BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2012

Illinois Community Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (815) 895-4541Fax: (815) 895-9925508 W State St, SycamoreIL 60178-1328 Send email to Illinois Community Credit Union

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2012

BBB has determined that Illinois Community Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Illinois Community Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Illinois Community Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Credit Union falsely submitted late payments to the credit bureau's and won't provide a correction letter.
The credit union acknowledges that late payment errors were sent to the credit bureau's when in fact the payments were all made on time. The credit union reimbursed us the $100 in late charges and apologized for the error. Later we found out that they sent that we were late in for 3 months to the credit agencies and that was negatively affecting my wife's credit and requested that they correct the error and send us a letter stating the correction as we are trying to buy a house. It has been 3 week's since and they still haven't corrected the error or sent the correction paperwork. I have called several times and sent many emails regarding this issue to the manager of the credit union that are either ignored or met with excuses.
------------------------------------------------
additional info from consumer:
Transferred from ****************** Credit Union

,
Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Fax: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact: ***** *******
(0) by user *** on XXXX-XX-XX
Transferred from ****************** Credit Union (XXXXXXXX) by user bbc on XXXX-XX-XX
Note: Transfer to proper BBB per below goes to Illinois Community Credit Union...
Hi ****,

My wife and I are members of Illinois Community Credit Union in ******** ** I apologize for the mistake. They used to be called citizens community credit union. The account in question is my wife's and her information is below along with account number. Again I apologize for the error. Thank you for your assistance.

***** ********
Member# XXXXXXX
Www.ilcommcu.org
------------------------------------------------
XX-XX-XX additional info from consumer:
Re: BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXX)
1 message
********@comcast.net <********@comcast.net>Tue, Oct 29, 2013 at 1:13 PM
To: ***********@bureaudata.com
The address to the place on question is
**** ****** Drive
********* ** XXXXX

Branch Manager is ******* *****
*******@ilcomcu.org

Desired Settlement
I would like the error corrected with the credit agencies and a letter from the ******************* Credit Union stating that those were errors on their part and all payments were made and made on time.

Business Response
****,

This email is in response to Case ********** **** ********

I have searched our data processing system and talked to the Managers of our loan department, collections department and indirect lending department and cannot find where anyone with this name has a loan with our credit union or has been in contact with anyone in our credit union.

Would you be able to confirm that he indeed has the correct Citizens Community Credit Union? Secondly, if he does have the correct credit union would he be able to provide more information such as his wife's name (if different than his when the loan was taken out), an account number or social security number?

Thank you for the additional assistance.
Sincerely,
******* *****

******* *****
Vice President
Branch Operations

************ ** XXXXX
Ph. ************
Fax ************
*******@citizenscu.com


Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** VP Operati
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@ilcomcu.org
We have reviewed the information and agree with Mr. ********. We will correct the credit bureau immediately

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions, Credit Card Processing Service, Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards, Mortgage Bankers, Financial Services, Credit Services, Credit - Debt Consolidation Services, Mortgage Lender, Real Estate Loans, Consumer Finance & Loan Companies, Loans - Small Business, Loan Originator, Loan Acceleration, Loan Modification, Loans - Farm & Ranch, Loans, Credit Cards & Plans, Banking Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/12/2007Business started: 01/01/1935Business started locally: 09/01/1935
Contact Information
Principal: Ms.. Lordhits McNamara (Marketing Director)Mr. Thor Dolan (CEO) Mardell Harms (Manager) Jacy Mosser (Manager) Becky Springer (Manager)
Business Category

Credit Unions, Credit Card Processing Service, Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards, Mortgage Bankers, Financial Services, Credit Services, Credit - Debt Consolidation Services, Mortgage Lender, Real Estate Loans, Consumer Finance & Loan Companies, Loans - Small Business, Loan Originator, Loan Acceleration, Loan Modification, Loans - Farm & Ranch, Loans, Credit Cards & Plans, Banking Services

Products & Services

This company offers Savings/Checking, Personal/Auto Loans, Real Estate Loans, Automated Services, Less Than Perfect Credit Services, Credit Score Enhancement Services.

Industry Tips
Credit Cards - Consumer Liability Re: Lost/Stolen
Credit Cards - Offers by Third Parties
Contracts
Debt Consolidation Services
Credit Repair
Debt Collection
Credit Cards - Use When Purchasing by Mail or Tele

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Illinois Community Credit Union has received 3.80 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Illinois Community Credit Union

508 W State St

Sycamore, IL 60178-1328

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Illinois Community Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.