Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mike's Construction, Inc.

Phone: (773) 777-7677 Fax: (773) 777-7123 5409 W. Addison St., Chicago, IL 60641

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mike's Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mike's Construction, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 1999 Business started: 07/01/1993 Business started locally: 07/01/1993 Business incorporated 07/01/1981 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Piatek, President/Owner Ms. Lidia Wilkowski, Office Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Piatek, President/Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Electricians Excavating Contractors Home Improvements Roofing Contractors Kitchen Remodeling New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Additional Locations

  • 5409 W. Addison St.

    Chicago, IL 60641


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Mike's Construction company to paint my porch. They put siding on my home. On the garage there is a small hole where the siding did not go over. I have called Manny repeatedly to ask him to come out before it gets too cold to paint the porch and fix the garage. I have not heard from him and the company has been paid.

Desired Settlement: Come out and paint the porch and fix the garage.

Business Response:

Mike's Construction, Inc. did a siding job for Mrs. *****, on ***** ******** **. in Country Club Hills in early January 2015. The village inspection passed it on January 6, 2015.

Due to the Winter weather conditions we were unable to do the exterior painting of the porch. After the Winter we discussed with Mrs. ***** the painting of the porch in the Fall as we were in the peak of the season and very busy. She agreed. We are in the Fall now and we are ready to do this painting job. We will be contacting Mrs. ***** regarding the time of doing it. We are not sure when we will do it as Mrs. ***** is not keeping in touch with our office.

Mrs. ***** contacted us in the summer to correct some other issues. Our crew did it. Mrs. ***** was home at this time and talked to the crew members. Mrs. ***** never mentioned the small hole on the garage at that time. Our office never received a phone call from Mrs. ***** regarding this issue. Our office emailed Mrs. ***** on November 4, 2015 asking her to email us the picture of the hole so we have an idea how to approach it. Mrs. ***** never responded to us.

Thank you.

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sidewalk was part of a larger home improvement project which the company die. It included new roof,new windows and the sidewalk. According to their contract, labor is guaranteed for 1 year. On Oct.17, 2014, the work was completed and I made final payment on the entire project which totaled $13,000. At that time I told ***** ***** *************** of the company) that I thought there was a low spot. He said to keep an eye on it and let him know. On Nov. 1,2014 I called and told him there was a low spot and it did not drain properly. He said he would send out the concrete guys; they never came. Two weeks later I called him again and left a message, followed by several more messages as I got no response. In January I started calling the office, leaving messages, but again, no response. Once I talked to the receptionist who said she would pass ** the information, but I still got response. On April 9,2015 I called again. ***** came to my house, saw the puddle as it was raining, took some measurements and said it would be done "next week," i.e.April 13-17. Three more weeks went by. I called the office again on April 28 and the receptionist assured me it would be done within the next 7 days, but it still has not been done and it is now May 6, 2015.

Desired Settlement: I want them to take and redo, replace the area low spot so that I do not have to cross through a big puddle every time it rains.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/05/18) */ Contact Name and Title: Mrs. *********- Office Ma Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******************** Our service work for a project finished in October 2014 at **** ** ******** and scheduled for the week of April 13th has been delayed due to the rainy weather. When Mrs. ****** called on April 28th the Office Manager told her that the job will be done within 2 weeks (not 7 days as Mrs. ****** stated). Again due to the rain the work was postponed. The Office Manager communicated with Mrs. ****** few times calling her but was unable to talk to her. The detailed voice message has been left each time the call was made giving the explanation and asking for a call if Mrs. ****** wasn't happy with something. Finally the job has been finished on May 16th. The Office Manager called Mrs. ****** on Monday, May 18 to ask if everything was done to her satisfaction. Mrs. ****** said that the job was finished but due to lack of rain she is not able to see if the problem of low spot and standing water has been corrected. The office Manager told Mrs. ****** that Mike's Construction, Inc. will call her after the next rain to ask if the issue was resolved. Mike's Construction, Inc. is a highly reputable company that is willing to make any corrections or repairs to project. However since the problem occurred during the winter months, we were unable to service the customer sooner. Because of the rainy weather we had for the past few weeks, we finally had the opportunity to do the job on Saturday May 16th.

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Originally had bathroom faucet installed as part of bathroom update on 6-26-2014. Faucet plumbing was leaking underneath the sink and I asked that it be repaired. I did this multiple times in 4-5 weeks and Mikes Construction did come out multiple times to fix the leak. Shortly after they left each time, I noticed the leak was still there. I have called now 3 days in a row to the owner, Mike ******, and just getting voicemail with no call back. On Wednesday, July 30, 2014, I did leave a voice mail that day advising Mike ****** that if I did not get a call back on Thursday X-XX-XXXX and have the faucet leak fixed 100%, I was contacting the BBB with a complaint.

Desired Settlement: I am not seeking a monetary settlement from Mikes Construction unless they cannot fix the repair .. I want the plumbing leak repaired. If they do not fix the leak in faucet, I am seeking settlement to get money to have leak fixed by qualified technician. Approximately $250.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/11) */ We accept the monetary settlement in the amount of $250.00.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mike's Construction, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)