Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

National Bankcard Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (312) 222-0131 Fax: (312) 222-0132 View Additional Phone Numbers 505 N Lake Shore Dr STE 101, Chicago, IL 60611

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Credit Card Processing

POS Sales

Gift/Loyalty Card

Cash Advance

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National Bankcard Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on National Bankcard Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 12, 1993 Business started: 06/01/1992 in IL Business started locally: 06/01/1992 Business incorporated 04/07/1992 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jim Raim, Vice President Ms. Sabiha Bari, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Raim, Vice President
Business Category

Credit Card Processing Service Financial Transactions Processing, Reserve, and Clearinghouse Activities (NAICS: 522320)

Products & Services

National Bankcard Corporation sells the following brand(s): American Express, Discover, MasterCard, VISA

Method(s) of Payment
Refund and Exchange Policy
Products & Services

This company offers Merchant Services.

Additional Locations

  • 505 N Lake Shore Dr STE 101

    Chicago, IL 60611

  • 505 N. Lake Shore Drive
    Suite 101

    Chicago, IL 60611


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/18/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: on july 23 2015 i got a call at my business from this company wanting to sell me **************** the sales rep called repetedly then tried to say he was from the better business buero. then called and said he was from the national bothering service since i said quite bothering me his antics were interupting my business and i dont appreciate it.

Desired Settlement: just dont like their sales tactics and misleading to misrepresent their company and claim to be from the BBB

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/23) */ National Bankcard does call businesses, but in 25 years of business, has never had anyone say that we represented ourselves as the BBB, NEVER! Additionally, we monitor our representatives and have never heard anyone make that type of representation. If we interrupted Mr. ****** business, we apologize, but since we have, what we feel is the best merchant service program in the country, most people want to hear about it. Mr. **** can call me directly if he has any further questions. *********************** *********

9/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Merchant Number is XXXXXXXXXXXX I have been with National Bankcard Corporation since April 2014. I have a small publications company that just released two books so at this time our sales are low. Initially I agreed to a 3 year contract with this company to process credit cards for very low percentages. The sales person (************) told me that I would pay a minimum of $25 dollars a month depending on my transactions. I explained to my sales Person that I may only do a few transactions a month to start out and he told me that as long as I made at least one transaction a month I should only be billed a minimum of 25 dollars. I have requested a refund and I have tried to call my sales person, but he has neglected to call me back several times. I will pay to get out of my contract, but would like a refund of the explainable fees. I was told that I would not have to pay a monthly wireless fee, because I have a mobile unit that I attach to my phone. There are several explainable fees on my bills every month and every attempt made to speak to my sales person has failed.

Desired Settlement: I would like some of the irrelevant merchant fees that I was never told about to be refunded to me as soon as possible

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/18) */ Contact Name and Title: *** **** Contact Phone: XXX-XX-XXXX Contact Email: *** First of all National Bankcard is not the company charging her, it is NPC. Ms. ****** is asking for a refund for charges that were stated very clearly in her contract that she signed. I have not attached her contract since it contains personal information and could be posted with the complaint on the internet. If she wants a copy she can contact me. However, in order to assist her, we can request that NPC reduce her "Monthly Minimum" charge fro $25 to $10. If she is interested in doing that she can contact me and I will have that done for her. She can call *** at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. **** Thank you

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I keep receiving calls from, what I now know to be a phone # from this company. Usually I ignore it but today I accidentally answered the call. I knew right away from the delay in response it was a sales call. I asked the person if he would stop calling me and take me off the list and he yelled NO and hung up the phone.

Desired Settlement: None

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ First of all this was NOT our company, and here are the reasons why. 1. If the complainant answered the phone and there was a delay, it could not be our company because ALL of our calls are made by a live person, and the delay only happens if a company is using an automatic dialer, and we dot NOT. 2. Our reps are trained to respect any request to remove anyone from the call list and they would NEVER yell NO to a anyone they have called. If ****** would contact us with the exact date he feels we called him, we would check our records and recordings and possibly be able to further confirm that it was not our company. Finally, there are other companies with similar names and it appears that we have been mistaken for another company. If there are any further questions, please call *** at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. *** Thank you

7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: As I'd explained to Mr. ********* I would only need to swipe a credit card once maybe twice a month to sell a wig or two (price value of $500 and up). I am a hair stylist that maybe services 2-3 clients weekly (making most my money at a part time job thats currently turning full time due to lack of business). During our discussion I'd mentioned that i was using the square for 'one' client that liked using gift cards to pay for her services. Not once did Mr. ******** ever mentioned that the transaction fees needed to add up to $25.00 per mo. I knew i would exceed the $25 in sales per month. Since February I have been hit with multiple $25 fee for not fulfilling the transaction fees. Had I known, I know I could never afford that with such a small clientele. Thats at least 25 swipes charged at $0.15 per month. I had to seek a lawyer to define everything on the contract that hidden between the lines. I had also asked "what happens if my business is no longer? What happens if I have to shut down and get a full time job?'. Which then Mr. ******** replied that i would not be responsible for any cancelation fees. "You can't bleed a turnip." I have found out that I will be hit with a $375 fine. Trying to get some resolution i have spoken to the operator (who is very rude and very inappropriate on the phone), ******** and ****** (who has read the contract to me but doesn't seem to have complete understanding of it herself; also promised to send me a copy of the contract via email and has yet to send it 3 days later). Also sent an email asking for clarification through their website Monday June 9, 2014, June 11 and still no response. June 11, 2014 around 11a.m. I left messages for Shervon and Ms. ****** Bair to return my phone call (not quite 24 hrs just yet but still no response). Mr. ******** also stated that he would be available to me anytime I had an issue. I can't ever seem to get him on the phone and when 'by accident' he answers he's quick to pass me to ******** Its clearly obvious that after giving all my fact to Mr. ******** he still mislead me. All his answers where satisfying to my questions just to make a sale.

Desired Settlement: I feel that the best solution is to end the contract. No fees charged to the client (**** *********) and No refunds from national bankcard corporation to client (**** *********). Equipment will be sent back to National Bankcard Corp. Shipping cost will be at the expense of the client (**** *********).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/23) */ I spoke with **** on the phone and mentioned that we would go to **** the processor, and try to have them reduce the early termination fee. I was able to reduce it from $375 to $175. She can call me and I will will let her know the next step so this can be done. *** **** XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. ***

6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Name is ******* ********. My account # with NATIONAL BANKCARD IS XXXXXXXXXXXX. The account was opened on 02/ 20/ 2014. I was called by ******* ****** To sign a new business voucher. He told me that my monthly charge would be $12.00. and that the charge for each card would be .15%. No other information was given at that time. he then began to pressure me in to signing an agreement that was too small to read. I only use the card bank 2 or three times a month. Mr. ****** never asked me that question. I am trying to start a new business and $48.00 per month is more than I can afford. I want to stop doing business with NATIONAL BANKCARD because I feel the they are deceptive and I can not afford $48.00 per month. They want to charge me $375.00 to get this monkey off my back. Any help would be appreciated.

Desired Settlement: I would like to discontinue doing business with NATIONAL BANK card without paying a charge of $375.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/08) */ Contact Name and Title: *** **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *** We spoke with our rep, and he has stated that all the information was disclosed correctly to Mr. ********. Also, attached is the contract that Mr. ******** signed which clearly states all the fees. That said, we can offer Mr. ******** a $10 reduction in his monthly fees. If he is interested in this new pricing he should call our office and speak with ****** at extension ***. Please call me if you have any additional questions. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have read their response and ****** ****** did not explain how the charges would be maid to my account. He only told me that the cost would be $12.00 per month and .15% per transaction. I see that the contract sais that the minimum will be $25.00 per month But it does not say anything about the $9.95 charge for the mobile devise. I do not want to do business with a corporation that I feel is deceitful . Mr. ****** no longer works for National bankcard. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/05/29) */ We have responded twice before to Mr. ********. He now states that the contract was too small. First of all, it is NOT written by National Bankcard, but it is written by *** and **** and *********** As for the size of the contract, all or ***** contracts and ******* contracts are the same size. Mr. ******** was sent this contract and he had as much time as he needed to review it. There was no sales rep standing over him, pressuring him to sign it. Mr. ******** needs to realize HE SIGNED A CONTRACT and he should abide by the contract. We have offered in the past to lower his monthly fees and we still extend that offer to him, but he needs to realize that we did not do anything wrong. In his words, "the court of public opinion" would say honor the contract that you signed. Finally once again, for the third time, it is NOT National Bankcard charging him this early termination fee, it is **** He needs to contact them. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am told that national bank card does not charge for early termination, But they are the only one that can wave the early termination fee. I con not do business with people that I feel are deceptive. I still have not received an invoice for the months of April or May. National bank card needs to release me from their new business voucher without any charges.

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ******* *****. I am the owner of ********** Computer Services. I feel that I have been mislead when signing up for the services at Naional BankCard. Earlier this year I signed up payment processing services the company. When signing up the gentleman told me numerous things that I have come to find out were not true. 1. I was informed that I could simply opt out of the 90 a year PCI-DSS charge. I tried calling to opt out and the representative informed me that I they can't opt me out or refund my money. They said that I have to get a form from another company. Therefore, I cannot opt-out as I was previously told by your sales person. As a Network Administrator I fully understand PCI compliance. I do not store any credit card information and therefore I do not need to be compliant. The sales representative completly misled me regarding this. 2. I was informed that I could avoid the Minimum bill of 25.00 per month by swiping and charging myself 25.00. I have found that this also is not the case. I now understand that I have to swipe enough charges so that there is $25.00 of fees in a billing month to avoid the 25.00 minimum bill charge. Which basically means that I cannot avoid this charge. The Sales representative completely misled me in the explination of this.

Desired Settlement: I am politely asking that the $25.00 minimum fee for the 5 previous months and the $90.00 pci charge be credited back to my account. I am not asking for the On File Fee nor the Internet Services fee to be credited because those fees were clearly disclosed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/26) */ Contact Name and Title: *** **** VP Contact Phone: ************ **** Contact Email: *** Mr ***** signed a contract (attached) that states that there is a $25 monthly minimum and a $90 PCI fee. The PCI compliance is mandated by VISA/MC. As a courtesy we have lowered his monthly minimum to $10 per month. If you have any additional questions please call me at any time. *** **** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I NOW under stand what was on the contract and I am not disputing the contents of the contract. I AM disputing how the sales person mislead me during the sales process and did not truthfully disclose the aforementioned charges. Maybe the sales person was not properly informed? Maybe he purposefully misled me? I cannot make a conclusion on his intent but I was misled. I will choose to deauthorize any further ACH withdrawls, close my account and cease doing any further business with this company. I have sent letters to the company via Certified Mail to prevent further direct withdraws. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/04) */ We have discussed what Mr. ***** stated about the rep, with the rep and our rep made it clear that he never stated to Mr.***** the things Mr. ***** said he said about PCI or monthly minimums. Our rep has been with the company for 12 years and we have never had this brought up previously with another customer. Also, National Bankcard Corp. has NOT debited Mr. ***** account for the monthly minimum, or the PCI fee. I repeat National Bankcard has NOT debited Mr. ***** account for these fees! National Processing Company has debited his account, but only after Mr. ***** signed a contract stating those fees, which he acknowledged in his last correspondence to the BBB. As a courtesy, we were willing to lower Mr. *****' monthly minimum, as we stated in the last response. If Mr. ***** has any questions please have him call me. *** ****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on National Bankcard Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)