Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Alliant Credit Union

Phone: (773) 462-2000 Fax: (773) 462-8791 View Additional Phone Numbers 11545 W Touhy Ave, Chicago, IL 60666 http://www.alliantcreditunion.org View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alliant Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alliant Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alliant Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 17, 2004 Business started: 10/01/1935 Business started locally: 10/01/1935 Business incorporated 10/26/1935 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Ms. Colleen Bjerkness, Manager -Member Engagement Ms. Meredith Ritchie, Counsel, Legal & Compliance
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Colleen Bjerkness, Manager -Member Engagement
Business Category

Credit Unions Banks Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an established installment loan with Alliant CU. I ran into a mild financial situation as a result I called two weeks prior to my payment being due to ask/apply for a payment extension, where typically a financial institution will add the installment to the end of the term of the loan. I was told by ***** ************ (in the loss prevention/collections dept) that I did not qualify due to the fact that my loan is less than a year old. I asked why I would be denied as I've never been late with an installment and I was in a position that I will end up being late perpetually if I was unable to obtain an extension. ***** advised me I would be up for repossession if I ran 45 days in arrears (mind you, my account is still current and NOT past due). I called looking to find solution for both parties so there would be zero to little cost to either party. In addition, Alliant would collect more interest over the life of the loan. However, it seems ***** and his colleagues were unable to find a sustainable solution and could only advise me of the adverse action that would be taken against me as I didn't qualify for any assistance. I asked who could make a decision on an exception. ***** stated that nobody could. I have to believe that if ***** ** ****** saw fit it would be done. I then asked if he had ever seen an exception made. He replied emphatically, "no." I asked him how long he'd been with Alliant and ***** replied 60 days. While I'm no expert I believe 60 days is too little time for ***** to be a subject matter expert. Furthermore, I don't believe anybody in the department sought out actual solution, they would only operate within their guidelines and seemed unable to think at critical level that would lend to them finding a work around. In the end I was provide absolutely no assistance. Again, keep in mind my loan is current, has always been current and I reached out to them in an effort to maintain my loan's current status.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be granted an extension on my installment loan.

Business Response:

June 13, 2016


*********** ******* *** * ****** *** ******** ** ***** *

Better Business Bureaus Case # ********

Dear Mr. *******

Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau.  

In your complaint, you state you ran into a mild financial situation and have contacted Alliant Credit Union (Alliant) to request a payment extension on your installment loan.  In your comments you state that your request was denied due to your loan being less than a year old.  As a desired solution you would like to be granted an extension on your installment loan.

Our records show that your Used Indirect Auto Loan (L01) was opened on January 4th, 2016.  Per your loan contract, you agreed to make 75 monthly payments of $606.49 beginning on February 18, 2016.  As of the date of this response, Alliant has received 5 payments since your loan has been opened.  We thank you for making these payments on time.  

We understand that members might experience a financial hardship over time while paying their loan.  In an effort to help these members, Alliant offers loan assistance programs to members that meet  certain criteria.  In your complaint you state that you requested a payment extension on your Used Indirect Auto Loan (L01).

To apply for the Skip a Payment Program the vehicle loan:

  • Must be open for a minimum of 12 months

  • Payments must be current and title received

  • Must not have Collateral Protection Insurance (CPI) added to the loan


Unfortunately, since your loan is less than 12 months old it does not qualify for the Skip a Payment Program at this point in time.  In fairness to other members we will not be able to make any exception to skip a payment.  In case you were unaware, Alliant offers a 10 day grace period from your due date before a late fee will be applied.  Also, a negative credit reporting would not be made until the loan is past due for 30 days.

While you do not qualify for the Skip a Payment Program at this time, you may consider applying for another one of our assistance programs in the near future.  Alliant also offers a Loan Payment Reduction Plan which provides a temporary payment reduction up to 30%.  To apply for any assistance programs there is a $25.00 application fee that must be paid before the application is sent out.   

To apply for the Loan Payment Reduction Plan the vehicle loan:

  • Must be open for a minimum of 6 months

  • Payments must be current and title received

  • Must not have Collateral Protection Insurance (CPI) added to the loan


On behalf of Alliant, I apologize for any frustration you experienced with requesting a payment extension on your Used Indirect Auto Loan (L01).  If you would like to apply for a Loan Payment Reduction after your first 6 months, please contact our Collections department at ***** ********* **** **** *** ******* ***********

Should you have any additional questions or concerns, feel free to contact me directly at the number listed below.  


Sincerely, 



*** ******
Member Engagement & Service
************** **** **** ************ ****** ************ ***

Tell us why here...

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Alliant is unwilling work with me. I understand business policies are in place for a reason. I also understand exceptions can always be made if the entity which put the policy in place is willing to do so. I had a pre-approved loan with **** ******* *** of whom I am a member. However, I went with Alliant at he dealership's advice (BAD ADVICE at that). These finite details regarding the policies I would be subject to during the term of the loan were never outlined verbally or in writing during the process of obtaing the loan. I understand the finance department at the dealership (acting as my PoA) and Alliant's buyers were the two parties who came to an agreement, which has left me out in the cold. I will at every turn advise that nobody ever do business with Alliant's mickey mouse organization. It is no wonder Alliant was unable to sustain a physical branch in the state of Arizona.

Worst regards,

*********** ******

Business Response:

June 17, 2016 

*********** ****** *** * ****** ** ******** ** *****

Better Business Bureaus Case # ********

Dear Mr. *******

This is in response to your subsequent correspondence.  In the complaint, you state that the details of Alliant's loan assistance programs should have been disclosed at the time you obtained the loan.  

Per regulation and compliance, we are required to provide a Loan Agreement which discloses the loan terms and maturity date.  Alliant's loan assistance program is not part of your loan contract, as we are not obligated to offer these programs or grant a member with a payment extension whenever it is requested.  In order to offer loan assistance programs, we were required to put specific criteria into place and consider NCUA guidelines, Federal regulations, and best practices when setting up our loan assistance programs.  We are expected to adhere to the established criteria that have been put in place and are unable to make exceptions.

Unfortunately, Alliant will not be able to grant the Skip a Payment Program to you since your loan has been opened for less than 12 months.  We apologize for any disappointment and frustration this has caused.  As stated in our previous message, you may consider applying for our Loan Payment Reduction Plan after the loan has been open for one year. 

If you would like to apply for a Loan Payment Reduction after your first six months, please contact our Collections Department at ***** ********* **** **** for further assistance.    Should you have any additional questions or concerns, feel free to contact me directly at the number listed below.   

*** ****** ****** ********** * ******* ************** **** **** ************ ****** ************ ***

Tell us why here...

4/20/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A week ago, I made several attempts to deposit checks into my account via ATM with no success. I contacted ACU and spoke to ****** I asked why I was unable to deposit checks into my account. ***** told me that due to a report from **** System, I was restricted from depositing checks. I was never told that I would not be able to deposit checks. I feel that Alliant CU has penalized me in excess. I was not able to open a checking account AND I am not able to deposit checks into my account AND NOW MY ACCOUNT HAS BEEN CLOSED. As a ****** employee with direct deposit to this account, my payroll check is going to be deposited into this CLOSED ACCOUNT! I also spoke to ****** who was ******* Supervisor or Manager but I never told him to close my account. I feel that ACU has displayed unfair business practices in handling my account. Your staff has taken excessive actions in restricting my account. I would like my account to be re-opened immediately so that payroll this week can be direct deposited into my account.

Desired Settlement: Re-open my account

Business Response:

April 1, 2016

******* ** ********* **** **** **** ******** ** *****

Better Business Case # ********

Dear Ms. **********

Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. Alliant Credit Union (Alliant) appreciates feedback from its members and takes their complaints very seriously.

Your complaint contains the following issues:

  1. Your account was restricted from depositing checks.
  2. You were never informed you could not deposit checks.
  3. Your account was closed and you never told us to close your account.
  4. You are requesting your account be reopened so your direct deposit from your payroll can be deposited.

I will respond to each issue below:

Your ATM card was restricted from allowing ATM Deposits due to negative information on your **** Systems report. Our records indicate we notified you of this restriction when the card was ordered.

Records show you requested to close your account over the phone on 03/16/16 with a supervisor. On 03/23/16, you requested that we reopen your account. Your request was honored and your account was reopened.

In the complaint, as a desired resolution you state that you would like your account to be reopened. Our records show your account has been reopened.

Sincerely,

***** *********

Member Engagement

Alliant Credit Union

************

jcervantes@alliantcreditunion.com

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was never notified that my ATM card would be on restriction. Please provide the notification you state was given to me stating that I would not be able to deposit checks in my account.

Sincerely,

******* *********

Business Response:

April 12, 2016

******* ** ********* **** **** **** ******** ** *****

Better Business Case # ********

Dear Ms* **********

Thank you for your subsequent correspondence to the Better Business Bureau.

Your rebuttal contains the following issues:

  1. You are rejecting our response because you were never notified that your ATM card would be on restriction.

  1. You are requesting we provide the notification that you were advised you would not be able to deposit checks with your ATM card.

I will respond to each issue below:

Records on your account show that when you called on 01/21/2016 to order the ATM card, our representative verbally advised you that your card would have a restriction on it which would not allow ATM deposits to be made. Per your request, the call was escalated to a supervisor who explained that the restriction is due to negative information on a **** Systems report that we received. We verbally supplied you with the phone number for **** Systems so you could call and find out more details of the negative reporting. We are unable to share this information directly with members.

Our records also show that on 03/16/2016 you called and spoke to a supervisor stating you were never advised you could not make ATM deposits. During this phone conversation, we advised you that this was discussed over the phone on 01/21/2016 at the time the card was ordered.

If you would like more information regarding the **** Systems report, please contact them at ************. Once the **** Systems report has been cleared of any negative reporting, you can re-apply for an unrestricted ATM/Debit card. We will need to pull another **** Systems report to determine if you qualify for the deposit restriction to be lifted.

On behalf of Alliant, I apologize for any miscommunication that may have taken place and for any frustration you experienced. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention so that we can consider sending out a mailed notification of the restriction as a reminder and improve the member experience going forward.

Sincerely,

***** *********

Member Engagement

Alliant Credit Union

************ *********************************

3/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alliant has reported negative information to the credit bureaus that is not correct and beyond 7 years.

Desired Settlement: Delete trade name from the credit bureaus

Business Response:

March 3, 2016

 

****** ******* *** * ******** ** **** ********* ** **********

Better Business Case # ********

 

Dear Mr. *******  

Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. Alliant Credit Union (Alliant) appreciates feedback from its members and takes their complaints very seriously.

In your complaint you state that Alliant has reported negative information to the credit bureaus that is not correct and beyond seven years.  As a resolution, you are requesting that Alliant delete the trade name from the credit bureaus.

Upon receiving your complaint, we reviewed the reporting of your Alliant Checking Account with the credit bureau for accuracy.  In our research we found that you carried a negative balance of $38.28 on your Alliant Checking Account for 78 days.   

Our records show that after 78 days, the checking account was not brought to a positive balance, and the negative balance was charged off as uncollectable debt. We reported the negative share balance as “Charged Off” in August 2012.  Our records show that we received a check in the amount of $38.00 on August 6, 2013.  After receiving your check Alliant completed an adjustment on August 7, 2013.  This adjustment was processed as a courtesy for the small negative balance left on your account.  The updated reporting for your Checking Account was sent to the credit bureaus at the end of August 2013 with our normal monthly reporting.  Your charge off was updated to show as “Paid Was A Charge Off."

The length of time information appears on a consumers credit report is determined by the Credit Reporting Agencies and not Alliant. Generally, a credit reporting will be calculated from the last date of activity; however, the Credit Reporting Agency controls this.    

