Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chicago Municipal Employees Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 236-2326 Fax: (312) 236-3504 View Additional Phone Numbers 18 S Michigan Ave Ste 1000, Chicago, IL 60603 http://www.cmecuonline.org



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Chicago Municipal Employees Credit Union is a credit union which serves employees of the City of Chicago. This organization serves the city of Chicago, including the neighborhoods of the Loop, Central Loop, Greektown, University Village, Little Italy, Illinois Medical District, Streeterville, Near West Side, Noble Square, West Town, Lincoln Park, Near South Side, Lower West Side, Armour Square, and Ukrainian Village. Services available from this organization include savings and checking accounts, club accounts, IRAs, mortgages, home equity accounts, vehicle loans, student loans, lines of credit, credit cards, notary services, online credit counseling, mobile banking, and non-profit and standard business accounts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chicago Municipal Employees Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chicago Municipal Employees Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chicago Municipal Employees Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 04, 2003 Business started: 06/19/1926 Business started locally: 06/19/1926
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Business Management
Mr. Peter Tzortzakis, CEO/COO Robin Hollis, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter Tzortzakis, CEO/COO
Business Category

Credit Unions Credit Services Financial Services Mortgage Bankers Banking Services Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Alternate Business Names
Chicago Municipal Employees CU

Additional Locations

  • 18 S Michigan Ave Ste 1000

    Chicago, IL 60603 (312) 236-2326

  • 4909 W Division St

    Chicago, IL 60651

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account is XXXXX. I have direct deposits to this account and every time I turn around its over drafted.

Desired Settlement: I want all the over drafts explained and or fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** CEO/COO Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@cmecuonline.org Re: ******* ***** **** S ********** ******** ** XXXXX To Whom It May Concern: This letter is to inform you that the recent request pertaining to above consumer has been received and reviewed by our financial institution. In reference to the initial complaint by Consumer it has been determined that she has received overdraft fees as result of an automated payment agreement with LA ******** Merchant has attempted to withdraw payment from Consumers account in the past but funds have not been available. As a result of Non-Sufficient Funds, Consumer has been charged fees for such transactions. Consumer has made purchases and has also transferred deposits to a minor account with our Credit Union resulting in the account not having sufficient funds to make payment. It is up to the Consumers to review their accounts balances before making purchases or submitting automated payment to Merchants. We apologized for any inconvenience that this Loss has resulted to our members with Chicago Municipal Employees Credit Union. Thank you, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) That is only one item, the have been doing is since I have had this account. And I have had it for over ten years. I have called an explained that I the account they are talking about is closed. And they should not be taking anything out my account. If it was someone else they would have stopped it by now. I feel like my account is being set-up to fail, so they can collect fees. It has been like this for years. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/23) */ Re: ******* ***** **** S ********** ******** ** XXXXX To Whom It May Concern: This letter is to inform you that the recent request pertaining to above consumer has been received and reviewed by our financial institution. In reference to the reply by Consumer it has been determined that she has received overdraft fees as result of an automated payment agreement with ** ******** Consumer has made previous payments to merchant dating July 2013 thru July 2014. Upon further investigation with ** ******* Representative ******* it has been confirmed that Consumer did close her membership with Merchant but failed to pay a remaining balance from March 2014. ** ******* Representative agreed to waive the balance owed by Consumer and discontinue charges to her Credit Union account. ** ******* Representative related that the account has been noted as paid in full. As an additional courtesy from our Institution we will waive the fees on Consumers account. In closing, it is up to the Consumer to review their accounts and dispute any transactions with merchants first and if all attempts have failed they may file an ACH Fraud Dispute with our Institution and an investigation of the account will be processed. We apologized for any inconvenience that this Loss has resulted to our member with Chicago Municipal Employees Credit Union. Thank you, Member Relations Department

3/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We traded a 2011 Lincoln MKZ into the car dealer for a new car.The dealer paid off the lien with this credit union and requested that the title be sent to the dealer.The credit union claims they sent the title to our address in ******* ******** on February 11th. To date, (3/6/14), I have not received this title.The new owners are threatening the dealer and the dealer is calling us constantly to help them get the title. I have called the credit union who insists that they sent this title to us. We have not received the title nor has the release of lien been sent to the dealer. Our next step is to contact the attorney general to have investigate this credit union in *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement We feel that the credit union needs to follow through by requesting another title from ******** because we are in ******** and it is difficult for us to obtain a title. I no longer feel this is my responsibility, but I am being consistently asked to help the dealer resolve the issue. The credit union has not been helpful. They asked me to check with the postal service. The new owners cannot even buy plates for this car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/13) */ Re: Case ********** ***** ****** To Whom It May Concern: This letter is to inform you that the recent letter pertaining to above consumer has been received by our financial institution. In reference to the initial complaint from Mrs. ***** ******, the consumer requested her title to be mailed to her and on 1/29/14. The document was mailed and to our understanding Mrs. ****** had received her title. On 3/10/14 we received a request for the lien release since she had not received her title. On 3/13/14 a Lien Release letter was faxed to Consumer upon her request. We apologized for any inconvenience that this loss had resulted to our member but sometimes we have no control on an outside factors or vendors. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I requested a copy of the tittle in January. The dealer paid off the car and the original title should have been sent to them. The credit union claimed they sent it to me and I never received the original. However if they have sent the lien release to the dealer this problem should be resolved.

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chicago Municipal Employees Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)