BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1999

Mike's Construction, Inc.

Phone: (773) 777-7677Fax: (773) 777-71235409 W. Addison St., ChicagoIL 60641-3203 Send email to Mike's Construction, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1999

BBB has determined that Mike's Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Mike's Construction, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 3 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Mike's Construction, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mike's Construction, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Originally had bathroom faucet installed as part of bathroom update on 6-26-2014. Faucet plumbing was leaking underneath the sink and I asked that it be repaired. I did this multiple times in 4-5 weeks and Mikes Construction did come out multiple times to fix the leak. Shortly after they left each time, I noticed the leak was still there. I have called now 3 days in a row to the owner, Mike ******, and just getting voicemail with no call back. On Wednesday, July 30, 2014, I did leave a voice mail that day advising Mike ****** that if I did not get a call back on Thursday X-XX-XXXX and have the faucet leak fixed 100%, I was contacting the BBB with a complaint.

Desired Settlement
I am not seeking a monetary settlement from Mikes Construction unless they cannot fix the repair .. I want the plumbing leak repaired. If they do not fix the leak in faucet, I am seeking settlement to get money to have leak fixed by qualified technician.
Approximately $250.00.

Business Response
We accept the monetary settlement in the amount of $250.00.

09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In March of 2013 Mike's Construction completed renovations on my apartment. Shortly after issues arose due to the construction. The light in the kitchen and downstairs closet do not work on a consistent basis. The glass shower door installed leaks water onto the bathroom floor. Streaks formed where bookshelves were removed and new drywall put up to help create a breakfast bar. There are chips in some of the wood used to complete work in the kitchen. I contacted ***** my contractor, via e-mail in the beginning of May 2013 regarding this matter and attached pictures to show the damage. Since then I have written numerous e-mails and called to discuss this matter. **** came to look at the damage in June 2013 and said he would get back to me with a date for the repairs. He has yet to do so and has ignored my last e-mail. I took out a loan through the Chicago Housing Authority to pay for the renovations so he has already been paid about $16,000 for his work. According to the Chicago Housing Authority contract I have a 1 year warranty that includes labor and materials if issues due to the construction occur.

Desired Settlement
The issues that arose due to the renovations need to be repaired. These include fixing of the electrical issue in the kitchen and closet, repainting and/or putting up new drywall under the breakfast bar, replacing the pieces in the kitchen that have chipped wood, and fixing the leak in the bathroom due to the shower door.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********************@gmail.com
9/9/2013


Miss ***** ******
Better Business Bureau
330 N Wabash Ave Suite 2006
Chicago, IL XXXXX


RE: case # ********* ****** ********


Miss *******

We have received your fax regarding Miss ****** *********
First of all I'd like to inform you that all of the problems are fixed. Our employee was in Miss ******** apartment on Friday 9/6/2013 to work on those issues. They were minor problems and we tried to schedule it with Miss ******** a couple of times before but every time we could send somebody, she didn't want us to do it - the days didn't work for her. It's our busiest season and many clients were scheduled many weeks ahead, which means that we just couldn't send our employee somewhere else at any day or time we want. Yes, of course, Miss ******** got a 1 year warranty and nobody questions that. The problem was only to schedule the time for the repairs that would be convenient for everyone. We exchanged a couple of emails and telephone conversations regarding that. In the meantime I had to go out of town (out of the country) for a couple of weeks and I was not able to get or respond to any calls because I don't have international roaming on my cell phone. I stayed at a place where there was no internet access. It probably also caused some miscommunication problem but it wasn't intentional. I apologize for any inconvenience.
As stated above, we managed to schedule the repairs and we did the work last Friday.


Sincerely,
**** ******
President


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Kitchen Remodeling, Electricians, Excavating Contractors, Home Improvements, Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/22/1999Business started: 07/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph 9th Fl
Chicago, IL60601-3218
(312) 814-4500
http://www.idfpr.com

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1981, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Piatek (President/Owner)Ms. Camie Sak (Office Assistant)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Kitchen Remodeling, Electricians, Excavating Contractors, Home Improvements, Roofing Contractors

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mike's Construction, Inc.

5409 W. Addison St.

Chicago, IL 60641-3203

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5409 W. Addison St. 

    Chicago, IL 60641-3203

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mike's Construction, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

Home Remodeling Contractors
Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.