BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/1993

National Bankcard Corporation

Find a Location

Phone: (312) 222-0131Fax: (312) 222-0132View Additional Phone Numbers505 N Lake Shore Dr, Ste 101, ChicagoIL 60611 Send email to National Bankcard Corporation

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/1993

BBB has determined that National Bankcard Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised National Bankcard Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on National Bankcard Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
09/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My Merchant Number is XXXXXXXXXXXX I have been with National Bankcard Corporation since April 2014. I have a small publications company that just released two books so at this time our sales are low. Initially I agreed to a 3 year contract with this company to process credit cards for very low percentages. The sales person (************) told me that I would pay a minimum of $25 dollars a month depending on my transactions. I explained to my sales Person that I may only do a few transactions a month to start out and he told me that as long as I made at least one transaction a month I should only be billed a minimum of 25 dollars. I have requested a refund and I have tried to call my sales person, but he has neglected to call me back several times. I will pay to get out of my contract, but would like a refund of the explainable fees. I was told that I would not have to pay a monthly wireless fee, because I have a mobile unit that I attach to my phone. There are several explainable fees on my bills every month and every attempt made to speak to my sales person has failed.

Desired Settlement
I would like some of the irrelevant merchant fees that I was never told about to be refunded to me as soon as possible

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@natl-bankcard.com
First of all National Bankcard is not the company charging her, it is NPC.

Ms. ****** is asking for a refund for charges that were stated very clearly in her contract that she signed. I have not attached her contract since it contains personal information and could be posted with the complaint on the internet. If she wants a copy she can contact me.

However, in order to assist her, we can request that NPC reduce her "Monthly Minimum" charge fro $25 to $10. If she is interested in doing that she can contact me and I will have that done for her. She can call *** at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. ****

Thank you

09/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I keep receiving calls from, what I now know to be a phone # from this company. Usually I ignore it but today I accidentally answered the call. I knew right away from the delay in response it was a sales call. I asked the person if he would stop calling me and take me off the list and he yelled NO and hung up the phone.

Desired Settlement
None

Business Response
First of all this was NOT our company, and here are the reasons why.

1. If the complainant answered the phone and there was a delay, it could not be our company because ALL of our calls are made by a live person, and the delay only happens if a company is using an automatic dialer, and we dot NOT.

2. Our reps are trained to respect any request to remove anyone from the call list and they would NEVER yell NO to a anyone they have called.

If ****** would contact us with the exact date he feels we called him, we would check our records and recordings and possibly be able to further confirm that it was not our company.

Finally, there are other companies with similar names and it appears that we have been mistaken for another company.

If there are any further questions, please call *** at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. ***

Thank you

07/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
As I'd explained to Mr. ********* I would only need to swipe a credit card once maybe twice a month to sell a wig or two (price value of $500 and up). I am a hair stylist that maybe services 2-3 clients weekly (making most my money at a part time job thats currently turning full time due to lack of business). During our discussion I'd mentioned that i was using the square for 'one' client that liked using gift cards to pay for her services. Not once did Mr. ******** ever mentioned that the transaction fees needed to add up to $25.00 per mo. I knew i would exceed the $25 in sales per month. Since February I have been hit with multiple $25 fee for not fulfilling the transaction fees. Had I known, I know I could never afford that with such a small clientele. Thats at least 25 swipes charged at $0.15 per month. I had to seek a lawyer to define everything on the contract that hidden between the lines. I had also asked "what happens if my business is no longer? What happens if I have to shut down and get a full time job?'. Which then Mr. ******** replied that i would not be responsible for any cancelation fees. "You can't bleed a turnip." I have found out that I will be hit with a $375 fine. Trying to get some resolution i have spoken to the operator (who is very rude and very inappropriate on the phone), ******** and ****** (who has read the contract to me but doesn't seem to have complete understanding of it herself; also promised to send me a copy of the contract via email and has yet to send it 3 days later). Also sent an email asking for clarification through their website natl-bankcard.com Monday June 9, 2014, June 11 and still no response. June 11, 2014 around 11a.m. I left messages for Shervon and Ms. ****** Bair to return my phone call (not quite 24 hrs just yet but still no response). Mr. ******** also stated that he would be available to me anytime I had an issue. I can't ever seem to get him on the phone and when 'by accident' he answers he's quick to pass me to ******** Its clearly obvious that after giving all my fact to Mr. ******** he still mislead me. All his answers where satisfying to my questions just to make a sale.

Desired Settlement
I feel that the best solution is to end the contract. No fees charged to the client (**** *********) and No refunds from national bankcard corporation to client (**** *********). Equipment will be sent back to National Bankcard Corp. Shipping cost will be at the expense of the client (**** *********).

Business Response
I spoke with **** on the phone and mentioned that we would go to **** the processor, and try to have them reduce the early termination fee. I was able to reduce it from $375 to $175. She can call me and I will will let her know the next step so this can be done. *** **** XXX-XXX-XXXX ext. ***

06/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My Name is ******* ********. My account # with
NATIONAL BANKCARD IS XXXXXXXXXXXX. The account was opened on 02/ 20/ 2014. I was called by ******* ****** To sign a new business voucher. He told me
that my monthly charge would be $12.00. and that
the charge for each card would be .15%. No other
information was given at that time. he then began
to pressure me in to signing an agreement that
was too small to read. I only use the card bank
2 or three times a month. Mr. ****** never asked
me that question. I am trying to start a new
business and $48.00 per month is more than I can afford. I want to stop doing business with
NATIONAL BANKCARD because I feel the they are
deceptive and I can not afford $48.00 per month.
They want to charge me $375.00 to get this monkey
off my back. Any help would be appreciated.

Desired Settlement
I would like to discontinue doing business with NATIONAL BANK card without paying a charge of $375.00.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@natl-bankcard.com
We spoke with our rep, and he has stated that all the information was disclosed correctly to Mr. ********. Also, attached is the contract that Mr. ******** signed which clearly states all the fees. That said, we can offer Mr. ******** a $10 reduction in his monthly fees. If he is interested in this new pricing he should call our office and speak with ****** at extension ***.

Please call me if you have any additional questions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have read their response and ****** ****** did not explain how the charges would be maid to my account. He only told me that the cost would be
$12.00 per month and .15% per transaction. I see that the contract sais that the minimum will be
$25.00 per month But it does not say anything about the $9.95 charge for the mobile devise.
I do not want to do business with a corporation
that I feel is deceitful . Mr. ****** no longer works for National bankcard.

Final Business Response
We have responded twice before to Mr. ********. He now states that the contract was too small. First of all, it is NOT written by National Bankcard, but it is written by *** and **** and *********** As for the size of the contract, all or ***** contracts and ******* contracts are the same size. Mr. ******** was sent this contract and he had as much time as he needed to review it. There was no sales rep standing over him, pressuring him to sign it. Mr. ******** needs to realize HE SIGNED A CONTRACT and he should abide by the contract.

We have offered in the past to lower his monthly fees and we still extend that offer to him, but he needs to realize that we did not do anything wrong. In his words, "the court of public opinion" would say honor the contract that you signed.

Finally once again, for the third time, it is NOT National Bankcard charging him this early termination fee, it is **** He needs to contact them.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am told that national bank card does not charge for early termination, But they are the only one that can wave the early termination fee. I con not do business with people that I feel are deceptive. I still have not received an invoice
for the months of April or May. National bank card needs to release me from their new business voucher without any charges.

12/16/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My name is ******* *****. I am the owner of ********** Computer Services. I feel that I have been mislead when signing up for the services at Naional BankCard. Earlier this year I signed up payment processing services the company. When signing up the gentleman told me numerous things that I have come to find out were not true.

1. I was informed that I could simply opt out of the 90 a year PCI-DSS charge. I tried calling to opt out and the representative informed me that I they can't opt me out or refund my money. They said that I have to get a form from another company. Therefore, I cannot opt-out as I was previously told by your sales person. As a Network Administrator I fully understand PCI compliance. I do not store any credit card information and therefore I do not need to be compliant. The sales representative completly misled me regarding this.

2. I was informed that I could avoid the Minimum bill of 25.00 per month by swiping and charging myself 25.00. I have found that this also is not the case. I now understand that I have to swipe enough charges so that there is $25.00 of fees in a billing month to avoid the 25.00 minimum bill charge. Which basically means that I cannot avoid this charge. The Sales representative completely misled me in the explination of this.

Desired Settlement
I am politely asking that the $25.00 minimum fee for the 5 previous months and the $90.00 pci charge be credited back to my account. I am not asking for the On File Fee nor the Internet Services fee to be credited because those fees were clearly disclosed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **** VP
Contact Phone: ************ ****
Contact Email: ***@natl-bankcard.com
Mr ***** signed a contract (attached) that states that there is a $25 monthly minimum and a $90 PCI fee. The PCI compliance is mandated by VISA/MC. As a courtesy we have lowered his monthly minimum to $10 per month.

If you have any additional questions please call me at any time.

*** ****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I NOW under stand what was on the contract and I am not disputing the contents of the contract.

I AM disputing how the sales person mislead me during the sales process and did not truthfully disclose the aforementioned charges. Maybe the sales person was not properly informed? Maybe he purposefully misled me? I cannot make a conclusion on his intent but I was misled.

I will choose to deauthorize any further ACH withdrawls, close my account and cease doing any further business with this company.

I have sent letters to the company via Certified Mail to prevent further direct withdraws.

Final Business Response
We have discussed what Mr. ***** stated about the rep, with the rep and our rep made it clear that he never stated to Mr.***** the things Mr. ***** said he said about PCI or monthly minimums. Our rep has been with the company for 12 years and we have never had this brought up previously with another customer. Also, National Bankcard Corp. has NOT debited Mr. ***** account for the monthly minimum, or the PCI fee.

I repeat National Bankcard has NOT debited Mr. ***** account for these fees!

National Processing Company has debited his account, but only after Mr. ***** signed a contract stating those fees, which he acknowledged in his last correspondence to the BBB.

As a courtesy, we were willing to lower Mr. *****' monthly minimum, as we stated in the last response.

If Mr. ***** has any questions please have him call me.

*** ****

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Card Processing Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/12/1993Business started: 06/01/1992
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1992, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Raim (Vice President)Ms. Sabiha Bari (Office Manager)
Business Category

Credit Card Processing Service

Products & Services

This company offers Merchant Services.

Industry Tips
Contracts
Credit Cards - Use When Purchasing by Mail or Tele

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for National Bankcard Corporation

505 N Lake Shore Dr

Chicago, IL 60611

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 119 W. Hubbard
    3rd Floor 

    Chicago, IL 60654-7579

  • 505 N Lake Shore Dr
    Ste 101 

    Chicago, IL 60611

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*National Bankcard Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 480-8472
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Credit Card Processing Service

Contracts
Credit Cards - Use When Purchasing by Mail or Tele
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.