BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2007

Legend Exteriors & Construction, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (630) 830-9600Fax: (630) 618-3727880 West Lake St Ste 802, RoselleIL 60172-2899 Send email to Legend Exteriors & Construction, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2007

BBB has determined that Legend Exteriors & Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Legend Exteriors & Construction, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Legend Exteriors & Construction, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Neighbors had recommended ***** ***** from Legend Exterior to replace our damaged siding due to the May 2014 hail storm. We had minimal damage compared to many homeowners in our neighborhood so many contractors were too busy to complete the work. I spoke with ***** in September of 2014. He said that he would help us because many of my neighbors had used his services and did not want to turn away business. He said he would look into getting a sample of our siding from the warehouse. Following that conversation at my home, I had to follow with ***** approximately 3-4 weeks later to see if he was still interested in doing the work. On October 31, 2014, he met with my husband and took a piece of our siding to match at the warehouse. Again, he did not follow-up. I called at the end of November. ***** finally replied in December and said he had been on vacation. I asked for a sample of the siding. After that conversation, he dropped a sample booklet at our home without our knowledge - again, no communication. I found the booklet when I went to get packages that had been delivered to our front door. Within a few days of finding the sample booklet, I called Scott and left a message telling him what siding we would like and asked him to call me back. Again, he did not respond. I left a message for ***** on January 20,2015, when I noticed that the piece of siding he removed had not been replaced and was disappointed in the lack of communication. We wanted the piece of siding to be replaced, and I would return his sample booklet when he replace our siding. He returned my phone call and left a message saying that he had broken the piece of siding he took and that he would replace it at no cost to us. He said I could call him back or text him with a response. I sent him a text on January 20,1015, stating that we wanted the siding replaced at no cost with a match to our siding and that I would return the sample booklet to him when he came to fix the siding. I asked to him to contact me with a time a date. As of January 29, 2015, ***** ***** has not responded. On or around January 22, 2015, I contacted the main number for Legend and left a message for *** **** (CEO) to please call me. Again, as of today, January 29, 2015, no on has contacted me. The lack of communication and extremely poor customer service is truly a disappointment. ***** did not originally tell us he broke the siding until we asked him to return it, and his, as well as *** ****'s lack of communication, has led to a very frustrating customer service experience.

Desired Settlement
Legend Exteriors needs to replace the piece of siding that was broken by ***** ***** upon removal.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****
Contact Email: **************@gmail.com

I'm sorry for your frustration *******, I did not receive your message. This is our off season so sometimes a call may get lost in the shuffle as my secretary was out of town also.

I wish you would have tried calling again or better yet emailing me directly before filing a complaint as there is an email contact for me on both our website and the BBB website.

I looked in our records and do not show you as one of our customers. Do you have a contract with our company or did you give us any sort of payment? Or did ***** more or less do what he could to try and help locate it for you, couldn't find it and was just taking care of this replacement for you for free? And he just didn't communicate with you as good as he could have? I just want to make sure to get the facts straight. Let me talk with Scott and I will get back to you with how we can try and resolve this.

NOTE FROM THE BBB:
Please provide a copy of your contact or invoice for our review. That copy may be attached to your next response or may be faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX.

***** ******
Assistant Manager - Home Services
BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***:

Based on your response to the BBB, it doesn't appear you fully understand the situation, so I'll do my best to explain it once again.

After the hail storm this summer (May 2014), your company replaced the roofs and siding for several of our neighbors. Based on their recommendation, I called ***** in September 2014. At that time, Scott came out and surveyed the damage. He told me that he would get back to me with an estimate and check the warehouse for the siding. After several attempts to contact *****, he finally got back to me on October 31st. At that time, ***** said he needed to see if the warehouse had a matching color, so asked if he could take a sample of our siding off our house so that he could take it to the warehouse. Based on the assumption that the siding would be replaced once the work was done, we agreed. On October 31, 2014, ***** took a piece of our siding.

After taking the siding, we did not hear back from *****. I started calling him near the end of November (a month later) and he finally replied in December. A few days after that, Scott dropped of a sample book with several pieces of sample siding on our doorstep of our front door without any notice or any note. He did not replace or return the siding he took from our house.