After conducting this research, we determined that the reporting of your Checking Account to the credit bureau is accurate. As such, we are unable to comply with your request to change or remove this data in fairness to our entire membership and to uphold our commitment to report true and accurate information to the credit bureaus.  If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me directly.   

 

Sincerely,

 

Dan W*****

Member Engagement & Service

Alliant Credit Union

###-###-####

###-###-#### direct

###-###-#### fax *******@alliantcreditunion.com

Tell us why here...

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

****** *******

3/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2/8/16 Called Alliant about accessing money from account of my deceased aunt, for whom I am executor of estate. Was told they notify a department that deals with deceased members. They then see if there are beneficiaries or co-owners on the account and contact them. A letter will be sent to ****** house. If it is not joint or there are no beneficiaries, then a letter would come to me to tell me how to access money. 20 minute call 2/22 Spoke to Alliant Credit Union re former call of 2/8. They at first indicated that they sent instructions and then corrected themselves. Will be sent shortly. I asked was shortly was. Didn't know. Spoke with supervisor by name of ***** He said he will expedite. This call took place in the morning. He did not return my call as of 5:07 p.m. same day. At 6:15 **** ****** ******** called back to say that Special Services Department contacted Legal Department to make sure there were no previous joint account holders (I don't get that). He will try to get back to me as soon as he knows when I will be receiving paperwork. This sounds fishy. 20 min. 2/24 Called Alliant. Legal Department still has not answered **** ****** about why they haven't instructed Special Services to send me paperwork. 15 min. 2/25 Heard from Alliant. Paperwork is being sent out. 3/2 Called Alliant. Paperwork is still not here. Called at 4:20. It takes 7-10 days for paperwork to be sent out, according to customer service representative. I asked if she could verify that it has been sent. She checked with special services and they sent paperwork on the 29th. 3/4 Called Alliant again. I asked if paperwork sent on 2/29 was sent first class. CSR said yes. But it takes 7-10 days for it to arrive. As you can plainly see, a lot of time has been spent merely trying to receive paperwork that would tell me how to access the money. I was not permitted, even though I asked a few times, to speak to the legal department or the special services.

Desired Settlement: Complete access to communication with any department that is controlling the money in this account, and direct phone numbers to reach any of these departments.

Business Response:

March 18, 2016

******** ** ******** *** ******** ***** ************* ** *****

Better Business Case # ********

Dear Ms. *********

Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. Alliant Credit Union (Alliant) appreciates feedback and takes these complaints very seriously.

In your complaint you state that there was a delay in receiving the required documents from Alliant after you notified us that your aunt was deceased and that you would like contact information for the department that is handling the account at this time.

Our records show that on February 8, 2016, you notified us that Ms. **** ********, an Alliant account-holder had passed away on February 6, 2016. Alliant follows proper internal protocol and procedures handling deceased accounts as well as the requirements according to New Jersey law. On behalf of Alliant, I apologize for the delay in getting the appropriate paperwork to you.

As a result of Legal and Compliance, Alliant is unable to share any further details on this issue.  You can contact **** ***** Alliant’s Senior Corporate Counsel, at ************** **** **** should you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,


****** *******
Member Engagement & Service
Alliant Credit Union
************** **** ****

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** ********

5/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an auto loan with Alliant Credit Union. Traded in the car. The dealership send a short payment probably because they delayed it. Alliant credit union took the money from my savings account to pay off the loan and release the title without my authorization/consent/request.

Desired Settlement: Return $7.54 to my savings account. While this is a small amount it should have come form the dealership not form my savings account. Dealership delayed the payment while interest was accruing and did not request a correct payoff amount on the day the payment was actually sent. Credit union had no right to take money from savings account to release the title.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/15) */ May 15, 2015 **** *********** *** ******** Ave. Apt *** ********* NY XXXXX Better Business Case # XXXXXXXX Dear Mr. ***********, Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. In your complaint, you state that Alliant Credit Union transferred $7.54 from your savings to pay the remaining balance on your loan without your authorization. You further state that the dealership sent in a payment that was short by $7.54 to pay off your loan because they were late sending the payment. You state that you are upset that Alliant transferred $7.54 from your savings account to your loan so we could pay the loan off and release the title to the dealer. As a resolution, you request that Alliant transfer the $7.54 back to your savings account because this amount should have been sent from the dealer. On behalf of Alliant, I apologize that we transferred funds to pay off the remaining balance on your loan without your authorization. When we receive payoff checks that are $10.00 or less short to pay the loan in full and if there are sufficient funds in the member's account, we generally transfer funds from the member's account to satisfy the remaining balance so the title can be released. This action also prevents additional interest from accruing on the unpaid loan balance and prevents any late fees from being charged. Most members appreciate this proactive action to close their loan and release the title. Our records show that you spoke with our Title department on 05/14/2015 and we explained to you why the transfer was made. We offered to reverse the transfer and reopen the loan and you declined. You requested that we not release the title until the dealer sends in the shortage amount. We agreed to hold off sending the title until we received the check from the dealer for the shortage. Later that day, the check was received from the dealer and deposited into your savings account since the loan had already been paid in full. The title was released to the dealer on 5/14/15. Again, on behalf of Alliant, I apologize for any inconvenience and frustration you experienced. Should you have any additional questions or concerns, feel free to contact me directly at the number listed below. Sincerely, ***** ********* Member Engagement & Service X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. **** XXX-XXX-XXXX direct XXX-XXX-XXXX fax Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thanks for explanation.

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company pulled my credit and has reported inquires to my ******* credit report on the following dates: 10/09/14 AND 03/07/14 I have sent correspondence to this company via US Mail disputing these inquires and asking that that be deleted from my credit report OR that the company provide me written evidence showing that I authorized these alleged inquiries and detailing the permissible purpose. I again have no recollection of authorizing these inquires and want them removed from my credit report which will in no way harm the company. I however am being harmed as the inquires being reported erroneously and are causing my to suffer financial losses.

