Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Zeigler's Superior Kitchens and Bath, Inc.

Phone: (630) 290-2755 23900 W Industrial Dr S, Plainfield, IL 60585 http://www.superiorkitchenandbaths.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Zeigler's Superior Kitchens and Bath, Inc. is a general contractor that focuses on kitchen and bathroom remodeling projects. This business is located in Plainfield, IL, and serves the south-western Chicago suburbs including Romeoville, Lockport, Crest Hills, Fairmont, Joliet, Ingalls Park, Rockdale, Preston Heights, New Lenox, Orland Park, Lemont, Bolingbrook, Oswego, Plattville, Aurora, Naperville, Downers Grove, Lisle, Woodridge, Montgomery, and Darien. This company provides general as well as kitchen and bathroom remodeling services including carpentry, basement remodeling, cabinets, flooring, drywall and plaster, deck building, door and window installation and repair, painting contracting, countertops, plumbing fixtures and utility installation, and home improvement services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Zeigler's Superior Kitchens and Bath, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Zeigler's Superior Kitchens and Bath, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 02, 2009 Business started: 06/11/2003 Business started locally: 06/11/2003 Business incorporated 06/11/2003 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Troy Zeigler, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Troy Zeigler, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Drywall Contractors Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floor Coverings & Installation Hand Painting & Decorating Home Improvements Painting Contractors Painters - Commercial or Residential Deck Builders Plastering Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Cabinets Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household Contractors - Flooring Contractors-Drywall / Plastering Kitchen Remodeling Carpenters New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Zeigler's Superior Kitchens and Bath, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    23900 W Industrial Dr S

    Plainfield, IL 60585 (630) 290-2755

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This contractor took an insurance job on my house to repair flood damage.He received 90% of the money from the insurance company and did 10% of the work.The job at this point has been on going for 7mo...for a 6week projected job.At this point he has contacted an attorney stating monies are due to him and he will not be finishing the job until paid what he feels is due.The mortgage co. has gotten involved at this point and has explained ,the rest of the money will be paid at completion.We are currently at a stand still with my house unfinished and unable to live in.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for him to finish the job in the week he promised...2 weeks ago...

