BBB Accredited Business since

Wells Family Dentistry

Phone: (815) 625-2532 Fax: (815) 625-2561 1840 1st Ave, Sterling, IL 61081

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Wells Family Dentistry is a dental office which provides general, cosmetic, and emergency dentistry for children and adults. Located in Sterling, IL, this office serves the Rock Valley area, including Rock Falls, Morrison, Fenton, Dixon, Eldena, Amboy, Oregon, Mt Morris, Polo, Erie, Chana, Rochelle, and Lanark. The office has been in business since 2002 and is headed by Dr. Wendy Wells. Dr. Wells graduated from Illinois Wesleyan University with a Bachelor's in Biology before attending Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine and receiving her Doctor of Dental Medicine degree in 1992. While in dental school, she received a community dentistry and public health award from the American Association of Public Health Dentistry for volunteering at a shelter for abused and neglected women and children. She has completed the full mouth reconstruction regime from the Las Vegas Institute of Advanced Dentistry, and is a member of The American Dental Association, The Illinois State Dental Society, and the Whiteside-Lee Dental Society.

Services provided by this office include tooth reshaping, whitening, fillings, tooth-colored crowns, Empress crowns, Smile-Design, full mouth reconstruction, whitening toothpaste, fitted whitening trays, Zoom2, dental laser, jaw positioning for jaw pain, emergency care, Underarmor mouth guards for sports, and gum disease treatment. The office has a variety of high-tech treatments available, including intra-oral cameras, computerized mapping of teeth and the mouth, laser wands, and digital x-rays to ensure accurate diagnoses of problems.

Visit the website for Wells Family Dentistry to learn more about the services available from this company, read about the technology used in this clinic, and contact the clinic to schedule an appointment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wells Family Dentistry meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wells Family Dentistry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wells Family Dentistry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2008 Business started: 08/20/2002 Business started locally: 08/20/2002 Business incorporated 08/20/2002 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Wendy Wells, DDS, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Wendy Wells, DDS, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Dentists Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)

Additional Locations


    1840 1st Ave

    Sterling, IL 61081 (815) 625-2532


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is both a service and a billing issue. #1 When I went to Dr ***** for an appointment on Sept 4 I told she and her staff that I had a total of $1,300 to spend on dental care and no more so they should only schedule care within that limit. When the treatment plan was set up with the bookkeeper she underlined $1355 on the paper and asked me to sign it, which I did. In another area on the paper, in small print was a total of $2875 which she did not point out to me. At my final appointment, after having previously paid $905, the bookkeeper told me I still owed $1,200. I was expecting to only have to pay $395. When I questioned the total she was very haughty about what I owed and wanted it on the spot. I left without paying anything, questioning their practice of billing.#2 On the appointment of 9/23/13 . A tech had me all numbed and Dr ***** came in to do the drilling, leaving before it was complete. I understood from the tech that Dr ***** would be coming in to do the fillings while she made a crown. No one came back for a very long time. My appointment started at 1:15 and at four I still had not had any fillings. Then, when Dr ***** was ready to do the fillings, another technician came in and said I had to be numbed up again. I questioned her as to why and she said that Dr ***** didnt want me to have pain. I had been left to sit so long that I guess they thought enough numbness would not be left to complete treatment. This is an absurd practice! When I asked why the delay I was told there was an emergency. What emergency could there be in a dental office that would take away from a treatment in progress? It took four hours to do 2 fillings and a crown.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want this settled by only owing $395 instead of $1200. If anything, I should have had a discount for treatment of 9/23/13 because I was left to wait so long.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/24) */