This business is not BBB accredited.

Michigan Avenue Dental Associates

Phone: (312) 922-9595 Fax: (312) 922-9599 122 S Michigan Ave Ste 1212, Chicago, IL 60603 http://www.madachicago.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Michigan Avenue Dental Associates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Michigan Avenue Dental Associates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 06, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1911 Business started locally: 01/01/1911
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Douglas James, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Douglas James, President
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Dental Surgery Dentist - Periodontist Endodontics Dentist - Dental Implants Dentist - Orthodontist Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Michigan Avenue Dental Associates has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    122 S Michigan Ave Ste 1212

    Chicago, IL 60603

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my six month cleaning in May of 2013, at which point I had **** for dental insurance. In August 2013 I switched jobs, and my insurance switched to ******** In November 2013 I went in for my six month cleaning and annual exam. At that point someone in the office must've realized they never billed insurance for the May visit, so they billed ******* instead of ***** ******* denied the claim, as they should have. I didn't find out about this issue until I went in for a cleaning in June 2014 and was told I had a balance. I figured out what happened, and asked MADA to bill **** for the May 2013 visit. Apparently they never did, because when I went in for a cleaning in January 2015, was told that I had a balance because ******* denied the May 2013 claim. Of course ******* denied the claim! They shouldn't have been billed in the first place! MADA finally tried to bill BCBS in January 2015, but since the claim was well over 1 year old, **** denied it. This is pretty much the exact same thing that happened in XXXX-XXXX, when my previous employer switched to **** from whatever insurance they had previously - MADA kept billing **** instead of the company I was covered under at the time of the visit. I had to jump through all kinds of hoops to get it paid by my old insurance because it was well past the year claims. With that issue, MADA argued that they only bill insurance companies as a courtesy and that I needed to take responsibility. How was I supposed to know that they'd keep billing the wrong company, especially when I called to follow up to make sure they billed the correct one?!?! I'm not paying MADA for the May 2013 visit. They are threatening to send the account to collections.

Desired Settlement: The business should pay the $80 denied by the insurance company because they failed to bill the correct company until well after the claims deadline.

12/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was not inform in my visit on 02/10/2014 that it will be a charge for telling how to brush your teeth.chart******** and she did not gave instruction. receptionist hanged up on me when I called to ask for this charge.

Desired Settlement: they need to tell in advance or give patients a memo if they are going to charge you. I am not paying this fee because she did not give me oral hygiene instructions. and they need to writte off this charge and send a zero balance invoice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/04/23) */ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2014/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) it is good enough for me. thanks, ******* *******

