BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

A & A Electronics

Phone: (773) 436-2106Fax: (773) 436-3380View Additional Phone Numbers7026 S Western Ave, ChicagoIL 60636-3122 Send email to A & A Electronics

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A & A Electronics is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A & A Electronics' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A & A Electronics

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
10/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid a $100 deposit in 7/3/2013 and was told that if parts needed to be ordered they would be in contact with me. The business estimated the cost at $350. I called two weeks later and was told that the parts were on order. On 9/9/2013 my service coordinator began to call on my behalf (once per week) and was told each time "the owner is a busy man he says he is going to fix the telivision". On 10/9/2013 my service coordinator called and was told that the owner came in and was given the information and that the owner walked out as if there was no message given. The manager stated that he has given the owner the message numerous times and his (the managers )hands are tied. The television was picked up from my address and I am informed that my television is in pieces waiting for the manager to repair the television.

Desired Settlement
Fix the telivision and return it or put the telivision back together and return it.

Business Response
This problem has been resolved. It was a case of misunderstanding. We gave the customer the option of returning the television or waiting on the parts, he chose to wait for the parts.

If you have any further questions feel free to contact us.

08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/29/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/16/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has no morales it lies and schemes people out of their money by getting your merchandise into their shop and telling you all kinds of lies just to gain a profit from you I have experienced this for myself and pray no one else would have to deal with this kind of unprofessionalism.

Desired Settlement
I would like half my money back if possible because I was over charged they kept my television for over two weeks but said it would be three days and still charged me almost four hundred dollars.

Business Response
***************
***********************
*****************
**************** **************************** Fax (************

August 27, 2014
BBB
Attn: ***********
****************************
*****************
Response to Case *********
In order to properly respond to this complaint we need more information. According to the consumer she states that that she was lied to however, she does not state what she was told. She also stated that we were unprofessional but did not state what behavior she felt was unprofessional.
In response to her desired resolution of receiving half of her money back because she felt she was overcharged, on her receipt(attached) she was given the range of $300-$350 upfront on 7/23/2014 before her television left her home or repairs were completed. She stated that we had her television for over two weeks when we picked up her television on 7/23/2014 and returned her unit on 8/7/2014 which is total of 11 business as we are closed on Sundays and Mondays. Additionally, when we spoke with ************* she stated to us that she felt we fixed her television to quickly. We returned *************'s television in working order, we keep all promise/agreements on her receipt and therefore, see no breach in our service agreement and no need to return any money.

We would the BBB to please note that ************* has not said she is unhappy with her repair. If ************* can provide us with a detail explanation on what she feels was immoral, lies and unprofessional we would like to respond to those and use them as learning and growing opportunities.
Sincerely,

**********
Enclosures(2)

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to*************** he did quote me a price of $300 to $350 but he promised me that my television would be back home by Saturday when they picked it up on that Wednesday so when it wasn't I call to find out what the problem was but they lied about the part was on order so after two weeks went by I went into the shop to see what was the hold up on my television he was upset that I had come into the shop since I had talked to him the day prior so now since I have come in to let him know I want my television he tell me that they will fix it for less since he had it so long and he apologize for the delay so by the time I made it home I received a phone call stating my television would be ready for me the next day so I said the part came in already he just said he had to order it now all of a sudden it in stock then he tells me he went to Kankakee to get the part so my question why was this not done two weeks prior when they picked up my television and promised it back by the weekend it took me to come into his shop just to get him to service my television, and I never told him they fixed my television to quick then when they brought my television home I never received a phone call telling me they were on their way they just came beating on my door never ringed my door bell what if I was in school that day and what happen to the fact that since he had my television longer than he promised from day one I cant believe all the lies he would tell just for money but I just want the bbb to understand just how unprofessional these people were to me I might not get any money back but lying saying that you was only going to have my set for really three days and it turned out two weeks for a part you said you had to order and it was going to take a week to come in then you drove down to Kankakee to get the part it just makes me wonder why didn't you just go down to Kankakee the day you got my television and buy the part and return my television to me by the weekend as you promised when they picked it up that is all I am saying now I know never to deal with this place ever again they would never get any recommendations from me for service and I apologize for my no punctuation I know better just tired of people lying just to gain money and thank you for hearing me out. thank you so much sincerely ***************

Final Business Response
We regret that we will not be able to resolve this complaint. The customer television was returned to her in working order. She was charged the price we quoted. ******** was not upset about her visit and in fact took her to the tech area and showed her the television and spent several minutes speaking with her about the television. When the television was returned she did not state any issues nor did she call the shop or tell the tech at that time that ******** promised her lower price. She paid her balance from the agreed upon price. Unfortunately, we can not agree to give her half her money back.

We would like to offer an eleven day extension to the parts warranty from the date of delivery.

11/18/2013Delivery Issues
08/24/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Equipment - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/25/2000Business started: 01/01/1978
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Chew (Manager)
Business Category

Electric Equipment - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Dealers

Industry Tips
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A & A Electronics

7026 S Western Ave

Chicago, IL 60636-3122

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7026 S Western Ave 

    Chicago, IL 60636-3122(773) 436-2106
    (708) 401-3365
    (773) 455-3406

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A & A Electronics is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (708) 401-3365
  • (773) 455-3406
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Electric Equipment - Service & Repair

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.