Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

ProCare Dental Group PC-Wheaton

Phone: (630) 681-0108 Fax: (630) 681-0169 7 Blanchard Cir # Llg, Wheaton, IL 60189 http://www.procaredentalgroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for ProCare Dental Group PC-Wheaton include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ProCare Dental Group PC-Wheaton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 12/01/1993 Business started locally: 12/01/1993 Business incorporated 12/01/1993 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Albano, Controller Mr. Robert G. Brunetti, President Ms. Kathy Hammers, Human Resources Manager Mary Schemenaur
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Albano, Controller
Business Category

Dentists Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)

Alternate Business Names
Central Dupage Dental Group

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7 Blanchard Cir # Llg

    Wheaton, IL 60189 (630) 681-0108

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday, July 15, 2015 I received a perio-cleaning and irrigation at ProCare Dental Group in ******** The cleaning was performed by Dr. ********************* D.D.S. At the time of checkout I was informed that my bill was $192.00 dollars. I had already handed my debit card to the receptionist and told her that this was obviously a mistake. I then showed her a ********* ******* dental benefits form I received from my employer. I asked her to show me on the form what the procedure was that I had just received. She told me it was a Perio-maintenance cleaning and irrigation.For that procedure the co-pay clearly indicated $45.00. Which she agreed it was. I then asked her why then was i being charged $192.00/ She said that that was the indicated price that the computer system was showing. She then said that my insurance, **** ********** ****** was faxing over some documents to show that I was in their system and that once they received that documents that they would be able to credit my account. In the meantime, I contacted **** ***** **** ****** on Thursday, july 16, 2015 to complain about ProCare dental overcharging me. i spoke with a rep by the name of *******. She confirmed that my portion of the bill should have been $45.00 as indicated on the benefits form.She then placed me on hold and called ProCare to straighten out the matter. After a lengthy wait she came back and told me that the office manger at Pro Care was being very dificult. She stated in her own words that office manager was being extremely "rude and obnoxious'. The office manager even questioned whether or not I even had insurance. ******* then told her that they had already faxed documents indicating that I indeed was insured through ***** about an hour after talking to ******* from **** i went back to Procare and spoke with the Office manager (******** ************** when I could expect my refund of $147.00. Just as she did with *******, she became very defensive and rude stating that there was some stipulation in terms of previous care from my periodontist, Dr. ****** in ***** ****** that the charge of $192.00 was correct. I then asked her how much the same procedure would have cost for someone who had no insurance. She told me "$192.00", the same amount that I paid with insurance.I told her that did not make any sense. That I was a patient with insurance and i was being charged the same price as someone with no insurance at all.She then told me that she needs a history of all the treatments my periodontist, Dr. ****** had performed for me with the past 2 years.I did inform Dr. ********* office of this and was told that they would send it toProCare. However, the office manager, ******** ******** that even with that I might not receive my refund. I immediately put in for a Dental office change. However, I want my money. This is a business that does not honor what they are suppose to charge customers with insurance. This Dental office has a history of poor billing, poor customer service and scheduling snafus. Last year my wife and daughter had made appointments only to called up and told that the appoints needed to be rescheduled. They were given new appointment dates, only to be sent letters stating that they owed fees for missed appointments for the very days they changed. When we complained that they had not missed any appointments the office manager, ******** ******** became argumentive insisting that we owed the money. We refused to pay the fee for appointment cancellation because we simply had not missed the appointment dates being referred to. I then sent Pro Care a letter stating that we were not going to pay for their mistakes and that I was going to report the business to the Better Business Bureau. About two weeks later we received a letter stating that we were not going to be charged the cancellation fee. However, that was enough for my wife and daughter leave the practice and find a new dental office.

Desired Settlement: I simply want the $147.00 I am owed. They knowingly overcharged me and totally disregarded being told by a ********************** rep what the indicated co-pay was($45.00)which is also clearly indicated on the ********* Dental ******* Plan 830 benefits form. The office manager indicated to me that there were some office billing policies that might prevent me from being refunded. She never showed me these policies in print. I feel that my patient rights were violated. They never gave me an estimate of the cost of the procedure before performing it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/21) */ Mr. ****** received a perio maintenance and irrigation on 7/15/2015 for which he was charged and paid $192. Mr. ******'s plan stated his copay should have been $45 (plus $39 irrigation). Mr. ****** sees a periodontic Specialist for alternating perio maintenance visits and has seen that specialist earlier this year. The plan overlooked or was not advised that there is a limitation on the perio maintenance code (*****) of "one". Mr. ****** has previously received his maximum allowable benefit for the code, and charges for services 7/15/15 are correct. Mr. ******'s dental plan is a **** or pre-paid plan. Non-covered services or services beyond the scope of the plan are billable to the patient at the normal office fee, thus the statement that the $192 would also have been charged to a non-insured patient is correct per the dental plan rules. It is unfortunate that Mr. ****** is misunderstood on the benefits provided by his plan, and even more unfortunate that after contact with his plan, he did not receive correct information as to his benefits and related limitations. ProCare apologizes for any part it *** have had in that circle of miscommunication. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I absolutely do not agree with the response because I should have been given a price estimate of the cleaning before treatment, especially since I had commented to Dr. ********* when I sat down in the chair that I usually receive my cleanings from my periodontist, Dr. ****** and that it was recommended by Dr.****** that since my insurance covered cleanings i might save money by alternating my cleanings between both offices since I always pay out of pocket for all of my cleanings with Dr. ******. Little did I know that i would wind up paying almost twice as much the same cleaning that I receive at Dr. ******'s office. In addition,patients should have written and billing/pricing information accessible to them. In addition, Dr. ********* and the office manager know full well that I have been seen by Dr. ****** for at least as long I have been coming to their office. In reality, I have been treated by Dr. ****** for the past 20 years. Medical records/x-rays/referrals have been sent both ways.There is a paper trail that would confirm this. For them to charge me the same price for a cleaning as someone without any insurance is asinine to say the least. Why would anyone bother to purchase medical insurance if businesses were going to charge a patient as if he/she had no insurance at all. This of course has nothing to with Ms. ********'s (office manager)rude behavior towards the rep from **** and myself. I have been coming to this office for about ten years and have always been a patient that have payed my co-pays without fail. I resent being treated as if I were completely new to this office with them not having any history what so ever as to my previous treatment. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/07/31) */ The statement from the treating dentist as to the estimate of costs PRIOR to treatment is that Mr. ****** verbally acknowledged that services would not be covered and he would be responsible for the costs of treatment that day. There was opportunity to obtain further details of those costs at that time. Mr. ******'s dental plan, even though it is an HMO type, has certain rules and restrictions. The plan contracts with Specialists like Dr. ****** to pay for services on a claims basis. For these same services by the General Dentist, no claims are submitted, nor are they accepted by ************************* (**********). If Dr. ****** chooses to accept copays and the plan continues to reimburse him in the face of an obvious plan limitation, that would be their (****** and DNOA) business. The General Dentist would have no knowledge of that transaction. Further, prior to July 17, 2015, there appears to be no "paper trail" between Dr. ****** and the general dentist's office, although there may have been a discussion between Dr. ********* and Mr. ****** regarding his alternating visits. In previous years, Mr. ****** had coverage thru a different insurance provider, also a ****. The limitations and restrictions on frequency of periodontal follow-up treatment were completely different in that plan. The last periodontal cleaning at this office prior to June 2015 was August 2006. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/08/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on ProCare Dental Group PC-Wheaton
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)