Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Why Not Complete Home Improvements

Phone: (847) 297-0101 Fax: (847) 297-0109 1381 E Prairie Ave, Des Plaines, IL 60016 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.whynotcompletehomeimprovements.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We offer a broad variety of services including:

Aluminum & Vinyl Siding
Replacement Windows
Roofing
Seamless Gutters
Soffit & Fascia

 

Additionally, we also offer the following services:

We also offer:
Additions
Decks
Exterior Painting
Repairs of all kinds and sizes
Kitchens
Bathrooms
Interior Painting
Attic Insulation
Basements

 

 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Why Not Complete Home Improvements meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Why Not Complete Home Improvements include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Why Not Complete Home Improvements
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1977 in IL Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 02/27/2008 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Leonard L. Thorne, President/Owner Ms. Diane Thorne, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leonard L. Thorne, President/Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Gutters & Downspouts Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Deck - Repair Roof Decks Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Remodeling Services Soffit & Fascia Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Alternate Business Names
Why Not Complete Home Improvement Why Not Roofing, inc. d/b/a

Additional Locations

  • 1381 E Prairie Ave

    Des Plaines, IL 60016

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: whynotroofing.com whynotaluminum.com whynotcompletehomeimprovements.com **** ******* St, Des Plaines, IL XXXXX Mailing address: *** ******* St, Des Plaines IL XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX ***** came over to my home for a free estimate, but afterwards I found two things that were overlooked both on-site and in the signed contract (NO contract #): 1.) I found rotting wood on the 2nd floor back porch ceiling 2.) I recorded two major leakages on the gutter and on the downspout on my cell phone We did NOT receive any free estimate. ***** mailed us the contract with NO contract # for reference and we signed it and mailed it back without any payments. I called Lenny a week later to see when they would start working. He replied to call back 2 to 3 days and when I told him about the loopholes in the signed contract, he replied not to worry. A week later, I called Lenny again and he replied that there were two other projects pending. A week later, I called ***** again. He replied that there was heavy rain last week. A week later, I called the last time and Lenny sounded very angry for bothering and he replied that he and his crew will start work as soon and the weather clears. I waited two more weeks and never heard from him. I never received any memo from him.

Desired Settlement: I request that the contract that was signed be NULL and VOIDED effective immediately. I also request to CANCEL all work orders effective immediately and no further questions asked and I also request they NEVER put anything on my front yard including backyard and alley and roof. I also request NOT to pay anything. I also request that they should NEVER call us in the immediate future. I will keep a sharp eye for any forgery.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******, Pres/Owne Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@aol.com In response to what Mr ***** found that were overlooked: As far as the rotted wood on the 2nd floor back porch ceiling, it was stated in our contract to scrape, prime and paint the ceiling. At the time, the ceiling appeared to be in desperate need of scraping. If there was any rotted wood that needed to be changed, the time to do that would have been when we finished scraping. I did not notice any particularly rotted wood at that time. However, we would have not been able to tell the true condition of all of the wood until he was scraped and as a practice, we would have changed it because we never attempt to put roofing, siding or paint over rotted wood. But until we removed the surface materials of whatever we are working on, we have no way of telling how much of the wood is rotten or if there is rotten wood at all. I couldn't notice any major leakages in the gutter or the downspout because it was not raining that day. I did, however, tell him that when we installed his new roof, we would automatically clean out the gutter and seal the end caps for him. As far as his saying he did not receive a free estimate, I showed him the prices for all the individual work and gave him a total right on the spot. He told me that sounded fine and to send him a contract, which I did immediately. That is as free as estimate that I can give somebody. As far as not having a contract number, that is not something we need because we reference our jobs by the customers name and address. For him to reference the contract, all he has to do is say his name. As far as his not sending me any payments, that's fine because the contract states no payment is necessary until completion and satisfaction of the homeowner. (Who does that). As far as loopholes that he referred to, I have no idea what he is talking about unless he is referring to the contract number. As far as his calling me for a start date, I could not possibly have given him a start and an end date to complete a flat roof and paint a large outside ceiling 3 stories in the air at the end of October when we are faced with high winds, rain, cold and the possibility of snow looming in the forecast). I told him we would get there, weather permitting, for that kind of a job, as soon as possible. I also told him, as he stated, that I did have two large projects ahead of him. I also told him that in the third week of November, I would be gone for approximately nine days, to Joplin MO to work with Hurricane Sandy victims. We received his contract back in the mail on October 26th, 2013. In between that date and less than a month later, when he filed his complaint with the BBB, even if the weather was great, we would have had a hard time finishing it in that time frame. But the fact is, the weather was terrible for most of that month. If you add up all of the weeks he claims to have been calling me and waiting, the time span totals up to more time than there was between my receiving his signed contract and his contact with the BBB. Lastly, he said I sounded very angry on the phone when he called me the last time. That is anything but true. I tried very graciously to make him understand that you cannot use a torch (his roof was a torched down rubber application) in high, cold winds. The rubber will not stay flexible enough to use in those kind of temperatures. Neither the aluminum coating that would be applied onto the rubber roof, nor the paint that would be used for the underbelly of the ceiling that we were suppose to paint, would have any prayer of drying or bonding. If anything, I was trying to stop him from being angry. As far as resolution, I have no problem honoring his requests. My only request, is that because of the fact that we did not do any work here and truthfully handled this as professionally as humanly possible, serving his best interests, that this Complaint will be removed in its entirety. I have been in business for 37 years. I have worked very hard to please customers and to never have had a complaint, so to have a complaint listed for a job I never even did is ludicrous considering I have gotten through 37 years of never getting a complaint for the work I have done. Upon further request, I can easily furnish a multitude of references from BBB, Angie's List, my local community here in Des Plaines, where I furnish the labor for Neighbors Helping Neighbors as well as a host of other ministries we are involved in, including the Des Plaines food pantry, Meals on Wheels, etc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Why Not Complete Home Improvements
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)