BBB Accredited Business since

National Windows, Siding, Roofing, Inc.

Phone: (630) 969-9808 Fax: (630) 969-4808 560 W Taylor Rd, Romeoville, IL 60446

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National Windows, Siding, Roofing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for National Windows, Siding, Roofing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on National Windows, Siding, Roofing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 29, 2010 Business started: 02/01/2000 Business started locally: 02/01/2000 Business incorporated 07/07/2010 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity


Business Management
Lisa Arteaga, Office Manager Ms. Amanda Arnoni, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Lisa Arteaga, Office Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Contractors - General Drywall Taping and Texturing Gutters & Downspouts Painting Contractors Commercial Painting Contractor Roofing Contractors Contractors - Framing Siding Contractors Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Doors - Vinyl Storm Windows & Doors Windows Storm Windows & Doors - Repair Garage Doors & Openers Contractors-Drywall / Plastering New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 5 replacement windows for my home from National on 10/10/2013. Since then, I have had numerous issues regarding the installation not being completed in a timely manner and and also the quality of the product and services such as the staining of the wood. The staining was not done properly and had to be redone. But since the raw wood had already been stained improperly it was extremely difficult to remove all the stain as alot of the stain had already soaked into the wood. It was very difficult to remove the first coat of stain completely resulting in the second application to not look right. In many areas, the staining looks so bad that I cannot accept it. The windows look absolutely horrible. National replaced four of the five windows due to poor quality of the windows. Even now, after 2 replacements I still continue to have significant quality issues with the windows, there has been no improvement. For example, the sliding glass doors do not work properly and several of the parts of the sliding glass doors are loose and coming off. Every time that National has tried to rectify a situation it only gets worse and the entire project has not been resolved to my satisfaction. This has been going on for about 10 months now to no resolution. I am left with windows that have significant quality issues. I would like a full refund so that I am to purchase new windows from a more reputable company and be assured that I have a quality product in my home. I cannot accept these windows that National has installed.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of all monies regarding the 5 windows from National. I have already paid them a total of $8475.00. They are billing the remainder in the amount of $4475.00, for a total of $12950.00. The original amount billed was $13950.00. They have since given me a $1000.00 discount but due to the severe issues I would like a full refund so that I can go with a reputable company and replace these windows. I have emailed to you on 07/17/14 the original invoice that I received from National.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/30) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Office Mgr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** The customer is correct that there were some manufacturing issues with respect to the windows installed. The manufacturer has stood by their product and replaced the windows and sliding door parts. The customer selected the stain for the window, which was applied in a workmanlike manner. After the application the customer did not like the stain on the windows. The Company has diligently addressed all legitimate warranty and punch list items for the customer. It was after the Company demanded the final payment of the outstanding balance of her invoice of $5,475.00, did the customer raise additional issues. In an effort to settle this matter, the Company agreed to reduce the invoice by $1,000.00 for payment of the balance. The reduced payment was not made and the Company was forced to retain an attorney for collection purposes. The attorney prepared and forwarded a demand. The present complaint was filed shortly thereafter. Therefore, the prior settlement offer is withdrawn and the Company is demanding payment in full of all amounts owed, interest and attorney's fees and costs associated with filing a suit to enforce the Contract. We have emails from her requesting a specific painter. We hired the painter she requested. I have his statement that she was satisfied with his work upon completion. I also have over 40 pages of emails between her and our company. Please let me know what else you need. A few things that also should be noted are that their homeowners association required them to get the replacement windows. They homeowners thought the association was going to pay for them and they were not happy when they found out the homeowners were responsible for the windows themselves. They never wanted to have to pay for them. Ms. ***** met with the Association representative and they said it looked satisfactory as did the project engineer. Also, she is the next door neighbor of your case #XXXXXXXX which we are responding to under a separate file. We were told by some homeowners that they tried to get other homeowners to join them for a class action suit but no one would join them. Please let me know if I can provide any other information to you regarding this case. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have had numerous issues with the windows that have not been resolved. Almost all of the windows were replaced for a second time due to issues with the quality of the windows by National. Even with replacing the windows a second time did not increase the quality of the windows. The low quality of the windows remained the same. Currently, on one of the slider panels, the material where the slider door closes to the frame is already coming off (weather stripping). Also, both sliders do not lock smoothly and I have to jiggle and move the door a certain way to get them to lock properly. One of the main issues is that the staining of the wood was done in my home and not in the factory so that the staining could be done in a controlled environment. I was not asked what color of stain was available and National initially sent out a guy who just applied the stain without preparing the wood first, there was no sanding done, there was only one coat of stain applied - a one in one product (stain and polyureathane). Since the stain was not applied correctly, National agreed for someone else to try to fix it. I did not know of anyone so I had the guy who was painting the trim for my neighbor look at the staining. He said that it was done improperly and that he would try to remove the stain but could not guarantee that all of the stain could be removed since the stain had absorbed into the wood and since there are so many angles and crevices that it would be very difficult to ensure that all the initial stain could be removed. While the initial stain was being removed and another stain applied, it was very evident that there were significant areas where there are streaks because the original stain was still on. The guy who was doing this stated to me that it is very difficult to remove all of the stain to where the second stain will be applied correctly to the wood. He even tried shaving off some of the wood in some areas to no avail. The staining is very uneven on all windows. The wood looks very splotchy on all windows. Because the stain was not applied correctly in the first place it has virtually ruined the wood on all the windows. There are nails and staples in the windows where I had asked many times if putty was going to be used to cover it up and I was told that it would be done. However, it was never done so the nail holes and staple holes are very visible. Since the quality of the windows are very poor and again the quality did not change when National replaced my windows for the second time. Since the windows are so bad I am in the process of having to replace all of my windows with another company who has a very good reputation of quality work. If I believed and thought that these windows that were installed by National were of good quality I would not be replacing them with another company. The current windows look so bad that it effects my entire home since the windows are large such as the bow window and 2 slider panels. At the minimum, I should not have to pay the remaining amount. This project with National took over 6 months to complete whereas the company I am going with now the whole project with installation will be completed within 6 weeks. Over 6 months to complete a window replacement project should not take over 6 months to complete. I am asking for a full refund but at a minimum should not have to pay the remaining amount due to the unresolved issues. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/08/20) */ We have tried to work with Ms.*****, we offered her a discount and she refused. She filed this case as a direct result of the fact that we sent her to collection. We have been advised by our Attorney Mr. **** ****** (XXX) XXX-XXXX, to refer all correspondence to him. Thank you for your attention to this matter. NOTE FROM THE BBB: As the business has referred this matter to their attorney we recommend that you or your attorney make contact with the attorney. As there is nothing further that the BBB can do and because the attorneys will reach some sort of resolution, we are judging your complaint resolved and closing it. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like to say that I do not know where National received information that I have retained an attorney. I have not retained an attorney. If I had done so, then National would have received a letter from an attorney advising them that they have been retained by me. National should be expected to provide a copy of any such letter from an attorney that they are saying I have retained. Since I have not retained an attorney then they will not be able to provide any such letter to confirm their allegation. I also, never refused National's offer for a discount as I still continue to have outstanding issues which are still not resolved. Since the staining was not done properly, all of the current windows cannot be fixed since the stain was applied incorrectly and cannot be removed completely. This remains an issue that is not being resolved by National. I just want to point out that the management company and board of directors for the Villa Olivia Association informed the homeowners just 2 weeks ago that Waldman Engineering who has been overseeing the siding project for the entire townhome complex submitted to National a 32 page document outlining all of the outstanding issues that National needs to resolve before they receive their final payment for the siding project. The siding that National put up for the complex was completed over 6 months ago and there are still a significant amount of outstanding issues that are not being addressed by National. I realize that this is a separate project from the windows however I wanted to point this out because National is not resolving any of the outstanding issues for the siding project as well as my complaint regarding the windows. This is important to know because National has shown their reluctance and refusal to resolve any issues. There are so many issues and complaints in regards to the windows as well as to the siding project. I disagree that this case has been resolved as the outstanding issues for the windows that National installed in my home have not been resolved. I am in the process of having Pella replace all of the windows that National installed due to the signicant poor quality and staining. I would not go to this extent to have all of the windows replaced if I was completely satisfied with the quality and service provided by National. Thank you, ***** *****

8/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** ***** and I am helping my father try to rectify this issue. National windows was hired to replace several windows, trim and paint the finished product. The workmanship is horrible. They have been to my house numerous times and we still have several outstanding issues. On Sunday, July 13, XXXX X:XX PM, **** ***** <*************> wrote: On Sunday, July 13, XXXX X:XX PM, **** ***** <*************> wrote: On Sunday, July 13, XXXX X:XX PM, **** ***** <*************> wrote: On Sunday, July 13, XXXX X:XX AM, **** ***** <*************> wrote: **** at el, It has come to my attention that there are several remaining issues with my windows. I have looked at the windows and I cannot accept the workmanship. The slider window downstairs looks like I have lived here for 50 years. When they fixed the trim they only fixed it partially. The staples go half way up my window and then stops. The entire window should have been fixed. In addition the trim does not line up in the corners (mitering). There are several chips in the wood that is unacceptable. Also, the windows that were painted are now chipping. The entire window is chipping. The patio door STILL doesn't slide correctly. I need these windows replaced. The workmanship on these windows is awful and unacceptable. The bay window has been painted shut!!! There are chips all over it as well. And the paint job is horrific and the paint is now chipping. In addition, the window has many chips in the grain. The seam on this window and ALL others is horrible looking. Lastly, all of the windows have not been painted evenly. We need these issues resolved ASAP as it is been well over a year and nothing has gotten better!! The weather is not a good enough excuse when you are talking over a year to get this job done. I have filed a complaint with the BBB in hopes that they might assist me in bringing this issue to resolution. In conclusion, I would like a FULL refund of all monies and would like to take my business somewhere else to get professional work done. I am willing to coordinate with National on the instillation of the new windows. Cordially, ****** C ***** CC: ******* ********** BBB ACM

Desired Settlement: The total bill is 12000.00 and we have paid 6000.00. We would like a full refund and no other monies due.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Office Mana Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** The Company disputes the allegations set forth in the daughter of our customer's letter. The windows installed at the customer's residence were installed in a workmanlike manner pursuant to a written contract. The Company has responded to a number of punch list items and warranty items and obtained a sign off from customer's daughter as the work being performed and accepted. She was told by the painters not to close the windows for a minimum of 4 - 6 hours and she closed them before that time and now complains the window was painted shut. She refuses to allow the serviceman to have access to the inside of the home. When the Inspector from the Bartlett building Department went to her home she refused him also. She always has an excuse that she does not feel well, her daughter is not well, she is packing for vacation, etc.. I have attached a copy of the inspectors email as well as the service report from window manufacturer representative who does the warranty work on the windows. As you can see the windows did pass *** inspection of the Building Department and the project engineer. After numerous demands for payment for the work, the customer's daughter sided with another customer who is the next door neighbor of hers, and refused to make the final payment. The Company retained an attorney to collect the past due amounts, and the customer has responded to the collection actions with the complaint to the BBB. They have also reported us to their charge card company to try to recover their down payment by stating that they paid for work that was never completed. The Company intends to file suit for the collection of the past due balance. I have attached the emails from the building inspector stating the windows passed *********** the service tickets where she signed off on all the repairs, and her email to us refusing any more service. Please contact me if you are in need of any more documentation. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all..the response from **** was completely unprofessional and full of tall tales. It is an untrue fact that we received a final bill. We HAVE NOT received any type of final bill and certainly no collection fees. To prove how unprofessional the work is I have pictures showing the issues. As far as the windows being painted shut I had nothing to do with that.. the painter closed the windows not me.As for the building inspector I DID NOT refuse him. He asked me did I want him to look at the windows or would I prefer to make an appointment. I have since made that appointment.As far as excuses go I had called in ONE time due to being sick.. that is it. I have chosen not to do business with them until the BBB discrepancy is put to rest. In addition, yesterday I called ****** (the president) and she had NO knowledge this was even going on. She assured me as soon as she returns to work next Monday she will be looking into both Donna Askins case and mine. The bottom line here is the workmanship is shotty at best. We still request a full refund for all the issues and inconvenieces of no shows and instead of guarentee it would be finished in 4 weeks its been almost 1 year. That in itself should be grounds enough for a full refund. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/19) */ We have attempted to work with this customer and this complaint is the direct result of her being referred to collection for non-payment. She is calling our office, she is calling the owner of the company at home on a Sunday. The owner has been on sick leave since her surgery. We have sent emails to this customer to inform her that she must contact our Atty. John Cooney (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service