BBB Accredited Business since

Monarch Contract Builders, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 622-7411 Fax: (888) 622-7411 122 Wesley Ave STE 1, Oak Park, IL 60302 http://www.monarchcontract.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Monarch Contract Builders, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Monarch Contract Builders, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Monarch Contract Builders, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 02, 2008 Business started: 10/01/1994 Business started locally: 10/01/1994 Business incorporated 06/17/2008 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Long, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Long, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Contractor - Insulation Tuck Pointing Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Sheet Metal Work Post-Construction Clean Up Kitchen Remodeling Building Restoration & Preservation Carpenters New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)


Additional Locations

  • 122 Wesley Ave STE 1

    Oak Park, IL 60302

  • 154 N. Euclid

    Oak Park, IL 60302 (888) 622-7411

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2015 Delivery Issues
3/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First, the tile floor installation in my bathroom was botched resulting in uneven gaps between tiles. Monarch agreed to replace floor and asked me to pick up the new materials, but did not reimburse me the $357.85 I paid when getting the materials. The workmen installing the new floor again botched the floor leaving it no better than before. A third workman with better skills managed to do the job right. Second, Monarch reinstalled toilet and sink after the floor was fixed, but the sink began to leak. Monarch brought in a plumber to fix it, who discovered that there was no solid connection between the trap and stand pipe. Instead, the gap was filled in with caulking, which caused the leak. It was also discovered that the nipple into the stand pipe was damaged and could no longer be used. The re-installers claimed that was the way they found it. At that point, Monarch called the plumber who was laying on the floor with a blowtorch cleaning out the old lead so he could install a new nipple and they refused to pay. I had no choice but to pay their plumber $450 myself. It may be true that the second re-installers found the damage after the second removal, but I know for a fact the original plumbing was intact because I installed it myself 15 years earlier. At that time there was a solid connection. If there was damage to the nipple, it was done during the first removal by Monarch, which would explain why the second re-installers claimed they found it that way. Lastly, the second removal and/or re-installation, the back of the bathroom vanity was broken and sticks out about an inch from the wall to which there is no solid connection. The cabinet costs $362.11. I have not replaced it yet, but I can't leave it the way it is. That puts me out a total of $1,169.96, not including what I would have to pay to get the vanity installed correctly.

Desired Settlement: $1,169.96 I don't ever want any Monarch workers in my house again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/06) */ The issue listed was taken care of several months after the contract. The damages were a direct result to the owner's actions. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I inspected the original tile work, the gaps in the seams were not apparent from where I stood in the doorway. Why did I look only from the doorway? Mr. **** was standing in the east side, and ******** one of the workers, was standing in the bathroom. It would have seemed rude to move them both out of the way so I could inspect the work more closely. I like the guys; they wouldn't do this to me, right? I hesitated for a moment, and all was lost. It wasn't until later, when standing on the other side of the bathroom, that the gaps leapt out and it was obvious the tile setting was not done in a workmanlike manner. It was a trick of perspective. I didn't want to say anything at first, because my wife was sick to death of the whole process. We were told at the start of the job that the work would take about 6 weeks. It wound up taking 5 months, and that's with allowing workers in during the evenings and other odd times. I kept mum hoping I'd get used to it, but I never did. Eventually my wife said something about it bothering her as well. It was at that point I called Mr. **** back to look at the work, and he agreed it was poorly done. The damage to the sink stand pipe nipple was done during the removal of the sink when the work was originally done. It was at that point that Monarch workers reconnected the plumbing using only caulk to make the connection between the pipe and the nipple. I was not aware of this since they masked the connection with a large amount of caulk. The damage to the vanity was done in the second removal when the botched tile job had to be replaced. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2015/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The work was not professional, I got stung for over $1,100. We keep writing back and forth, but it appears that it is going nowhere. The method of Monarch is simply to grind the customer down and assume they'll just give up and go away. As the work dragged on for 5 months my wife and I were exhausted with the whole process and just wanted it to end. Why they haven't gotten any bad reviews to date is a mystery to me. I am not at all satisfied with the quality or the work or with Monarch's failure to rectify their mistakes in a good faith manner. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2015/02/17) */ Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX 1 message ******* **** <******@monarchcontract.com> Mon, Feb 16, 2015 at 3:52 PM To: *******@chicago.bbb.org Hi, We are missing the contract for this client could you please get a copy. Thanks PC **** Founder Monarch Contract Builders ************ PC **** Founder Monarch Contract Builders Direct # ************ Office/Fax# ************ NOTE FROM THE BBB: As requested by the business, please provide a copy of your contact (all pages). That copy may be attached to your next response or may be faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois