BBB Accredited Business since

Payline Data Services, LLC

Phone: (800) 284-7401 Fax: (800) 660-0318 225 W Wacker Dr STE 1565, Chicago, IL 60606 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Payline Data is a credit card processing service which provides point of sale technology services for commercial customers. This company serves a national consumer base as well as customers in the Chicagoland area, including those in Naperville, Schaumburg, Arlington Heights, Rolling Meadows, Crystal Lake, Buffalo Grove, Wheeling, Lake Forest, Crystal Lake, Lake Villa, Libertyville, Gurnee, Evanston, Skokie, Joliet, Aurora, West Chicago, St Charles, Geneva, Batavia, Bolingbrook, Romeoville, McHenry, Barrington, Lombard, Villa Park, Carol Stream, Wilmette, and Winnetka. Services available from this company include credit card processing, online payment systems, and mobile payment technology for smartphones and other mobile devices.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Payline Data Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Payline Data Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Payline Data Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2010 Business started: 09/01/2009 Business started locally: 09/01/2009 Business incorporated 11/14/2013 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Shea, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Shea, CEO
Number of Employees


Business Category

Credit Card Processing Service Payment Processing Service Mobile Apps Financial Transactions Processing, Reserve, and Clearinghouse Activities (NAICS: 522320)

Alternate Business Names
Payline Payline Data, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 225 W Wacker Dr STE 1565

    Chicago, IL 60606 (800) 284-7401


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I noticed Payline Data refunded 38 of my valued customers for NO REASON. The total refunds totaled over $7,000! Nobody from Payline Data never mentioned the refunds and explained why!

Desired Settlement: I need them to reimburse me the amount they refunded my customers in the amount of $7441.71.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* We appreciate Mr ****'s feedback. We have taken time to research the events above in order to identify the source of the issue and ensure the most effective resolution to this problem. Mr **** reached out to us today to share this concern. At this time we linked in our development team to research and track the source of this issue. At that time we were able to confirm that the refunds were all performed with an IP address that originated at Mr ****'s location. Our office does not issue refunds on behalf of any our merchants and have not in this scenario. We strongly advise Mr. **** to check the security of his technology if he believes that there could have been a breach at his location. We take all security measures very seriously and will be available to help assist with any requests or needs from our client. We encourage Mr **** to reach out to us directly if he have any further questions or concerns. Thank you Sincerely, ***** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX Payline Data

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted **** **** back in Sept. 2014 re: a $19.95 fee for a PCI fee in August. We recd a letter from the PCI dept that it would commence for Sept. 2014 however they charged me in Aug. I emailed **** concerning what this fee was since we dont always receive statements. He never took care of the Aug. fee and somehow without knowing since I dont receive statements unless requested they continued to charge me. **** and I had problems setting up the renewal process and then he requested I put it thru the computer but I stated I did not want to give my SS# since he was advised I was a victim of indentity theft. He gave me a number to call but no one got back to me. Since **** knew I was trying to set this up he could have taken off ongoing fees which he was not telling me about. I found that untrustworthy. In my Oct. 9th email I asked him if there were possible ongoing fees and if he could check about this but he did not mention it was happening. Finally I was able to contact the PCI dept. verbally and they took the info. I asked **** if the fee was taken care of and he said yes but he took care of only one fee not telling me of ongoing fees and taking in consideration incorrect advertising and difficulties on the renewal process. End of Dec. I contacted the processing dept to send me statements since he was not giving me full fees on a square card. I saw he only credited one month fee only. In January 2015 I asked if he could please refund my fees and he refused. I then stated if he could not I would have to reconsider taking my business else where and he stated I was threatening him. I found this highly unprofessional. In the meantime the one fee of 19.95 was not refunded according to my bank even though it shows on a DEC. statement. The refund fees will be approx. 60-80.00 dollars My bank will be contacting his merchant services he uses to process the billing. Lastly there is difficulty getting thru merchant services and some of their reps are not up to par. Waiting time can be 20-45 minutes to get thru. I would appreciate a refund as soon as possible. Thank-you, ******* ***

Desired Settlement: Refund for 60-80 dollars

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/15) */ Contact Name and Title: Customer Support Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* Our sincere apologies go out to Ms. *** for the experience she had with our company. We strive for a world-class experience with all of our customers, and in this case we clearly missed that mark. Upon learning of these issues we did speak with the merchant, and we agreed to credit her for her for the PCI fee. We also assisted her in completing the necessary steps to certify her PCI Compliance. During this time she exhibited patience with us and allowed us to close out this issue. We have searched our records and do see an email from her last week that requested further credits, not previously discussed above. It appears that she is requesting credits for 3 months (August, September, October) of $19.95 each month = $59.85. We have initiated the refund request for $59.85 today for Ms. ***. We have sent the payment out directly so that she does not need to wait until her next monthly statement posts. This is not indicative of the experience our customers regularly have with us, and we are using this example as a tool to find out where we may need to gain additional training or resources to ensure this is never repeated. We wish her all the best, and thank her for being a valued merchant. Thank you Customer Support