Desired Settlement: REMOVAL/DELETION OF INQUIRY AND LETTER/DOCUMENT CONFIRMING REMOVAL/DELETION OF UNAUTHORIZED INQUIRY

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/22) */ April 22, 2015 ****** ******* **** North **** St ****** FL XXXXX Better Business Case # XXXXXXXX Dear Mr. *******, Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. Alliant Credit Union (Alliant) appreciates feedback from its members and takes their complaints very seriously. In your complaint you indicate that Alliant is reporting two credit inquires which were made on March 7, 2014 and October 9, 2014 to the credit bureaus. You state that you have sent correspondence to Alliant disputing these inquiries and requested that they be removed from your credit file. As a desired resolution, you request that Alliant delete these two inquiries from your credit report and provide you with a confirmation letter of the removal of these inquiries. Our records show that your Alliant Account was opened on December 13, 2013. At approximately 9:00pm CT on March 6, 2014 an online car loan application was created via Alliant's Online Banking platform. During the loan application process, we disclose that a hard credit pull is made to qualify the applicant for the loan. As such, you electronically consented to the credit pull at the time the application was submitted. There are notes under your account which show that on March 7, 2014 at approximately 11:40am, one of our loan consultants spoke with you about your loan application. The application was then processed and was denied. A "Statement of Refusal to Grant Loan" (Denial Letter) was sent to the address on file for you. We have no record that you called us after the denial letter was sent to dispute the loan denial or the credit bureau inquiry. Our records also show that on October 9, 2014, another car loan application was submitted online. Notes under your account show that one of our loan consultants spoke with you regarding your application on this same day and discussed your credit issues and stipulations we would need in order to approve the loan. Our records show that the loan was denied and the loan consultant advised you of this via telephone. Our records also reflect that on October 9, 2014, we sent an H-4 Form for credit score disclosure to the address we have on file for you. We have no record of you contacting us to dispute this loan application or the credit bureau inquiry. We are obligated to report true and accurate information to the credit reporting agencies and we are audited for compliance and regulation. As such, we are unable to comply with your request to remove the two credit inquires as they were authorized during the online loan application process. Should you have any additional questions or concerns regarding this complaint, feel free to contact me directly at the number listed below. Sincerely, ******* ********* Manager - Member Engagement & Service Alliant Credit Union X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. ****

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: re: XXXXXX-complaint entails Alliant's misrepresentation of the terms in the ORIGINAL loan truth/lending statement which this loan was purchase fro ******* Credit Union. Original loan late fee due after 15th of month. Alliant has charged from the 10th. Loan states property are my responsibility, Alliant has stated they paid taxes when they have not. In attempts to solve matters, I have asked to meet with a MORTGAGE OFFICER, at the ******* office not only do they not answer my letters, but to refer me to a loss prevention person, ****** ****** and **** ************* ***** ******** just referred me back to ******* All unproductive and unwilling to abide by the original loan agreement

Desired Settlement: refund of any charges that Alliant is not entitled to, the original truth and lending statement from ******* with the signature page included.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/13) */ November 13, 2014 ***** J ****** *** **** ******** Way ******** ** XXXXX-XXXX Better Business Case # XXXXXXXX Dear Mr. ******, Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. Alliant Credit Union (Alliant) appreciates feedback from its members and takes these complaints very seriously. In your complaint you state that Alliant has misrepresented the terms in the original loan Truth and Lending Statement and that you have been charged late fees before the 15th of every month. You further state that Alliant stated to have paid your real estate taxes when we have not and that the property is your responsibility. As a resolution, you request that Alliant refund any charges that are not entitled to us. You would also like the original Truth and Lending Statement from ******* with the signature page included. After reviewing the account, we show that all late fees were correctly assessed when a payment was received after the 15th day of each month according to the loan contract. Below is a list of the date the payment was made along with the due date. Due Date Date Payment Received 11/1/2008 1/5/2009 12/1/2008 1/13/2009 5/1/2009 5/26/2009 6/1/2009 6/29/2009 8/1/2009 9/3/2009 9/1/2009 9/23/2009 12/1/2009 1/6/2010 12/1/2010 12/30/2010 6/1/2011 6/27/2011 12/1/2011 1/3/2012 5/1/2012 5/24/2012 7/1/2012 8/3/2012 11/1/2012 11/30/2012 12/1/2012 1/4/2013 2/1/2012 3/3/2013 7/1/2013 7/31/2013 8/1/2013 8/29/2013 9/1/2013 10/8/2013 10/1/2013 11/1/2013 11/1/2013 12/9/2013 1/1/2014 3/31/2014 Per the terms of the mortgage contract, the borrowers are responsible, when and where payable, the amounts due for any real estate taxes for your property pursuant to Section 3 & Section 9 of your Mortgage Deed. If Alliant has not been provided acceptable proof of the required real estate remittance, it is necessary to protect our interest by paying your delinquent real estate taxes. Alliant does not provide an escrow for taxes and/or insurance for your type of loan. Section 3- Funds for Escrow Items states "Borrower shall pay Lender the Funds for Escrow Items unless Lender waives Borrower's obligation to pay the Funds for any or all Escrow Items. Lender may waive Borrower's obligation to pay Lender Funds for any or all Escrow Items at any time. Any such waiver may only be in writing. In the event of such waiver, Borrower shall pay directly, when and where payable, the amounts due for any Escrow Items for which payment of Funds has been waived by Lender and, if Lender requires, shall furnish to Lender receipts evidencing such payment within such time period as Lender may require. Borrower's obligation to make such payments and to provide receipts shall for all purposes be deemed to be a covenant and agreement contained in this Security Instrument, as the phrase 'covenant and agreement' is used in Section 9. If the Borrower is obligated to pay Escrow Items directly, pursuant to a waiver, and Borrower fails to pay the amount due for an Escrow Item, Lender may exercise its rights under Section 9 and pay such amount and Borrower shall then be obligated under Section 9 to repay to Lender any such amount." Section 9- Protection of Lender's Interest in the Property and Rights Under this Security Instrument states "If (a) Borrower fails to perform the covenants and agreements contained in this Security Instrument, (b) there is a legal proceeding that might significantly affect Lender's interest in the Property and/or rights under this Security Instrument (such as a proceeding in bankruptcy, probate, for condemnation or forfeiture, for enforcement of a lien which may attain priority over this Security Instrument or to enforce laws or regulations), or (c) Borrower has abandoned the Property, then Lender may do and pay for whatever is reasonable or appropriate to protect Lender's interest in the Property and the rights under this Security Instrument, including protecting and/or assessing the value of the Property, and securing and/or repairing the Property. Lender's actions can include, but are not limited to: (a) paying any sums secured by a lien which has priority over this Security Instrument; (b) appearing in court; and (c) paying reasonable attorneys' fees to protect its interest in the Property and/or rights under this Security Instrument, including its secured position in a bankruptcy proceeding. Any amounts disbursed by Lender under this Section 9 shall become additional debt of Borrower secured by this Security Instrument." Our records show that we sent you a letter in February, 2014, regarding your unpaid real estate taxes for 2011-2012 (second installment), 2012-2013 (total year), and 2013-2014 (first installment) and the possibility that Alliant may elect to pay those taxes in order to preserve our lien. As the taxes remained unpaid following the notice, Alliant elected to exercise its right to pay the delinquent taxes on the property to prevent a tax lien on the property. A payment for the delinquent real estate taxes was sent to The County of ******* on March 7, 2014 in the amount of $4,199.53. The delinquency was for taxes due 2011-2013. This amount included the delinquent real estate tax amount and late penalties. A letter was mailed to you on March 7, 2014 stating that a payment was sent for your delinquent taxes. On May 6, 2014 we received a Certificate of Redemption of Tax Default Property from the County of ******* that the payment was received and applied. On August 4, 2014, we sent you a letter regarding your delinquent real estate taxes for 2013-2014 (total year). If this amount is not paid within 90 days of the first notice mailed, Alliant will exercise its right to pay the delinquent taxes on the property to prevent a tax lien on the property. Per your request, I have sent the Truth and Lending Statement along with the Deed of Trust, Mortgage Note and mortgage payment history. I have also included the documents verifying the delinquent real estate tax amount was sent to County of ******* and received via ******* ******* delivery. The tracking number is XXXXXXXXXXXX. If there are further questions or concerns with regard to this complaint, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, ****** ******* Member Engagement & Service Alliant Credit Union X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. **** XXX-XXX-XXXX Direct XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax

7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last spring 2013 I notified Alliant that I was no longer able to make payments on a loan due to health and unemployment issues. I advised them that I had contacted an attorney to discuss Account # XXXXXXX I informed Alliant Credit Union in Spring 2013 that I was unable to continue payments on a loan due to health and employment issues and had consulted a bankruptcy attorney for advice for legal advice. In September 2013, Alliant confiscated a student loan refund to pay off the balance owed without notification to me. They have never provided an accounting of the funds taken, how it was used or if there is any remaining balance despite being asked when I called to find out what happened to my refund. My recent credit bureau report shows that Alliant is still reporting a full write off of the balance to the credit bureau.

Desired Settlement: I would like a detailed accounting of the balance they claim I owed, acknowledgment that they involuntarily removed funds from my checking account and an immediate correction to all reporting agencies regarding the erroneous write-off balance. I do not wish to speak with any Alliant representative by telephone. I would like all of the requested items sent to me within 15 days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/24) */ June 24, 2014 ******** M. **** **** ****** Cir ********* ** XXXXX-XXXX Better Business Case # XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ***** Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. Alliant Credit Union (Alliant) appreciates feedback from its members and takes their complaints very seriously. In your complaint you state that in the spring of 2013 you contacted Alliant to advise us you were unable to make payments to your Line of Credit Loan due to health and unemployment issues and that you were going to contact a bankruptcy attorney for legal advice. You further state that Alliant confiscated a student loan refund deposit to pay off the balance owed without notifying you and that we have never provided you with an accounting of where the funds were applied and any remaining balance owed. You also state that your recent credit report reflects that Alliant is still reporting a charge off for the full balance. As a resolution, you are requesting a detailed accounting of the balance owed, acknowledgement that we involuntarily removed funds from your checking account and immediate corrections made to all credit reporting agencies. Upon receiving your complaint, we reviewed the history on your account and the reporting of your loan with the credit bureau for accuracy. Our records reflect that on 03/25/2013, you notified Alliant by phone to advise us you were going to file bankruptcy. Our procedure is to put a hold on all collection calls for 60 days when a member advises us they are going to file bankruptcy. On 04/30/2013, we confirmed that no bankruptcy had been filed, therefore, we proceeded to charge off the account. At that time the loan was 95 days delinquent, with a balance of $2,492.95 and the checking account had been negative by -$96.21 for 70 days, despite collection efforts. On 09/06/2013, an electronic deposit was made to your checking account in the amount of $2,547.00, in which $96.21 was used to satisfy your negative balance in the checking. At that time there was still no record of a bankruptcy filing. On 09/18/2013, the remaining amount of $2,450.79 was transferred to pay off part of your charge off balance for your Line of Credit. After this payment was applied and as of today, there is still a remaining balance of $41.66 due. In Alliant's loan agreement under the Securities Interest, it states that all loans are secured by a $5 minimum deposit and a pledge of all shares now deposited or to be deposited with us. If you default, we have a lien under Section XXX(XX) of the ******* ****** ***** Act in all shares. It also states in our Account Agreement and Disclosure, section 13 titled Alliant Lien and Security Interest that if you owe us money as a borrower, guarantor, endorser or otherwise, we have a statutory lien on the account funds in any account in which you have ownership interest, regardless their source, unless prohibited by law. We may apply these funds, without further notice to you, in any order to pay off indebtedness. After conducting this research, we determined that the reporting of your loan activity to the credit bureau is accurate. As such, we are unable to comply with your request to change or correct data in fairness to our entire membership and to uphold our commitment to report true and accurate information to the credit bureaus. As requested I have mailed you a copy of your September 2013 Alliant statement which reflects your account activity, to your address on file. I have also included a copy of the Account Agreement and Disclosures for you to review. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me directly at the phone number below. Sincerely, ***** ********* Member Engagement & Service Alliant Credit Union X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. **** XXX-XXX-XXXX direct XXX-XXX-XXXX fax Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is not accurate reporting that Alliant charged off the entire balance. I only owe them 41.66. That is the only amount they have a right to report to anyone because they did involuntarily take funds from my account to pay off the remaining balance. I still request that correction. Thank you, ******** *********** Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/07/03) */ July 3, 2014 ******** M. **** **** ****** Cir ********* ** XXXXX-XXXX Better Business Case # XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ***** Thank you for your subsequent correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. In your rebuttal, you state that Alliant Credit Union has inaccurate reported your charged off the entire balance, since you only owe $41.66. You state that this is the only amount we have the right to report to anyone because we withdrew funds from your account to pay the balance. As a resolution, you request that Alliant correct the amount being reported to the credit reporting agencies. On behalf of Alliant, I regret that you disagree with the information we provided in our initial response to the BBB. As explained previously, the Line of Credit was delinquent for 95 days; therefore, on 04/30/2013 we proceeded to charge off the Line of Credit with a balance of $2,492.95. Your checking account also had been negative 70 days in the amount of -$96.21, despite collection efforts. These amounts were accurately reported to the credit bureaus at this time. As previously stated, an electronic deposit was made on 09/06/2013 to your checking account in the amount of $2,547.00, in which $96.21 was used to satisfy your negative balance in the checking. On 09/18/2013, the remaining amount of $2,450.79 was transferred to pay off part of your charge off balance for your Line of Credit. With this payment applied there is still a remaining balance of $41.66 due. Please know that your credit report will display the full charged off amount and the date of the charge off. A full charged off balance will always be displayed on a credit report; however, it will either be listed as "paid" or it will show the outstanding balance that is still due. We determined that the reporting of your loan payment activity to the credit bureau is accurate. Since the charged off balance for your Line of Credit was reported for $2,492.95 prior to receiving your payment of $2,450.79 we will not be able to change the charged off amount to $41.66. Receiving a payment after an account is charged off will does not change the amount that was actually charged off. Your credit report will continue to display the charged off balance of $2,492.95; however, please know that Alliant has been accurately reporting the outstanding balance of $41.66 on your credit report for this charged off account. Once the outstanding balance of $41.66 is paid the credit reporting will be updated to 'Charge Off Paid in Full.' Sincerely, ****** ******* Member Engagement & Service X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. **** XXX-XXX-XXXX direct XXX-XXX-XXXX fax

6/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to contact mortgage branch of Alliant Credit Union on 5/26/14, 5/27/14 and on 5/27/14 was told at 9 am that I would be contacted later that day. I received no call back and at 4 pm called bank again only to find that "no one was available in the mortgage section due to a meeting" There is a major billing issue I need to discuss with this bank and no one can give me any information. As far as I am concerned this is very unprofessional business prctice and is reprehensible to say the least. This company should be reprimanded for this type of practice and abuse of customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like a written acknowledgement and apology by the president of Alliant Credit Union as I am sure he has no idea this type of customer abuse is going on

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/04) */ June 4, 2014 ****** ******** **** S. ******* Ave Unit ***** ******** ** XXXXX Better Business Case# XXXXXXXX Dear Mr. ********, Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. Alliant Credit Union (Alliant) appreciates feedback from its members and takes their complaints very seriously. In the complaint you indicate that you attempted to contact the mortgage department at Alliant Credit Union on May 26, 2014 and on May 27, 2014. You indicate that in the morning on May 27, 2014, one of our representatives advised you that we would contact you later that day. You did not receive a call back from us and at 4:00pm you called us back to learn that the mortgage department was in a meeting and that no one was available to speak with you. You further state there was a major billing issue that you needed to discuss with us and that no one could give you any information. As a resolution you would like an apology letter from the President of Alliant Credit Union. Alliant partners with a third party call center to assist our members with basic account questions and transactions after our normal business hours, on week-ends and holidays when we are closed. While we realize the service they can provide is limited, it offers our geographically-dispersed membership the opportunity to speak with a representative. We show that you contacted us on Memorial Day, Monday, May 26, 2014 and spoke with our third party call center. Our records also show that you called us the following morning on May 27, 2014 and again spoke with our third party call center representative since we were experiencing high call volumes as we were closed for three days due to the holiday weekend. The representative tried to contact our main office to assist you but was unable to reach someone in a timely manner. In order to avoid having you remain on the line longer than you had already experienced, the representative promised to escalate your issue and mark it as urgent anticipating that we would be able to call you back later that day. As stated above, our offices had been closed for three days and our work protocol is to work all escalated issues in the order they are received. Regrettably, we did not get the opportunity to call you back before you contacted us again later in the afternoon. When you called us back later in the day on May 27, 2014, the Alliant representative you spoke with was unable to assist you as your inquiry required the expertise of our mortgage department. Unfortunately our mortgage department was unavailable at the time so our representative sent a request to the mortgage department to contact you the following day. Our notes show that a mortgage servicing representative reviewed your account and contacted you on May 28, 2014 and advised you that your initial payment should have been sent to ********** **** Mortgage; however, the payment was sent to Alliant. Since we were unable to post this payment for you, we forwarded the payment to ********** **** so that it would be posted timely. Alliant bought your loan between the time you financed with ********** **** and May 1, 2014. Paperwork was sent to you instructing you to send your initial payment to *************** and subsequent payments to Alliant. Again, I apologize that our third party call center representative was unable to assist you and promised a call back immediately. We have escalated your feedback to the appropriate management so that we can improve the member experience going forward. Per your request, you will receive an apology letter from the President of Alliant Credit Union addressing this issue under separate cover to your home address within the next 10 days. On behalf of Alliant, I apologize for any inconvenience and frustration you experienced. Should you have any additional questions or concerns, feel free to contact me directly at the number listed below. Sincerely, ****** ******* Member Engagement Coordinator Alliant Credit Union (XXX)XXX-XXXX ext. **** (XXX)XXX-XXXX direct (XXX)XXX-XXXX fax Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please send a copy of this "paperwork" where I was instructed to send a payment to ********** ***** I am very interested to review the content of this paperwork as well as what day it was sent. As far As I was told - the loan was purchased by Alliant as of the date of closing and all of the closing paperwork indicates this. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/06) */ June 6, 2014 Dear Mr. ********, The inital payment coupon for ********** **** was included in your closing packet. We have sent a copy of the signed payment coupon by you via U.S. Mail and ******* ******** The ***** Tracking # is XXXX XXXX XXXX. Please let me know if there is anything else you need. Sincerely, ******* ********* Manager - Member Engagement & Service Alliant Credit Union (XXX) XXX-XXXX

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Checking account we there force to close because we filed bankruptcy so they closed this acct on 01-24-2014 we had three direct deposit going into this acct#XXXXXXXX we had two of our direct deposit went into our new acct but ******** ******** Military Retirement check we try to get changed into our new acct but didn't get changed in time still went into the Alliant Acct#XXXXXXXX we have call to see if they could direct deposit the check into our new acct they sad they sent the check in the mail on 01-31-2014 but no Check when I call to talk to them a diffent answer every time

Desired Settlement: We just need our money (ASAP)and stop giving us the run-a round get our money into our new account (ASAP)if can Direct Deposit the check like we been telling them to do all the long they been telling us it will take a week to replace the check we never got now they have to send us a form to sign and send back then in about a week they will send out a replacement check we need your help because all we get is the run-a-round we need our Money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/14) */ February 14, 2014 ******** ******** **** ****** ******* St *** ****** ** XXXXX-XXXX Better Business Case # XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ********, Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. Alliant Credit Union (Alliant) appreciates feedback from its members and takes these complaints very seriously. In your complaint you state that we forced your account to be closed since you filed bankruptcy and as a result your account was closed on January 24, 2014. You state that you had three direct deposits going into the account ending in 201 and that you were able to change two of the direct deposits to your new account; however, the direct deposit for ******** ******** from Military Retirement was not changed in time and was therefore deposited into the closed account that you could not access. You further state that you contacted us and we advised you that the check representing funds from your direct deposit was mailed on January 31, 2014, however you never received the check. Our records show that on December 20, 2013, we sent you a letter advising that your checking account was going to be closed on January 24, 2014. This should have allowed sufficient time to stop all direct deposits to the account. Unfortunately, we have no control over third party Direct Deposits and are unable to stop them or change them to another bank. After further review, it appears that the check was not mailed on January 31, 2014, as we had advised you, due to a check printer issue. This issue was not discovered until February 10, 2014 which is why you received conflicting information as to the whereabouts of your check. On behalf of Alliant, I regret that we did not learn of this issue earlier and that this information was not shared with you in a timely matter and for any inconvenience this caused. Our records show a check was reissued and mailed on February 10, 2014. It may take 7-10 business days to receive the check, depending on the United States Postal Service. Again, I apologize for the disappointing service you received and for any frustration you experienced. Should you have any questions or concerns, feel free to contact me directly at the number listed below. Sincerely, ****** ******* Member Engagement & Service Alliant Credit Union X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. **** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I DO ACCEPT THE RESPONSE BUT NOW EVERYTHING IS ok WE GOT THE CHECK TODAY IN THE MAIL $935.89 AND WAS PUT IN OUR New Checking Account so Thank You so much big help.

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been members with Alliant Credit Union for over 10 years. We were repeat memembers and always stayed loyal to Alliant with our auto loan needs. Until, November 2012- the poor response then lost them an auto loan and again in October of 2013. We purchased 2 cars within a year. We pursued another Lender for the simple reason of customer service. Today, we get a call for a .68 cent balance on the only remaining financial obligation we have. I was informed that the credit union will be applying an additional $25.00 to this .68 cent balance. Upon speaking with what I thought was a manager, the lack of professional treatment is disappointing. We will not be using their credit union any longer nor will my family. In the long run, Simple Customer service and respect would have earned this credit union many more years of our loyalty and much more than .68 cents plus a $25.00 fee. I was unaware of a .68 balance, if known, it would have been promptly paid.

Desired Settlement: The damaage is done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/09) */ January 9, 2014 ****** **** **** ********** ****** ** XXXXX Better Business Case # XXXXXXXX Dear Mr. ****, Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. Alliant Credit Union (Alliant) appreciates feedback and takes these complaints very seriously. In your complaint you state that you wanted to finance two cars with Alliant in the recent past but due to our lack of response and poor customer service, you financed them elsewhere. You also state that we contacted you on 1/7/14 to advise that you owed 0.68 cents on your Line of Credit Loan (***) and that there was a $25.00 late payment charge. You further state that had you been made aware of this small balance, you would have paid. Finally, you indicate that as a result of our lack of professionalism and respect, you will no longer be using your Alliant Account. Our records show that your *** payments are made via mailed check from a bill payment service you have at another financial institution. On 12/2/13, your *** principal balance was $38.26. On 12/27/13, we received and applied a payment in the amount of $38.00. This left an unpaid principal and interest balance of 0.68 owed. As your monthly contractual payments are due by or on the 25th day of each month, and the full payment amount was not received, the residual balance of 0.68 cents was late. Per the terms of your loan contract with us, payments which are received 10 days late are assessed with a $25.00 late fee. As a member-owned financial cooperative, we have a fiduciary responsibility to our members to safe-guard their funds and make prudent decisions with our member's money. We generally try to collect funds which are owed to us; however, in your case, we have paid the 0.68 balance that was owed and waived the $25.00 late fee for you as a courtesy. On behalf of Alliant, I regret to hear that as a result of your recent negative experiences with us, we lost your loan business and you no longer wish to retain your account and membership with us. It is my sincere hope that you give us another chance and allow us to continue to serve you and win your trust and confidence back. Again, I apologize for the disappointing service you received and for any frustration you experienced. Should you have any questions or concerns, feel free to contact me directly at the number listed below. Sincerely, ******* ********* Manager - Member Engagement & Service Alliant Credit Union X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. ****

11/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into the Alliant Credit Union on October 24th and met with a bank representative. I was given the advertised $50 *************** gift certificate but the certificate turned out to be a a link to a website that provided coupons that require minimum purchases. This constitutes false advertising under ********** law. See Business and Professions Code section ***** et seq.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the $50 in cash or an actual gift certificate as promised. ************ Attorney at law

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/08) */ November 8, 2013 ***** ****** XXXXX via ****** ****** ******* ** XXXXX Better Business Case # XXXXXXXX Dear Mr. ******, Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. Alliant Credit Union (Alliant) appreciates feedback and takes these complaints very seriously. In your complaint you state that you visited an Alliant Credit Union (Alliant) Branch Office on October 24, 2013 and met with a bank representative after receiving an advertisement offering a $50.00 ************** gift card. After meeting with our branch representative, you were provided with a $50.00 ************** gift card, as advertised. In your complaint you state that this card provided a link to a website which provides coupons that require minimum purchases. You claim that the minimum purchase requirement constitutes false advertising under ********** law. As a desired resolution you have asked Alliant to provide you with $50.00 in cash or an actual gift certificate. In October 2013 we sent an advertisement inviting non-members to visit an Alliant Branch and meet with one of our staff. In return the non-member would receive a $50.00 ************** gift card which can be redeemed with **************. In order to redeem the $50.00 gift card, the individual is required to go to www.**************, click on the "Redeem Gift" tab and enter their 10-digit certificate code provided on their ************** gift card. The individual can then choose their restaurant and either print out the restaurant certificate provided from their confirmation page or wait for the restaurant certificate to be emailed. To use the restaurant certificate provided by **************, the individual must spend a minimum amount which can differ and will depend on the restaurant that is chosen. The minimum spend requirements were disclosed in advance on our mailed advertisement, as it stated the following: "************** Terms and Conditions: Unredeemed gift certificates not valid toward purchase at restaurants. Limit of one (1) gift certificate at given restaurant per party per month. Minimum spend requirements and other restrictions may apply. Visit http://Dine.************** for complete terms and conditions and participating restaurants." As a desired resolution you are requesting that Alliant provide $50.00 in cash or an actual gift certificate. Since we disclosed the terms and conditions in advance and have provided you with a $50.00 ************** gift card we are unable to comply with your request. You may redeem your $50.00 gift card with ************** for the restaurant certificate(s) of your choice. On behalf of Alliant, I apologize for any confusion and misunderstanding this caused. Should you have any additional questions or concerns, feel free to contact me directly at the number listed below. Sincerely, *** ****** Member Engagement & Service Alliant Credit Union X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. **** XXX-XXX-XXXX direct XXX-XXX-XXXX fax *******@alliantcreditunion.com

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Account number is ******** New vehicle loan. I requested in 2007 to have have changes done to my new car loan due to some insurance charges added to it. I called and was told it was removed. And 2009 I found out it was not removed. I had my car insurance to fax documents proving it and called to verify and was told they received it. And necessary changes will be made to my account. In 2012, I found out the charge for the insurance was removed but I was still paying interest. I was told an advisor will call but no one did. After a couple of week I called and requested statement on the interest and everything I was paying. I was told it will be mailed but never received it. I am suppose to be done with the payment of loan in July/August 2013, but I still have outstanding loan to pay as at now. In August 9, 2013, I called the company to ask as to why I have an outstanding balance and the issue of 2007 came up. I am still paying interesting and bill on the insurance charges done. I am being toss around from one department to the other

Desired Settlement: Refund and I want changes done to my account immediately.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/15) */ August 15, 2013 *************************************************** Better Business Case # ******** Dear Ms. ******* Thank you for your correspondence to the Better Business Bureau. ****************************** appreciates feedback from its members and takes their complaints very seriously. In your complaint you state that ******* added a ******************************* (***) charge to your loan on 09/25/2007 for $1,990 and that you provided proof of insurance coverage to have the *** removed and a full refund applied to your loan. In 2012 you became aware that the *** for $1,990 was refunded but the interest charged on the *** charge was not credited back to your loan. As a result the term of your loan was extended. Per the terms of your loan agreement with us, you agreed to keep full insurance on the vehicle with ******* listed as the lien holder for the duration of the loan. Your contract also states that ******* has the right to purchase insurance on the collateral which secures the loan in the event you do not have coverage and that you are responsible for the interest that accrues on a loan balance including any *** amount that is added. When *** is added to a loan, the contractual payment amount can be increased to cover the cost of the *** charge. If increased payments are not made, the added *** charge can extend the expected payoff date of a loan. As a desired resolution, you are requesting a refund to your loan for the interest that accrued from the *** charge. As a courtesy, a total of $901.43 has been credited to your loan as of 08/13/2013. The *** interest adjustment on your loan was calculated from the time *** was added on 09/25/2007 until it was credited on 06/15/2011.As your loan payoff was less than the refund you received, the excess proceeds of $115.22 was deposited into your ******* Savings Account. On behalf of *******, I apologize for any frustration or inconvenience you experienced. Should you have any additional questions or concerns regarding this complaint, feel free to contact me directly at the number listed below. Sincerely, ************* Member Engagement Coordinator ******* ************ ************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Alliant Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)