacted them to track the shipment. As you filed a chargeback with your credit card company we are unable to issue a credit directly to your card. We informed the credit card company about the missing shipment and and refund will be issued by them as soon as the investigation is finalized. We always ship the merchandise and we apologize for the inconvenience this missing shipment has caused.



Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Why did the company tell me it was sent, send me a tracking number that doesn't exist? I emailed them on June 7 to tell them I haven't received the product and have had no reply from them. I purchase product from all over the world and have never had a package go missing.
Its crazy how a letter to the BBB gets them to reply to an email. I would like this complaint to go on their website and on the BBB complaint board.

Final Business Response
It is beyond our control if a product gets lost during transit and we do apologize for the inconvenience. You did receive a full refund for your purchase.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

01/09/2014Delivery Issues
07/25/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
03/28/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Auto Accessories, Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies, Marine Equipment & Supplies, Marine Sales & Service, Marine Electronic Equipment & Supplies, Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/12/2011Business started: 01/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2006, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Klaus Koch (President)
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Auto Accessories, Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies, Marine Equipment & Supplies, Marine Sales & Service, Marine Electronic Equipment & Supplies, Internet Shopping

Industry Tips
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for ePal Inc

23w122 Kings Ct

Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-7215

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 23w122 Kings Ct 

    Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-7215

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ePal Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.