Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

New Leaf Remodeling

Phone: (815) 904-6006 Fax: (815) 977-5740 6551 E Riverside Blvd  Ste 110, Rockford, IL 61114 http://www.newleafremodeling.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

New Leaf Remodeling is considered the best home remodeling company in Rockford, IL, with good reason. We are a professional construction firm with two civil engineers and a design consultant on staff and more than 70 years combined design and construction experience. We give a warranty on all work and labor and offer a design studio to plan your projects. Our fully insured personnel are friendly and respectful, treating your home with the care it deserves.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that New Leaf Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for New Leaf Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on New Leaf Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 2011 Business started: 03/07/2011 Business started locally: 03/07/2011 Business incorporated 03/07/2011 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Deborah Contarino, Owner Mr. John Knabe, General Manager Ms. Eva Kretschmar, Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Deborah Contarino, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. John Knabe, General Manager
Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Garage Builders Contractors - Gutters Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Contractor - Roofing Spray Foam Insulation Patio & Deck Builders Roof Decks Roof Structures Roofing Contractors Roof Repair Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing Roofing Service Consultants Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Overhead Garage Doors Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Doors - French Doors - Vinyl Doors - Industrial Doors - Commercial Doors - Rolling Doors - Cellar/Basement/Bilco Fireplaces Guards - Door & Window Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household Shower Doors & Enclosures Storm Windows & Doors Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Windows - Wells & Covers Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Windows - Egress Baths Fire & Water Damage Restoration Fire Damage Restoration Home Design & Planning Soffit & Fascia Fire Doors & Shutters Shower Pan Replacement Contractor - Flat Roof Fiberglass - Bathtubs & Showers Garage Doors & Openers Garage Doors - Commercial Basement Waterproofing Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Outdoor Kitchens Building Contractors Design & Build Contractor Building Restoration & Preservation Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Products & Services

New Leaf Remodeling sells the following brand(s): Cabinets, Exteriors, Flooring, Granite, Marble, Quartz, Roofing

New Leaf Remodeling offers the following product(s): Additions, and more, Finished Basements, Garages, Kitchens, Luxury Bathrooms

Method(s) of Payment
Check
Refund and Exchange Policy
All work by New Leaf Remodeling is insured and warrantied.
Service Area
We proudly serve Northern Illinois and Southern Wisconsin
Alternate Business Names
New Leaf Remodeling LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

New Leaf Remodeling has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6551 E Riverside Blvd
    Ste 110

    Rockford, IL 61114 (815) 904-6006

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. In your businesses statement you clearly state that you treat customers homes just like your own. Use runners, where contractors will be in and out during the construction, seal off any cabinets, return vents from dust etc. None of that was done from the very beginning which made this remodel for my basement a total nightmare. The first people in my home were the insulators to replace what was damaged. They didn't have enough to finish the job and left. I called **** who had to come and finish that. The dry waller that was used is when the main issues started. He didn't clean up after himself and left my entire basement a dry wall dust and dry board mess. Along with drywall mud all over my floors. He then has the nerve to ask me if I had anything he could remove the garbage with... Really?? He used my broom as he didn't come prepared and didn't bring his own. I had to baby sit him to make sure the job got down the right way. I even had to start mudding my own walls as he skipped over areas. He had to be called 3 times. I appreciate the new drywall I paid for, when it was installed it was broken and left that way, not fixed which would have been easy. Plus then I notice they swept up a portion of there mess in my utility room and hid it behind drywall. I had to shop vac, sweep, scrap every inch of my concrete floor to remove dry wall mud by hand, and mop my own basement as it wasn't done before the painters showed the next morning. **** called the dry waller and told me he would be here at 6 am to do the cleanup. I didn't believe it, so I went out and bought my own supplies and did the job myself. It's a good thing I did as the dry waller never showed up, nor returned ***** phone calls. Since nothing was taped off, or runners were put down. I have dry wall dust throughout my entire house since it went right into the AC and furnace thru the cold air returns in the basement. Not to mention my model case that I had custom built that was taped off, I have several thousand dollars worth of die cast model that you cannot replace or purchase as they were limited production runs and all numbered. Those are covered in dust inside and out. Your team **** and *** want to blow the dust out with only dust cans?? That isn't good enough for me. The models will be in the condition they were in before the construction started period. To top that off, the carpet installers broke my own personal property and denies it but they were the only ones in my home when it turned up broken. At first *** wanted to tape it up and put washers behind the basket ball hoop back board that was broken as a fix?? I don't think so. Even though its being replaced none of this should have happened to begin with if you really strived by what your statement says on your website. I was also told and to by what I signed agreeing to the contract that **** would be supervising and stopping in to check up on things. As well as setting up a time schedule for his workers to start and leave. That was never done either. I didn't know who was showing up, what time or how long they would stay. So I was forced to spend my wifes and my vacation time in my house. When im told someone will be taking a 45 minute lunch, I give them a hour just out of courtesy. 2 Hours later and then the worker shows back up. **** stopped by maybe 3 times, otherwise I cant count how many times I had to call him, *** or the store to complain on a daily basis about the work practices. Again not acceptable. This whole remodel was agreed to me and andy via the contract from start to finish, starting on Sep 2nd 2013 and to end Sep 11 2013. To this day of Sep 19th 2013 it is still not done... My utility room is still a mess and hasn't even been a thought in anyones mind to have that cleaned up except my own. I shouldn't have to keep telling them what to do as they should already know. Don't worry Ill clean that up myself just like I did my own basement.

Desired Settlement: None, I would like to speak with the owner regarding this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********* Member/ Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@newleafremodeling.com This BBB complaint came as somewhat of a surprise. As quality control and professionalism is of utmost importance to the growth of our company, PRIOR to this complaint the New Leaf expeditor along with the New Leaf Manager made a special visit to the home to address and resolve issues Mr. **** had with the work performed in his home. It was agreed by all that the drywallers did not follow the proper steps to prevent dust infiltration so it was offered that the duct work would be cleaned by New Leaf. Mr. ****'s complaint that his collectibles (cars) were dusty - we offered to have them cleaned even though, per the contract, the items should have been removed by the homeowner prior to work commencing. As for the damaged basketball backboard, again, something that Mr. **** should have moved before work started. The sub under the supervision of the owner, took it apart and moved so he could do his work. It was only later that Mr **** stated that it was damaged, so in an attempt to make Mr **** happy, our expeditor went online to find the approximately $36.00 replacement part to fix the damage. After all this was discussed and a course of action was in place working toward customer satisfaction it was our understanding that everything adequately addressed and under control Wrong- then the notice came. I immediately responded, by placing a call to Mr. **** and asked him why he felt he needed to do this? He said he wanted to speak with the owner. The dry wall people where discussed and I told him that they are sub contractors and not employees for New Leaf and although I have not had the degree of problems with them that Mr. **** had experienced I probably would no longer use them for our jobs. In our contract with the owner it states that all personal items are to be removed from the work area, Mr. **** spoke directly to the drywall people who agreed to cover the the car collections so the owner would not have to move them. This was not authorized by New Leaf, and it should be noted that most of the crew have difficulty with the English language. Again, because the owner did not move personal property out of the work area, in an attempt to be helpful the sub contractor made the mistake while under the supervision of the owner to disassemble and move a basketball backboard which was later claimed to be damaged. It is agreed that Mr. **** did have some legitimate concerns which is why we were in the process of working with him toward a common goal - customer satisfaction but I also feel that there are some unrealistic expectations in play here as well as conflicting accounts of what happened due to conversations between the homeowner and the subs direct. In the time since the BBB Report came in the homeowner has signed (written copy can be provided if requested) off that all work has been completed in a satisfactory manner with the exception of the duct work cleaning which I had put on hold until all other issues could be resolved Sincerely, ******* ********* Member/Owner of New Leaf Remodeling LLC . Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did accept that the paint work was completed as well as the reconstruction. But the mess left behind for me to clean up and my die cast models that I was promised by **** to have cleaned is still not done! A job that was supposed to be done on the 11th of September just got done on the 9th of October. There is a problem with making promises and not complying with that. In my eyes tere still are things that are left un done. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/10) */ To whom it may concern: We have attached the "Acceptance of Work Performed" form that was signed by the customer on September 30th. Our initial response to this complaint was submitted after we received the attached sign-off, so the customer's rejection of our response is confusing. He says that things are not completed, but did sign the acceptance form that states work was completed in a satisfactory manner and that no other work is needed to complete the project per our contract. We completed the duct cleaning work yesterday as scheduled. The customer signed paperwork at that appointment that this work was completed in a satisfactory manner. We apologize and have apologized for the issues that took place, but we cannot undo the past. We have moved forward and corrected any issues. Despite what the customer has written to the BBB, we have addressed all of the issues as shown by the written/signed forms. It is our position that nothing else can/needs to be done. Lastly, the customer has requested the final invoice for the job, so he could submit that to his insurance company for payment. We have completed this request, as well. Sincerely, **** ***** Manager New Leaf Remodeling


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on New Leaf Remodeling
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart