Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Chicago Patrolmen's Federal Credit Union

Phone: (312) 726-8814 Fax: (312) 726-5349 View Additional Phone Numbers 1407 W Washington Blvd, Chicago, IL 60607

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chicago Patrolmen's Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 06, 2003 Business started: 08/18/1938 Business started locally: 08/18/1938
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS)

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Scott Arney, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Arney, C.E.O.
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Banking Services Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Additional Locations


    1407 W Washington Blvd

    Chicago, IL 60607


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was instructed to circle the charges that were not mine, then returned the form with a police report and was re-billed a charge of 75.00 plus fees bringing the total to $96.38. I was also sent a copy of a bill of an unknown person from ********* who I do not know. This is not justification of re-billing charges. This account is supposed to be closed!

Desired Settlement: I want my account cleared, charges taken away and account closed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/19) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ********* COO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********* The rebilling of the charge was done directly by the merchant. The cerdit union subsequently reversed all charges and the account has a zero ($0) balance. The old account (card)was already closed and a new account (card) was issued. Member was informed by the credit union. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I was contacted by a member of the Credit Union and the problem was taken care of and the money was credited to my account.

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was attempting to refinance my home with a different bank. CPFCU made it extremely difficult to release a subordination for my refinance. They then charged me a fee of 100.00 to release the agreement which i never did use because they lagged on the release. In turn, CPFCU then cut my line of credit in retaliation for this. They explained it as the home values dropping. I know other people that bank there from my neighborhood that did not experience this cut. I have been a customer for 20 years! I have never missed a payment or have ever been late. My credit scores also prove this. Horrible treatment, horrible customer service, today 01 feb 14 i was at the lobby,, at 1159 and they wouldnt open the door because they close at 12.

Desired Settlement: I want my credit line restored, and my 100.00 refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Lending Mgr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* In response to Ms. ******'s concerns with Chicago Patrolmen's Federal Credit Union (CPFCU), there are several factors to take into consideration throughout the process of approving a subordination request that are being overlooked. When a subordination agreement is being requested the lender making the request will provide an updated value for the collateral. Due to the negative changes in real estate market value over the last few years, if the lien held by CPFCU is no longer fully secured by the residence, the subordination request can only be approved per policy if the new first mortgage financing term does not exceed the remaining term on the prior loan being refinanced, and the availability on the credit line with CPFCU is reduced or suspended. This was the situation for Ms. ******. The length of time required to grant the request was due to the terms the new lender was attempting to grant, re-extending the first mortgage to thirty years. CPFCU was unable to grant the subordination request under the proposed terms, and Ms. ****** was not charged the $100 fee for processing the request. After numerous conversations with Ms. ****** as well as the loan officer from the requesting bank, a new subordination request was made that met the approval requirements for CPFCU as the request was for a shortened term from the existing mortgage. The request was approved; the subordination agreement was prepared and sent to the requesting lender for recording. Ms. ****** was charged the processing fee of $100 for this request. While Ms. ****** did not go through with the transaction, the request for subordination was processed in a timely manner once receiving the updated terms. CPFCU is required by its federal regulating body, the ******** ****** ***** ************** ******* to perform a periodic analysis on the collateral value of all secured loans. With respect to home equity lines of credit, if a transaction is no longer fully secured as outline by CPFCU's lending policy, CPFCU must either reduce the credit availability to meet lending policy guidelines or eliminate the availability to take further advances on the credit line depending on the updated loan to collateral value. In the case of a subordination request, an updated collateral value is provided which will trigger this action. Unfortunately, based on the collateral value information received on Ms. ******'s property, CPFCU is not in position to restore the credit line. This is not a reflection of her history with the credit union, but rather a required action due to the current economic environment. CPFCU appreciates the business of Ms. ****** along with the entire membership and will make every effort to be as accommodating as possible while remaining in compliance with the NCUA and CPFCU's lending policy. This information was provided to Ms. ****** via phone conversation by two members of CPFCU's staff while the subordination request was in process.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chicago Patrolmen's Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)