After receiving the sample book, I called ***** and left a message letting him know that one of the siding colors appeared to match. He did not respond.

At this point, we decided that we would find another contractor since it was nearly impossible to get ***** to respond, let alone do the work. Therefore, on January 20, 2015, I sent a message to Scott and asked him to return the piece of siding he had taken off our house nearly 3 months earlier. He responded to that message saying that he had broken the piece of siding. He told me, however, that he would replace it at no cost to us, which I asked him to do on January 20th. Once again, Scott did not respond. Given that ***** was not responding, I attempted to contact your main office to see if we could resolve the issue but did not receive a response there either.

So, to answer your questions, we don't have a contract with your company because ***** never even gave us a quote, let alone a contract to sign. He did, however, take a piece of siding from our house and failed to replace it. As we learned later, that piece of siding is now broken and can't simply be put back.

At this point, we don't want your company to fix the original damage from the hail storm. All we want is our piece of siding back and re-installed free of cost to us. We will hire another company to fix the other damage we contacted your company about in the first place.

Hopefully this is clear. Until the siding is replaced, we will pursue the complaint through the BBB.



Final Business Response
Sorry for your frustration, I will get it resolved for you. I heard from ***** about this and I just wanted to make sure you understand his side of the situation also. He told me that he was trying to help you as you were having trouble with getting it done elsewhere, it was more of a favor. He took a piece of your siding to try and find you a match, and after driving to multiple supply houses, he finally did. He left you the sample match information. The reason it broke when he removed it was because it was cold out so the siding was brittle. Same with the reason he hasn't replaced it for you yet, to avoid any additional damage. But please understand he did do this as a favor for you on his own time, not to make money. I just hope you can understand that. Regardless I will have him get it fixed for you as soon as it can be done. Please resolve the complaint once it is done. Thank you.

12/30/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Legend provided services and materials for a new roof installation, shingles, venting, boots, and flashing for my home. Since install, this year we have had two leaks into the home from the roof. One due to a lack of flashing and the other due to a boot not being replaced as paid for and part of the original install. Both leaks have caused material damage to the house. We tried on several occasions and left voicemail for legend for warranty service to prevent further damage to the home drywall and such but all messages went unreturned and no one ever answered the phone.

Desired Settlement
We have already been charged $195 by another contractor to stop the leaks temporarily. This is neither the acceptable, nor a remedy in whole. We seek at least this $195 invoice to be paid by Legend and the other $100 is my personal estimate for a drywaller to come in and repair the inside. Additional costs will be incurred to do the flashing and boot replacement never performed as contracted with legend as well as painting of those two areas in the house damaged by the water leaks. I am very disappointed in them not even bothering to return my calls and associated voicemails. If legend wants to do internal repairs with their contractors that is fine to save costs on their end. We had to use another contractor or stop at least temporarily these leaks. If this does not work for them we can take it to the next level and just outsource everything at their expense. We made every reasonable attempt to work with them before having to go elsewhere.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **** CEO
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: **************@gmail.com
Made every attempt to work with us??? Are you sure you were calling the right company? Thanks a lot for the pre-mature BBB Complaint. I handle all of my warranty work, and would have handled yours as well if that's what it was. You have left NO messages at our main office phone number or emailed me at the email listed on the BBB and our website or have filled out a contact form on the website. Can you at least give me the info on where you have been leaving these multiple messages?

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did contact legend exteriors on two occasions, neither time did I speak to anyone and I did let them know at the time I would be filing a complaint with the BBB if I did not hear from them. I called the roselle number if I recall correctly as it has been a long time. I do not appreciate the sarcasm and denial of my attempts to deal with legend first.

If you want to honor your contracts, you need to at least follow up when people leave messages saying their homes are being damaged due to work your team does. That should have been reason enough to do a follow up call. I tried legend first as any normal person would given I had paid for services and materials with a warranty. Anyone would be foolish not to first get repairs done for free under warranty. We could not wait any longer for a response as we were incurring damage to our property as a result of them not responding.

Maybe legend needs a new answering machine or the people monitoring it need to write things down and follow up with customers with concerns.

Despite the response from legend, I am not hearing or reading anything that appears to be a resolution on their end just complaining. I am the customer, I have damage to my home as a result, because legend did not perform their contracted responsibilities so I am not sure why they are upset other than someone calling them on their miscue.

Final Business Response
I am not trying to be sarcastic. I am just upset because I give you my word (and my office girls word) that we never received a message from you. And I strongly monitor the email on the BBB as well as the comment section, so I don't understand why that would not have been attempted via computer, vs BBB via computer. I am not trying to call you a liar, I am just explaining what is the case here. So I'm sure you can understand my side of the situation, that I felt like the complaint to the BBB was premature as there wasn't enough attempt to contact me prior to this complaint, that is all, I didn't mean to come off offensive. Anyways, email me privately at **************@gmail.com a brief description of the original issue, what you had done and any pictures and receipts and we can try to get this thing resolved.

09/20/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have an agreement dated 5-8-13 that gives a payment schedule totalling $5803.23. Less our deductable and a payment of $3451.31 that was made on 6-21-13. leaving a final payment of $1851.92. They subcontracted the work out as expected but never called or came by to check on the work that had been done. We had problems with a bi-level part of the roof in that they had knocked the siding off of the higher level and did not replace it. We also have 7 bundles of roof shingles that were not used and wanted to get a credit for them.

We called the sales rep repeatedly and never got a call back. Finally after 3 weeks of trying to contact him I called the office number and told them our problem and that there was exposed wood on the side of the roof. It was repaired in a few days. Again, no one called to see if the repairs were satisfactory or if there were any other problems.

Now they want their final payment but there have been "add-ons". They want an additional $4100.00.
That is almost 50% additional in charges that were not on the only agreement that we had. Instead of the original $5800.00 they want over $7500.00. We still have no warranties or any receipts other than this original worksheet. I have a small 3 bedroom ranch. Other companies have given me estimates of around $5000.00. I feel they are trying to take advantage of us. Now that they want more money they are calling us all the time but when I tried to contact them they wouldn't return my calls. Our sales rep was ***** ******** The president/owner **** ****** lives locally and said he would come out and that was one of the reasons we chose this company. Now he wants to come out to get his check but other than that we never heard from him.
I have not even gotten an invoice or anything detailing the job that was done.

Desired Settlement
I want to only pay the amount that was written on the agreement and I would like them to take the 7 bundles of shingles and credit me that amount also from the $1851.92 that I feel they are still owed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************@gmail.com

Just talked to ****** ******, unfortunately Mrs. ****** must not have known that I have been in contact with Mr. ****** and we were actually set to meet tomorrow evening at 6:30. Mr. ****** didn't even know about any BBB complaint. This complaint should not have been submitted as we have been trying hard to resolve everything. Everything has an explanation to it. And we are not trying to make them pay any additional money, the insurance company shorted us on 500 SF and they paid additional money in a supplement that is owed to us. Regardless I'm not going over everything on here, I will get it figured out and squared away with Mr. ****** tomorrow and then he will resolve the complaint.

NOTE FROM THE BBB;
Please hold off on your response pending the scheduled meeting. Please update us as to the outcome of that meeting.

***** ******
Assistant Manager-Home Services
BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My husband is aware of this complaint. The meeting that is set up for tomorrow was set up by Legend...they wanted to meet yesterday. They want the entire amount for "add ons" as I outlined in the complaint. It appears to me that they are trying to fraudently collect for work that was not done. We will meet with him tomorrow but I will not give him more money than what was outlined in the document that my husband signed.

Final Business Response
I met Mr. and Mrs. ****** this evening and we have gotten everything resolved. We are paid in full and they are happy. Thank you

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Contractors-Sandblasting/Power Washing, Deck Cleaning and Treatment, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/31/2007Business started: 12/01/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2006, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Ward (CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Josh Burton (President)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Contractors-Sandblasting/Power Washing, Deck Cleaning and Treatment, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts

Industry Tips
Contracts
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Legend Exteriors & Construction, Inc.

880 West Lake St Ste 802

Roselle, IL 60172-2899

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 22w550 Poss St 

    Glen Ellyn, IL 60137-3507(630) 830-9600

  • 880 West Lake St Ste 802 

    Roselle, IL 60172-2899

  • 9701 Kingston Pike Ste. 107 

    Knoxville, TN 37922-2374

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Legend Exteriors & Construction, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

Contracts
Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.