Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Custom Solutions

Phone: (888) 842-2613 Fax: (888) 842-2613 125 Buckskin Ln, Streamwood, IL 60107 http://www.customtyping.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Custom Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Custom Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Custom Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 08, 2003 Business started: 06/01/1998 Business started locally: 06/01/1998
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. David Nicholson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Nicholson, Owner
Business Category

Educational Consultants Tutoring Other Scientific and Technical Consulting Services (NAICS: 541690)

Products & Services

This firm offers classes and tutoring resources to improve typing ability and output.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $54.00. My bank is processing a refund of $18.00. I would like to be refunded the remaining $36.00. I was only sent one message welcoming me to Typing Training Free Trial. The next message I was received was the day I canceled the subscription. My grievance is that I was never informed by account was being charged for this subscription. I was aware I tried the free trial however I had no knowledge I entered into an agreement to be charged. There was no communication. A rep for the company stated Paypal should have informed yet I had ny account paid off and was not receiving statements. I had no idea there was monthly fee being charged. I would like to be refunded remaining $36 and would like to encourage you to send customers a message when you withdraw from their account. I recalled in March trying the Training program for a week or so but got busy and forgot I had engaged in the trial. I never received any communication notifying me that I was being charged therefore I was unaware I had access. I signed up via Paypal and paid my Paypal account in full a while ago and was not checking it regularly until I received a statement with the charges from Custom Solutions. Please process my request and refund me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $36.00 dollars refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/22) */ This customer signed up for a subscription on our TypingTraining.com web site. The customer is offered a 4 week free trial period. If the account is kept open beyond the trial, automatic payments of $18 every second month begin. The account can be closed quickly and easily online, and if it is closed during the trial, no charges occur. At the time of sign-up, this customer chose our PayPal payment option, and thus did not provide any credit/debit card information to us. The customer was notified and reminded of the automatic payments through the following methods: - Various web pages that the customer visited before signing up. Example: http://www.typingtraining.com/su-user_id.plp - A confirmation email sent by our server after completing the account set-up. - A confirmation email sent by PayPal after completing the account set-up. - Regular e-mails from PayPal every time a charge occurred. - When the customer logs into his/her PayPal account, payments and subscription information are visible in the transaction list and in the list of preapproved payments. - If the customer's PayPal account is withdrawing from a credit card or bank account, then payments to PayPal (and, by extension, to us) appear in the customer's paper or online statement. Additionally, our web site makes it exceptionally easy to close the account. A link to cancellation instructions is posted next to our phone number and email address (http://www.typingtraining.com/support.html). It is possible to close an account online even if the customer does not know his/her username and password. Our service operates in the same way as other fixed-rate services that individuals commonly have, such as cable or satellite TV. The regular payments allow us to make the service available, and our business must set aside resources and incur costs for accounts regardless of actual usage. In the same way that a TV provider does not charge based on how much TV is watched, we do not charge based on how often the web site is accessed. Of the $54 that has been charged, $18 has already been refunded. For the remaining $36, we would be willing to issue a check to the customer if the customer can provide evidence of human or technical error on our side that caused excessive charges. Examples would include a dated email from the customer requesting cancellation, or a message from our server sent to the customer confirming cancellation on an earlier date.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Custom Solutions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)