Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Endodontic & Periodontic Associates, LTD.

Additional Locations

Phone: (708) 799-2550 Fax: (708) 799-2568 18130 Halsted St, Homewood, IL 60430 http://www.endoperio.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Endodontic & Periodontic Associates, LTD. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Endodontic & Periodontic Associates, LTD. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Endodontic & Periodontic Associates, LTD.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2003 Business started: 08/01/1976 in IL Business started locally: 08/01/1976 Business incorporated 02/02/1970 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. L. Douglas Fillak, President Mr. Michael Cvengros, Practice Administrator Ms. Darlette Porebski, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. L. Douglas Fillak, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Darlette Porebski, Business Manager
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Periodontist Endodontics Dentist - Dental Implants Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)


Additional Locations

  • 14640 John Humphrey Dr Ste 203

    Orland Park, IL 60462

  • 18130 Halsted St

    Homewood, IL 60430 (708) 799-2550

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    275 Joliet St Ste 200

    Dyer, IN 46311

  • 3077 W Jefferson St Ste 120

    Joliet, IL 60435

  • 4550 W 103rd St

    Oak Lawn, IL 60453

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    502 Wall St., Ste. 103

    Valparaiso, IN 46383

  • 755 Almar Pkwy Ste C

    Bourbonnais, IL 60914

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8809 W 400 N

    Michigan City, IN 46360

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to dentist called Destiny Dental in Hammond, IN., next door to where I go for physical therapy. One of my jaw tooth was giving me severe pain, along with some unbearable painful days from my recent major ALIF back surgery. So, during my dental appointment with Dr. ***** ******* he told me I would need a root canal and I would have to go to an Endodontic Dentist. He gave me a treatment plan of all dental care necessary from his office and also a referral for an Endodontic Dentist to do root canal. I choose Endodontic Periodontics Associates, LTD, ***** **** ******* ****** ****** ***** ******** *****, with Dr ******. My appointment was scheduled for October 27, 2015 at 1:15pm and I talked with a person at that office at length before scheduling my appointment. I asked her, without discrediting any of the other skilled dentists, whcih would be the better dentist for root canal & also which Doctor schedule had the earliest available, because I was in some pain. Then I told her what dentist office referred me and asked how much would the procedure be because I have Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield HIP Plus Indiana plan, which is Medicaid. I was told $550 for root canal therapy. I also asked upon arriving on my scheduled appt. 10.27.15, my procedure is $550? Again, I was told yes, and I was prepared to pay the entire bill upon completion. Person at front desk asked for my id and insurance card. She asked if I was on Medicaid and she said: "we dont bill Medicaid, so I can give you your card back,' 'and I'll give you your license back in a minute." She continued to say she could set up a no interest payment for 3 month plan and I immediately asked again, my procedure is $550? Again, I was told yes. If I was told a higher amount than $550, (only because I had to borrow $550) I would not have scheduled the appt nor continue to have the procedure done when I arrived. I am a steadfast beliver in paying all my bills on time and pleasantly, no matter what happens (and my credit report reflects that) because I incurred them. I received a statement in the mail today from Endodontic Periodontic Associates, LTD for an amount of $946! I freaked out and immediately called office and spoke with someone name, ******. I told her I was told $550 and she said its probably an oversight. She'll correct it and get it sent back out. Well, ****** called me back to tell me that I was wrong, nobody told me $550, did not want to listen to anything I said. At this time, I reached a good height of anger and strongly told her to "wait a minute" I'm the patient buying the product and I'm going to explain what I was told several times. I would not blindly schedule an appt and then go to the appt. without asking what the price is! I presented my character to her by saying "I have no reason to lie,' 'I did not pull $550 out of a cloud,' 'I pay all my bills on time every month, all my life!" ******'s response was, "we dont have a reason to lie either," as if I personally owe her something! She never took the time to research or investigate what I was saying, she said that it was the office mgr that checked me in and made appt and she did not tell me $550. At this time I am ready to go to this office, back pain and all, to confront this person face to face! Which I am still going to do. Dr ****** was fabulous, he was attentive to my delicate back pain, the cool air in the room and I've referred three people to him already because I have nothing but great things to say about his service! However, this situation of me being told $550, which is not what was mailed to me today, has me in a roar that I refuse to let fall by the waist side! I need decision makers to rectify this matter immediately and it definitely will not be with the ****** person I spoke with today! So, to end an upsetting hour, I informed her I will be filing complaint with Attorney General, American Dental Assoc., BBB and others, bec this is outrageous! A business acumen is needed immediately!

Desired Settlement: Not to pay additional $396 because I asked price before scheduling my appt. I asked again upon scheduled appt. and I would not have had procedure done if I was told a price higher than the $550 I was told. I do not blindly go to get dental work done without asking a price, nor would I lie about a price I was told several times and borrowed money for the exact amount. I did not pull this amount out of a cloud or make a mistake about a dental price that was not given to me.

Business Response:

I am the Practice Administrator at Endodontic and Periodontic Associates.  The patient received root canal treatment at our office on 10/27/15, a treatment rendered to thousands of patients a year across all eight (8) of our offices.  After having reviewed the file, computer documentation, and spoken with the staff and managers involved, I have identified the following. 

At the time of making the appointment, our documentation indicates the patient was scheduled for October 27th with Dr. ****** and was quoted $400 for a "deposit" towards the total cost of service.  The patient indicated she had Anthem Blue Cross insurance but not Medicaid according to our staff.  Upon arrival, the patient was provided with information regarding the total cost of services and made the $400 deposit toward said services. However, it was also determined at the time of arrival that the patient had Medicaid as an insurance provider, which we do not accept.  As the patient noted in the complaint, our staff discussed this with the patient, as well discussed a 3 month no interest payment plan for the balance of cost beyond the down payment.  Typically when a patient has no insurance that we would accept, we would increase the down payment, which is probably where the $550 figure came in.  But discussion of the longer term 3 month no interest payment plan indicates to me that we informed the patient that there would be a larger balance beyond the down payment.  That is a typical practice for us when patients do not have insurance or do not pay in full at the time of service.  We try and be as flexible with payment as possible and offer patients alternatives for payment that may better meet their budget. 

However, after reviewing the facts, and understanding that us telling a patient we do not accept Medicaid can sometimes result in confusion, we are willing to discount the remaining balance of $796 down to $500.  We are also willing to set up a 5 month payment plan of $100 per month and waive any finance fees.

**** ********

Practice Administrator

Business Response:


Tell us why here...

While we understand the frustration a patient can feel when confronted with the cost of a dental procedure, our costs of treatment are comparable to other providers in the Chicago area, which is roughly three times higher than the $400 we quoted as a deposit only.  It's a complicated and precise procedure, which is why the patients general dentist referred her to us.  We also feel based on our investigation, as well as the patients statement, that our staff was upfront and forthcoming with the cost of treatment both at time of making the appointment and upon arrival at our office.  We both informed the patient that we do not accept their insurance and that we have payment plans available.  That said, in the interest of goodwill, our offer of a discount and comfortable payment terms still stands.  If the patient would like to discuss this further, I can be reached at *************  **** ********, Practice Administrator 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I understand the administrators position, however, I've never known one perfect being, outside of God. He defends his staff as not ever making a mistake and because they say " you can go on a three month payment plan," justifies his decision, is a quick fix to resolve the matter. I did not go into that office trying to set my own prices, nor did I lie on staff member that told me price while scheduling my appointment or upon arrival of my appointment. I am well aware of the detailed and delicacy of a root canal therapy, I've had one before. How can he be absolutely positive his staff told me? How does he know I'm not tells no the truth? Who goes to get services done and don't get a price? I'm sure the administrator doesn't, I'm sure his staff doesn't, and I did not go into that office knowing that the root canal therapy was $1346, because I was told $550 and I did not make up a number to satisfy my budget! If, I was told that price, I would have respectfully declined the services and continue to take my pain mess from my recent back surgery to keep pin at bay until I was able to pay for services. Again, I am not a negligent person, nor am I a liar, or an supercilious individual. I was told $550 and $550 is what I paid! 

 

I will ill call the administrator as soon as I can, for I am dealing with severe nerve pain which has somewhat paralyzed my left leg preventing my normal day to day activities. However,this is a priority for me, because this needs to be settled. I respectfully reject decision and will continue to fight with this haughty administrative staff.

 


Sincerely,

****** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Endodontic & Periodontic Associates, LTD.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)