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/29) */ 12-29-13 RE: **** Contract Following is a breakdown of the way the payments have been made labeled Contract Installment Terms. From the very first payment on the job, the Client has been behind in payments. I did the remediation and demo up front and was not paid in a timely matter. As you can see, when I was it was for half the amount of the agreed upon amount. The project start- up phase of the contract was also not paid as agreed as they paid 11,600.00 as opposed to the agreed upon 16,000.00, however I started the job in good faith and was eventually paid the full amount but not in a timely manner. The next phase - the Drywall phase has been totally completed but as you can see I have only been paid 3,500.00 of the contracted 6,000.00. The flooring phase has been completed with all carpet installation done and re-finishing of the hardwood floors. The only flooring not complete is the tile in the basement bathroom, Laundry and entry way (however the entry was actually listed as on open item on the contract) which on the Installment sheet I have held back a reasonable amount of $650.00 for the tile work to be completed. To date I have received no payment for the flooring phase of the contract. There was an electrical change order, which I have also included, for electrical work not included in the original contract, but was requested to be added to the Scope of Work by *** ****. I have paid the Electrician out of my own monies and have yet to be reimbursed for this amount of 3,785.00. I have noted also the HVAC change order that has been sent to the Insurance Company for 4,500.00. No HVAC has been completed at this point due to non-payment. At this point the work left to be completed totals approximately $2,000.00 * basement bathroom tile as indicated above the vanity installation and reset the stool * Entry way landing (4 X5) tile as indicated above * Lower level bathroom needs tile and installation of vanity and toilet and tile shower floor * laundry area needs drywall but will not be able to be completed until replacement furnace is installed (which is the pending HVAC) *Install two closets in basement Note: all plumbing for the laundry and downstairs bathroom has been completely replaced. The job is at this point is 85% complete and I am currently owed $11,400.00. The approximate time to finish the job would be within the scope of one week. The ***** feel that I should finish the job for less money than agreed on and wait to see if the Insurance Company pays me what's owed which is not who I have the contract with and is not acceptable. The process of the pay works in such a way that the Insurance Company pays the Mortgage and the Mortgage pays the *****, however in other Insurance Company projects I have worked, the homeowners have understood that the contract is with them and they personally pay me on time and for the contracted amounts if the Insurance Company is behind and they wait to get reimbursed. The ***** clearly do not understand this process no matter how many times it has been gone over. I have been requesting them to refer to the contract for months. The last time I was paid any monies was on 10/8/2013. The ***** have repeatedly sent emails attacking me personally, and have most recently been sending Emails to my wife's personal email attacking and harassing her personally as well. She specifically asked Mrs. **** to send all email correspondence to the Business email but she continued to harass her to the point that she has had to block her email address. Mr. **** has also left a message on my voicemail threatening physical violence against me. Most recently I met with Mr. **** on Thursday December 12th and agreed to once again start work at the property in good faith with the promise of monies being paid within that week. The last day I did work at the residence was on December 19, 2013. I did not receive the monies as promised and when I went to the residence December 20, 2013 to check on the tile the ***** had changed the locks on the property denying my access to the residence or my tools left in the residence valuing over 3000.00. I will email copies of the itemized Contract Installment for your review showing the amounts owed as opposed to those paid as well as the ltter to the ***** from my attorney At this point I have been left no alternative but to turn the matter over to my attorney. I cannot be expected to continue to work at their residence when owed such a significant amount of money. Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX with any questions regarding the above matter. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do agree that **** did return to the house to do further work on the house.At NO TIME WAS THERE ANY'GOOD FAITH PAYMENT PROMISED'.**** and *** came to an agreement that **** would get the house 'move in ready' and get the remainder of the payouts from the mortgage company as promised when the job is done.The house is NOT done .**** keeps saying this is a contract between us and him,but he was fully aware and dealt with the insurance company from day one -this is an INSURANCE job and 3rd and 4th parties would be making the disbursements of the checks.I have NO control of how payments were/are made and he was told that from the start and still took the job. I also agree that there have been angry messages between all of us ...including ****,but at NO time have I slandered him.He has continued to lie to us,the Village of Romeoville,mortgage co,insur co,and others involved.At no time did we withold tools from him(he hadn't been at the house in months at the time we had the locks changed-after receiving a letter from his lawyer stating no contact and by advise of our mtg co-requested the keys returned and they were not).WE DO NOT OWE **** ANY MONEY....HE OWES US FOR WORK STILL NOT COMPLETED.If he doesn't feel the mtg co and insurance co has any involvement,why did he accept payments from them?He also signed a 'lein waiver' from my mtg co. **** was also responsible for getting all required permits that were needed for this job.He did not pull or even apply for any permits.He was told directly by the Village Manager and the Building Commisioner of Romeoville he NEEDED to get permits(I have all docs to prove that stmt).I also found out that **** had a lapse of his business insurance9which I also have proof of) for the time period of my job and has now been told by the Village of Romeoville that he is now at risk of having his license suspended.If **** was without insurance and didn't pull necessary permits for any point our contract can be deemed void.After receiving this information from the Village of Romeoville,i filed a complaint with the Village and also with The Attorney Generals Office.**** is trying to charge for electrical that he may/may not have been done,but never pulled permits for and bid was rejected by the insurance co.because **** isn't an electrician. Again money paid to ****:$14,700.,$7000.,$3500.,$2,000.$4265.(demo/insur co),$3351.(HVAC/insur co-not completed) $32,407.74-$500 deductible-$3011.00(deprecation check-only paid upon completion)=$29896.15 $29896.15-$27,200(already paid by mtg co)=$2696.15 due to **** UPON COMPLETION The only part that is a 'null' point is that **** is lieing about the amount received and the amount owed.NOONE has harassed him,the only communication by both parties is strictly trying to resolve this matter.He has NO intentions on returning to the project as he stated to Lou on 1/20/14. He has done nothing but drag his feet on this job and at no point did we agree to give him any money out of our pocket,but said he will get what is due to him by the mtg co and insur co. when the job is done. He did work without proper insurance,he didn't apply/pull permits,he didn't complete work he was paid for.This gave me no choice but to do what I needed to do to protect myself.The Attorney General is prepared to step in since its in 'black and white',the amount that has been paid and the amount of work that was completed for that amount along with the fact that he did not provide insurance coverage for the entire time of the project and didnt pull proper permits.The Village of Romeoville has also gotten involved.They will be following their own course of action as well.I am still prepared to let **** complete the project,if we can come to terms. NOTE FROM THE BBB: If this matter has been turned over to your attorney, please provide your attorney's name, address and telephone number so the consumer or his attorney make make contact. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/01/28) */ Current Counsel for Superior Kitchens and Baths, Inc. is ******* E ***** of ******* E ***** and Associates, LTD, 30 N. LaSalle St, Chicago, IL. His contact number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Please be advised that the Attorney contact information is additionaly available on documents submitted in Superior's first repsonse to the above complaint. Superior Kitchens and Baths, Inc. has been advised by said Counsel that all correspondence regarding this matter be handled through the office of Gregory E Kulis & Associates.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Zeigler's Superior Kitchens and Bath, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart