Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wilson Home Restorations

Phone: (847) 566-2300 Fax: (847) 566-5433 21212 W Commercial Dr, Mundelein, IL 60060 http://www.wilsonrestorations.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wilson Home Restorations meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wilson Home Restorations include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wilson Home Restorations
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1977 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department Of Financial And Professi...
320 W Washington St Fl 3, Springfield IL 62701
Phone Number: (800) 560-6420

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Wilson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Wilson, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Doors - Repair Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Siding Contractors Skylights Windows - Installation & Service Door Frames Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Storm Windows & Doors Windows Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Storm Windows & Doors - Repair Windows - Repairing Soffit & Fascia Contractor - Interior Trim New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)


Additional Locations

  • 21212 W Commercial Dr

    Mundelein, IL 60060

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a casement window in May of this year. June 13, 2014 they came out to install window, however, contractor ordered the wrong size. It was reordered and installed on July 17th, however, the thermopane lass in one section is defective, has scratches, marks between the glass, marks not on outside or inside of window. In addition, the glass was left filthy with putty smeared all over. Installers would not clean the window. When I went to clean it, I found the defects in the glass. I immediately notified Contractor and manufacturer, who told me that it was going to be replaced. As of this date, the glass has not been replaced. Contractor keeps telling me it's coming in, but it never does. I received an email last week from Contractor stating that glass will be installed October 2nd. Today I received an email from Contractor stating that glass came in and it was broken. Contractor keeps stalling and stalling and now it's almost three months that I am waiting for the glass to be replaced. Contractor was paid in full on July 17, 2014. I told him I would file a Complaint with BBB.

Desired Settlement: Replace defective glass in newly installed window.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/06) */ This complaint should not be directed toward Wilson Home Restorations, as the issues Mrs. ********* has experienced have been due to manufacturer product flaws. There is no way Wilson Home Restorations could have scratched in between the glass and we are not responsible for the issue of a scratch between the two pieces of glass in Mrs. *********'s picture window unit. We are responsible for the labor portion of the contract to install the one window in her laundry room, which was completed July 17, 2014. However, we have gone above and beyond to help Mrs. *********, as we ordered new glass for her each time, through the window manufacturer, **************** The 1st glass replacement arrived to us with a crack in the glass on August 11, 2014. We called Mrs. ********* and apologized for the inconvenience. We reordered a new thermopane glass unit that arrived to us on October 2, 2014. The new glass was not the correct size. On October 3, 2014 we ordered a third insulated glass unit with a delivery date of October 9, 2014, given to us from ***************. Our company is not responsible for replacing Mrs. *********'s glass. We are trying to help her and help ****************expedite the repair issue. We would have had this issue taken care of on October 2, 2014 had we received the correct size glass as we were installing windows right next door to Mrs. ********* for her neighbor. At this point, we recommend Mrs. ********* call ****************(XXX-XXX-XXXX) to deal directly with them in regards to this issue, if so desired; our service representative's name is ******. If Mrs. ********* would prefer another installation company to replace her glass, please ask for one. We have spent many hours on this repair at no charge to Mrs. ********* or **************** We are merely trying to do the right thing. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have notified ****************in August of the defective scratches in between the thermopane glass. Mr. *** ***** (the Contractor's salesperson), is the person who informed me that the glass would be replaced at no cost to me by the contractor who did the work as they are only the distributors and deal with a variety of contractors to do the work for them. The contractor should have inspected the window and all glass prior to installing my window. I expect that the glass should be sent by ******* to the Contractor and installed by Wilson Home. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The contractor gave me two date options, November 4 and November 6, but both dates I advised I have doctor appointments and requested Friday November 7. Apparently Friday does not work for the contractor. I have not been given a date for next week yet and I don't know why. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/11/17) */ 11/14/14 Glass installed 11/11/2014


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wilson Home Restorations
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)