Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Larry's Home Maintenance, LLC

Phone: (847) 338-1644 1094 Blackhawk Dr, Elgin, IL 60120 http://www.LarrysHomeMaintenance.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Home repairs, small job specialist


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Larry's Home Maintenance, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Larry's Home Maintenance, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Larry's Home Maintenance, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 06, 2008 Business started: 11/01/1999 Business started locally: 11/01/1999
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Larry Bernstein, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Bernstein, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Electricians Home Improvements New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Method(s) of Payment
Check or cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
One year warranty

Additional Locations

  • 1094 Blackhawk Dr

    Elgin, IL 60120 (847) 338-1644

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Larry ********** to put in a walk in tub in my BR I waited at least 4 months by my choice to have this done by Larry as I trusted him and I had him several times in my home to do work. It took him and two other men to do thie job 3 weeks I had an appt for Larrys co worker ****** to put tiles in tub area that very same day Larry texted me to tell me ****** put up tiles one time only and I would take a risk of course I got angry as Larry is notorius for promising to finish a job and then stopping in the middle to get more clients leaving me waiting a long time for him to return to finish job All of a sudden Larry comes to my house proceeds to take all of his equipment from my garage My bathroom was not nearly done,he wanted to talk and I told him to complete his job and get the **** out of my house,he claims that I banned him from coming in my house although he was there that very same day telling ****** how to do the tiles It came out beautiful Now there was a streak in the paint job and ****** promised to come back and re paint he also told me to go out and get grout and he would finish the grouting on the floor around the tub,Larry also broke my mirror in the BR as well as my medicune cabinet mirror, Larry first had told me that I would have to live with it I asked about his ins co I was told that my ins co would have to pay as his was 1000 deductible thats not right we discussed several options I agreed to have a frame put around it My walls had all little nail marks in it Larry spoke to my husband and promised to come back after 4pm when he was home to complete the job My husband tried several times to call Larry to no avail To this day Larry nor ****** has showen up to fix my mirrors that he broke cover up holes that were put in my walls to hold a tarp uand grout around the tub. On the day that Larry came storming over to remove his equipment we got into a real heated fight Larry called me a ***** then I then I swore and yelled at him profusely as I was not going to put up with someone calling me a ***** he also threatened to file a lien against my home I asked him for what his answer was for non payment My toilet was not in nor my vanity nor was all the tileing complete I didnt even know how much I owed I trusted that he would re grout my floor fix my mirrors re paint above tub area and cover up holes that they made in my kitchen area ****** could testify to the fact that all this was promised to me Larry charged me 3,000 for all this plus on his invoice he charged me for three men when in fact the other man was in training and did little or nothing. Larry told me that he would alert everyone in my community not to do work for me,he claims that he works with every contractor in *** ****. I have many many health issues that Larry Even knows about he said I use my illness as an excuse for the way I act Larry received all the money before finishing the job I trusted that he or someone else would come back and finish up here, I would never reccommend Larry to anyone I want a new mirror for my bathroom plus a medicine cabinet that was broken by someone in his group. I have been very upset about this for a long time which aggrivates my conditions. I sincerely hope that this issue will be handeled

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a refund of $300 that Larry charged me for a man that did little or no work since he had only been on the job for 2 weeks he was observing I want a new mirror in my bathroom just like the one I have there same size My husband did the other stuff that was incomplete. Work invoice is dated June 28 Work was completed by june 21 I know Larry put on that invoice what he wanted after he was done with me invoice is in accurate I am also requesting a written letter from Larry Apoligizing for threatening calling me a ***** and breaking mirrors and never replacing them

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ The customer kept adding things to the job. The original work order was to install the walk in tub. Then she added tiling on the wall. Then she added tiling on the floor. I tried telling her that the price quoted did not include tiling she went berserk yelling at me at the top of her lungs. Since I was in the garage all her neighbors heard her. She told me to get the **** out. I told her that if she kicked me off the job she would pay me for the work done or I would file a lien on the house. This is the threat she mentions. She called her husband home from work which is the only reason we waited around. While waiting the told me what I could do with a screwdriver using the ***** word three times ********* once in one statement about four times. Yelling all this at the top of her lungs. She said I would never get another job in her neighborhood again. I have been called by three of her neighbors to do work for them and all asked why she was attacking me. All told me similar stories that she has done to other contractors. I gave her a set price for the job, not time and material. Yes there was one a new person in training that she did not pay for so there is no refund coming.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Larry's Home Maintenance, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)