BBB Accredited Business since

Family Credit Management Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 994-3328 Fax: (800) 492-3150 View Additional Phone Numbers 111 N Wabash Ave Ste 1408, Chicago, IL 60602

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Family Credit Management Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Family Credit Management Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Family Credit Management Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael J. McAuliffe, President Ms. Kim Connaughton, Client Services Manager Mr. Curtis Galloway, Vice President/Secretary
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kim Connaughton, Client Services Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael J. McAuliffe, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Credit & Debt Counseling Debt Management Plans Bankruptcy Assistance & Services Credit - Debt Consolidation Services All Other Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services (NAICS: 541990)

Alternate Business Names
Family Credit Counseling Service, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers Consumer Credit Counseling.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Family Credit Management Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 111 N Wabash Ave Ste 1408

    Chicago, IL 60602


    4306 Charles St

    Rockford, IL 61108 (800) 994-3328


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This organization I have been with for years and have always had no problems until a few years ago when the company on three different occasions took money from my account reserve and spent it without authorization. Now I have reviewed our credit reports and see accounts charged off but we are still sending money to them and the accounts are showing as not current. The only reason for being with this company is to avois collect agencies and charges off in the first place and the charge off occurred due to their negligence and sending unauthorized money in the first place.As a result the creditor dropped the account from the debt management company. Family Credit never notified us of that saying they did not know. We have been sending them money every month for years and paying a fee to them as well to do what I can do for free myself. This company refused to let me speak to anyone in management in order to settle this. The representative I spoke to was ****** ******* and was extremely uncooperative and knows the account well. This service is unacceptable and should be investigated for fraudulent practices or at least negligence.

Desired Settlement: I would like all administrative fees paid back to us that have been paid to this company since the time of the charge off. There was no need to pay them for what I could have done myself for free.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/22) */ Client complaint seems to indicate he has three concerns: The first being he feels we "spent" his money without his authorization. Client had been participating in the debt management plan since 2009. He was aware that payments are sent to creditors each month and we would have no reason to receive authorization from a client to pay their creditors. The primary objective of the program is to make regular payments to clients' creditors every month. The client pays us and we pay their creditors shortly thereafter. I have attached to this response our signed client agreement which states "FCMS will deposit Client's funds in a trust account and disburse to Client's creditors on a percentage basis to be determined by FCMS". The second concern stated in his complaint is he is upset one of his accounts - ** ****** has charged off even though we have been making payments to the creditor on the program and that we did not make the client aware when this happened. Creditors each have their own guidelines as to when they charge off an account. JC Penney does not have a policy to notify a third-party agency when an account is close to charge-off or when the account actually reaches charge-off status. The client did not send in statements to Family Credit Management which is requested as part of participation in a debt management plan. Attached is a copy of our Client Responsibilities which states "Most creditors will mail a monthly statement directly to me. (FCM will not receive copies). FCM will also mail me a monthly activity statement. It is my responsibility to review the statements carefully, and verify payments are being properly applied. If I am receiving fees or the interest rates are incorrect, it is my responsibility to alert FCM to the problem within 30 days of being charged." We are not even sure exactly why Client is angry. He fully understood the process of following the requirements as set forth by the State and Banking institutions governing credit counseling. According to his account notes, he was notified by ** ****** of the account reaching charge-off status and being handled by a different department on 05-17-13. FCMS advised we would continue to send payments on his behalf as he still owed the money to *** regardless of if it was charged off or not. Client agreed. The third concern stated in his complaint was a member of management was not immediately available to take his call and that the account representative assigned to his account was uncooperative. Client told the client services representative he filed a complaint and requested to speak to select members of management, when no one was available, he hung up. He called back and was transferred to a department supervisor. He was then transferred to a manager and had a long conversation about his concerns, this was all the same day he filed his complaint with the Better Business Bureau. If further discussion is needed, please feel free to contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This information is incorrect.This is not the agreements set up by the representatives of the company with us. The company said to us on three occasions they was an error and money was sent that should not have need and even requested from the creditor that the extra money be returned and it was. The problem is that FCMS says they sent the money to the creditor and reflected that on our statements but the creditor says they never received the money which caused us to become past due and the account was charged off for that reason according to the creditor. We have never received anything from the creditor except a form letter of a zero balance due which we got a few times. My wife called the creditor but they told her they could not speak to her since the account was with a Debt Management company. It is up to FCMS to prove the payments were made as they said they were with the creditor. I also should be refunded the administrative fees for them handling the account and not doing anything to help us. This company is not doing what is in our best interest or looking out for us but rather trying to protect their money and name in my opinion. I thought I could trust these folks and I am sorry it has come to this. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/08/15) */ I do believe we have a complete understanding of the situation. However, client's issues with us have changed as the rest of his issues have been apparently resolved. For example, on his complaint to the BBB on 7/27 he stated "FCMS says they sent the money to the creditor and reflected that on our statements but the creditor says they never received the money which caused us to become past due". Thankfully, this appears to be resolved. It now appears the only problem remaining is that the creditor did not receive or accept an updated proposal for the reduced payment. The creditor did not inform us, or apparently the client, that the payment amount seemingly was not meeting their requirements. If the creditor was not sending statements to their client, this would be a matter for them to pursue with the creditor. Without notification by the creditor that payment amounts were not acceptable, we and the client have no good way to know there is an issue. While this does not happen regularly, review of the creditor statements catches the problem. In regards to how the creditor applied payments, that is an issue between the creditor and client as we have no purview over this. From day one of the program, we stress the fact that we do not receive copies of the creditor statements. It is the responsibility of the client to forward copies of them to us so we can review them. If the client is not receiving statements, he should have notified us for further investigation. We are here to partner with the client and work WITH them. When they don't communicate with us, our hands quickly become tied. I hope this has addressed all of the concerns. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This company is not understanding the situation. The creditor says they never received the updated proposal for changing the payment amount and each month showed 90.00 dollars short putting us in default. The only payments we missed were when there was already a balance or surplus in the account. The payments received by the creditor is not the issue but how they were applied is incorrect. We only learned of this from a credit report. No statements were ever received.

2/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i enrolled in family credit management october 2013 to pay my debt ******* *** bank is *** of the payments that need to be paid i pay this company family credit 1000 dollars per month to pay off my debts i filed a complaint about ******* *** i am still getting letters and ph*** calls from ******* *** bank i have e mailed **** ******* @ family credit NO ONE HAS RETURNED A RESPONSE I AM VERY UPSET WITH BOTH COMPANIES NOT GETTING ON THE SAME PAGEi returned ******* *** bank ph*** call today their customer service dept knows nothing about a family credit managament ththis is a very big problem for methank you******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) for this 2 companies to get it together so i can believe i made the right choose to pay down my debt

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Dir. of Oper Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********** Ms. **** enrolled with Family Credit Management in September 2013. She added an account for a ******* *** Loan in October of 2013; however she did not make a payment to Family Credit Management to cover this account until December 2013. When attempting to work out new arrangements for our clients with creditors we are working with bureaucracies that move at their own pace. While the client did send an email on New Year's Eve it was missed by our representative due to his time off, however, she never followed up with him to see if she had if he had received her communication, nor at any time did she request to speak with a manager or supervisor. While we have worked hard for the past twenty years to always satisfy clients we are constrained by circumstances out of our control and that of creditor policies and their decisions, and we understand that can be frustrating to consumers especially when they are struggling with their finances. We are no longer handling the accounts for Ms. **** and because we are disappointed she was not pleased with her experience with us have refunded all fees paid to FCMS by her. A check was sent to Ms. **** on January 13, 2014. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** ***** is NOT speaking the truth the account was entered with all of the other accounts with **** ***** i have been paying 1000 per month October November and December of 2013 ***** had a nasty attitude and really could not explain what had happen I HAVE VERY E MAIL SAVED THAT HAD BEEN WRITTEN BETWEEN MYSELF DAWN BROWN AND **** ******* I WOULD BE GLAD TO E MAIL THE BBB THE E MAILS SHES JUST NASTY SHE JUST DROPS CUSTOMERS BECAUSE HER COMPANY IS NOT DOING THEIR JOB ????????? Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/24) */ It's clear that the client, ****** ****, and our employee, ***** ****** faced some communication conflict. We have closed the client's account, refunded all fees paid to us and apologized for any communication issues and the fact that we were unable to service her account in the manner she desired.

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i have found out that family credit has failed to forward my payments to select creditors, right after i make my full monthly payments. big example is, i have paid them 97.00 a month in behalf of ******* ************** up until october 2013. ******* *** claims they quit recieving payments from Family credit management back in june 2013. although on my statements with Family credit, it said i paid them full payment on october 1st 2013. i have recieved a summons delivered in person to me from a process server on october 31st on behalf of ******* *** suing me. every time i have delt with employees from family credit management, i cannot get a straight answer from them. they never try to resolve anything. i would like to at least get a refund for the payments i made to them from, june 2013 to at least september 2013.

Desired Settlement: at least the administration fees refunded to me. the 3 payments to *********** that did not get sent to them, due to FCR neglecting to. i am in the process of bankruptcy 7 right now. if FCR doesnt cooperate, i will be sure to have my current lawyer and myself pursue prosecution towards FCR.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****************** Client entered our credit counseling program in January of this year. At that time they had creditors who had already begun garnishment procedures which we were able to stop. However once the client missed payments we began receiving calls from the creditors they could not longer accept our plan because of the missed payments. With regards to his ******* *** account, it was transferred within ******* *** to their recovery department, which is why payments would not be seen by their client services area. We contacted recovery and I have attached documentation they were paid as agreed. Client had not returned previous phone calls from us and has never asked to speak with a manager or supervisor who would have certainly handled his inquiry. All funds have been paid to his creditors exactly as shown on his monthly statements from Family Credit, therefore there are no funds to return to client. Once the account was transferred by ******* *** to recovery, payments do not show up through their traditional channels which could have easily caused confusion for the client. I have attached verification from ***** ***** (who processes the payments for ******* **** showing the payments in question were in fact applied to his ******* *** account. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) this is still inacurate from family credit. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/12/06) */ I believe we have provided the necessary documentation showing all payments in question have posted to ******* **** This information has been verified by us with ******* *** and their payment processor, ***** ***** and verification previously provided. We recommend the client either does a conference call with FCMS and ******* *** to verify this information is correct, contact them directly, or provide us with their contact at the collection agency/law firm so we can verify funds were properly posted by them and report back.