Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Baxter Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Baxter Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 30 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 11
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 30

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Baxter Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 06, 1996 Business started: 07/08/1981 Business started locally: 07/08/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Valentine, CEO Mr. Douglas Wright, VP Audit/Compliance
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Valentine, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Douglas Wright, VP Audit/Compliance
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Loans - Small Business Financial Services Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)


Additional Locations

  • 1 Baxter Pkwy

    Deerfield, IL 60015

  • 1 N Field Ct

    Lake Forest, IL 60045

  • 25212 W Il Route 120

    Round Lake, IL 60073 (800) 388-7000

  • 340 N. Milwaukee Ave

    Vernon Hills, IL 60061

  • 415 S Main St

    Crystal Lake, IL 60014

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/26/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/20/2015 Delivery Issues
5/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/12/2015 Delivery Issues
12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I incurred fees from ****** and I should not have them. I had another method of payment for them but their system was inadvertenly charging me when I had alreay paid paypal. fees were 8/4/14-$29.00, 8/4/14-$29.00, 7/30/14-29.00, 7/25/14-$29.00, 7/25/14-$29.00, was a total of $145.00. I would like a refund.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for $145.00 the remaining total of the nsf charges. It was not my fault that Paypal's system was still trying to take a payment when I had already paid them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/20) */ Please see attached response. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am unsatisfed with this resolution and poor customer service that I have been given with this credit union. I want my account refunded immediately since your guys kept trying to take money from my account and the paypal account was already paid. I cant help it if it was a glitch in the system. I will be closing my account and just using my taking my business to Topline Credit Union if this is the way you treat your customers. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/29) */ Please see attached response.

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called the CU spoke and advised them that the money was not hitting my savings account but it was coming out of my check. She said she could she that and she would look into to it and call me back. A week later I called back and got ***, he said he had no idea what I was talking about so I had to start over again. He said he would look into it and call me back. A week later I called back and got *** again and nothing had been done I got a little irate and told him I was going to call the BBB, he told me to fax him again the statements and my pay stubs with the $25 coming out of my checks and the letter from ******* He said he saw that from APR it should have started coming out of my pay check but did not start till 18JUNE. I called 3 days later to see if they got my faxes and to see if I had my money and the answer...and the answer I got was we will have to work on it. And my answer was it has been nearly a month you have the proof...I want my money

Desired Settlement: MY money that is MINE

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/16) */ Please see attached response.

6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was hospitalized and fell behind on my car note and my car was picked up on 5/14/14. I called in regards to paying my past due balance and retrieving my vehicle and I was told they had no information and they were not aware where my vehicle was because it wasn't in their system yet and ****** would call me before the day was over. I called several times and I still was given no information about my vehicle only that on a case by case bases you can pay and be current to get the vehicle or they would want a full pay off. I called again today 5/15/14 and they are still saying ****** will call me back because he still has to locate the vehicle but I informed them that I know where the vehicle is and they then told me he has to research some other information and he will get back with me. Each day I am being charged storage and I feel like I'm getting the run around. I also was a bit afraid to contact the better business bureau because I need the credit union to just let me pay what I owe and bring my account current. I don't want them requesting a full pay off because I contacted you all because I can't afford that.

Desired Settlement: I am looking to retrieve my vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ Please see attached response.

4/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Baxter Credit union never contacted me in regards to the $20 I was overdrawn. They then reported it to the credit bureau in February. When I became aware I paid in full and asked them to remove the negative reporting to the 3 credit bureaus. They refused. There is no way a company can ruin your credit without trying to collect it prior and make the person liable aware!

Desired Settlement: I want this negative reporting to be removed from my credit report. This is absolutely against my rights to defend myself in paying the debt and being aware.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ***** Compl. Mgr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@bcu.org March 20, 2014 ******* ****** Better Business Bureau 330 N. Wabash Ave., Ste. **** Chicago, IL 60611 Re: Response to Complaint ******* ****** Reference No: XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ******* On March 18, 2014, BCU was in receipt of correspondence from your office regarding the complaint filed by our member, ******* ******. Please accept this as BCU's response to the complaint. On November 18, 2013, Mr. ******'s savings share became negative by $25.00. On November 29, 2013, BCU sent correspondence to the address on file for Mr. ******. The correspondence indicated Mr. ******'s savings share was $25.00 negative and he would need to deposit at least $25.00 to bring the account current. The correspondence also informed Mr. ****** that if he did not bring his savings share current further collection action would be taken. On December 2, 2013, Mr. ****** contacted BCU's Member Relations Department and was informed of his negative account status by a Member Relations Representative. The Member Relations Representative transferred $5.00 from Mr. ******'s other savings share to the negative share per his request. Furthermore, Mr. ****** promised to deposit $20.00 to bring his account current. However, Mr. ****** did not bring his savings share current. Therefore, on December 18, 2013, Mr. ******'s savings share was charged off for $20.00 and was reported as charged off to the credit reporting agencies. On March 18, 2014, Mr. ****** made a deposit of $20.00 to his negative savings share and brought the account current. Around the same time, BCU received a credit reporting dispute filed by Mr. ****** regarding his charged off account. Please note that BCU never "refused" his request, but the deadline to respond to the credit reporting dispute is April 10, 2014. Please also note that BCU receives on average of 600 alleged credit bureau disputes per month, and only about 2 percent of these actually require correction. In summary, we handled Mr. ******'s account within our rights pursuant to the Fair Credit Reporting Act when we charged off Mr. ******'s account and began reporting him as charged off to the credit reporting agencies. As a courtesy to Mr. ******, we expedited his dispute and on March 19th we submitted a request to the credit reporting agencies to delete the charged off share from his credit history. Mr. ****** should allow 5-10 business days for this request to be processed by the credit reporting agencies. If you have any further questions in regards to this matter, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ****** Lending Operations Manager

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday 4/4/14, I deposited a check in ******* Credit Union, a shared branch for Baxter Credit Union. I was expecting a check to come in my mailbox from my father's life insurance policy (my father passed away on 2/5/14 I was his beneficiary) The check is writted to **************, which is my maiden name. I immediately called Baxter customer relations and spoke to ****** who told me that I could used the shared branch to deposit my check in my savings account since it was still open, but my checking acccount was closed. He told me once I deposited the check at ******* credit union I was to have them fax a copy of the check to Baxtter so Baxter could request a release of my funds. I did exactly what I was told to do. I called back in and spoke to ****, who found the copy that was fax in her system from ******* Credit union (their area code starts with 763). She asked me if I was needing a certain amount at the moment and she said that she could have only a certain amount released. I told her that I did not need anything at the moment but I would in a few days. **** promised me that my funds would be available to me on Tuesday 4/8/14 without a doubt. I thanked **** and we actually had conversation about my father's death and she shared stories with me that her brother passed away when he was 25 and how hard it was to get through the passing of a loved one. I asked her could I be transferred to her supervisor to says she how good of a job she did by helping me. Today when called call your customer service line, they tell me that I cannot get my funds on 4/8 since I had a charge off on my account. What does that have to do with me getting my funds that I am due. They have taken the money that I owed them out of the check that was deposite. (I owed a $915.00) which I had previoius discussed with **** and she said she was going to take care of that. The service that Im getting is horrible. I feel like they treat me like a criminal. As if I cannot half access to my own money. I did not go to a bank because I used to like to deal with Baxter credit Union. They have no sympathy for anyone since my father past and left me as beneficierary they could have shown more compassion. I will be contacting my Attorney General's office a s well. They also told me that they would be pulling the phone calls from when I first called in since I had demanded to speak to a supervisor today. the rep I was speaking with ******* said no supervisor was available and that they would call me back after they pull the recorded calls. Just a shame at what they put me through as a loyal customer

Desired Settlement: I need my funds to be available to me on 4/8 as promised by ****.

3/25/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was working with a third party company (Legal Solutions) to help me obtain a mortgage modification. In October, one of the representatives ******** ********* wrote to the third-party company and told them my modification was approved and that papers would be sent out for me to sign based on the new terms. The terms were as follows: 1) Mortgage arrearage did not have to be paid 2) The second mortgage loan was "forgiven" 3) The estimated monthly payment Baxter never sent the papers. Upon my conversations with them (several different people), I received the runaround that it was still in "review" after she wrote that it was in fact "already approved." There then became an issue with a Quit Claim Deed and she stated they needed that to go in my file. I contacted them several times for direction on how I needed to go about getting the information the wanted, but they kept giving me the runaround. Someone named ****** told me to do nothing until I heard from them. The manager (maybe ****** I can't remember, told me to hold off because they requested my original file that should've contained it. However, after all of the runaround, the next communication I received was from an attorney stating that Baxter Credit Union was filing foreclosure on my home because of the following: 1) Non-payment (of which I was told didn't have to be paid based on my approved modification 2) Non-compliance with a quit claim deed (of which all of my communications thus far from them has been to wait on their next steps) I have contacted Baxter Credit Union several times to speak with a manager over that department as well as the bank itself. All of the times I've requested that, I have received calls from the SAME individual(s) that I've had the problem with. I am not receiving help from the mortgage collections department and upper management has not stepped in to help resolve this issue. To date, I have been extremely proactive and have provided everything requested of me because I want to keep my home. The negligence and unprofessionalism of the few people handling my account and the lack of accountability of upper management to service its customers is negatively affecting the outcome of this situation. I would like it resolved under the basis of the terms I was already granted. It seems very unfair and quite unethical to declare that someone was approved for a loan modification then file a foreclosure proceeding based on non-compliance when they were the ones who dropped the ball SEVERAL times.

Desired Settlement: I would like Baxter Credit Union to uphold the following agreements as expressed by **************** to Legal Solutions. 1) The borrower does not have to pay mortgage arrearage. 2) The second mortgage was completely discharged. 3) The borrowers new mortgage terms are 328 Mo, no balloon, Rate 5.50% I would like an overall bank manager to handle my file from here as the collections team have not done so. I would like the bank to stop sending all my correspondence back to the collections team because that's the department I have the discrepancy with. I would like my modification papers to be expedited because this has taken long enough. I do not wish to lose my home which is why I have been proactive in contacting them to see what I can do. However, they have not responded responsibly and/or ethically in the matter at this time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/28) */ Please see attached response. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, I do not accept this response. I have uploaded a .pdf file with my rationale. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/14) */ Please see attached response to rebuttal.

2/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is concerning the following two credit card transactions on my **** card issued by BCU. Both of these transactions were from a company called ******* Inc. I have disputed both of these transactions with BCU in accordance with the **** regulations involving the time frame limitations. However, both of these disputes were denied due to being outside of the allowed time frame. I believe this is an error. 1. Transaction amount = $100.00 posted July 7, 2013 2. Transaction amount = $133.00 posted August 7, 2013 I have talked with BCU cardholder services at least 7 times regarding these disputes. I recently spoke with ****** who provided her ID as XXXXX. In my conversations with cardholder services I was told that the regulations provide a window for disputes of 120 days from the date of the transaction. But because both of these transactions were for a service, the criteria should be 120 days from the last date that the cardholder expected to receive the service. That is according to **** regulations. Concerning the $100 transaction, I disputed this with the merchant ******** on July 24, 2013. The merchant took until October to give me a final answer at which time I submitted the dispute with cardholder services. On October 24, 2013 cardholder services mailed a dispute form to me. I faxed this dispute form back to BCU on November 3, 2013. All of the foregoing was within 120 days of the transaction. In responding to my dispute form I received a letter dated November 12, 2013 from cardholder services. I will attach a copy if your system permits it. In that letter BCU is requesting additional information to be received by December 2, 2013. I provided that information to their fax (XXX-XXX-XXXX) on November 29, 2013. Concerning the $133 transaction, this was for a service provided through ******* and that service was not completed until October 22, 2013. I submitted the dispute form to the cardholder services fax on December 16, 2013. I subsequently received a letter dated December 24, 2013 from cardholder services. That letter requested more information which I faxed to cardholder services on January 2, 2014. A second letter dated January 16, 2014 from BCU denied my dispute based on the elapsed time. This letter is very unprofessional as it is not signed by anyone, nor does it contain any specific information. Attachments (if allowed): BCU letter dated January 16, 2014 BCU letter dated December 16, 2013 BCU letter dated November 12, 2013

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that BCU address the following two items in order to resolve this complaint. 1. Provide a copy of the of **** regulation that is being used to deny my dispute. I am not asking for the entire document. I want a copy of the page that is being referenced to deny any dispute. 2. I am requesting a credit for both of these transactions totaling $233.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/07) */ Please see attached response.

1/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an employee at ****** and as one of your pay options you can open an account with Baxter Credit Union. I opened an account with them and cashed a check I received from my mother's retirement fund after her death in early 2013. I deposited the check to my account and it was IMMEDIATELY put on hold and it has been that way for the last week and a half. I need this money for bills and other necessities but the credit union keeps extending the hold on my check. I have contacted Baxter Credit Union many times to have the issue resolved and all I am getting is the run around. I've talked to numerous people and the process is only being extended and made more complicated than it has to be. Their customer service is not very helpful and some of their staff is very rude or won't answer your questions.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want my check to be cleared so I can withdraw my money and to close my account with them for good.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/10) */ Please see attached response.

1/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a BCU member since 1996! I absolutely have enjoyed my membership with the credit union. But that has changed a bit the last 4 years. That was when I had my debit card compromised for the very 1st time. It has happened 3 more times since 2010. The latest being today 1/10/14. Fortunately, I had signed up to "account alerts" last year when My card was fraudulently charged the 3rd time. I am glad the credit union reimburses members for fraudulent charges BUT I am incensed with the fact that this has happened to me 4 times(and counting)!! I relayed my anger and frustrations to the rep(who was cordial by the way) and she empathized with me! I really don't understand what else to do and I can't understand why BCU hasn't gone away from magnetic strip cards and transition to cards that are fitted with a micro-chip. I am well aware that the perpetrators are getting more advanced so it only makes sense that BCU & other financial institutions take the necessary steps to counter this insurgency! In addition, ****/BCU SHOULD implement additional security measures on their cards when used online such as the one ********** has which requires users to input a security password/PIN number for ALL transactions when the cards are used online! I am just at my wit's end with this recurring "nightmare"!! 4 times in 4 years is NOT the norm!!

Desired Settlement: I am aware that BCU reimburses members for unauthorized/fraudulent charges(which is a blessing)! BUT BCU hasn't gotten away from magnetic strip cards and transition to cards that are fitted with a micro-chip. These micro-chip ladened cards have more added security than the 20th century magnetic-strip ones that hackers have deviced away of breaching relentlessly(I have had to request a new card 4 times!!). I am well aware that the perpetrators are getting more advanced so it only makes sense that BCU & other financial institutions take the necessary steps to counter this insurgency! In addition, ****/BCU SHOULD implement additional security measures on their cards when used online such as the one ********** has which requires users to input a security password/PIN number for ALL transactions when the cards are used online!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) */ please see attached response. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted BCU the week my father died to have his funds transferred to my mother's account (who is a BCU member and his beneficiary). I followed up several times via phone re: the proper process and sent a death certificate on 10/18/13 to the fax number requested with my contact info(although it wasn't secure and they didn't provide me with a secure alternative). No one has called me back or been able to provide me with a status update. I then tried to contact them via email as well and they just directed me back to the phone (a very unhelpful option to date). They have still not sent the paperwork to my mother (whose address they have) to transfer my father's funds to her (she is the beneficiary and the funds should transfer by law given the financial instrument in question). I have not had this problem with any other financial institution I have dealt with. This has been a very stressful experience and unwarranted.

Desired Settlement: I want BCU to (i) send the applicable paperwork to my mother (whose address they have) to transfer my father's funds to my mother's account and (ii) send the applicable paperwork to close my mother's account and transfer the funds elsewhere.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/15) */ Please see attached response. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/11/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) BCU still is omitting or mischaracterizing several key points regarding this matter. Having said that, I do not have time to keep pointing out the mistakes made by and inappropriate responses -- or lack of responses -- I received from BCU. I am not expecting anything further from BCU, but I would hope that going forward they are far more professional, diligent and logical about their policies and practices regarding the privacy and other concerns of their customers. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/26) */ Please see attached response.

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an aftermarket warrant from Baxter and every time I went to use it the repair was denied. This was supposed to be a bumper to bumper warranty for 3 years. I brought the car to ******** ****** three times and they only covered one small repair, the rest were denied. I also brought the car to ********* **** And after 5 days of the car sitting there was told the warranty company never called back after several attempts.

Desired Settlement: Baxter gave me back about $340, but I paid over $1000 for the warranty so I want the full refund. My repairs were not covered even though I purchased an extended warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/26) */ Please see attached response.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Baxter Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)