Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jab Distributors, LLC

Phone: (847) 998-6901 Fax: (847) 998-6919 View Additional Phone Numbers 1500 S Wolf Rd, Wheeling, IL 60090 http://www.protectabed.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jab Distributors, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Jab Distributors, LLC include:

  • 56 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Jab Distributors, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 56 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

56 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 22 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 11
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 16
Problems with Product/Service 29
Total Closed Complaints 56

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Jab Distributors, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 2011 Business started: 02/01/2004 in IL Business started locally: 02/01/2004 Business incorporated 02/01/2004 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Cathy Phillips, Consumer Service Manager Ms. Anneka Chamy, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cathy Phillips, Consumer Service Manager
Business Category

Covers - Protective Mattresses Pillows - Renovating Other Building Equipment Contractors (NAICS: 238290)

Alternate Business Names
Protect-a-Bed Protect-A-Bed North America LLC.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jab Distributors, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent in my son's twin matter protector to be tested for failure reasons. I also took pictures of the mattress protector. There are no stains, rips, tears, singes, etc to be seen on the protector. I was told that my son's mattress would not be replaced because the protector had evidence of melting on the laminate. I know this is not the case due to the pictures I took and also the amount of urine that was allowed to soak into my child's mattress. Even had holes been unseen to the naked eye been there, the protector failed to do it job and half of my son's mattress is stained with urine. Of course, the mattress warranty is voided because of the urine. I thought I was being smart by buying a protector for it. Both the mattress and the protector are only 2 years old!!! The protector has a 10 year warranty on it. It didn't do it's job, the first time it was tested. I doubt it will last 10 years. Poor product and horrible warranty relations.

Desired Settlement: I want my son's mattress replaced so that he does not have to sleep on a urine stained mattress.

Business Response: The laminate on the Protector showed signs of melting which most likely occurred in the dryer.  Our warranty states that if the Product fails to protect the mattress, due to manufacturing defects in the Product, the mattress will either be cleaned or replaced.  Although the leak did not happen due to a manufacturing defect, we can offer to reimburse her for the professional cleaning of her mattress for up to $100.  However, we cannot guarantee the results of the cleaning. 

Business Response: We would like to replace your mattress.  Please call ************, ext ***, and our Consumer Service Manager will assist you.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ****

8/10/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/27/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/6/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/2/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Filed a warranty claim. Case #*********** I provided all information they requested. Receipts, pics, etc. They said the lab determined it was from normal washing. This product is supposed to last 10 years. How can a failure after 4 years not be a manufacturing issue? I washed the protector as described each time. I inspected it each time. My washing machine is a top load machine WITHOUT an adjatator. It is very easy on items washed and doesn't cause damage. I kept all records, followed all instructions yet Protect A Bed refuses to keep their end of the deal.

Desired Settlement: I think they should replace the ruined mattress as their warranty describes. They make it sound so fair and easy when you buy their product. But they make you jump through hoops to file a claim and then THEIR lab determines if it is their fault or not. Seems a little shady to me.

Business Response:

To settle this complaint, please accept my offer to reimburse her for the professional cleaning of her mattress for an amount not to exceed $100. 

6/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/31/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/28/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/17/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ************* mattress cover for $70 with a ten year warranty claiming they would replace my $2,000+ mattress if their product failed. Their product failed and I followed all requests. They then claimed that it was my fault the product failed and that it was damaged not product failure. I followed all washing instructions provided and there was NO visible damage to the product. I reviewed other customers experiences and they tell EVERYONE that their products fail due to the customers fault. This is unacceptable and my mattress needs to be replaced according to their warranty. This company is scamming people.

Desired Settlement: They need to replace my soiled mattress exactly how their warranty claims they will.

Business Response: The customer's Protector had several holes in the laminate.  The holes left areas unprotected from liquid seeping through.  Our warranty does not state we would replace her $1,834 mattress if the product failed.  It states that if the product fails to protect (DUE TO MANUFACTURING DEFECTS IN THE PRODUCT) the mattress sleeping surface against staining....************* will, in its sole discretion, either have the mattress professionally cleaned (by a 3rd party), or replace the mattress with one of comparable quality and value.  The holes were not the result of a manufacturing defect; therefore, the mattress is not covered under our warranty. 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I followed all instructions for washing this product as directed. This product was ALWAYS on my mattress, and was only washed a few times. This product offers a ten year warranty, yet it doesn't appear that anyone gets an actual 10 years use out of this product even when following all washing instructions. It is false advertisement to even claim this product will protect your mattress for ten years. I've yet to see any one person get more than 2 years from this product without it failing and this company consistently blames the customer for its products failing. If this product needs to be replaced every 2 years for the first ten years after purchase in order to protect your mattress for ten years as warrantied, then you should tell your customers that. I am so extremely disappointed in the product, and the complete lack of customer service. I received absolutely zero response to any of my emails after my claim was denied. Even before I received the denial letter in the mail and emailed twice just to check on the status. No response at all. If your product fails ALL of your customers after 2 years, that is a product defect, period. Or you should only offer a TWO year warranty instead of ten. At the very least you should have offered to clean my mattress. Instead, they simply ignored me. From what I have read online, this is exactly the same experience all of their customers have had. 


Sincerely,

Monica Brunell

5/4/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/4/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/31/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/30/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/30/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/9/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/29/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sold me a defective product and replaced it with a defective product. Then they said they would not replace or refund was not offered. These defective product have ruined my very valuable brand new posturepedic mattress. If this goes to court I will want damge to the matress,May still if they continue to evade the issues.

Desired Settlement: If you cannot replace defective product with a good product refund my $100.00 dollars please

Business Response:

Mr. ******** first filed a claim with us on August 12,2015.  Apparently his daughter had an accident in the bed and it leaked through the Protector, onto the mattress.  Testing proved damage to the laminate that was not the result of a manufacturing defect; therefore, we could not go any further with his claim on the mattress.

He then filed a claim on 11.05.15 on the same mattress, stating that water leaked through the Protector.  We did ship him another replacement Protector via UPS, which is scheduled to be delivered to him by the end of the day today.  However, our warranty clearly states that the warranty shall terminate in the event that Protect-A-Bed satisfies its warranty obligations with respect to a claim and that no subsequent claims will be covered. 

However, as a gesture of goodwill, we agree to refund Mr. ******** the $100 he paid for the mattress Protector to satisfy his requested desired settlement.  The check should be mailed to him within the next 7-10 business days.  This case is considered closed.

11/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a *********** twin-sized mattress, as well as a P************ mattress protector for $945.25, in January of 2013. In March of 2015, our cat urinated on the bed and it penetrated the protective mattress cover. We followed the directions as instructed, to launder the cover and send it back to P************, along with our receipt and a photo of the damage. The case # was **********. We received the same response that it seems other complainants received, which indicates that the damage to the mattress protector was not a result of a manufacturing defect, but "normally happens during the laundering process over an extended period of time." We had rarely washed the mattress protector prior to this incident, so this response seems disingenuous. Upon reviewing other complaints, it also seems to be a stock answer that they provide to others making a warranty claim. I do not think they are honoring their warranty in good faith with regard to our claim, or potentially across the board with others who are similarly situated.

Desired Settlement: Would like replacement of the damaged mattress.

Business Response: The reason why our response to the testing indicated that the damage caused to the Protector was not the result of a manufacturing defect, but normally happens during the laundering process, is because that is exactly what the test results proved. On the rare occasion that our Protectors would leak, our experience has proven that, while the consumer may have followed the washing instructions, the heat in the dryer may have a tendency to spike during the drying cycle, which would cause the laminate to melt. Sometimes if the Protector is not taken out of the dryer at the end of the cycle, the Protector's laminate can sit on a hot dryer drum and melt. We can only work with the evidence in which the returned Protector came in and it definitely did not leave the factory in the condition it was returned to us in. As a courtesy, we would like to offer to have the mattress professionally cleaned.

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased *********** procuct with a new mattress so I could have the warranty. My bed is stained because the protector did not do its job. I filed a warranty claim which was rejected because *********** stated that my issue was not a manufacturing defect. I maintained the protector just as the manufacturer instructions stated. The protector was inspected after each laundering and no damage was apparent. With all *********** requirements being complied with how can they possibly say this is not a manufacturing defect? Also, on their website they have a commercial video which states that if your mattress is stained *********** will buy you a new one. *********** has put no effort to resolve my situation. Product_Or_Service: Mattress Protector

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I just want *********** to treat me just as their advertisements state. If all manufacturer care requirements are meet (which they were) I expect *********** to honor their warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/28) */ The customer's Protector had damage to the laminate. There were small holes that were not the result of any manufacturing defect. The holes appear to be popped blisters. Had the Protector been inspected after laundering, the customer would have seen the blisters. He should have notified us at that time for a replacement. Unfortunately, the blisters popped, therefore causing it to leak. Regarding the commercial, in states in writing 'For full details of Protect-A-Bed stain guarantee, visit ***********.com. On the website it explains how our warranty works. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/09/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After reading a response like this it leads me to think that *********** did not even read the case description. They state "the customer would have seen the blisters." As I pointed out in the case description: The protector was inspected after each laundering and no damage was apparent. Again, I maintained the protector just as the manufacturer instructions stated. Regarding the commercial, ***********'s spokesperson says "Only when you buy a *********** mattress protector with your mattress you'll get a 10 year warranty that guarantees your mattress won't stain or we'll buy you a new one." and yes in very small fine print for a few seconds you'll see the note in writing to visit ***********.com. I feel *********** has put Zero effort into resolving my issue and All their effort into coming up with reasons not to take care of a customer. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/10/06) */ The customer will be contacted on Wednesday, October 7, 2015 to advise him that we will be replacing his mattress as a gesture of goodwill. This process usually takes two to three business days to complete.

10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First their Warranty/Guarantee for their product is not as advertised. I was informed in store that if the product failed they would pay to clean and/or replace my new mattress. Upon first test the Protect-A-Bed cover failed. When I registered my warranty and notified their customer service on June 22nd I was treated very poorly and told I had to wash the failed cover, mail it into their office at my own cost, then they would test it and IF it failed they MIGHT reimburse me for any mattress cleaning (my brand new mattress now covered in toddler pee) I wished to order during the 2-3 week long process. In the mean time they would ship me a replacement cover. I wound up having to pay the same cost of the cover for a mattress cleaning. I feel asking me to wash the cover before testing a blatant attempt to then turn around and say I washed it wrong, thus voiding their warranty. I contacted the company second and third time on Thursday July 2nd, getting an automatic response from the case worker saying they were out of office until Monday. No one bothered to respond either of the two emails I sent. Finally 2 weeks later a "Manager" contacted me back stating how concerned and sorry she was about my experience. Having now paid $79 for the faulty mattress cover, $75 for the mattress cover, $12 for return shipping (I'd shipped back the replacement cover and the wet/peed on cover as clearly their products are garbage and warranty and service of the same level. I bought a better mattress cover from another company for 1/3 the price in the interim), I just wanted them to refund me the original cost of the crappy cover-$79.00. The manager agreed to do so. It has now been two more weeks and I have received no refund in the mail, or any other contact from Protect-A-Bed. I've mailed them copies of my receipt for their bed cover, for the cleaning, etc. Product_Or_Service: PROTECT-A-BED COVER Order_Number: SXXXXXXXXX Account_Number: Case # X-XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) At this point I have spend HOURS trying to resolve this. I wish to be reimbursed for their faulty cover AND for the mattress cleaning I had to get due to their poor product and poor warranty fulfillment and awful service- totaling $154.00. They have all the product back along with all necessary receipts and documents they requested.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/28) */ The warranty manager spoke with the customer on July 14, 2015 and offered to replace her mattress. The customer told her that all she wanted was to be reimbursed for the cost of the Protector that she originally purchased When the customer filed the complaint, she indicated that it had been two weeks and she had not received a refund. It takes 7-10 business days to process the check. Seven business days later, on 07.23.15 a check in the amount of $79.00, the cost of the reimbursement of her Protector, was cut and it was mailed the next day, 07.24.15. This case is considered closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) AT NO TIME WAS I INFORMED OF HOW THE REFUND WOULD COME, WHAT AMOUNT, OR WHAT TIME PERIOD. I HAVE SPENT MONEY FOR SHIPPING, CLEANING (WHICH THEY CLAIM THEY COVER ON THEIR WARRANTY), AS WELL AS THE FAULTY COVER IN THE FIRST PLACE. I HAVE SPENT HOURS TRYING TO RESOLVE THIS WITH THEM AND INCLUDED MULTIPLE EMAIL ATTEMPTS, TO WHICH THEY DID NOT EVEN BOTHER REPLYING. THEY STILL OWE ME THE COST OF THE CLEANING. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/08/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This company is blatantly fraudulent and rips people off. They have not honored their warranty and have provided the most atrocious customer service I have ever received. They asked for all of the original receipts back so that no one can fight them to honor their warranties. They have lied to me and offered no information, telling me I should ask for information. Well if 5 different emails asking for settlement isn't me communicating and asking, then I don't know what is. They took their products back without concern, along with all the original receipts. Then they tell you if you cash your refund check for the cover it will automatically close your case. so you are trapped in a catch 22 if you want your refund. VERY Unethical company. They sold the protector stating they'd pay for mattress cleaning or replacement. The mattress was over $200. The cleaning was about $80. They refuse to pay either. And their product is a shoddy piece of garbage sold fraudulently with a no good warranty they won't honor. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/08/06) */ To set the record straight, we never ask anyone for their original receipts. In fact, this customer uploaded her mattress and Protector receipt to our online portal on 06.22.15 so we have a COPY of her receipt, which is all that is ever requested. If she had questions regarding the refund, all she had to do was ask and she would have gotten her answers. We offered to replace the customer's $188.99 mattress, but she turned it down and just asked for the reimbursement of the money she paid for the Protector, which was $79.00. Protect-A-Bed will issue a check in the amount of $75.00 to reimburse her for the cleaning of her mattress to close this case. It takes 7-10 business days for processing the check.

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: date purchase 01-25-2014 complaint date 03-02-2015 claim # XXX-XXXXXX the protector failed the fluid went trough and stain my mattress and I had to send them the cover and the cover was damage and they send me a new one. they came and cleaned it but the stain came back and I called them and they told me the case was closed. The person who was had the case was ******* ******

Desired Settlement: to removed the stain off the mattress because otherwise ill lose the warranty on the mattress

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/24) */ On April 8, 2015, the customer signed a letter stating that, as a gesture of goodwill, we would take care of the expenses to have her mattress cleaned. The letter stated further that we consider this complimentary cleaning service to be our full and final action regarding this specific matter. The cleaning took place on April 14, 2015 - more than three months ago. This case is considered closed.

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: was not happy with the decision received about test results done on the protective cover.We submitted all necessary photos and receipts and complied with all washing instructions and sent back protective cover in a timely manner.But your decision was that there was no way that the protective cover could have failed.I still have the mattress cover that will match up exactly with it's stain to the one that I circled with a marker pin and wrote my name on it to your cover and would like a reconsideration. Product_Or_Service: rhapsody breeze queen mattress Order_Number: SXXXXXXXXX Account_Number: CXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like to receive a new mattress cover for my bed and I would like to have my mattress steamed cleaned.I don't think this is being to unfair or asking for too much.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/22) */ The customer's Protector was tested and no visible damage was found. The test involves putting the Protector on a light box the size of the mattress and examined for any holes or any indication of damage or defects. It was then water tested and it did not leak. When water tested, the Protector is put on a mattress and completely soaked with water running through a garden hose. There is no evidence that the Protector leaked which leads us to believe that the Protector was not on the mattress at the time of the accident.

7/20/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the company about a faulty mattress cover... The original person said excuse me as if she could not hear me, when i spoke louder she said i was screaming... When i told her said acted like she couldn't hear me i demonstrated what screaming sounded like, because she insisted i was yelling. She hung up, when i called back they would not give me the supervisors name. Then a female named Cathy came to the phone when i said i would hold. I asked Cathy for her supervisor name, she refused me the information. She said she didnt have one, then refused to provide the information... each person i spoke with was extremely rude... which caused me to become rude. I asked if company policy said she cant tell me her supervisor name. I then asked for the owner of the company name... she hung up... i called pressed 0 and the person again was rude... originally i was attempting to tell the person, i have the receipt but if the product number isnt on that i would need to be able to get it somewhere else. The receipt is in my safe. The customer service reps were the rudest i ever experienced. I will NEVER buy from this company and will blog about my negative experience, but i wanted to make a formal complaint. Product_Or_Service: mattress cover

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Replacement of my king sized mattress cover....

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/02) */ All of our telephone conversations are recorded. All conversations with Kaci ***** have been reviewed for their content. She was screaming at the first representative that she spoke with. Two things are required from the customer to file a claim: a copy of the receipt and a product code that can be found on the washing instruction tag. Before the representative was able to ask for the information, the customer was yelling that if whatever information we needed was not on the receipt, then she doesn't have it. She was unmanageable and the conversation had to be ended. When she called back, she was transferred directly to the manager. The manager asked how she could be of assistance, but Kaci refused to talk to her and demanded her supervisor's name. The manager was unable to escalate the claim any further without clarifying what the customer's issue was and why she was so unsatisfied with her customer service experience. She just kept yelling to speak with someone higher. We would be more than happy to proceed to file a claim for Kaci if we receive the required information needed to process the claim.

6/18/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Protect A Bed's product is a waterproof mattress that is to have a 10 year warranty, which includes replacement of the product as well as cleaning or replacement of a mattress in the event of a leak. The mattress cover I have is within the warranty period but has been ineffective in protecting against leaks, which has resulted in stain and damage to my mattress. Following instructions, I contacted Protect A Bed immediately and sent in my mattress cover to the company per their request. Upon their "examination," they found that the product was damaged, which they attribute to laundering. However, I have always followed the company's laundering instructions. The defects must therefore be a manufacturer defect. Protect A Bed is not honoring the warranty covering the damage to the mattress. Upon research, I have found numerous other customers with the same complaint.Product_Or_Service: Mattress cover/protectorOrder_Number: 111838021 (through SAccount_Number: Case # XX-XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation)DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation)Protect A Bed's mattress cover is expensive compared to comparable products at a retail price of $100. Customers choose Protect A Bed despite price because of their warranty, which covers protection of the mattress. In my case, my mattress was damaged because Protect A Bed's product had a manufacturer's defect. I want them to honor their warranty and replace my mattress, which is no longer usable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/21) */ Our warranty clearly states that the Product must be inspected for damage after laundering, and use must be discontinued if damage is apparent. The damage that is done to the laminate on this Protector happened over a period of time. Had the Protector been checked for damage after laundering, as stated in the warranty, we would have replaced the Protector and the leakage would not have occurred. The customer was sent a copy of the pictures that were taken during the testing so she was able to see the damage that we were talking about. We consider this case closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We had followed laundering instructions from the company as directed at all times. No damage was found to the mattress protector upon inspection prior to sending it to the company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/06/18) */ The damage done to the laminate on the Protector is not the result of a manufacturing defect. Sometimes the heat in the dryer spikes up and down during the drying cycle and may cause the type of damage this Protector is showing. it is also possible that the drum of the dryer was still hot when it stopped tumbling and the laminate melted because it was not taken out promptly. We can only work with the evidence which was returned to us and it is definitely dryer related.

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Protect a Bed warranty states "in the event that the Product and a NEW mattress are purchased by the individual consumer for HOUSEHOLD use at the same time from the same authorized retailer, Protect-A-Bed also warrants to the Purchaser that if the Product fails to protect (due to manufacturing defects in the Product) the mattress sleeping surface against staining while properly covered by the product during shorter of the Warranty Period, then Protect-A-Bed will, in its sole discretion, either have the mattress professionally cleaned, or replace the mattress with one of comparable quality and value..." Nowhere in the product packaging is "sleeping surface" defined. Protect-a-Bed refused to clean my stained mattress claiming the edge of the bed was stained and not the sleeping surface. The mattress is certainly stained on the top surface of the mattress. The staining goes from the side of the bed all the way to the top, past the seam, which constitutes the sleeping surface, in my opinion. Product_Or_Service: Premium Mattress Protector

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like my mattress to be cleaned or replaced, as promised by the seller (Sears) and Protect-A-Bed's warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/14) */ I do not feel that 'sleeping surface' needs further explanation, as you can only sleep on the top (sleeping surface) of the mattress. The sleeping surface cannot be the side as you cannot sleep on the side of the mattress. The pictures of the stained mattress provided by the customer appear to be on the side of the mattress, which is not covered under our warranty. Never did we refuse to clean her mattress. In an email sent to her dated 03.31.15, she was told that if she wanted a new mattress we would have to test her Protector to determine why it failed and, if a manufacturing defect was found, we would first clean the mattress. I would be more than happy to process her claim, but she must follow our warranty procedure and return the damaged Protector back to us to be tested. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The protector is not damaged; it is just ineffective. The top of the mattress is stained, towards the edge, but definitely on top. I would like further instructions on filing to get it cleaned. Please send me a prepaid shipping label, so that I can return the cover to you for whatever testing you need to do. Since your cover failed to protect my mattress, the shipping cost should be covered by your business. I will not consider the matter resolved until the mattress is clean or replaced. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/04/23) */ We will not know whether the Protector is damaged or if it leaked due to a manufacturing defect until we receive it here and test it. The Protector needs to be returned to us as soon as possible. We do not send prepaid shipping labels. We do, however, reimburse the cost of the shipping if in fact the Protector is found to have a manufacturing defect. The replacement Protector was sent at our expense. Once a response has been received from the customer, we will send her an email with the return information sheet that needs to be filled out and returned to us along with the Protector.

3/27/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a mattress and box spring from a local business near my hometown in Maine. Was given a Protect -A-Bed Mattress Protector to fulfill the warranty policy on the mattress. The Protect-A-Bed protector has failed. When trying to work with the manufacturer to resolve and replace the issue, the company failed to honor their product warranty because I did not specifically purchase the product from the local business. The business I purchased the mattress and box spring from *********** ******** and ********* ******** in Windham, ME did not keep record of the or invoice the mattress protector on their end as it was issued in the sale of the mattress and given to me. Why ********** ******** and ********* failed to keep record they cannot answer. I have worked diligently with ***************** and Furniture to attempt to resolve the issue without having to forge a false document as I do not expect the company to do.****************** and Furniture is unable to provide me with specific detail as to the agreement of the mattress protector therefore I am unable to provide this information to Protect-A-Bed. I have asked for Protect-A-Bed to assist me in resolution and replacement of their product but they refuse to help me claiming it is company policy to warranty their product with out a proof of purchase. Product_Or_Service: Mattress Protector Order_Number: Case # XXX-XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I have taken pictures of the product tag and emailed them to ***** the customer Service Rep handling my case. (Case # XXX-XXXXXX). 1) proving the product is a Protect-A-Bed product, 2) providing information requested by the manufacturer, 3) Providing required date of purchase of the mattress and box spring proving the date I took receipt of the Protect-A-Bed product, 4) spoke with several sales reps at ******** ******** to try and gain their assistance in resolving this matter without issue.My desired outcome would be for Protect-A-Bed to honor their manufactures warranty and replace my failing product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/13) */ In order for the mattress to be covered under our warranty, the mattress and the Protector must be purchased at the same time from the same authorized dealer. If a store wants to give a customer a Protector at no charge, for inventory purposes, it is always put on the receipt with zero dollars. We only require two things from the customer when placing a claim, our product code that is printed on the washing instruction tag that is attached to the Protector and the receipt, showing the purchase of the mattress and Protector at the same time from the same dealer. If the customer is unable to provide us with a receipt, we cannot go any further with his claim. I was unsuccessful with my attempt to attach a copy of our warranty, but would be more than happy to send if necessary. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have made numerous attempts to receive proof of purchase from the mattress Dealership. For whatever the reason or purpose their sales representative did not include the the mattress protector in my original receipt. The sales representative has since retired from the company. I would assume most companies would wish to track their inventory and would mark on their sales receipts one issues at no cost but this time this didn't happen and may have happened to others as well. However in my case I have tried to work with the store to furnish a new receipt and I have tried to work with Protect -A-Bed to resolve the issue with my mattress protector. Which is still unresolved at this time. Also in reference to the product code tag I did furnish a photo picture of the Protect-A-Bed mattress protector tag and emailed it to the customer service rep, and was denied the proof because the tag is warn. It is their product as can be seen in the picture but because the tag print in worn they deny it as proof. I am by no means trying to cheat the system or get something for free. I work hard for everything that I have and if it fails I expect the company to stand behind their claim of warranty and replace the item, without laying the burden on the consumer. In this case my Protect-A-Bed mattress Protector has failed and is disinigrating as I wash it (Per the Care instructions). I legally obtained this mattress protector from a authorized dealer with the purchase of my mattress and box spring. I wish for the item to be replaced under the warranty agreement without jumping through hoops. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/03/27) */ We would be more than happy to replace the mattress Protector. However, without proof of purchase that the Protector and the mattress were purchased together at the same time from the same authorized dealer, we are unable to go any further with the mattress.

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Filed a warranty claim. Sent them all in info they said they ran labs and said it was from normal washing. How can a 10 year product not last 2 years and it be my fault. I was a front load washer which is easy on everything only washed it with sheets and towels dried on medium with sheets and towels like they said and now they say it's not covered.

Desired Settlement: I want my mattress replaced it would have been replaced on it own warranty if there had been no stains that it why I purchased a 70.00 dollar protector was just in case anything happened to the bed

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ Management reviewed the customer's claim and confirmed that the damage done to the Protector is not the result of any manufacturing defect(s). It is apparent that the damage occurred over time, not during one laundering. One of the conditions to our warranty is that the Product must be inspected for damage after laundering, and use must be discontinued if damage is apparent. Had this been done, the Protector would have been replaced prior to it leaking. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Of course that would be their reasoning as they make sure that you wash it again before it is sent back to them. There is a 10 year warranty on this product I had for 2 years. I did check it out after I washed it and there was no instruction as what to look for. However I didn't inspect it on the last wash as I was sending it to the company. I don't use harsh soaps or bleach. The failure of their product is why my mattress could be replaced under the beds own warranty. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/27) */ It is required that the Protector must be laundered prior to shipping it back to us, especially if it is contaminated with human or animal fluids. If the customer was unsure of what to look for when inspecting the Protector after laundering, she could have called us and we would have been more than happy to help her out. Even though the damage that has been done to the Prtector is not the result of a manufacturing defect, we will replace the customer's mattress as a courtesy. I ask the customer to contact our warranty department at her earliest convenience to make the necessary arrangements.

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The protectabed system is leaking. The product is guaranteed for 10 years. They clearly saw that the product was defective however, they are saying it is from washing and drying. They are refusing to clean my bed because their product failed. Product_Or_Service: 4/4/2012

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Protectabed will stand behind their product and have my mattress professionally cleaned because their product failed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/29) */ Although the testing done on the Protector did prove damage that was not related to any manufacturinig defect, as a courtesy, we are offering to reimburse the customer for the cost of the professional cleaning of his mattress. The customer should please respond that he either accepts our rejects our offer.

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought their cover in 2010 when we bought our new mattress and box spring.They had to replace it the first time because when we received it the zipper was broke and and they replaced it in 2012 when it dry rotted on the one side.Now it is dry rotting again and they tell me they will send me a replacement as a courtesy because our warranty only covers one replacement in 10 years.My complaint is that the product is doing the same thing it did the before.Now what happens if it dry rots again.We paid 210.00 for this product and I feel they should have to cover it at anytime it falls apart or dry rots.It is not anything that we are doing wrong and I feel the product is defective if it can continue to have the same issues.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a refund because if it had to be replaced three times in four years(once for the zipper being broke and two times for dry rotting)I do not feel I got my moneys worth besides if it does it again then I will have to go out and replace it else where.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/01) */ I am sorry to hear that the customer is experiencing this problem. Our records indicate that the Protector was replaced because it was tearing, not dry rotting. Unfortunately, I am unable to refund the cost for the Product as we did not sell the Product to the customer directly. I can, however, upgrade the replacement of the box spring encasement with our AllerZip Smooth Encasement.

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the night of Sat Nov 8,2014 my tempur pedic bed was wet. I have a protect a bed that has a warranty on it of 10yrs and it leaked through and caused a stain on my mattress. When I called protect a bed the representative who received my call was very rude and extremely dismissive. She wouldn't let me get in a word edgewise and explain what happened because I had already submitted a claim once in April 2014. In that claim the protect a bed got bed and my bed had moisture on it but no stain was visible, the repeesentative at that time *****, stated that the bed had not gotten wet and that nothing had seeped through since there wasn't a stain. Before all this he had mentioned that there could be the possibility of getting our mattress cleaned by them has their been a stain. Since there was no stain he went ahead and replaced our protect a bed. Now we're being told that because we filed that claim we no longer file anymore "subsequent" claims and it voids any warranties. This company is not standing behind their product they are fraudulent and have no customer service.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting for my protect a bed to be replaced or refunded and my tempur pedic bed to get cleaned from the stain.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/21) */ A replacement king size mattress Protector was delivered to her on 11.12.14. While our warranty does specifically state we do not do subsequent claims, we will process her claim as if this was the first time she is contacting us. She will have to return the damaged Protector to us to be tested to determine why it leaked. If the testing shows it leaked due to a manufacturing defect, we will pay to have her mattress professionally cleaned. ***** will email her the return instructions today. We also ask that the customer email a picture or two of the stain on the mattress.

11/17/2014 Delivery Issues
10/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was just told by a customer service representative that since my Protect-A-Bed's test results came back as "cracking" that it is NOT a manufactured defect because this tends to happen during washing. I believe this is a manufactured defect - if you know that your product does this then you should fix how your product is made!This is a cheap way for this company to get away with replacing someone's mattress. Now I have to pay some company to clean my mattress, and Protect-A-Bed will reimburse me - up to $100First off, I do not have any extra money to pay a cleaner up front and I certainly wouldn't be able to cover anything that they don't reimburse (if it goes over $100)Even worse is that if (when) this happens to my replacement that they sent me I am stuck with it because they don't cover a warranty on them.This company is running a scam to sell their product while they know that it has issues when cleaned.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I think they should pay to clean my mattress and give me a refund for the Protect-A-Bed so that I can purchase a different brand since this one doesn't work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/03) */ I truly apologize for the late response. The customer is requesting that we pay to clean her mattress, which we have already offered to do on September 16, 2014. No mention of her not being able to afford it was stated at the time the offer was made or we would have offered to arrange for the cleaning to be done and we would have paid for it up front. The offer for the cleaning still stands. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am pretty sure that I stated that I couldn't afford to pay for the cleaning up front, and there was no mention of the company paying for it up front then or since their response here. I would appreciate for you to pay for the cleaning up front. I also noticed that there was no response to my additional request/opinion that I should get a refund so that I may purchase a different product that has no defects. It disgusts me that this company knows that "cracking" occurs in the proper washing of this product, but doesn't care. Sure, you give a replacement product, but when the "cracking" will happen again the customer is left to deal with it. This is, in my honest opinion, a company that scams people to buy their product. When I told friends about my situation it was very interesting to hear that some have gone through the same thing. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/10/16) */ We would like to make arrangements to have the customer's mattress professionally cleaned at our expense. Although our policy does not allow refunds, particularly when the product isn't purchased directly from us, we will refund her the amount of $74.50 that she paid for the Protector. Please contact me directly at ***************** for further assistance. My name is ***** and I am the Consumer Service Manager.

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 4 years ago we purchased a bed protector warrantied for 10 years. There was a small accident from a child on the bed, and the protector leaked. Upon inspection there were many tears and holes in the protector. The warranty department was contacted and the return process was started. A new protector was issued at no cost, but Protect-A-Bed's testing facilities response was "there quite a few areas of cracking damage to the Protector, it is a possibility this happened during the laundering process". "This is not a manufacturing defect." "This case is closed." Their warranty states they would have the mattress cleaned of replaced. I'm unsure as to how a protector can fail at 4 years, but be warrantied for 10 years. Product_Or_Service: Protect-A-Bed, Premium cover

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like my mattress cleaned, as per their warranty

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/05) */ The warranty does state that if the Product fails to protect (due to manufacturing defects in the Product)....Protect-A-Bed will, in its sole discretion, either have the mattress professionally cleaned or replaced with one of comparable quality and value. The damage done to the customer's Protector was not the result of a manufacturing defect and therefore, the case was closed. However, as a courtesy, we would like to offer to reimburse the customer for the professional cleaning of his mattress.

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Mattress from Matress Firm's clearance center on 01/29/2011, Receipt # XXXXXWBIPAL along with a Mattress Protector made by Protect-a-bed on 01/29/2011, Receipt#XXXXXWBIPAL (JAB Distributors, LLC). During the evening of July 15, 2014, my son accidentally urinated while sleeping. The mattress protector did not absorb the urine and it leaked through onto the mattress. They have offered to replace the cover but are not willing to warranty the mattress by cleaning or replacing it as the warranty says they will. They have stated that the Mattress company, Mattress Firm, told them not to warranty their product for purchases from the Outlet/Clearance stores. This makes no sense. Their product failed and now have damaged my mattress that should be under warranty. They have been unable to answer why they sell their product at the Outlet/Clearance stores if they do not warranty their product. It is very misleading and false advertisement. I feel I have legal rights to this warranty coverage.I feel it is an excuse to not use the warranty coverage due to I have been able to provide all backup for the warranty to be utilized.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting they honor their warranty and provide the mattress cleaning or replacement of the mattress. I prefer the replacement for the hassle I have gone through as a consumer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/25) */ The reason why the customer's mattress was not covered under our warranty is stated in the second paragraph of our warranty as follows: In the event that the Product and a NEW mattress are purchased by an individual consumer for HOUSEHOLD use at the same time from the same authorized retailer, Protect-A-Bed also warrants to the Purchaser that if the Product fails to protect (due to manufacturing defects in the Product)the mattress sleeping surface against staining while properly covered by the Product during the shorter of the Warranty Period (10 years) or the warranty period offered on the mattress by the manufacturer. Since she purchased a mattress that does not have a warranty that is covered by the manufacturer, we are not responsible for her mattress. Therefore, we were only able to replace her Protector, as per our warranty. This case is considered closed.

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Protect a bed is refusing to fix my problem leaving me with a stained mattress for over a month. Company is not admitting to their defective product and ruined my mattress warranty. I was suckered into buying this product thinking it be waterproof and sure enough there was a liquid spill and my bed got stained with pet odor. This company uses false claims stating ts waterproof and refuses to fix the problem.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I wish for my stained mattress to be replaced according to agreement in warranty. Reimbursement of shipping costs to return defective product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/28) */ On 05.16.14, the customer was issued a mattress replacement voucher to replace his mattress in the amount of $941.89 which is the full cost he paid for the mattress. Since his desired settlement has been fulfilled, we consider this case closed.

5/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a mattress protector from *************. After following the direction word for word on how to care for it the mattress protector failed. Now, less then 2 years later I have a stained mattress worth nearly $2000 that has no more warranty on it. I have never spent that much on ANYTHING, I did everything i'm my power to protect that warranty and now its gone. I followed the directions to send it back to them for testing. I washed it with the new protector they sent and off it went to the labs. First they told me I didn't wash it, after begging and pleading with them for them to believe me it went through testing. Only for them to come back and say it was NOT a manufacturing defect and I quote "It MAY have occurred in the laundering process". That statement there tells me that they have no idea why it failed but we aren't going to do anything for you. Product_Or_Service: Queen size mattress/protector Account_Number: Protectabed Case # 1

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) They should be required to replace my mattress. My mattress is less then 2 years old and the warranty is void when I followed everything they told me to protect my investment. Completely unacceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/05/16) */ The customer has been contacted. We are going to replace her mattress. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 14, 2014/05/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After passing my case to upper management, they have decided to replace my mattress. VERY HAPPY with their decision. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 15, 2014/05/17) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Thank you so much for the help of the BBB. Im so happy their is an organization like this available to us.

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new mattress and mattress liner on December 27, 2013. After 4 months of use, my puppy soiled the bed, the mattress liner failed and my mattress became soiled. I contacted the company and provided them with all requested information. After "testing the liner" they have determined that it is not a manufacturing defect and are refusing to comply with their 10 year wararanty to clean or replace the soiled mattress. I have complied with all conditions of warranty and laundered the product as per the company's specifications. I have only owned the liner for 4 months and laundered it only three times. The company claims there are tears in it, although if there are they are not visible to the naked eye. Irregardless, if there are tears after only 4 months, it must be due to a manufacturing defect.

Desired Settlement: I want my soiled mattress cleaned as per their warranty or replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ The customer accepted our offer to reimburse her for the cleaning of her mattress. She hopes to have that done within the next week or two. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Then mattress pad leaked. I sent it back to the company and "the testing team reported that they found no leaks on the FULL Protector you returned to us". They said they would clean the mattress as a courtesy. The stain on the mattress is in the middle of it. Their product didn't work and it leaked.

