Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Brilliant Electric, Heating and Cooling Inc. is an electrical, heating, and air conditioning contractor for residential and commercial projects. This company is located in Niles, IL, and serves Chicago and the northern Chicago suburbs including Skokie, Park Ridge, Harwood Heights, Norridge, Golf, Evanston, Lincolnwood, Des Plaines, Rosemont, Elk Grove Village, Northfield, Northbrook, Mt Prospect, Arlington Heights, Prospect Heights, Schaumburg, and Evanston. This business commercial and residential electrical services including general electrical repair and installation, electrical panel installation and repair, electrical rewiring, indoor lighting, outdoor lighting, standby generators, commercial lighting, power management, electrical inspections, code violation correction, heating and furnace installation and repair, air conditioning installation and repair, and thermostat installation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brilliant Electric, Heating and Cooling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brilliant Electric, Heating and Cooling, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Brilliant Electric, Heating and Cooling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 15, 2004 Business started: 03/01/2001 in IL Business started locally: 03/01/2001 Business incorporated 01/08/2001 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of Chicago
121 N La Salle St # 604, Chicago IL 60602
cityclerk@cityofchicago.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas P Heskin, Owner Ms. Kimbrely Celis Ms. Lili Ortega, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas P Heskin, Owner
Business Category

Electricians – Residential Electricians - Commercial Heating Contractors Pipe & Boiler Covering Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Hydronic Heating Radiant Heating Connectors - Electric Dehumidifying Equipment Electric Instruments Filters - Air & Gas Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Generators - Electric Generators - Maintenance Insulation Materials - Electric Photo Electric Cells & Equipment Switches - Electric Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units Cord Sets & Cords - Electric Fuses - Electric Marine Electric Service Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Coils - Electric Air Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Electrical Power Systems Maintenance Electric Power Line Construction Water/Pool Heating - Solar Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Boilers - Supplies & Parts Electric Vehicles - Home Charging Station Electric Heating Elements Electric Switchboards Heating Equipment Humidifying Apparatus Pipe & Boiler Covering Materials Wire & Cable - Electric Wire Harnesses - Electrical Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Basement - Contractors Electrical Contractors and Other Wiring Installation Contractors (NAICS: 238210)

Products & Services

Brilliant Electric, Heating and Cooling, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Briggs & Stratton, Cummins, Eaton, Mitsubishi, Trane

Brilliant Electric, Heating and Cooling, Inc. offers the following product(s): Air conditioners, Electrical systems, Furnaces, Stand by generators

Method(s) of Payment
Checks, credit cards, cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
We offer a money back guarantee if we cannot correct any problem associated with anything we install.
Products & Services

Heating & Cooling, Air-Conditioning, and Licensed Electrical Contractor.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brilliant Electric, Heating and Cooling, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7501 N Waukegan Rd

    Niles, IL 60714 (847) 588-2533 (773) 774-5190 (630) 344-9249 (800) 290-4512

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Install of Trane AC unit (Model #4TTM3042A1000BA) and Furnace (Model #TUC1C100A9481AE)was scheduled for Wed. X-XX-XX at 7:30 am with *****. As ***** was looking at equipment, he noticed that not all equipment was delivered including the wrong furnace, no thermostat, no supplies, etc. He had to cancel install & reschedule for the next day. New equipment was delivered later this afternoon. ***** informed us that new thermostat would cost money; however, when ****** quoted me, he said that the thermostat was included (see service ticket). An additional $125.00 would be added to our total costs. ***** and team arrived at 9:30 am on 7-24-14. Install began at this time and went until 9:30 pm. Prior to team leaving at the end of the night, system was tested, first the heat and then ac. Heat ran for about 10 minutes and then ***** switched to test the ac. The house temp, as reading 75, after an hour and a half the temp did not drop a degree. ***** went outside, tested Freon, came back in and looked at the settings and electrical work on the furnace. At this time the furnace was making clicking noises and the filter on the line from the AC unit to the furnace was hissing. I asked ***** if this was normal and he informed me that the new units would make new sounds. I told him my old system worked fine and that the temp would drop 8 degrees within 30-40 minutes. Nothing was resolved this evening. During this time, ***** also informed me they sent the wrong thermostat and that they would have to get a new one and have it installed on 7-25-14. He also said that he would get a hold of ****** and have him come back out to take a look and that they would get system working properly. We kept the system off as to not disturb whatever was going on. On this day my CC was charged the remaining amount of $3,124.00. I did not authorize this transaction as I was going to give them a check for the remaining amount, but since the system was not working properly, I wanted to hold off making sure it was fixed before giving them the other 50%. On X-XX-XX ***** returned with the correct thermostat. I informed him that ac was not cooling the house and not functioning properly and that ***** informed me ****** would be out. ***** was not aware of this and called ****** who said he could not come out until 7-28-14. ***** assured me ****** would take care of the issue on Monday. I tested ac system over the weekend; however, the temp barely dropped when it was on. It went 1 degree in about 30-40 minutes. I tried it another time over the weekend and it didn't budge at all after 30-40 minutes. We kept it off all other times. On X-XX-XX ****** and ***** returned to take a look at system. Freon line was still hissing and furnace was making a clicking noise. Air was not flowing through the house like my old system was doing. ****** and ***** did their work; we were told that it could not be tested properly until we have an 80 degree day out. I was told by ****** that the duct work was not installed properly when the house was built; however, I told ****** that my old system, which was a bigger sized unit worked just fine. ****** state that the new system may not even hit 70 degrees. They left and the ac still did not function properly and was not cooling the home. On 7-30-14, I was emailed the info on the warranty along with a letter from the owner stating that the company installed the equipment specified per their contract and that ****** mentioned that the home did not have enough return air. The owner said he could get me a quote to correct the return air issue. I was upset by this, my old system worked just fine with the duct work I have. On this day, I was charged another $3,124.00 not authorized. Now I have paid a total of $9,247.00 when the job was only for $5,999.00 + the $125.00 for the thermostat. Contact me for additional documentation. Not enough space to finish everything.

Desired Settlement: I have disputed CC charges and would like a refund of all money paid. I attempted to give equipment back numerous times and it was refused.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1001, 13, 2014/12/30) */ Re: BBB complaint 1 message Brilliant Services <****@callbrilliant.com> Tue, Dec 30, 2014 at 3:08 PM To: ***** ****** <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Hi *****, This is in regard to our complaint from a customer on September 1, 2014. Currently we are working on a credit card dispute that this customer has filed regarding the materials, installation and service. When we were signed on to take on the job, there was a deposit that was taken for starting the job and when we completed, we charged the final balance of the job. The customer had an issue with the final payment and asked us to refund them until the issues he had with the install were resolved and then we could run the card again. We did so, at our cost. So we had gone back and taken care of the concerns and then we ran the card for the final balance once again. That is when all the disputing began, first it was on deposit that was voted in our favor and then find out they disputed the dispute and on top of that he put in a dispute for the final balance that we refunded once again. So at this time, not only is this customer, writing a complaint on BBB, they are also writing bad reviews all over the web as well. This hurts a small business such as our with over 8 thousand customers since 1956 with new customers and younger customers that only use the web to find credible businesses. Please see all the documentations that we have put together, contract, payments, refunds, and emails. Our company has suffered a tremendous loss and still willing to compromise. The lengthy complaint will also follow with a lengthy response attached. Otherwise, this is our reply to our customer: Dear Customer. We are truly sorry for you disappointment, we fulfilled our contract requirement with the utmost expert technicians labor and knowledge. We also understand that unfortunate things happen when investing in big ticket items and no one wants to spend a great deal of money, that is why we have our experts explain everything in the best possible way to us who are not experts in that field can understand. We guarantee all our work so we complete a job knowing a job was well done. We hope you can revisit all our documentations, conversations and emails and take the time to see that we did was according and correct. Our apologies for any inconvenience you had and we hope you can see that any other company would have done the same. Thank you for your time. Brilliant Electric Heating and Cooling Hope we can resolve our last and final piece to become BBB accredited once again. Thank you, **** - Office Manager Brilliant Electric Heating and Cooling *********00.PDF XXXXXK Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 20, 2015/01/12) */ 1/8/15 Please refer back to original documentation and timeline that was submitted to the BBB as part of this complaint. In response to the vendor's response on December 30, 2014, please see the following: 1. This is the explanation of the credit card charges and disputes: The total cost of the project as of 7/15/14 was $5,999.00 Per the proposal, we were to pay 50% of the total cost of the project as a deposit and the remaining 50% upon completion of the project. On July 15, $5,999.00 was charged to our credit card (per our credit card statement). We were only supposed to be charged 50% of this amount to represent the deposit. We were incorrectly charged. We had to call the vendor right away to have them provide a credit for the overcharged amount. On July 22, the vendor credited $2,999.50 back on our credit card, leaving $2,999.50 as a charge. About this same time, the total cost of the project increased from $5,999 to $6,124.00 due to the addition of a thermostat. On July 24, $3,124.00 was charged to our credit card for remainder of the project cost. We had specifically informed the vendor, prior to this charge, that we would be paying the remaining balance by way of personal check versus credit card. On July 30, $3,124.50 was charged to our credit card even though the balance of the project had already been satisfied by way of the charge on July 24th. This represented an amount that was not an authorized charge and far beyond the cost of the project. We had to call the vendor to inform them of the unauthorized, incorrect charge and on July 30 the merchant credited back the unauthorized charge of $3,124.50. In addition to speaking with them about the unauthorized charge, we also informed them that we were not in agreement with paying the final 50% of the project cost since the system was not working/functioning/performing properly. Soon after the equipment was installed but never working/functioning/performing properly, we contacted our credit card company to dispute all charges related to the project, which included the $2,999.50 and $3,124.00 for a total of $6,123.50. The vendor had been provided with multiple attempts to fix the problem and ultimately we had their equipment removed and a new vendor selected who installed new equipment. Please refer to the original documentation that speaks to the specifics of this matter. 2. The vendor states that we wrote bad reviews on the web. This is simply and factually untrue. And while we would most certainly have a right to voice our concerns about our business dealings with this vendor on the web, we chose to address our concerns in constructive ways that would lead to resolution. Those two ways were by registering a complaint with the BBB and disputing the charges via our credit card company. This type of false statement further speaks to the lack of integrity we have experienced in our business interactions with this vendor. Final Business Response /* (4001, 28, 2015/02/11) */ Brilliant Services <****@callbrilliant.com> Mon, Feb 9, 2015 at 3:56 PM To: ***** ****** <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Hi *****, This is **** ******, I am sending you 9 documents vs. the 53 pages that have conversations. This is to let you know that we have attempted to resolve this issue with Mr. ********* and he disputed both charges, one being the remaining balance after we completed the job and then went back to dispute the deposit. Both charge backs are listed on the Credit Card Statement as well as the credit card charges that we did at the office and a physical refund receipts that were then processed at the customers request. If you look at the documents you will see that there was an entire amount processed by mistake by the bookkeeper then refunded the 2,999.50. then the remaining balance was charged at the completion of the job but the customer complained it was not done properly so we refunded him the remaining balance and came out again to satisfy the customer. So imagine our surprise when he disputed the amount of deposit then again for the remaining balance. So as of today we have no payment from Mr. *** *********, for the entire amount of the sale. We are sorry that Mr. ********* is not pleased but we are now out out the entire payment but we are out the equipment we installed and paid for as well. So reporting this to the BBB is so not understanding for we are the ones that have nothing so what is the unresolved issue any further? We have tried to dispute the dispute but Mr. ********* has been the one awarded. Once again, we have no payments from Mr. ********* since we refunded them and he has put in a dispute to the CC company and now BBB. Please know that we tried to resolve this, we have proof that we have none of Mr. *********'s money. I can also provide to you all of our bank statements to prove we had not even been deposited any funds from First Data the credit care processing company. We feel that Mr. ********* should pay for at least the equipment we provided for him but not sure how that will work so as of now we just want Mr. ********* to withdraw his complaint since he has not paid 1 penny for the equipment and install that cost us thousands of dollars. Thank you. **** ****** Brilliant Electric Heating and Cooling Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX Best Regards, **** ****** Office Management Dept. Brilliant Electric, Heating & Cooling "Complete Electrical, Heating, Cooling & Generator Services Since 1956" **** ** ******** **** ****** ** XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX www.CallBrilliant.com Google+ 2 attachments Brilliant.Electric.unresolved.rtf 55K JD00.PDF 2034K Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 31, 2015/02/16) */ 2/15/15 Credit Card charges have been disputed due to the original complaint that system was not working in our home. After many attempts to work with the company to try and fix system, it still did not operate. The equipment that was installed was attempted to be given back multiple times (see original complaint) only to be refused. I still have equipment and willing to give equipment back.

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Brilliant Electric, Heating and Cooling, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart