Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

1st Family Dental of Logan Square

Phone: (773) 772-5555 Fax: (773) 772-5657 2511 N Milwaukee Ave, Chicago, IL 60647 http://www.1stfamilydental.com/locations/logan-square/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 1st Family Dental of Logan Square meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1st Family Dental of Logan Square include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 1st Family Dental of Logan Square
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 07/25/2002 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sheri Concepcion, Manager Ms. Vesna Belkic, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sheri Concepcion, Manager
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Periodontist Dentistry - Children Dentist - Orthodontist Dentistry - Cosmetic Dental Hygienists Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)


Additional Locations

  • 2511 N Milwaukee Ave

    Chicago, IL 60647 (773) 772-5555

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 7th, 2013 I took my Children to their appointment at 1st Family Dental. After checking them, they told me that all three of them had cavities, Dr. ****** told me, "Lets ask the front desk to contact your insurance to see how we can work with you. Don't worry, we work with you to help you". After about 10 or 15 minutes, ***** told me they would charge me $300.00 and have the insurance billed for the rest. I went to the front desk and asked if I had to pay it there or if I would be billed. She said "You have to pay it at time of service, because this is your co-pay, this way we can take care of your Deductible". I then, made the payment and then my children were treated, with the exception of my son, whose work was done in two different days and even then it could't be completed because, according to that other dentist, he was bleeding too much, due to his gums growing inside his left/front/upper tooth. For that one, we returned a third time, in which, having waited for a little more than an hour, Dr.*************** told us she wouldn't dare touch that tooth, instead she recommended a crown. I was waiting for my insurance to mail me the coverage information before scheduling my appointment, when I started receiving these bills $1062.70 Due X-XX-XXXX and $952.13 Due 10-01-2013. I've spoken to people in that office about three times and only the last one the office manager admitted that the whole thing happened because they didn't get the entire information from the insurance company at the time of service, so they did not know the insurance was going to pay so little, meaning that the 80% they paid is not enough.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fulfill their promise. They told me "you only pay $300.00 and we'll take care of the rest with your insurance". I WANT ALL CHARGES REMOVED.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@1fd.org Whole family was quoted co-insurance based on the insurance break down given by Delta Dental insurance. Since insurance companies do not guarantee benefits over the phone but upon receipt of the claim we make sure that patients are aware of the possibility of additional balance and ask them to read and sign the form which explains that they will be responsible for any amounts not paid by the insurance company. We do have signed forms for each family member and if needed we will be happy to send patient copies. Because this family has been getting treatment with 1st Family Dental since 2009, we will write off complete balance as appreciation for being a loyal customer. However, for future references we suggest that patient request pre-authorization of benefits to be sent out prior to treatment so that more accurate co-insurance amount can be quoted.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on 1st Family Dental of Logan Square
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)