Desired Settlement: Their warranty said they would replace the mattress if the mattress didn't work. I am due a new mattress.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/17) */ This customer first called us on 07.11.13 to place a claim, stating her mattress Protector leaked and stained her mattress. It took her over a month to get the receipts to us before we could process the claim. The Protector was tested on 08.22.13 and no leaks or visible damage were found. Our warranty clearly states that if the Product fails to protect (due to manufacturing defects in the product) then Protect-A-Bed will, in its sole discretion, either have the mattress professionally cleaned or replaced with one of comparable quality and value. A cleaning reimbursement was offered to the customer on 08.22.13 as her mattress is cleanable. She accepted the cleaning and a letter was sent on that same day, with a 30-day window for her to have the mattress cleaned. That offer expired on 09.21.13. Nothing further can be done for the mattress as too much time has passed (almost 8 months) and the stain most likely will not come out. We consider this case closed.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a mattress encasement a little over a month ago. Before I purchased the product, I called and spoke with a rep named **** about two concerns. One, would the encasement (being the material it's made of) sound crunchy under the sheets and two, would it restrict the feeling of the mattress, as I have bulging disks and didn't want it to take away from the feel of my bed. After consulting with her, she directed me to order online, refusing to take my order over the phone. After putting the encasement on my bed, you could hear it every time you moved, I called back and spoke with ******* in returns/ accounting. She told me on 2/5 to try putting another protector, their terry cloth one on top of it, that she had the same issue. She told me to give it a week or two and call back if I still had problems and she would "take care of it". I finally received a call back last week from ******** another rep on 2/25. She would not get ******* on the phone but said she contacted her and there was a no refund policy. I also explained to her that it was taking away from the benefit of my mattress. I have been on a steroid pack for my back since using the encasement on my bed- which is not why I bought a specialty mattress. She still refused to help me. Also, this product has a warranty and the zipper does not fully close. The product is to keep bed bugs out of your mattress and there is a gap in the zipper area. It maybe a faulty product, but there are other problems with it as I described. Product_Or_Service: mattress encasement ********************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund 145.20, the money I spent on this product

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/26) */ The customer has been contacted and she will be refunded the amount she paid for the encasement. She has agreed and we will consider this case closed.

4/11/2014 Delivery Issues
4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a "Protect a bed" mattress cover at the time of our 4K mattress purchase May 2013. It claimed 10 yr warranty to protect mattress from stains/damage or they would clean or replace the mattress. Corresponded ************** from 'Protect a Bed'. Followed procedure for warranty. (case ***********)She sent me a new cover. Denied "manufactures defect" and closed case. Contacted ******* again to question their decision and tell them of another cover I had problems with, and all I got back from ******* was a curt email saying the 'case was closed' with an attached photo of my supposed cover with a hole in it! It did not have a hole when I sent it back. I think the product and warranty is a sham.

Desired Settlement: Both mattresses professionally cleaned that got soiled from their product not protecting like it claimed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/26) */ Regarding the first mattress and Protector mentioned, the customer was sent a picture of the hole that was found in the Protector that would clearly allow leakage. It did not leave the factory with the hole in it and it is not a manufacturing defect. As far as the second mattress and Protector, until a claim is placed and the Protector returned to us for testing, we are unable to go any further.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a mattress protector **************************** the same time I bought my mattress. There is a 10 year warranty on the mattress protector. It's supposed to protect my mattress from any spills or blood or anything. Urine got on my mattress protector and got on my actual mattress. I emailed the company ************* and they said they would replace the mattress protector. They in fact did replace it, but wouldn't clean my mattress. I went to Mattress Firm and had them fax ************* my receipt. ************* is refusing to clean my mattress because the mattress protector is not on the same receipt as the mattress. I read their warranty and nothing says that it has to be on the same receipt.  It does show that I did purchase it. They don't want to honor their warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like my mattress cleaned, or money to get it cleaned by a company, or even my mattress replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/21) */ The customer's claim was not denied because the mattress Protector is not on the same receipt as the mattress. Our warranty states that the mattress and the Protector must be purchased from the same authorized dealer at the same time. The customer purchased the mattress on September ********* The mattress Protector was not purchased until December ******** This case will remain closed.

2/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought this mattress cover when we bought our new mattress about 3 years ago. The sales person convinced us the cover would make our mattress last longer and eventually sold us on in with the warranty. We were given warranty paperwork from the place we bought it. The sales person gave us specific washing instructions which we have fairthfully followed. Upon changing the bed to wash the cover a few weeks ago, we noted there was plastic flaking all over our mattress and the cover with literally disintegrating, rendering it useless. We knew there was a warranty so we immediately submitted a claim with a picture. No where on the warranty paperwork does it list ANY exclusions, it only lists in 3 languages some possible problems. Our claim was denied stating "Damage caused by a defect in material or workmanship is not covered under the terms of the protection plan." We called to appeal this and they would not even listen to us. On the warranty information, it states all sort of other things are covered such as "undesireable stains" and "fork puncture." Seems very odd that I could puncture my cover with a fork and get a new one and can't get one for something I have no control over and making the mattress cover completely useless. And again, the paperwork we were given does NOT list these exclusions. Also, the pad does have many stains from sweat on it, but it wasn't that bothersome to us as the mattress cover still was able to be used and hidden under sheets, but now I cannot submit these "stains" because they won't even listen to us on the phone and were very rude when we called. The only thing we got out of the call we made is if we put the pad back on our bed (which would make a mess of plastic flakes) and then ate in bed for a week to stain it, they would then replace it. I WOULD HAVE NEVER BOUGHT THIS IF I HAD BEEN TOLD THE WARRANTY DOESN'T ACTUALLY COVER THE PROBLEMS WE MAY INCUR. Product_Or_Service: Mattress Cover ************************************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Would like the matress cover replaced as was promised when we bought it. Otherwise would like refund on purchase price of ****** plus tax.

Business Response: ***Initial Business Response******************************** I called this customer and had to leave a message. I have not received a returned telephone call. We do not have any record of this consumer filing a claim with us. I searched by his first name, last name and telephone number in our database and nothing came up. I also searched our telephone incoming call log and did not find his telephone number that would show that he called us. Based on the circumstances he is describing in his complaint, I believe he contacted the wrong company. We do not request pictures of the damaged Protector prior to replacing it. Our warranty does not state we will replace the protector if it has 'undersirable stains' or 'fork puncture'. If the customer has purchased a mattress Protector from Protect-A-Bed, he should contact our warranty department and we will be happy to help him. ****Final Consumer Response******************************** (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Just an update....we were on vacation, so when we got back were able to call the company back. They are replacing our cover. Apparently, the warranty company information we were given when purchasing (and diligently saved) was no longer who they used. We were able to send them pictures and it is covered. Is was resolved timely once we were able to call them back.

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 1/23/2011 I bought mattress and cover protector to avoid mattress damage and keep guaranty. on oct 22, 2013 I filed a claim # XXX-XXX-XXX The cover was dried and washed as instructions on tab of item. The item was deteriorating I explained my daughter peed on my bed and it went straight to my mattress staining it and that the cover was not working.I filed a claim a new cover was sent to me.I asked about them steam cleaning my mattress as part of cover not working. They are denying my claim saying that The protector shows heat damage. This could have happened if there was not enough bulky items in the dryer or, if the dryer peaked unbeknownst to you. I was asked to sent item back and that their lab showed this. I received additional washing and drying instructions with new item but these have more details than what is listed on the item. I feel they are not keeping their guaranty. My dryer has never had any issues and it also has a delicate dryer setting which I have used , along with air drying the cover myself. The new item received seems better quality than original received so not sure if they changed materials due to issues with it.

Desired Settlement: would like my mattress steamed cleaned

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/20) */ An email was sent to the customer on 01.13.14 offering to reimburse them for the professional steam cleaning of their mattress, which is what he stated was his desired resolution. We have not yet reserved a response to that email.

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product was purchased and guaranteed to protect even for bed wetting, after first time I called I had to send product in (paying for postage) with the area circled for them to inspect and of course there was nothing wrong with the protector after they inspected it but they offered to have it cleaned and replace the protector, I accepted but not knowing if I didn't have it cleaned it would void the warranty because they fulfilled there obligations was NEVER offered to have my mattress replaced as I was told would happen when I purchased the protector. My husband is *********** ******** and was ******** at the time so with small children at home and being alone I never got around to having the product cleaned (I think there was a certain window of time you had to have in done it). Last night my son had an accident which leaked I pulled the pad up immediately and there was 2 wet spots, called today was questioned as to how its washed and they stated it should be washed with BULKY items the tag states linens which is how it is washed they also stated that if it is put in the dryer alone the plastic will touch the drum causing damage to the pad, couldn't this happen even if it is put in with any item bulky or linens? They again will replace it. I hung up agreeing to fax receipt, thinking about it called back to speak with a manager ******** I believe was not in the least bit friendly even after I explained and asked if she would be comfortable with someone in her home with small children and not someone around explained my husband was AD and ******** hoping they would give me a bit of lead way, as well as explaining my son is highly allergic/asthmatic so I didn't want cleaning products on my bed . She said all she would do would be to replace it but wouldn't clean it since I refused to have it cleaned nor would she warranty it. They stated that leaking is unheard of which is not true because there are many internet complaints with the same problem. I asked is there anything she could do NO she said, and read me part of the disclaimer in the warranty listed online and on the paper that comes in with the pad. I asked if she would rather have a better business claim which she replied I will respond to that claim and I also said I would contact the mattress place I purchased from and she said she would contact the corporate office directly. She was not at all what I would say a "manager" in the customer service industry should maintain. Why would I not having my mattress cleaned void a warranty, I feel that this company should fully stand behind their product that they guarantee it will withstand and is fully waterproof. Furthermore I am very disappointed in the rudeness this lady that represents the company had nor her willingness to try and make it right.

Desired Settlement: I would like my mattress replaced as I was initially told would happen if I found the product to not hold up to their advertised standards. I am not willing to have my mattress cleaned because their product failed to meet their advertised level of protection.

Business Response: ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************ Final Consumer Response /* (3001, 14, 2014/01/14) */ I realize that I never had my mattress cleaned, however I would have also hoped that a company would be a little more willing to help someone and understand a********* families unwillingness to have a stranger in their house nor with a house full of kids as I have when my husband was deployed for a year and not able to assist with this. GLAD THEY ARE WILLING TO GIVE A LITTLE FOR SOMEONE WHO GIVES TOTALLY FOR THEM!! THANKS ALOT PROTECT A BED for your nonmilitary friendly company! Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/01/21) */ It is unfortunate that the customr feels this way. Protect-A-Bed offered a courtesy cleaning at the time of the first incident, which the customer originally accepted, but never followed through with. At that time, she had no communication with us explaining her situation. It was not an issue until a second accident happened. At this point in time, a cleaning would not be able to remove the original stains as too much time has passed.

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a twin mattress for our toddler on January 6 of 2013. The local mattress store recommended this protector and informed us that the company offers a 10 yr. guarantee against leaks or they will replace the mattress or pay to have it cleaned. We followed the care/laundering instructions on the tag by washing it with the bed clothes and tumble drying on a medium heat setting-every time. I did not observe any abnormalities in the liner. In October of 2013, his diaper leaked and urine soaked through the pad into his mattress. I contacted Protect A Bed and was told to email pictures of the stain as well as the bed and protector purchase receipt and to wash and dry the protector and mail back at my expense. They also mailed us a new protector. I was also told that they would conduct laboratory experiments to determine whether there was a defect and would get back to me. I felt confident that they would take care of his mattress based on their guarantee and the fact that we had followed care instructions. I called the company for an update and spoke with *******. I was informed that the laboratory testing (which was placing the liner on a bright light) showed evidence of heat damage, which was not a manufacturing defect, so they could not honor the warranty. She also stated that the liner should be dried with heavy towels, but their label clearly stated to wash it with the bed linens. I asked to speak with a manager and several days later, ***** called me back and left a voicemail stating the same information. I finally was able to speak with ***** to let her know that I had laundered the product per label and that we would have been happy to line dry the pad every time if we knew that we would be buying a new mattress if we dried it. She stated that they state that the pad should be examined after each washing to look for defects. I didn't noticed any defects, but I didn't have their special laboratory light. She was not willing to assist us further. I found MANY similar experiences when reading reviews of this company/mattress pad. I feel that they should honor their warranty /guarantee when the product is used according to their directions. Since there are so many similar complaints, I don't think we just had an exceptionally hot dryer. My case number is XXX-XXXXXX. The cost of our mattress was 210.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to replace our son's mattress. It will be 210.00 plus tax to replace it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/19) */ Arrangements are going forward to replace the customer's mattress at our expense. The customer has approved and this case will be closed. Final Consumer Response /* (450, 10, 2013/12/19) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased the protector on May 10th 2013. Protector failed on 10/15/13. King 76" x 80" x 18" ***** ***************** *****************. Person who handled my claim was ******* at Protect A Bed. ****************** ******* offered to have my mattress cleaned. I told her that their warranty states replacement of the product damaged. She still offered no solution and referred me to *************. It's unfortunate, but I'm going to have to sue this company. I'm also going back to the store I bought it from and recommend they change to a different company because Protect A Bed will not warranty their product.

Desired Settlement: My $2,000.00 mattress needs to be replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/03) */ Protect-A-Bed is currently working with the store and the customer to replace his mattress. The customer is satisfied. As soon as the mattress is delivered, this case will be closed.

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8/15/13 my daughters diaper leaked on my bed & the urine went through the mattress cover. I immediately took photos & contacted the company. I was instructed to wait for a new cover, send the old cover back to them for inspection, they would determine if it was a manufacturer defect. As of 8/20/13 I hadn't heard back from them & sent a follow up email to ensure they received my email with the attached purchase receipt & photos. The rep left a message on my home phone stating she did receive the email. On 9/13/13 I received a letter via **** stating it was determined it heat damage & was not a manufacturer defect; the claim was considered closed. I e-mailed the rep I had been in contact with telling her I received the letter & wanted to know if there was an appeal process because I did not agree with the outcome. I explained out of the 6 years I owned the protective cover, it had only been washed maybe once a year & according to their instructions. I stated that if it was in fact heat damage, it would seem the entire laminate side would be damaged, however, there were large portions of it still in tact. On 9/16/13 I received a response saying "I confirmed the results with my manager & unfortunately we cannot go any further." I thanked her for getting back to me, but told her I still did not feel this was resolved & asked to speak with her manager as I felt my concerns were valid & needed to be addressed. On 9/30/13 I sent another e-mail to the rep stating I had not received a response in regards to speaking with her manager in regards to the unsatisfactory outcome. That day I received a phone call from her manager, however she left me a message on my home phone since I was not there. She didn't state who she was or why she was calling, so I assumed it was her manager. I called ***** back & when she answered she didn't identify herself so I told her who I was & I assumed she was ********* manager. She was very rude & didn't want to discuss the issue. I explained my concern & all she would say was that it appears to be heat damage. I brought up the fact that I only washed it maybe 1 time a year in the 6 years I owned it according to their instructions so I don't understand how there could possibly be heat damage. I washed on delicate cycle (cold water/slow spin) & dried on delicate (cool air). She stated they put a light to it & that's how they tell it's heat damage. I stated I had seen numerous complaints online regarding similar issues with warranty that people complained about & asked if this was how they run their company. She got extremely defensive & said they have been in business for 30 years. I said, ok...she then said defensively she could see a honeycomb pattern on the laminate cover. I told her I'm not sure how that's even possible since my dryer does not have that, it is a solid drum. She said she didn't know but she had never seen anything like it. I also brought up the fact that I would think if it was in fact heat damage that the entire laminate side would be damaged and not just portions of it, to which she said she didn't know. She was trying to get me off the phone. I asked if she could send me the information on how they determined it was heat damage and she said they only had pictures & could send me those. I asked her to please send them. On 10/1/13 I received an e-mail from her, however there were no attachments. She ensured she stated again that my claim was closed. She did not know my name & addressed the e-mail to ********* this tells me she doesn't care. I responded on 10/7/13 to let her know the attachments weren't there. I asked her to re-send & include her managers e-mail. She responded on 10/9/13 with the attachments & stated she is the Warranty Manager & she is the only one that handles situations such as this. I replied on 10/9/13 thanking her for the pictures, but still wanted to speak with her manager. 10/22/13, I have not received a response and cannot find any other contact information.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive funds so I can replace my stained mattress. I believe their warranty states they would replace the mattress if it was found to be a manufacturer defect, however after my experience with them, I don't trust them to provide the same mattress that was purchased.

Business Response: *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is clearly stated in the response the cracking is in the sleeping area of the protector. If I laundered it according to the instructions, there is no way this would have happened. There are still portions of the laminate that are very much intact. It seems to me the laminate wore away from us sleeping on it day in and day out. Especially since we owned it for 6 years and washed it maybe 6 times on a cold water wash and dried on a cool air setting. Shining a light on the protector does not prove there was heat damage, only that there are cracks/wear on the laminate. It seems to me this company likes to operate on the "he said, she said" approach since they will always have the upper hand. Whatever they say, goes. I have seen other complaints with the same type of issue and same type of complaints. I am not the only one they have done this to. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/14) */ We can only work with the evidence from the damaged Protector that was returned to us and we are confident that it is not the result of a manufacturing defect. The customer did not receive the Protector in the condition that it was returned to us. The excessive damage that has been done to the Protector did not happen after just one laundering. Per our warranty, the Protector must be inspected after laundering and use must be discontinued if damage is apparent. We consider this case closed.

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/18/13 we ordered 3 mattresses from *******************************. ******* was the salesperson. In order to have our mattresses covered by a 7 or 10 year warranty you had to buy the protectors from protect a bed and use them and launder them according to instructions. We followed everything and first time our child wets the bed, it goes through and so we call and have to do this and that and this...then on Oct.10,2013 I call back ******* from protect a bed and she tells me that the lab results came back and there were cracks in my protector. We can't do anything for that so we can have it cleaned for you. I kept asking questions about the warranty. I was told by ******* that if anything happens to your mattress and the protector fails everything will be replaced. I have only had the beds for 7 months and ******* at Protect a Bed kept bypassing ** questions. I started to feel I just got scammed. I laundered the sheet protectors like they ask..then she said well maybe the towels weren't thick enough. REALLY! You have such poor quality products that the thickness of your bath towels matter...where is that in the paperwork! She finally said that if I accept the up to $80.00 cleaning of my mattress, all my warranties are done. So seeing I was told I have a 7 to 10 year warantee on mattresses. Hummmm? I am being scammed not only by Protect a Bed but by*****************. We as consumers don't have fake labs set up so we can make up whatever is in our best interest. We pay high prices hoping to get great quality in the products. To be told it's your fault how you laundered it and you know darn well that you followed the rules. They know you can't prove anything as the customer and that's how they make their money. They sell you a whole lot of bull. I have 9 1/2 years on my "so called warranty" and oh well you lost it, because your little kid had one accident and your product didn't work it must be your fault and even if it isn't your fault we will go to our lab and say it is. Thank you protect a bed for all the stress, and crappy products. Not only do they not protect your bed, but our whole family sweats to death while we sleep. They are hot and just down right a bad product, but thanks to***************** making us bye your product...you will always have money coming in.

Desired Settlement: Want people to be aware of scamming companies that blame you when their product fails. And the warranties they promise you and you pay for are fake. They will find a way to get out from doing what they promised.

Business Response: *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have more important things to deal with in my life than companies that treat you like this. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/31) */ We manufacture quality products and we stand behind them. Our warranty clearly states that if the product fails to protect (due to manufacturing defects in the product) the mattress sleeping surface against staining while properly covered by the product, Protect-A-Bed will, in its sole discretion either have the mattress professionally cleaned, or replace the mattress with one of comparable quality and value. Even though there was visible damage to the Protector that was not due to a manufacturing defect, as a gesture of goodwill, we offered to reimburse her for the professional cleaning of her mattress. She accepted the cleaning and we sent her a letter that needs to be signed when submitting the cleaning invoice for reimbursement. We do not issue vouchers. A professional cleaning of the mattress does not void the warranty on the mattress. Our offer to reimburse for the cleaning is still valid.

10/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about Feb. 2007 we purchased a $2000 Mattress from**************. At that time they sold us a Protect a Bed cover and indicated that as long as we used the cover we would have a 10 year warranty/guarantee for the mattress not to fail. Well needless to say the Protect a bed cover broke down an did not work. I contacted Protect a bed an they indicated i needed to mail back the cover which i did on 3/30/13. At the same time i contacted ************* and they sent an individual out to inspect the bed in April. He took pictures and indicated the mattress Indeed failed and sent the info the them. In April we received a response back from Protect a bed and they indicated " the Protector shows evidence of cracking" and this damage is due to heat damage! they blamed us for the cover not being washed or dried right. But sent us a NEW cover! We followed the exact instructions on the fabric tag.. At the first of May we then received a letter from Mattress fir. Indicating they would not cover it due to the stains on the mattress due to the Protect a bed failing. We went to the store to try and get this rectified and they had Protect a Bed Rep. On the phone which was very rude and nasty indicating they did not care and as far as they were concerned the was was closed! This is NOT except able. We paid over $2000 for a mattress with a warranty of 10 years that has failed in 6! If companies can NOT stand behind their products they should NOT be in business!! Product_Or_Service: Mattress/protect a bed cover Order_Number: XXXXXz4nkfz

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) A this time we are requesting a Total Replacement! We have a 10 year warranty and they need to stand behind their product PERIOD!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/15) */ The customer initially placed his claim on March 18, 2013. He stated that urine leaked through the Protector and went through to his mattress. As per our warranty, we immediately sent him out a replacement Protector along with instructions as to how to return the damaged one. Once we received it, the damaged Protector was tested and there were 36 visual areas of damage. We sent him a letter on April 2, 2013 saying that the Protector showed evidence of cracking on the laminate which is caused during the laundering process and is not a manufacturing defect. We did not receive a response to the letter so after 30 days the case was closed and the Protector was thrown out. Now, 6 months later, the customer tried to exchange the mattress because it had broken down. ************* denied the exchange because the mattress had a stain on it. The customer then came back to Protect-A-Bed and wanted us to clean his mattress. Unfortunately, too much time had passed and it would be difficult to get the stain out at this time. The customer should have disputed the letter shortly after receiving it. Instead, he waited for six months when he had an issue with the mattress and the store. This case is still closed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Jab Distributors, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart