BBB Accredited Business since

Consumers Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 275-2228 2750 Washington St, Waukegan, IL 60085

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Consumers Credit Union is a credit union which provides banking services to individuals and businesses. This company serves the far northwestern suburbs of Chicago, including Gurnee, Mundelein, Round Lake Beach, Waukegan, North Waukegan, North Chicago, Park City, Zion, Winthrop Harbor, Wadsworth, Russell, Grandwood Park, Gages Lake, Libertyville, Lake Bluff, Grayslake, Venetian Village, Lake Forest, Mettawa, and Vernon Hills. Services available include personal checking accounts, personal savings accounts, Certificates of Deposit, investment services, auto and home insurance, consumer mortgage, auto loans, personal loans, business loans, VISA cards, business accounts, business loans, online banking and bill pay, and mobile banking.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Consumers Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Consumers Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Consumers Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 2012 Business started: 06/01/1930 Business started locally: 06/01/1930 Business incorporated 01/13/1970 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Amy Lopez, VP of Retail Delivery Mr. Hal Coxon, Vice President of Sales & Marketing Mr. Sean Rathjen, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Amy Lopez, VP of Retail Delivery
Number of Employees


Business Category

Credit Unions Insurance - Auto Insurance - Homeowners Loans Loans - Small Business Mortgage Lender Savings & Loan Associations Financial Services Banks Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Alternate Business Names
Consumers Cooperative Credit Union

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Consumers Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1210 S Lake St

    Mundelein, IL 60060 (877) 275-2228

  • 195 E Il Route 120

    Volo, IL 60073

  • 2626 N Il Route 83

    Round Lake Beach, IL 60073

  • 2750 Washington St

    Waukegan, IL 60085

  • 3737 N Lewis Ave

    Waukegan, IL 60087

  • 4946 Grand Ave

    Gurnee, IL 60031


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/19) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** VP Retail Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** Ms. ********** was sent an email on 1-13-15 by our loan department with an update. The dealership was provided a letter on 1-13-15 per their request, which they have confirmed is acceptable. The dealership is aware that the GAP coverage has been confirmed and is reflected on the letter as a screenshot. Unfortunatley the insurance company who provides our GAP policies was unable to provide the original policy. At this point Consumers Credit Union is waiting for the check from Ms. ********** insurance company so we can payoff the loan balance with the GAP coverage. The title work issue was a state error. The error was corrected and the insurance company was notified as soon as the title ame in from the Illinois Secretary of State. Consumers Credit Union was at fault as we did not address the name discrepancy once it was received for filing. Consumers Credit Union does apologize for any frustrations that Ms. ********** is encountering. We have been consistently working towards a resolution since it was brought to our attention and at this time are confident that Ms. **********' concerns have been addressed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will not close this until this matter is taken care of. They are blaming the state of IL for the mistake that has prolonged this issue even longer. Ok. The state may have made a mistake, but why was it accepted by Consumers at that time with the wrong name on it? Consumers is always quick to point a finger, never accepting responsibility for their own mistakes. The only reason I EVER received an email is because I stayed on top of things. I was told I would get call back, I NEVER DID. I had to be the one to call people back. I had to ask to speak to a manger in order to get anything moving. As of right now I have YET to hear back from *****, who insisted she would keep me updated. Quit blaming everyone else and take responsibility for your mistakes and make this issue right! Now because of their error my pay off has gone up, how is that even right? I will keep this open so I can report the outcome of this situation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/01/29) */ As mentioned in our original response, the credit union apologizes for the frustration Ms. ********** has experienced. The credit union also indicated that we were at fault for not noticing the incorrect title information upon receipt from the state, therefore we did not place blame on anyone else. As of Monday January 27th, this matter has been resolved. The employee from our lending department has been in constant contact with Ms. ********** to ensure this matter was handled as quickly and efficiently as possible. The loan was paid off upon receipt of the payoff check from the insurance company. In additon, the GAP insurance refund was also received. This matter has been resolved.

6/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011, my husband and I (unfortunately!!) had to file Chapter 13 bankruptcy. In August 2013, our original case (2011) was dismissed and refiled within two weeks to address some changes that were needed. I've banked at Consumers Cooperative Credit Union since 1993, I have paid off several vehicles and loans with them and actually paid off a loan in 2012 that we were able to exclude from the bankruptcy. I have continued to bank there as I hoped to repair the relationship. When the original bankruptcy was dismissed in August 2013 - *** from Consumers contacted me and we spoke in detail about my financial situation. I openly and honestly relayed to her that we were unfortunately still under bankruptcy and I would not be able to pay my **** as it was included in the bankruptcy. The next morning (August 19) I logged into my bank account and see that $1000 was taken from my account. I immediately call and speak with *** and I was completely upset because I had bills to pay. I had no idea and received no notice that this was going to happen. When in a Chapter 13 bankruptcy you are on a court appointed budget that leaves no room for extras - especially not $1000. She did agree to put $600 back in my account and I attempted to get the remaining $400 but was unsuccessful. I wrote to the board members (no response) and I also went to the bank in person but she would not meet with me. I began to consider and take steps to change banks. There have been no further incidents of this happening until June 4, 2014 when my account showed a balance of $182.49 and I had a check out (#5199) in the amount of $163. The check bounced and I was charged a $30 fee. When I inquired as to why this occurred I was told that the funds were placed on hold due to bankruptcy. Again, I would not have bounced a check had they not of taken funds from my account without notice (before or after). In addition, they are being paid through the bankruptcy and should not have access to take my money whenever they want. I don't think that a bank or credit union should treat their customers with such disrespect and lack of professionalism. On June 17, 2014 I still had one check written, #5164 in the amount of $25.00. There was $73.26 in the bank, minus the 43.26 they were "holding", which leaves $30 left to allow the $25.00 check to clear. They bounced the check and then charged me $30 stating there wasn't enough in the account. If there wasn't $25 to clear the check - how did they take a $30 fee? Now this check will remain unpaid because I cannot put more money in the account for fear that they would take it. Going through financial problems is not fun and when someone you trust with your money plays games with you and makes the situation even worse. It doesn't seem right that they can go into my account and run my credit (according to my credit report in August 2013) whenever they want in order to mess with me. I am hoping you can help me get the $490.19 that has been taken from my account without my permission or knowledge. I have tried to do the right thing throughout my entire financial ruin and to have a "business" take advantage of you just because they can doesn't seem right. Thank you in advance for your time and consideration.

Desired Settlement: The return of my money plus the $60 fees they wrongly charged me. An apology letter would also be nice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* ****** Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** As stated in the Credit Card Account Disclosure (pursuant to Illinois Credit Union Act 205 ILCS 305/4 from Ch. 17, par. 4444)provided to all Members who receive a Consumers Credit Union Visa Credit Card " Your Account is secured by all other shares you have in any individual or joint account with the Credit Union, except for shares in an Individual Retirement Account or in any other account that would lose special tax treatment under state or federal law if given as security. These other shares may be withdrawn unless you are in default under this agreement. You authorize the Credit Union to apply the balance in your individual or joint share accounts to pay any amounts due on your Account if you should default." Default is defined in the Disclosure as "You will be default if you die, file for bankruptcy or become insolvent, that is, unable to pay your obligations when they become due." We were notified Ms. ********* was dismissed from her Chapter 13 bankruptcy on 08/18/2013 therefore we pledged the available funds in her Share accounts as disclosed in the disclosure. Ms. ********* contacted the credit union and indicated she has written checks for back to school supplies in the amount of $600.00. As an act of good faith the credit union released the $600.00 to allow the transactions to clear. Ms. ********* filed a 2nd Bankruptcy claim on 08/27/2014 which placed a "stay" on her account and the remaining pledged funds. The "stay" requires us to leave the funds as they are- the credit union cannot release the pledge or apply the funds to the balance owed. This "stay" is currently in effect and will remain so until the Chapter 13 bankruptcy is discharged or dismissed. Any transactions attempted against these funds will be return as "Non-sufficient Funds" as they are not available for use and the appropriate fees will be applied. Ms. ********* was notified of the pledge in August via a written, mailed Pledge letter as well in conversation with the Collections department. After the 2nd bankruptcy was filed, communication ceased between the Collection department and Ms. ********* and all requests for information were directed to the appropriate legal counsel. It is the credit unions position we have acted appropriately and in accordance with all laws. No fees will be waived and the pledged funds will not be released. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I understood what they did in August as a loop hole that allowed them to take advantage of my honesty. The bankruptcy was dismissed and refiled within two weeks and I was clear about that when I spoke with *** on the phone. At no time did she indicate she was going to seize any money from my account. My court ordered budget remained the same for August which did not allow for a $400 deficiency. New funds were seized on June 4, 2014, while I was protected by bankruptcy, in the amount of $54.30 causing check number 5199 to bounce and incur fees in the amount of $30. This feels like a mean tactic to further humiliate and hassle me. I do not think it is right to remove funds, bounce a check and then charge me a fee. On June 17th, check numer $5164 for the amount of $25 was bounced and they took a $30 fee. If I didn't have $25 in the bank how did they take their fee? I cannot put money in the bank to cover this because they keep taking it. I wasn't provided notice either time when money was taken out of my account. I feel that they are intentionally hassling me as payback for filing bankruptcy. Trust me, my financial ruin, has been no picnic. Consumers motto is YOUR LIFE OUR COMMITTMENT and I think that is a LIE. They could care less about the people that bank there. I had been a customer there since 1994 - and they freeze money, bounce checks and cause further emotional stress. I think even if they found a legal loop hole, they went about it the wrong way, they were deceptive, mean and sneaky. I don't think that is anyway to do business and I think they should have to return my money. The money seized in June, checks bounced and fees applied were not addressed in their answer at all. Their account is included in the bankruptcy and they should not be able to further hassle me and they should return my money. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/25) */ Consumers Credit Union has acted appropriately and in accordance to all laws. The appropriate disclosures and information was provide to Ms. *********. The credit union clearly defined what actions would be taken in the event of a "default". As for the funds in the share account, the credit union is acting as allowed by the bankruptcy laws. The credit union has the right to place a pledge on the funds which does not allow them to be used for any transactions (clearing checks, debit transactions, applying them towards any deficiency balances, etc.) The pledge was placed on the account on 8/30/2013 when the credit union received the Chapter 13 bankruptcy notice and was disclosed to Ms. ********* at that time. No additional funds have been pledged or "seized" as Ms. ********* is claiming. We recommend Ms. ********* contact her attorney with any other questions regarding pledges on funds. Again, it is the credit unions position we have acted appropriately and in accordance with all laws. No fees will be waived and the pledged funds will not be released. Thank you

4/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Consumers Credit Union (CCU) processed $300 worth of over drafting fees on my account because I had my money under savings and used my debit card for purchases. I actually never received any notification on their behalf that this was going on. If it wasn't because one of my coworkers told me about a similar experience that she had with CCU, they would probably still be charging me $10 every time I use my card without me being aware of it. I have attempted to rectify the situation with this institution, but they continue to tell me that it is their policy and that only a manager could override it. However, when I ask to speak to a manager, one is never available. If I was never informed of this policy, how I am supposed to be held responsible for it. I had enough money on my account--that's why I used my card multiple times. It's not like I was spending money that I didn't have. I honestly feel like this institution is taking advantage of its clients. Ever since I found out that they had taken so much money on ridiculous fees, I have come across many others with the same problem. We are people who belong to the working class, and sometimes don't know better than to trust that the people who are handling our money. If these charges had been wrongfully processed by any other company, I would be disputing them with my financial institution and not filing a complaint on this site. However, what is one supposed to do when it is one's financial institution the one scamming you as a client?

Desired Settlement: I want my money back in my account, and for Consumers Credit Union to better inform its clients about ridiculous policies like this one. If I had known that they would knowingly deceive me, and then ignore my complaint, I would have never trusted them with my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/03) */ Consumers Credit Union provides a Truth in Savings disclosure to all new members. Within the Truth in Savings, on page 3 labeled Fee Schedule, it indicates a $10.00 fee for Checking and Money Market Accounts "For each automatic transfer of funds to cover an overdraft." After review of Ms. *********'s account please note there was a total of 28 overdrafts equalling $280 in fees. On March 1, 2014 Ms. ********* was given a courtesy refund of $60 by a teller supervisor. As of today, March 3rd, I have met her half way and refunded an additional $80. The credit union fully discloses this fee to all new members. As a member, Ms ********* holds the responsiblility of verifying adequate funds in her checking account prior to making purchases in order to avoid overdrafts and fees. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On March 1, 2014 I went to CCU for the third time to ask to speak to a manager, however, I was never allowed to speak to one. That is the same reason why I was offered a refund of $60, which I declined since I want all of my money back. I do not need to be met half way. CCU has my money and I have gotten nothing in exchange. I am a responsible consumer. I always go through the necessary steps to make sure that I am within my budget. In fact, this would not be a problem if I hadn't had let them talk me into signing up for direct deposit. Like I stated before, I had enough money in my accountI was just never told that in order for me to use it (without overdrafting fees) I had to have in my checkings account. I was told every single detail about direct deposit, but nothing regarding overdrafting fees. If I had been properly informed, my money would have gone directly to my checkings and not savings. Also, I would expect that, as good business practices, I would receive more than which manual and page to look into as a response. This is particularly important given that this is a problem that many of CCU's clients face. How can they say that all fees are fully disclosed to all members and still have so many complaints about it (to the point that they won't even allow us to speak to a manager regarding the issue). A well informed consumer would never agree to be charged ridiculous fees like this oneespecially when having enough money on their account. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/04/03) */ A response was submitted to this complaint on 03/03/2014 but was not received by the BBB. Each new member to Consumers Credit Union is provided a copy of the Truth in Savings Disclosure along with a copy of our fee schedule. The fee schedule indicates a $10 fee "For each automatic transfer of funds to cover an overdraft." It is the responsibility of our members to review all disclosures provided and to ensure sufficient funds are in their share account prior to processing any type of transaction to avoid these fees. This is common for all financial institutions. Ms. ********* was refunded $60 in overdraft fees as a courtesy on 03/01/2014 by a supervisor. On 03/03/2014 another $80 in overdraft fees was also refunded as a courtesy. Consumers credit union refunded half of the fees Ms. ********* was assesed to her account. The credit union feels that meeting Ms. ********* half way and refunding fees that are clearly disclosed to our members is generous.

4/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I already had a car loan thru consumers credit union on a 2007 **************. I had gotten several years prior. Now to get to the point in late Nov 2013 me and my wife purchased a 2014 *** ****** from ******* *** in *******. At the time we didnt know it, but they used Consumers as well for our loan which we were not told at the time of purchase, not a big issue at the time - we never received anything in the mail and had to call *** to find out where to make payments since we never received a payment book, I had to call the dealership then they told me to call consumers. They said they don't give payment books, anyways long story short I have made 2 payments and have had my wife go in there 4 times, tomorrow will be trip #5.We received a late payment notice on the 2nd payment.I made this in the drive thru on 1-24. It was due on 1-28. My check cleared the bank on 1-27.On 2-3 after getting the notice in mail I went into the branch and spoke to the manager dissapointed with coming in 4 times already to find out loan number and where to send insurance info etc. She went into the computer apologized and said it was a teller mistake that it shouldn't have happened the payment was applied to our other car loan even though I had the *** info and loan number written on check. She said she removed it from the ******** loan and applied it to the ***. Now on 2-11 I get a phone call at work asking when i plan on making *** payment- I was furious as you could imagine knowing payment was made 4 days before it was due and thought this problem was resolved on the 3rd of Feb- more than a week ago-when i got home i looked at my online account and sure enough- payment was never transfered from ******** loan to *** loan- I do not understand how such a mistake can be made over an over after going in person and being told it was corrected- it still isn't right- myself and my wife really have better things to do with our time than keep going in to tell them how to do their job especially after its already been discussed with the manager on a previous occasion ----------------------------------------------- 2-12-14 additional info from consumer: We have switched the loan to a different bank now! Consumers is responsible for the re- titeling fee of $95 which we had to pay for out of our pocket! That is all we ask for our troubles in dealing with them and their failure to provide us with proper service and telling us lies- such as that account had been straightened out on the 3rd of Feb when in fact it wasnt. It was finally corrected on the 12th of Feb. 20 days after payment had been made!!! We have lost complete faith in this company and were very dissapointed with the service and the way this situation was handled. So we had no choice, but to take our business elsewhere and we feel that Consumers is 100% responsible for paying the re titleing fee of $95

Desired Settlement: Consumers need to pay for retitling the *** loan since we will be taking our loan to another bank

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/13) */ On February 7th, the co-owner of the membership visited one of our branches and spoke with the branch manager regarding the loan payment being applied to the incorrect loan. The branch manager submitted a request to our Accounting department to have the loan payment applied to the correct loan but unfortunately the request was not processed. After receiving a phone call on 2/11/14 the primary member, Mr. ******* contacted the branch manager regarding the phone call and the unprocessed correction. The Branch manager immediately addressed the situation and all the necessary corrections have been made. In reference to the members unaware they financed with Consumers Credit Union through the dealership, a welcome letter was mailed to our members and a monthly statement is also generated. Our members are set up on electronic statements which is why they did not receive the statement by mail to their home address. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We had though ***** went in on Monday Feb 3rd because the 1st notice we received was dated the 31st, but in fact as we looked thru text messages it was on Thu the 6th that she went in at which time she was told by branch manager that teller had applied payment towards the wrong vehicle - even though it was clearly written on the check towards which vehicle payment was being made , she was also told by the branch manager right then and there in ger own words "I am removing payment from ******** and appllying it towards *** and backdating payment" which sounds to me like problem has been corrected right then and there when in fact that was a lie. Consumers also claims it was Fri the 7th she walked in when it was not- I am sure this can be proven by reviewing video tapes. Point being is it still took 5 business days and a lot of hassle on our part to correct the problem - therefore we no longer trust this institution to handle our financial payments since this could be a recurring event and we do not want to go thru this type of series of events again and subsequently the *** loan has already been transferred to another bank which cost us $95 out of our pocket- this needs to be reimbursed to us by Consumers Credit Union and we are prepared to go to small claims court if that is what it takes to make this right My wife wants me to add....she even talked with the manager about possibly refinancing the loan under her name only so it was separate and this mistake could not happen again by being applied to the wrong car. When I got the call on the 11th at work and told her about it she was fed up and made me call the next day to see what happened. When I had told her that the manager said she "submitted" it to the accounting department and didn't know why they didn't fix it she then knew she did not trust them any more especially after the problem was supposedly fixed on the computer right in front of her the day she was in there. She was not told it would be passed on to a different dept. or she would have followed up. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/04/03) */ A response including the email address for Mr. ******* was submitted on 03/03/14 but was not received by the BBB. On 03/04/14 the loan in reference was paid in full. $95 has been deposited into Mr. *******'s savings account at Consumers Credit Union. If Mr. ******* still wishes to provide the paperwork initially requested it can be sent to **** Attn: *** L Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Can you please provide an e mail address to send the proof of loan so we can get the $95 fee refunded to us - Dealership said they have contacted Consumers already to notify them of transfer of loan to US bank - ******* *** is just waiting for payout of the loan from ** **** and they will be issuing a check to Consumers for the entire loan balance 3-6-14 additional info from consumer: Car has been paid off now by ** **** and I still have not received an e mail address as requested to send a copy of the title transfer paperwork-so we can get reimbursed by Consumers- I do not have a fax machine and work too long of hours to go in person to the branch

11/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This illegal added charges has been going on since 2007 when I was treated as a criminal by the President of Consumers Credit Union **** *******. A family friend deposited $8000.00 into my checking account at Consumers Credit Union, I repeatedly contacted ******* ****** and asked if that money could be used to pay off my then **** Credit Card that had a balance of $3185.87 ******* ****** ******* Branch Manager at the time) told me he would have to speak with **** ******* due to **** ******* put a freeze on my account which a year later was lifted but **** ******* still did not authorize me access to any of my money! I was told by ******* ****** the following day that **** ******* would not allow the transfer from my checking account to my visa to pay off the credit card so I would not be billed any ridiculous charges. I had no money to make the payments on my visa, my 2006 Toyota 4Runner which I repeatedly explained. I was ignored by Consumers Credit Union Employees, I was treated as an Criminal by all including **** ******* himself. Even after all accusations were cleared against me I was still treated unfairly by Consumers Credit Union Employees, Management, and the President himself **** *******. I paid off my 2006 Toyota 4Runner in 2010 and here we are November 2013 and **** ******* still will not release my title because my **** card has increased to $6685.00 and I contacted Consumers Credit Union on 7 November 13 to dispute the amount of the **** so I can pay the correct amount owed so that I can get my title to my 2006 Toyota 4Runner that has been paid off since 2010. Well I was able to speak with a lady by the name of ****** and she seemed to be pleasant at the time, I went into detail about the events that took place since 2007 and that I just want to get my **** amount corrected so I can pay it off and obtain my vehicle title and never, never, never have to speak with another Consumers Credit Union Employee Again in life. ****** stated she would contact a member of the **** Department and have them contact me so just sit tight, mind you I called in the morning around 11:30, 11:40 A.M. ****** called me back around X:XX-X:XX P.M. My time which I gather she was busy. Well no one ever called me back so I called Consumers Credit Union back today 11/8/13 at 1:43 P.M.and spoke with a customer Service Rep by the name of ISMA and I gave her the story again of why I am calling and all I want to do is speak to ****** or a Manager in the Collections Department to get this matter fixed so I can move forward and get my vehicle title, after the 1st hold she came back on and told me that my 06 Toyota 4Runner had been sold so the new owner has my title, I clearly stated I am driving my 2006 Toyota 4Runner as we speak so it could not have been sold, I was put oh hold yet again, she came back and told me that my title would not be released due to my ****, I explained to her yet again I am calling to get the amount of the visa corrected due to the balance is inaccurate, again she put me on hold, when she came back she was stumbling over her words and commenced to tell me yet again Consumers has my title and they will not give it to me, I stated instead of you and going back and forth can I talk to whoever it is that you are speaking to so that I can stop getting second hand information and maybe I can get this issue settled today, yet again she put me on hold and came back and told me again that I already spoke with someone in collections yesterday and they told me that I will not get my title, I proceeded to tell her look the only person besides the Customer Service Rep I spoke to was ****** and she never told me her title nor what Department she worked in. I asked her, Why doesn't anyone from Collections or Management want to get on this phone and speak to me? All I want to do is straighten this nightmare up. I asked let me be clear here..No one at Consumers Credit Union wants to get on the phone so we can straighten this matter up?

Desired Settlement: I want this **** Credit Card charges to be dropped from ridiculous to accurate so I can resolve this matter. I am a former Consumers Credit Union Employee that received many awards and I even had an offer of Re-Hire from Mr. **** ******* himself but when I was fraudulently accused of acts that I did not do and was cleared of all accusations I am STILL being treated as a CRIMINAL. I feel that I should be awarded some type compensation for this ongoing nightmare dealing with Consumers Credit Union. What type of business just ignores a person when they are trying to settle a debt? I just want accuracy? I think I have that right. And I still want to know what happened to my $3000.00 that was taken from me after the $8000.00 deposit. I had no access to the account so **** ******* can not say I took it. When I asked **** ******* he told me it was put towards my loan, so I asked what loan? My ****? My 06 Toyota 4Runner? If it was put towards my **** then my balance should have only been $185.87. I feel that I am being discriminated against under the hands of **** ******* when I did NOTHING WRONG. I paid off my vehicle in 2010 and I still can't have my title, this is 2013 almost 2014 when are companies like Consumers Credit Union going to STOP bullying myself and others that have been/are being treated by discrimination and theft. Who is stealing from who here?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/12) */ Contact Name and Title: **** M. *******, CEO Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ***** Consumers Credit Union is more than willing to work with this borrower. We would need a detailed listing of the differences between what is owed on the **** according to our records and what Ms. ********** believes is the case. The information should include a complete reconcilation of the difference. To date, we have not received this information. We kindly request for her to put this in writing and send it to Consumers Credit Union, **** ***** ***** *** ***** **** ****** ** XXXXX Attn: **** *******

9/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mom signed up with ********* in the event that she passed her four surviving children would have immediate access to the IRA totalling over 28,000. Kept getting the run around and had to send an original copy of my brothers death certificate which they have had for over three weeks. Then I am told I have to sign a form on how I want my portion of the IRA. I have told them my husband is out of work and I have no rent for Sept. *************** seemed to be empathetic as she confessed that her husband has been out of work. She seemed helpful and pleasant on the phone. Then I asked who I need to speak to so I can get these forms quickly and she never would give me an answer. She then said to my husband she will check with the office in a few days to see if they mailed out the forms. The next week she said they will mail out the forms Tuesday. I still haven't received the forms so i can get the 4600. My husband is ready for social security but will not get it until January. That money would help me survive until then. So I decided to check BBB regarding this company and noticed there had been 15 complaints in the past year. My mom said I would not have to worry about the money because I am suppose to get it right away. It has been over 5 weeks.None of my other three sibling received any documentation either.

Desired Settlement: I want my $4600.00 and for my siblings to each get their $4600.00 as soon as possible. These are hard times and we need the money.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **************** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ********************* With regard to Ms. *********s complaint, we were informed in July that Ms. *********s mother, ***** ****** had passed away. We advised the family we would process the claim on their behalf however it was a process that could take 3-4 weeks to complete. We received the Death Certificate on 8/5/2013 and the claim was started on 8/5/2013. During the claim processing, it was determined one of the beneficiaries was deceased and we needed the death certificate of the deceased beneficiary before we could proceed with the claim. We received the death certificate from the deceased parties daughter shortly there after. The claim was completed on 8/26/2013 and the Beneficiary Selection letters were produced and mailed to the beneficiaries. Once the Beneficiary Selection forms are received and verified we will be able to disburse the funds. *** has been in contact with all the beneficiaries through out this process however Ms. ******** was not satisfied with the time it was taking to process this claim. It was disclosed to the originating beneficiary (who was not Ms. ********) this process could take 3-4 weeks. The added complication of the deceased beneficiary did slightly delay the process however it has not extended the process period by more than a week. Finally, the ************ acted appropriately and in accordance with all financial regulations. The time frame of the process was sufficiently disclosed to the beneficiaries and regualr communication has been maintain with the various beneficiaries. We understand Ms. ******** situation is a delicate one however the appropriate process must be complete prior to the disbursal of funds. Thank you. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The last of the remaining funds I was told by my brother from my mom's checking account have not been sent. I would like to know how much is left and why it wasn't sent to each of the 4 beneficiaries and instead is being put in the estate as a whole. Also, I was told by ******** that our account was approved on Sept 6 by them which was an added 8 days of holding the money by *********. I did receive the disbursement check and as soon as I receive the other information I will be satisfied to end this complaint. Thank you Business' Final Response /* (4000, 18, 2013/09/19) */ In response to Ms. *********s complaint, Ms. ******** is not a joint owner on her deceased mothers share accounts nor is she a listed beneficiary. As a result, the account was given to Ms.******'s estate and the executor of the estate is responsible for handling the distribution of funds from this point. Any concerns or issues Ms.******** has with this manner needs to be directed to the executor of her mothers estate. Ms.******** was only listed as a beneficiary on her mothers IRA accounts and the IRA process has been completed. Thank you.

9/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had three unauthorized attempts at charges on my account between August 2-5, 1 from a company that wasn't suppose to charge me for services, the other two are unknowns. Then on the 7th an unknown deposit was made. When I notified the ************, they gave me excuses and the run around. I had the displeasure of dealing with ************** starting on the 5th who refused to do anything to help the situation. He went so far as to say in a documented message via their site and I quote, "Unfortunately, we cannot freeze or lock the account. If any additional items post to the account, you will have to dispute them as well." Now, let me point out here that these unauthorized transactions were not paid by the bank, but each attempt to my account the bank charged me $30 hence the $90 issue. I have an account with *************** and when something similar happened they corrected it with a phone call. ********* on the other hand failed to protect my account and charged me for someone else attempting to collect money. ************** stated my only option was to come into a branch and handle it, which is difficult because they are open from 9-5 which is when I work. On August 7, I went in, going to work late, and the teller told me I had to wait in the waiting room for someone to talk with, I don't have time for that, ************** sure didn't tell me that, so I had to leave and go to work, plus I was out of town right after that. The next time I could get there was 8/20. Now, the exact quote from ************** is this, again stated in messages I have documented, "The best and fastest way would be for you to go directly to a ************ branch to fill out these documents. Once that is completed, you receive provisional credit for these transactions. Usually it takes 48-72 hrs for you to receive the credit. However, the whole investigation process can take up to 90 days, but meanwhile, you receive provisional credit for these transactions." So, I went in on the 20th and spoke to ***** I believe her name was. When reviewing my account, she said it looked like fraud flat out and suggested I change my bank account number that I had for 20 years. I was fine with all that, but again, time wise I didn't have it, so I filled out paperwork but couldn't change the account based on time and I had to go to work but she said it was fine and she said she would call or email me that day, she confirmed my email address and I was on my way. Nothing. I called today, the 21st and spoke to a customer service rep who looked at my account and said there was no notes or anything started. What's going on I asked. She denied what ************** had stated, saying it wasn't in the exchange at all telling me I would get no credit back and said she had to talk to *****. After a few hours she called back saying ***** tried calling me, not emailing me as she said, and that they had a wrong number, a number I had changed with the bank years ago. She claimed to correct it and said I would get a call from ***** today, which never happened. I feel the ************ is trying to scam me. They have drug this out for almost a month,l they have told me all sorts of different things. They failed to protect my account. They failed to follow through their own policies and statement. This is all over fees they charged me for my account getting attacked. Because of these unfair fees, I cannot get my account back into the positive and they will take my overdraft privilege away because of their incompetence.

Desired Settlement: In every message ************** sent me, they said I was a valued customer. When I asked how, they stopped responding. I asked a second time as well and was ignored. Their customer service is terrible. They failed to protect my account and charged their own fees over the matter and when I did everything they asked, they still failed to act and I was lied to no less then three times, each time I have documents to prove it. When I talked to ***** yesterday, I brought documents proving that I wasn't suppose to be charged by one company and still was trying to see who did the rest. Why was it so simple for a resolution with **********, less then ten total minutes in a similar situation then it is with *********? I feel they should lose their *** accreditation. They are in no way, shape, and form a good business anymore. I have used them for 20 years and never had the issues I have had in the past year. I want them to protect my funds and refund the money they are attempting to take from me from fees from someone trying to take my money. I want them to make sure I keep my overdraft privilege. I realize I did overdraft prior to this all happening but I cannot pay the full amount back with these fees which will put me over the 30 days and I have simply wanted to correct my own issues outside what they unfairly added due to this situation. I want an apology for the lies or errors on their part and putting me through all this. I want explanations to all the questions ************** ignored. I want everyone to know what I had to go through and I want their process changed to be fair for all.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/27) */ Mr. ******'s concerns were addressed and resolved by a member of our senior management team. Thank you. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They say they, "Whereas we acknowledge and regret he has received inconsistent information from various CCU representatives," however they fail to accept what their mistakes have done to this situation. In regards to the overdraft privialge, had they acted faster, given me proper information, had associates who were properly trained to act and give correct information rather then the free for all that I encountered, the fees they added could have been corrected earlier and the account would not have been so far negative and I could have paid it off. They state above it took longer then 30 days to pay the overdraft I did cause, however it was exactly 30 days. I even have a letter from the credit union stating on August 12 it was 20 days, it was paid August 22 and was encouraged by *** who said if I paid that day everything,including the overdraft fees which the credit union and I were disputing, it wouldn't go away, then when I paid, they told me something else. They fail to follow their own policies. Now, they also stated, "With regard to his Over Draft Privilege (ODP), CCU revoked this service due to negative activity on the checking account. The negative balance was not a result of the fraudulent transactions on the account as the account was negative prior to the fraudulent transactions occurring. Mr. ****** has has significant negative activity in the account over the last 4 months and the negative balance exceeded 30 days in August causing the ODP to be revoked. Mr. ****** can reapply for the service after 6 months of positive account activity." As I stated above, it was not past 30 days and while I did use the overdraft protection privilage on muliple occasions, why is that being used against me? If there is a service given to customers, would they not expect someone to use it? Why offer it then? I now feel they are attacking me because I used this service they offer. They have told me serveral variations of why I lost it, none make any sense. I have the letter they sent and my deposit slip proving it was within the 30 day time frame and that their explanation is yet another issue. To quote them, "Finally, the Credit Union acted appropriately and in accordance with all financial regulations. We regret Mr. ****** had an unpleasant experience with CCU however all reported issues have been resolved. Thank you." They admit this was their mistake, their employees made all sorts of mistakes, but just because a matter has partially been corrected, it doesn't excuse the poor service, it doesn't excuse the fact that the staff is poorly trained, it doesn't excuse the fact that this still isn't completely resolved after over a month, it doesn't excuse the fact that even here and now they continue to supply misinformation and contradictions and it doesn't excuse the fact that they have failed to protect my account or me. I have posted the communications with them on various sites, I have posted audio messages they left on my voice mail, I have posted letters they sent and responses to this on various sites and not a whole lot of people showed support for them. I again ask they lose their *** support as they have failed at every level to correct this matter. They have NO customer service. They need to correct all the issues I had happen to me and properly train the staff to handle such situations in the future. I feel advertising their *** accreditation is baiting people in who will not get the service that represents and they should lose it. My situation is a prime example of how any customer business should not act. No one should have to go through what I did. People should be warned. I am sharing my story with everyone I see who is a member to warn them of these evil people. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 18, 2013/09/13) */ As stated in previous responses, Mr. ******'s Over Draft Privilege (ODP) was revoked due to the account having a negative balance for 30 days. Mr. ******'s account was drawn negative on 7/23/2013. A notice was sent on 8/02/2013 informing him the account has been negative for 10 days, another notice on 8/12/2013 informing him the account was negative for 20 days and the final notification on 8/22/2013 notifying him the account was negative for 30 days and the service was being revoked. ********* Credit Union maintains we have acted appropriately and in accordance with all financial regulations. Mr. ****** was sufficiently notified of the status of his account as well of the termination of the service. We regret Mr. ****** had an unpleasant experience with CCU however all reported issues have been addressed and resolved. Thank you.

2/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues