Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

TCL Electrical & Lighting, Inc.

Phone: (630) 844-3274 Fax: (630) 844-5080 189 Poplar Pl Unit 5, North Aurora, IL 60542 http://www.tclelectric.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TCL Electrical & Lighting, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TCL Electrical & Lighting, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 01/10/2001 Business started locally: 01/10/2001 Business incorporated 01/06/2003 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Locascio, President Mr. Scott Kramer, Operation Manager Mr. Cris Lucarz, Sales Manager Mr. John Machay, Vice President Ms. Lori Storck, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Locascio, President
Business Category

Electric Equipment - Service & Repair Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance Lighting Consultants Signs - Maintenance & Repair Appliance Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811412)

Alternate Business Names
TCL Industries Inc TCL Svc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    189 Poplar Pl Unit 5

    North Aurora, IL 60542 (630) 844-3274

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was given a quote to do a job for $1500 because this company is also working with ***** for a "Switchout" program which is free of charge. It lowers the electrical output and ***** pays for the electrical work. I had an additional job that I wanted done. They quoted me $1500 and took a $750 deposit which was about 7 weeks ago. I was told I would be emailed a contract the next day. Time on this job was very important and I live a few hours south so wouldn't be up to put down a deposit for another couple days. In hindsight I should have never given him the $750 with just an invoice but no contract. After I gave them the deposit they came out to look again and all the sudden the price jumped to $7500. I told them that was way out of my budget as I already had a bid for $2000. A few days later I was told that they would do the job for $2000. They scheduled an appointment outside of my normal business hours. I had an employee there at 7am (this time of year we don't open until 4pm). The night before I received a message that they were running behind an they had to finish a job first thing but would be there no later than 9am. I called my employee told him to be there are 9am but be ready earlier. At 9am nobody was there. I checked in multiple times throughout the day with no response. At the end of the day I was told that there was no way they could do the job for that price. I was very upset because there was just no way they were doing this job so why tell me your have an exact time scheduled. Once again I was told that they were going to do the job. The person told me they were going to honor their quote and do the job before the next Friay. They told me they would me they would send that in an email. That email never came and the job was never done. They have held my deposit for 7 weeks now and they have known for a fact for at least 6 weeks they were not going to do the work. Despite multiple requests and threats they still have not returned my deposit. This is my last ditch effort to get my money back.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking my $750 deposit back immediately

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/18) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ********/President Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******************* ****, I researched your complaint and found a quote that TCL Electrical did for ******* ***** for your property. The ******* ***** is a customer of TCL and there is no ownership of the ******* ***** by TCL . TCL has never received any check for $750.00 . We have not been awarded this quote from the ******* ****** If you would give me a call I would be happy to help contact the ******* ***** to get your money back. Thanks, *** ******** (XXX) XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on TCL Electrical & Lighting, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)