Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Glen Ellyn Dentistry

Phone: (630) 942-0727 577 Pennsylvania Ave Ste 100, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137 http://glenellyndental.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Glen Ellyn Dentistry meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Glen Ellyn Dentistry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Glen Ellyn Dentistry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 2007 Business started: 11/30/2006 Business started locally: 11/30/2006 Business incorporated 11/02/2006 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Charise M. Petrelli, President Mrs. Mary Dollens, Office Coordinator
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Charise M. Petrelli, President
Business Category

Dentists Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)

Alternate Business Names
Charise M. Petrelli, DDS, P.C. Glen Ellyn Dentistry, P.C.

Additional Locations

  • 577 Pennsylvania Ave Ste 100

    Glen Ellyn, IL 60137 (630) 942-0727

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to resolve this issue with the dentist's office for months. I went in for cleanings and apparently received more than normal cleanings which were billed to my insurance at a higher level than a regular cleaning. I didn't know this and should have been asked if I wanted to receive the higher level/cost cleaning. Doctors do not provide services or perform procedures without patient's consent. Why should dentists?? This would be insurance fraud except they are claiming I am responsible for the balance of the bill. I knew the dentist was not in my network and would NOT have approved the services if I had been given the opportunity. This is wrong and I should not be responsible. I maintain I should only be responsible for the balance on a regular cleaning, not a higher level cleaning that I didn't approve. The dental office is saying I should only have to pay the difference as if the work were done in network. That misses the whole point. I knew they were out of network. I am willing to pay the additional amount for a regular cleaning but NOT the amount for a a service I didn't approve. Dates of service were 1/28 and 3/8/13.

Desired Settlement: As described above, they need to revised the amount they say I owe. I should have to pay the balance on a regular cleaning, NOT a periodontal cleaning. I never approved it and should have to pay it. A patient should be told and should have the option as to whether they choose a certain treatment plan!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/29) */ This is in response to the complaint filed by our former patient, ****** ******* on 1/23/14. We have been attempting to collect payment on a past due balance since February 2013 and have been more than fair in this situation. ****** and her husband came to our office as new patients. They scheduled at our office because they have been long time patients of our former hygienist, ******. Upon the full comprehensive exam, x-rays and periodontal charting, it was clear that a "regular cleaning" or routine prophylaxis was unable to be performed on ******. She was diagnosed with gum disease and made aware that deeper periodontal therapy, known as scaling & root planing, would need to be performed to ensure the overall health of her mouth and get the infection that was present under control. ****** put in her chart notes that she went over in detail with ****** about what the necessary treatment was. She specifically noted that ****** was surprised to hear she had gum disease and ****** was able to answer several questions for her. ****** then proceeded (after the exam) for over 90 minutes scaling and root planing ******. When ****** left her appointment on 1/28/13 she was given a walkout statement that had her future appointments (that she scheduled that day) on it, as well as an itemized statement of what was done that day, the cost of each procedure, AND an estimated amount due by ****** after insurance was billed. ****** then came back for 2 more appointments at our office and was again given a walkout statement at each appointment that had the same information. At no time did ****** question this amount. She had been sent several billing statements and again didn't question the amount until August 2013 when she called with concerns about how much her bill was. ****** explained that she had no idea what was billed that day and that ****** did not go over in detail what her responsibility would be. She knew what treatment was performed that day because she had her walkout statement for that day which itemized it for her. However, at the time she contacted our office, ****** was no longer with our office. We have no way to know that ******, our office manager at the time, went over the financial aspect in detail with ******. We take concerns about failing to go over the financial responsibility with patients very seriously. So, to be fair we took ******'s word for it that she was not told about the specific out of network fees ahead of time. That is NOT how our office typically handles treatment. We pride ourselves in that the fact that we are overly cautious about making sure our patients have no financial surprises when they have treatment done. As a courtesy to our patients, we bill all insurances on their behalf and only send a statement if there is any out of pocket expense due. As ****** stated, she knew that we were out of network for her insurance but decided to come to our office anyways. We give the same care and consideration for every single patient and therefore don't treatment plan based on insurance but based on what their individual mouth needs to be or stay healthy. ****** owed a total of $1386.40 for 2 visits including a $20 oral care kit she purchased. ****** was made aware of what treatment we had completed, but once we looked into her insurance coverage, there was a distinct difference if she had gone to an in network provider. When talking to ****** she kept repeating that she would have had the work done in network instead if she had properly be told the difference of her insurance. We offered to write off what her insurance would have covered if she had the treatment done in an in-network dentist. To right the situation even further we wrote off the out of pocket expense for the x-rays and exam that she had done. Giving her a total write off of $729.80, leaving her balance as $656.60. Her husband was also seen in our office in January 2013 and owed $295.20 for his appointment, leaving the total account balance as $951.80 for both ****** and her husband. The write off was made in September 2013 and we have continued to send statements to ****** for the past due balance that is now almost a year old. ****** did ask us to "recode" the procedures we performed and send it back to insurance, which is insurance fraud and we told her that we would not do that. We stand by the fact that the treatment was necessary at the time, and ****** stayed for over 90 minutes to have the treatment performed because at the time she agreed to have ****** continue. The treatment was done with ******'s knowledge and agreement and therefore the balance due is her responsibility. There was no way for us to prove that the financial aspect had been gone over with ****** with the correct amount of detail and therefore as a courtesy we wrote off more than half of what she owed us. We have given ****** ample amount of time to set up a payment arrangement and pay her balance for her husbands appointment, the oral care kit she purchased and for the treatment performed on her. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not give approval for the higher level cleaning prior to it being done. I did NOT ask the dentist to commit insurance fraud. They have violated HIPPA requirements by including this much personal medical information in their response.i agree that I am responsible for my husband's billing and two regular cleanings. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/03/03) */ Ultimately, all patients are responsible for services rendered in any medical/dental office. Just because their insurance does not pay for the services, does not mean they can pick and choose what they would like to pay for. If Ms. ******* wanted to know in detail what her insurance would pay for than she should not have proceeded with any treatment in the office, and requested a pretreatment estimate. Once again, "two regular cleanings" were NOT the services rendered. It is fraud to say or code that out when that was not the services that were performed. Perhaps, she should contact the dental hygienist that performed the work and discuss the services with her since she is the reason she came to this office to begin with. Ms. ******* is responsible for any outstanding balance with this office for the services that were rendered. We have tried to discuss this situation with her and work with her to make her happy, but I guess we will just have to agree to disagree. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When my husband and I contemplated moving to this new dental provider, we were told we would always be told what our financial responsibility would be for services provided. I was not and did not approve the high level service provided. I am not a dentist and do not know the different levels of cleanings available and the costs for each and insurance availability for each etc. This should have been reviewed with me and I should have been given all the relevant information to make an informed decision. My understanding was that when I came back for my second cleaning, it was "special" in that I came back in 3 months rather than in 6 months as is customary. It was not explained to me that it was for a different type of cleaning, at a much higher cost and that I would only have minimal coverage for it. Since we were seeing a dentist out of our network, we made it VERY clear to the staff that we needed to approve services because of our personal responsibility for the costs. The office keeps trying to say they are working with me, but what they have done is arbitrarily reduced the amount. They first offered to just "split the difference." This begs the point I am making which is I should be responsible only for the services that were explained to me and that I approved, i.e. two regular cleanings. I have paid the balance in full for my husband's cleanings as those are not in dispute.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Glen Ellyn Dentistry
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)