Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Family Dental Care-Cal City

Phone: (708) 862-2328 Fax: (708) 862-1950 313 River Oaks Dr., Calumet City, IL 60409 http://www.familydentalcare.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Family Dental Care-Cal City meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Family Dental Care-Cal City include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Family Dental Care-Cal City
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 06, 2004 Business started: 05/01/1986 Business started locally: 05/01/1986 Business incorporated 08/18/2006 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tiffany Gahan, Office Manager Mr. Alex Alemis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tiffany Gahan, Office Manager
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Periodontist Dentistry - Children Dentistry - Cosmetic Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)

Alternate Business Names
Calumet City Dental, PC

Additional Locations

  • 313 River Oaks Dr.

    Calumet City, IL 60409 (708) 862-2328

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: had the dentist repaired the partial properly I would not have the gapon both sides of my top partial. dentist told me that to correct this would cost between $4000 to $6500 dollars.Had he filled in the void caused by the missing teeth I would not have had this problem. very disappointed with the final product.

Desired Settlement: would like for the dentist to fill in the void which was caused by the teeth which be extracted in my current partial.also was told that I had a co-pay of one thousand dollars at no extra cost and finance charge. I later found out that this was a lie.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Patient Relati Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@familydentalcare.com I received the complaint filed by Mr. ******* and am very surprised by it. Mr. ******* was seen numerous times for treatment in our office. He never voiced any concerns or issues he was having with his partial or the care we provided him. We strive to provide the best quality dental care to all our patients. Had Mr. ******* expressed any concerns about perceived gaps in his partial, we would have addressed them with him. Mr. ******* states that he is disappointed with the final product. Our office did not make the partial for him, we repaired the existing product he had. If he was unhappy with it or wanted adjustments made to it, we would have done whatever we could to make it satisfactory for him despite the fact we were working with a partial that was made by another dental office. Mr. ******* claims that we told him it would cost between $4000 and $6500 to correct the problem. This is not correct. Mr. ******* was given several options of dental care at different costs, but he refused comprehensive dental work and only signed up for repairs. Additionally, Mr. ******* states that he was told copay of $1000 had no finance charges. Mr. ******* used an outside finance company to pay for the option he chose and was given one-year to pay it back with no interest. This is a contract he made with the finance company. If he had any finance charges it is because he did not follow the financial arrangement. He can call me so we can figure it out. In conclusion, Mr. ******* did not address any concerns he had with us. If he had done so, we would have handled those issues with him as we endeavor to provide excellent service to all our patients. He can call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX or make an appointment with Dr. ********* at the office to address any dental concerns that he might have. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) when the teeth were extracted it should have been known that a void was created from the now missing teeth. the partial could or should have been adjusted to fill that empty space. what should have been done was to add plastic to fill that void. I did not chose the finance company it was given to me by one the attendants. When I had dental work in the past, that dentist was paid by me on a plan. family dental didn't have the same arrangement available to me. apparently they didn't trust me even though I paid a fee every time that I arrived. totally disappointed with the substandard work. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/29) */ I am not sure what Mr. ******* would like from our office. He is addressing two issues. 1. Financial: All our patients are given three different options to pay their bill. a. Pay up front for a discount. b. Finance company c. Pay as you go. Patient was given all three options and it shows on his financial arrangement. 2. Dental: Dentally I am not sure what the concern is. The patient needs to come and see us to address the problem he is having. ***** **** Patient Relations


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Family Dental Care-Cal City
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)