10/21/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early 2012 I first visited Michigan Avenue Dental for tooth pain. I was treated by Dr. ******* *****. I received a crown on my bottom right molar in March of 2012. I was charged $846.50 out of pocket for the service, not including the portion charged to my insurance. I paid with my Visa card on March 20, 2012. I was told that the pain should subside and to wait at least 6 months. Since receiving the crown I returned twice the following year complaining of recurring sensitivity to touch and temperature. I was treated by Dr. ******* *****. I was told that there was nothing wrong with my crown and that I needed a $550 dental accessory (NiteGuard) to resolve my recurring pain. I was charged $165.00 (charged 12/20/2012 on my Visa) for the doctor to review his work. I was later billed an additional $14.80 for this visit (06/05/2012). I then sought a second opinion from a different dental firm. I received x-rays identifying the poor fit of the crown which left a portion of my remaining tooth exposed. I returned again in May 2013 to speak with Dr. *****. I explained my continued discomfort and sensitivity in the treated tooth and voiced my concerns regarding the fit of the crown. My concerns were completely ignored and he would not review my previous x-ray from Michigan Avenue Dental to discuss the fit of the crown. I was referred to a specialist for consultation regarding a root canal. I still suffer from pain and sensitivity in the treated tooth. My current dentist believes the pain and sensitivity are due to the improper fit of the crown that leaves a portion of my existing tooth exposed. This ongoing issue has been financially and emotionally stressful. The procedure was painful and I was well in excess of 2 hours. To resolve the issue I have attempted numerous phone calls. Visits to Michigan Avenue Dental as well as to a consulting dental office has required midday commute and as a result I have had to miss work.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the services provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/08) */ Contact Name and Title: Dr. ******* A ***** Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: Use land line phone to my office and speak with me personally, October 6, 2013 Better Business Bureau 330 North Wabash Avenue Suite 3120 Chicago, Illinois XXXXX-XXXX Re: Case #XXXXXXXX Sir/ Madam: Thank you for informing us of a dispute a patient of our office, Ms. ****** ****, has voiced to you concerning her dental treatments. We, which includes my staff, myself as office director and the doctor of record for Ms. ****, were not aware of her concerns prior to your letter to our office dated September 30, 2013. As an established business for 102 years and a member of the BBB with a A+ rating we are very, very cognizant of the importance of providing our patients with as high quality dental services in as much a professional manner as possible, and....resolving disputes as equitably and fairly as possible. I personally have reviewed Ms. ****'s statement as quoted in your letter quite thoroughly and will address her concerns in a manner and language that I believe would be understood by an individual who is not a dentist. Starting out: Ms. ****, was a new patient at our office March of 2012. On Ms. ****'s "Medical Health History" form she filled out on that date, she answered question #14 "Do you chew on one side of your mouth? If so why?" Ms. ****'s answer was "Pain". Her answer to the question, "Does your jaw pop or click?" Ms. **** answered "Yes". Her answer to the question, "What prompted you to seek dental care at our office?" Ms. **** answered: "Pain in tooth with new filling". Upon further query of Ms. ****, she indicated tooth #31 (a molar tooth and the tooth involving her dispute and the tooth which was hurting her prior to seeking dental care at our office) had fracture the previous year (XXXX) and her previous dentist placed a filling into the tooth. But it still hurt her upon pressure when eating. During my initial examination of her I applied pressure duplicating eating pressure to various areas on the biting surface of the molar in dispute (#31). X-rays indicated there was no decay evident or infection present. This pressure testing elicited the same discomfort she felt upon chewing and prior to coming to our office. Noting also during my examination at her initial appointment, Ms. **** had abnormal wearing of her teeth indicating she was grinding her teeth. Also, she had indicated on her health history form she had jaw joint clicking or popping discomfort which indicates over use (abnormal use) of her jaw muscles and her jaw joint, (from night time grinding). I determined from my clinical examination that Ms. **** had developed, prior to coming to our office, a chronic habit of grinding her teeth. A night time activity. Also an abnormal activity that contributes significantly to fracturing of teeth. Noting this molar tooth had previously fractured the year before, (more than likely from grinding her teeth) I concluded her continued grinding on a weakened tooth (weakened by two previous fillings other dentists had placed into this molar) had caused a deep fracture that was not able to be addressed by placing a filling into the tooth as her previous dentist had done, with the best of intentions and with a conservative approach. It was obvious to me another filling would not resolve her problem of pain upon pressure. The fracture line apparently extended just too deep into the tooth and was till there and another filling would not resolve the pressure sensitivity/pain. Since a fracture is not evident on an x-ray and many times a new fracture has not had time to pick up a stain to be visible, the diagnosis of a fracture line within a tooth is based upon symptoms, pain on pressure and pressure testing by the dentist. The depth of the fracture line within a tooth is usually speculative. Since the fracture line is not visible, the dentist is not certain how deep the fracture extends into the tooth. If the fracture line is superficial and shallow then a filling might resolve the problem, as her prior dentist thought his filling would address. But if the tooth still hurts the patients then