BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2012

Baxter Credit Union

Phone: (800) 388-7000Fax: (847) 932-8325

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues9
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service16
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints28

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (28)BBB Closure Definitions
08/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called the CU spoke and advised them that the money was not hitting my savings account but it was coming out of my check. She said she could she that and she would look into to it and call me back. A week later I called back and got ***, he said he had no idea what I was talking about so I had to start over again. He said he would look into it and call me back. A week later I called back and got *** again and nothing had been done I got a little irate and told him I was going to call the BBB, he told me to fax him again the statements and my pay stubs with the $25 coming out of my checks and the letter from ******* He said he saw that from APR it should have started coming out of my pay check but did not start till 18JUNE. I called 3 days later to see if they got my faxes and to see if I had my money and the answer...and the answer I got was we will have to work on it. And my answer was it has been nearly a month you have the proof...I want my money

Desired Settlement
MY money that is MINE

Business Response
Please see attached response.

06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was hospitalized and fell behind on my car note and my car was picked up on 5/14/14. I called in regards to paying my past due balance and retrieving my vehicle and I was told they had no information and they were not aware where my vehicle was because it wasn't in their system yet and ****** would call me before the day was over. I called several times and I still was given no information about my vehicle only that on a case by case bases you can pay and be current to get the vehicle or they would want a full pay off. I called again today 5/15/14 and they are still saying ****** will call me back because he still has to locate the vehicle but I informed them that I know where the vehicle is and they then told me he has to research some other information and he will get back with me. Each day I am being charged storage and I feel like I'm getting the run around. I also was a bit afraid to contact the better business bureau because I need the credit union to just let me pay what I owe and bring my account current. I don't want them requesting a full pay off because I contacted you all because I can't afford that.

Desired Settlement
I am looking to retrieve my vehicle.

Business Response
Please see attached response.

04/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Baxter Credit union never contacted me in regards to the $20 I was overdrawn. They then reported it to the credit bureau in February. When I became aware I paid in full and asked them to remove the negative reporting to the 3 credit bureaus. They refused. There is no way a company can ruin your credit without trying to collect it prior and make the person liable aware!

Desired Settlement
I want this negative reporting to be removed from my credit report. This is absolutely against my rights to defend myself in paying the debt and being aware.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ** ***** Compl. Mgr.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@bcu.org
March 20, 2014


******* ******
Better Business Bureau
330 N. Wabash Ave., Ste. ****
Chicago, IL 60611

Re: Response to Complaint
******* ******
Reference No: XXXXXXXX

Dear Ms. *******

On March 18, 2014, BCU was in receipt of correspondence from your office regarding the complaint filed by our member, ******* ******. Please accept this as BCU's response to the complaint.

On November 18, 2013, Mr. ******'s savings share became negative by $25.00. On November 29, 2013, BCU sent correspondence to the address on file for Mr. ******. The correspondence indicated Mr. ******'s savings share was $25.00 negative and he would need to deposit at least $25.00 to bring the account current. The correspondence also informed Mr. ****** that if he did not bring his savings share current further collection action would be taken.

On December 2, 2013, Mr. ****** contacted BCU's Member Relations Department and was informed of his negative account status by a Member Relations Representative. The Member Relations Representative transferred $5.00 from Mr. ******'s other savings share to the negative share per his request. Furthermore, Mr. ****** promised to deposit $20.00 to bring his account current. However, Mr. ****** did not bring his savings share current. Therefore, on December 18, 2013, Mr. ******'s savings share was charged off for $20.00 and was reported as charged off to the credit reporting agencies.

On March 18, 2014, Mr. ****** made a deposit of $20.00 to his negative savings share and brought the account current. Around the same time, BCU received a credit reporting dispute filed by Mr. ****** regarding his charged off account. Please note that BCU never "refused" his request, but the deadline to respond to the credit reporting dispute is April 10, 2014. Please also note that BCU receives on average of 600 alleged credit bureau disputes per month, and only about 2 percent of these actually require correction.

In summary, we handled Mr. ******'s account within our rights pursuant to the Fair Credit Reporting Act when we charged off Mr. ******'s account and began reporting him as charged off to the credit reporting agencies. As a courtesy to Mr. ******, we expedited his dispute and on March 19th we submitted a request to the credit reporting agencies to delete the charged off share from his credit history. Mr. ****** should allow 5-10 business days for this request to be processed by the credit reporting agencies.

If you have any further questions in regards to this matter, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,


***** ******
Lending Operations Manager

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Friday 4/4/14, I deposited a check in ******* Credit Union, a shared branch for Baxter Credit Union. I was expecting a check to come in my mailbox from my father's life insurance policy (my father passed away on 2/5/14 I was his beneficiary) The check is writted to **************, which is my maiden name. I immediately called Baxter customer relations and spoke to ****** who told me that I could used the shared branch to deposit my check in my savings account since it was still open, but my checking acccount was closed. He told me once I deposited the check at ******* credit union I was to have them fax a copy of the check to Baxtter so Baxter could request a release of my funds. I did exactly what I was told to do. I called back in and spoke to ****, who found the copy that was fax in her system from ******* Credit union (their area code starts with 763). She asked me if I was needing a certain amount at the moment and she said that she could have only a certain amount released. I told her that I did not need anything at the moment but I would in a few days. **** promised me that my funds would be available to me on Tuesday 4/8/14 without a doubt. I thanked **** and we actually had conversation about my father's death and she shared stories with me that her brother passed away when he was 25 and how hard it was to get through the passing of a loved one. I asked her could I be transferred to her supervisor to says she how good of a job she did by helping me. Today when called call your customer service line, they tell me that I cannot get my funds on 4/8 since I had a charge off on my account. What does that have to do with me getting my funds that I am due. They have taken the money that I owed them out of the check that was deposite. (I owed a $915.00) which I had previoius discussed with **** and she said she was going to take care of that. The service that Im getting is horrible. I feel like they treat me like a criminal. As if I cannot half access to my own money. I did not go to a bank because I used to like to deal with Baxter credit Union. They have no sympathy for anyone since my father past and left me as beneficierary they could have shown more compassion. I will be contacting my Attorney General's office a s well.

They also told me that they would be pulling the phone calls from when I first called in since I had demanded to speak to a supervisor today. the rep I was speaking with ******* said no supervisor was available and that they would call me back after they pull the recorded calls.

Just a shame at what they put me through as a loyal customer

Desired Settlement
I need my funds to be available to me on 4/8 as promised by ****.

03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was working with a third party company (Legal Solutions) to help me obtain a mortgage modification. In October, one of the representatives ******** ********* wrote to the third-party company and told them my modification was approved and that papers would be sent out for me to sign based on the new terms. The terms were as follows:
1) Mortgage arrearage did not have to be paid
2) The second mortgage loan was "forgiven"
3) The estimated monthly payment
Baxter never sent the papers. Upon my conversations with them (several different people), I received the runaround that it was still in "review" after she wrote that it was in fact "already approved."
There then became an issue with a Quit Claim Deed and she stated they needed that to go in my file. I contacted them several times for direction on how I needed to go about getting the information the wanted, but they kept giving me the runaround. Someone named ****** told me to do nothing until I heard from them. The manager (maybe ****** I can't remember, told me to hold off because they requested my original file that should've contained it. However, after all of the runaround, the next communication I received was from an attorney stating that Baxter Credit Union was filing foreclosure on my home because of the following:
1) Non-payment (of which I was told didn't have to be paid based on my approved modification
2) Non-compliance with a quit claim deed (of which all of my communications thus far from them has been to wait on their next steps)
I have contacted Baxter Credit Union several times to speak with a manager over that department as well as the bank itself. All of the times I've requested that, I have received calls from the SAME individual(s) that I've had the problem with. I am not receiving help from the mortgage collections department and upper management has not stepped in to help resolve this issue. To date, I have been extremely proactive and have provided everything requested of me because I want to keep my home. The negligence and unprofessionalism of the few people handling my account and the lack of accountability of upper management to service its customers is negatively affecting the outcome of this situation. I would like it resolved under the basis of the terms I was already granted.
It seems very unfair and quite unethical to declare that someone was approved for a loan modification then file a foreclosure proceeding based on non-compliance when they were the ones who dropped the ball SEVERAL times.

Desired Settlement
I would like Baxter Credit Union to uphold the following agreements as expressed by **************** to Legal Solutions.
1) The borrower does not have to pay mortgage arrearage.
2) The second mortgage was completely discharged.
3) The borrowers new mortgage terms are 328 Mo, no balloon, Rate 5.50%

I would like an overall bank manager to handle my file from here as the collections team have not done so. I would like the bank to stop sending all my correspondence back to the collections team because that's the department I have the discrepancy with. I would like my modification papers to be expedited because this has taken long enough. I do not wish to lose my home which is why I have been proactive in contacting them to see what I can do. However, they have not responded responsibly and/or ethically in the matter at this time.

Business Response
Please see attached response.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, I do not accept this response. I have uploaded a .pdf file with my rationale.

Final Business Response
Please see attached response to rebuttal.

Page 1 of 5
08/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I incurred fees from ****** and I should not have them. I had another method of payment for them but their system was inadvertenly charging me when I had alreay paid paypal.
fees were 8/4/14-$29.00, 8/4/14-$29.00, 7/30/14-29.00, 7/25/14-$29.00, 7/25/14-$29.00, was a total of $145.00. I would like a refund.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund for $145.00 the remaining total of the nsf charges. It was not my fault that Paypal's system was still trying to take a payment when I had already paid them.

Business Response
Please see attached response.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am unsatisfed with this resolution and poor customer service that I have been given with this credit union. I want my account refunded immediately since your guys kept trying to take money from my account and the paypal account was already paid. I cant help it if it was a glitch in the system. I will be closing my account and just using my taking my business to Topline Credit Union if this is the way you treat your customers.

Final Business Response
Please see attached response.

02/12/2015Problems with Product / Service
11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/16/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/10/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions, Financial Services, Loans - Small Business, Loans

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.