Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Credit Union 1

Phone: (800) 252-6950 Fax: (888) 391-9232 450 E 22nd St Ste 250, Lombard, IL 60148 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.creditunion1.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

www.creditunion1.org


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Credit Union 1 meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Credit Union 1 include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Credit Union 1
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 20, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1958 Business started locally: 01/01/1958
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Business Management
Mr. Paul Simons, President Ms. Susan Hejnosz, EVP, CIO Ms. Ellie Krcmar, Senior V.P./Branch Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tim Rapson, Vice President of Branch Operations
Principal: Mr. Paul Simons, President
Business Category

Credit Unions Insurance - Auto Insurance - Health Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Loans Financial Services Banking Services Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Credit Union 1 has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 450 E 22nd St Ste 250

    Lombard, IL 60148 (800) 252-6950

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon reviewing my account online, I obtained an overdraft fee for $29.00 on 8/15/13 for ********* Ins. for $57.19. I spoke with ************** today and was informed that the overdraft fee was caused by a pending transaction fee of $2.25 that came in at 7:30 pm on 8/14/13 and everything does not always how up online. The release date for the $2.25 is 8/16/13. I checked my account online on 8/14/13 and there were no pending transaction fees outstanding. How can my account go into overdraft for a fee that is pending, has not been paid and the money is not on hold in my account? The balance of my account after the $57.19 was taken was $.55 cent. How can I have a balance of $.55 cent and then have it be applied to the overdraft fee? As of 8/15/13, my account has a negative balance of -$28.45 - minus the $.55 cent. The pending $2.25 is still on hold and has not been paid out. ************** fraudulently charged me an overdraft fee of $29.00 for something that they have not paid or placed on hold. ************** is manipulating my account so that they can obtain fees at my expense. NOTE: On 8/13/13 I had an overdraft fee of $29.00 applied, but there was also a pending transaction of $3.00 from 8/12/13-8/14/13, ************** did not charge me an overdraft fee for this pending transaction. So, please do not inform me that this is standard practice. Had ************** paid the money or had the money on hold, I would understand the overdraft fee, but that is not the case. The $2.25 is still pending. I am clearly aware of my responsibility when it comes to my account, but I will not put up with unfair banking practices and this is clearly what ************** is doing again. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: The withdrawal of the $29.00 overdraft fee on 8/15/15.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/21) */ August 21, 2013 Better Business Bureau RE: Complaint - Ms. ****************, Case #******** Dear BBB, As is stated in our disclosure, ************** places a 48 hour hold on preauthorizations completed with ************** debit cards against our member's accounts. These preauthorized holds reduce the available balance for our members, as we are awaiting these transactions to clear the members account via the Visa system. If the clearing item clears the members account prior to the 48 hour hold, the hold is removed at the time of the clearing. Ms. ******** had completed a preauthorization of $2.25 on August 14th at 19:27. The available balance (per the attached report) after the preauthorization to her account was $55.49. At that time her *************. Payment of $57.19 cleared her account, leaving her a balance in the account of $0.55 but a negative available balance of -$1.70. Because we value Ms. ********s membership in ************** and because we are talking about such a minimal amount of being overdrawn, ************** has refunded the $29 NSF fee to the account. We hope this resolves this issue and would be happy to discuss this further please contact me at **********************, or via phone at ************. Sincerely, ********** VP Member Services **************

5/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Credit Union 1
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart