Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Crystal Lake Dental Associates

Phone: (815) 459-2202 Fax: (815) 459-2787 280 Memorial Ct  Ste B, Crystal Lake, IL 60014 http://www.drneal.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Crystal Lake Dental Associates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Crystal Lake Dental Associates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 04/29/2004 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Shauna Neal, Manager Dr. Phillip Neal, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shauna Neal, Manager
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Periodontist Dentistry - Children Dentist - Orthodontist Dentistry - Cosmetic Health & Wellness Health & Medical - General Dental Hygienists Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    280 Memorial Ct
    Ste B

    Crystal Lake, IL 60014 (815) 459-2202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 20, 2014 Dear Dr. ****, On May 8, 2014 I came into your office for a prep for a crown placement. This was the most unpleasant and incompetent dental visit I have experienced. After a week of reflection on this visit and some research I decided that I did not have confidence in you and your dental staff to complete this job properly so I called your office on the afternoon of May 16, 2014 to discover that there was no one in the office that day. I then contacted Guardian Insurance to inform them of my decision not to complete treatment with you. On Monday morning, May 19, 2014 I called and spoke with your receptionist, ***, to cancel the appointment set up for June 5, 2014 and she transferred me to office manager, *****. She told me that as of that date the crown had not been received at your office. I told her to cancel the crown and the appointment for June 5 to place it and detailed to her what had happened and my concerns. I further told her I wanted to arrange to get my records so that I could find another dentist to complete this restoration and she said she would check on where the lab was with fabricating the crown and would get back to me either that day or the next. She did neither. I called again on the 22nd of May as I was anxious to get my x-rays and records so that I could find another dentist to complete this work in a timely fashion. I left a message for her around 10 a.m. I finally spoke with *******, who also claimed to be the office manager. I set up with her to pick up my records and she assured me she would cancel the billing to the insurance company for placement of the permanent crown so I would be able to get this done elsewhere. I also asked for the impressions and she was not sure where they were. She told me that they did not have crown but that there would be a lab fee of $66.00 for the crown. I told her that I did not have a problem with paying that if I would get the crown or the lab would hold it and send it to the new dentist. She informed me I could pick up my records on Friday the 23rd of May mid afternoon. It was arranged that I would pick them up after 2 p.m. on that date. Getting my records was another unprofessional and traumatic experience: when I spoke with ******* on the phone I told her that I could bring a flash drive to put the records on and she said that would be fine. When I got to the office ***, the receptionist, was in and she could not put the records on the flash drive which is usually a simple procedure. She said she would email them to me. I asked her if that was okay or if the email was encrypted but she told me that didn't matter in this case or something to that effect. I was desperate to get my records so that I could get this tooth taken care of as it only had a temporary cap on it so I allowed her to email my records. I have since found out that not only is this an unprofessional way to transfer records it is also a violation of HIPAA. This email could have been secured in a couple of different ways but was not. So great, now my dental records are going to be rolling around on mail servers for who knows how long???? Just another example of the disregard for the good of the patient exhibited by you and your staff. Additionally at this time *** informed me that the crown had been made by the lab and the crown was in the office and she asked me to pay $66.00 for the lab fee for the crown. I told her I would be glad to pay that if I was going to take possession of the crown and she said she could not give me the crown until you, Dr. ****, had spoken to your lawyer about it. I then asked for the impressions, which by law in Illinois, are mine and was refused and told that the office manager was not there and that, she, ***, was the only one in the office. I then refused to pay $66.00 for said crown. This day and time to pick the records and impressions and crown were set up with *******, the office manager. (part of email sent)

Desired Settlement: Spoke with ***** 2x - last time on 6-26-14 at which time she said she would send a retraction form to Guardian dental insurance and pro-rate a refund. As of July 11, 2014 this has not happened. To summarize, I am asking you to: 1. Refund the Visa payment of May 8, 2014 of $371.61 because my suffering and my time are worth something and I did not receive the benefit I contracted for at that office visit. 2. To refund to Guardian the amount of $239.50 for work you claimed you had done but had never in fact done. 3. To cease and desist from sending me or Guardian any bills for any services by your company. 4. To mark my account as owing you and your company no remuneration of any kind whatsoever and to forthwith mark the account as closed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/08/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* Off Mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *************@mydentalmail.com Crystal Lake Dental Associates strive to give the very best patient care to all our patients. It is always taken very seriously when a patient is not happy with our care. We are sorry this patient was not happy with the crown prep of her tooth and that we did not meet her expectations for a dental team. As soon as she stated her concerns we started the process of informing our home office the need to refund her payment and the payment of the crown by the insurance company. We are sorry for the inconvience of the time she had to wait. The refund to the patient and to Guardian were made on 7/24/14. Patient was refunded $197.67 for the amount she paid for her crown and Guardian was refunded $293.50 for the amount they paid on the crown. We are sorry we could not provide the experience that this patient was wanting and we wish her the very best for the future.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Crystal Lake Dental Associates
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)