Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Family Medical & Dental Clinic

Phone: (847) 455-4750 9663 Franklin Ave, Franklin Park, IL 60131

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Family Medical & Dental Clinic meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Family Medical & Dental Clinic
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 12/01/1992 Business started locally: 12/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Business Management
Dr. Bhupendra Patel, President Dr. Smita Patel, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Bhupendra Patel, President
Business Category

Dentists Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D. Clinics Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)

Additional Locations

  • 9663 Franklin Ave

    Franklin Park, IL 60131 (847) 455-4750


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told and shown a certain amount for my crown procedure. Received insurance statement and saw that I was charged almost double the amount. Went to ask for a detailed invoice, and they refused to provide me with this document. The Dentist tried stating that the insurance makes the amount and not her, which I know is a complete lie. I feel that she is being fraudulent with customers and insurance companies

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the amount adjusted to the correct amount that was stated to me when this procedure was done. I would like too to warn others about how this dentist is scamming innocent people that have dental needs

Business Response:

RE: ******* ****** ****************

Mr. ****** came to see me on 02/06/2016 with chief complaint of a broken tooth.  After examinig I recommended a crown for that tooth.  Since Mr. ****** has a BCBS PPO Dental insurance, I gave him an approximate patient’s portion for the crown which was $400.00 or more and told him that Insurance usually approves about $800.00 and Mr. ****** accepted the treatment and paid his estimated portion and I completed his treatment on 3/1/2016.

Mr. ****** came back on 03/10/2016 with EOB from BCBS Insurance and wanted to talk to me.  He explained to my front desk staff that I charged $1200 to insurance and  my staff told Mr. ****** to wait in a exam room so that I can talk to him between other patients but he did not wait.  Once I became free I called him at ************ and he answered the phone very angrily and once I started to talk Mr. ****** hung up the phone.

Later I found out that Mr. ****** put bad review on YELP.

I think Mr. ****** came to me since I am in Netowrk PPO provider, but he does not understand how insurance works.  My usual and customary charge for a crown is $1200 and more than 100 PPO plans that I accept approve differently.  His particular insurance approved $940 for this crown and I received apayment of $470 and Mr. ******’s portion is for the same crown is $470.  I have not asked for more money from him other than $400.00 he paid.

Mr. ****** did not give me a chance to explain the situation and it is unfair to destroy someone’s reputation for ignorance.

Tell us why here...

Business Response: I'm sorry for the miscommunication, as well as misunderstanding. I value my patients, and I try my very best to serve their dental needs.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, only if I am not being charged any thing extra from what I was advised before the procedure. 


******* ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Family Medical & Dental Clinic
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)