it is empirically evident that the fracture line extends deeper in the tooth and a crown covering the entire tooth to prevent further stressing of the fracture line is indicated,.... and if the fracture line should go so deep into the tooth that even after a crown is placed, then the tooth would need either root canal treatment as well as a crown or be extracted. I have restored 11,000 teeth with crowns in my past 40 years of practice and drawing upon my professional experience I approached this ongoing pressure sensitivity Ms. **** was experiencing from this tooth, conservatively and judiciously and recommended a crown be placed on the tooth accompanied with a soft night guard Ms. **** would need to wear at night to prevent continued night time abnormal grinding stress on the tooth. Ms. **** accepted my recommendation, signed a treatment plan acknowledging her acceptance and I proceeded to prepare the tooth to have a crown placed upon it. At Ms. ****'s next appointment (the following month---April) to have the crown place, and after the crown was placed at that appointment, Ms. **** decided she did not want me to make for her the type of night guard I had recommended and listed on the treatment plan previously presented to her. She said she would have a different type of night guard (a hard plastic night guard rather than the soft cushioning guard I recommended on my treatment plan. (A soft night guard cushions night time grinding, a hard acrylic night guard does not)) made by some one else. I withdrew my 10 years guarantee which I give to patients whom I fabricate crowns for. My guarantee indicates I will replace the crown at no charge if the crown should be in need of being remade if it breaks. But only if the patient complies with my recommendations...in Ms. ****'s case....having a soft protective night guard made. Eight months goes by and in December 2012 Ms. **** returns to my office complaining the tooth still bothers her. This time I suggested she stop wearing at night her hard acrylic night guard, which I didn't recommend, and someone else had made for her (and as I mentioned previously a hard night guard does not have the same cushioning effect as the soft flexible guard I recommended for her) and have a soft night guard made and also consult with an endondontist to evaluate the condition of the nerve within the tooth to determine if the fracture line had possibly extended down into the nerve chamber of the tooth. Which would indicate the need for root canal treatment. Ms. **** again ignores my recommendations and does not have a soft night guard made as I originally recommended at my initial appointment with her. She also ignores my recommendation she consult with an endodontist. Five months goes by and Ms. **** returns to my office in April 2013 with the same complaint, sensitivity to pressure from the tooth that was fractured in 2011, restored by another dentist with a filling in 2011 and the same tooth I made a crown for in 2012. She had not followed up on my recommendation to see the endodontist I referred to at her previous appointment with me five months earlier, and..... she still was using the hard acrylic night guard which I recommend she have changed to the soft guard I had originally recommended she use. Again I referred her to an endodontist for consultation. This is the last time I treated Ms. ****. In her letter she states another general dentist she went to says the crown I made for her "had a poor fit" which apparently was causing her to have the problems she was having prior to coming to my office. This dentist, as of today, has failed to consult with me concerning Ms. ****'s long dental treatment history of discomfort from the tooth in question (#31) starting a year before she came to my office. I am sure the new dentist would charge Ms. **** for remaking her another new crown. I challenge that dentist's diagnosis concerning his recommendation that a new crown would solve her chronic discomfort/pressure pain from #31, (which started a year before she came to my office). If Ms. **** does elect to have the crown remade, I hope she makes a prior arrange with the dentist to refund her in full if she elects to have a new crown made and she still experiences the same discomfort/sensitivity/pressure pain she presently is experiencing after he remakes the crown. My prediction is that she will still have the same discomfort. Dentistry, like medicine, is not a mathematical science. Two plus two does not always equal four. You do your best and hope the results are rewarding for the patient. The odds are better if the patient is compliant with the doctor's recommendations. Ms. **** has not been complaint with my recommendations, and the treatments I provided for her were well within the recommended treatmen CONTINUE RESPONCE FROM PREVIOUS DIALOGUE BOX and fractured tooth and within the standards of the local dental community. The crown I made for her is an excellent restoration not in need of being remade. Ms. **** needs to arrange to have an evaluation by an endodontist of the health of the nerve within the tooth and to rule out the possibility that the fracture line has extended deep into the pulp chamber of the tooth. If the endodontist does not recommend root canal treatment then I again highly recommend she have a soft night guard made. I am empathetic with Ms. ****'s situation. It is quite frustrating. A fractured tooth, particularly a molar, presents to the dentist and the patient a challenge that sometimes is easy to resolve, and sometimes difficult. I hope Ms. **** follows up on my original recommendations. Until the recommendations she has received from our office are complied with, we will not be able to recommended any possible additional treatments to address her concerns, nor consider complying with Ms. ****'s request that a "full refund for the services provided" be made. P.S. All my statements can be verified in the patient's chart. Respectfully submitted; Sincerely, ******* A. *****, D.D.S., M.A.G.D. Director Michigan Avenue Dental Associates 122 South Michigan Avenue, Suite 1212 Chicago, Illinois XXXXX

10/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Michigan Avenue Dental Associates
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart