Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

JAW Builders, Inc.

Phone: (630) 546-4599 Fax: (630) 752-8557 808 E. Indiana Street, Wheaton, IL 60187

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on JAW Builders, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 04/28/2003 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jason Werr, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Werr, President
Business Category

Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Contractor - General Green Builder Kitchen Remodeling New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Additional Locations


    808 E. Indiana Street

    Wheaton, IL 60187


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our primary dispute is that our builder (JAW Builders) has been non-responsive since our final walkthru on February 28th, 2015. JAW Builders submitted a draw to ******* Bank in early March that is has increases that we were not made aware of thru the Change Order process, as outlined in our contract, or thru our request to see copies of invoices. I have communicated with JAW Builders (***** thru email and voice mail on numerous occasions, requesting that he provide documentation on the increases (see attached emails) and timeline of when our punch list items **** be addressed. Since there has been no response from JAW Builders and in an effort to get sub contractors paid, I had requested, per the recommendation of ******* Bank, that JAW Builders resubmit the latest draw with only a list of approved sub contractors as outlined in an email dated March 10th. *********** from ******* Bank has also had multiple conversations with ***** recommending that he resubmit the draw per my recommended sub list and provide invoices for the other items. Per *****'s conversation with ***, JAW Builder refuses to resubmit the draw for the approved subs and also refuses to provide any invoices, citing that he was not given invoices for any of these items. This can be confirmed with our loan officer at ******* Bank , *********** who's info is below. Lastly, we are trying to do the right thing here by making sure the subs that did the work, get paid. Its unfortunate that JAW Builders has submitted a draw that includes excesses that we were not made aware of thru a change order process.

Desired Settlement: JAW Builders resubmit the latest draw with the approved vendor list from my email from March 10th - Provide all receipts for any overages within the draw - Provide timeline on when punch list items will be completed or scheduled to be completed - Recognize that a payment of $1580.00 to JAW Builders was for the extra paint colors (see attached check that cleared) - Remainng construction loan funds be withheld from JAW Builders to pay for the repair by a 3rd party for all punch list items that they will not repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/05/04) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ** ******* Attorney Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******* Our firm represents JAW Builders, Inc. with respect to this claim. JAW Builders, Inc. disputes the claims asserted by the ********* The project was complete and according to the terms of the Contact, ******* was required to pay for the work performed, prior to the occupancy of the residence. Given the long term relationship between the parties, ******* was permitted to occupy the residence prior to payment based on the promise to pay promptly. ******* failed to abide by the written terms of the Contract and has not paid for the work performed. In order to gain an apparent advantage over JAW Builders, and injure its relationships with subcontractors, ******* has called the subcontractors. Since his possession, the pre-occupancy punchlist changed dramatically for items that were not punchlist items, with additional warranty items. However, PLEASE NOTE - PER THE CONTRACT ALL PUNCHLIST ITEMS AND WARRANTY ITEMS WILL NOT BE PERFORMED UNTIL PAYMENT OF THE CONTRACT AMOUNT. ******* agreed to these terms and now seeks to amend the terms, injure JAW Builders' reputation and avoid his financial obligations. The issue regarding the check for the paint, was not an extra but an amount that Ms. ******* agreed to pay outside of the Contract, at the tie the painter was retained. Mr. ******* simply just does not want to pay this amount and is setting forth a baseless claim. JAW Builders, Inc., in order to preserve its statutory rights, was forced to retain an attorney and file a lien against the *******'s residence. We are presently attempting to resolve this matter through Mr. *******'s attorney and are seeking additional assistance from *******'s title company as to any issues it has with final lien waivers. The title company has all documents required to If you have any additional requests please feel free to contact me directly Very truly yours, **** ** ****** ****** ***** & ********* LLC **** ****** *** ******* ***** IL XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2015/07/06) */ The business JAW Builders is still unresponsive in resolving the issue. Their lawyer has not been able to obtain invoices from the builder in the amounts in questions. We have been waiting for over a month to hear back. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/07/08) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******* The claimant's position has not changed - Claimant remains in breach of the contract and is withholding funds that were to be paid to JAW Builders for over four (4) months. The claimant took possession of the premises without making the final payment to JAW Builders, in violation of the Contract. The Claimant is in breach and JAW Builders is commencing arbitration in order to obtain final payment. The arbitration is pursuant to the Contract and will take place before a third party arbitration panel. The claimant's actions are such that JAW Builders will be expending a significant amount of legal fees in order to get what is owed. The claimed defects are in dispute and are outside the scope of the Contract. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2015/07/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have not to date seen an adequate explanation supporting JAW Builder lien claim. In fact, I have gone out of my way to setup an Escrow Account to ensure that the sub contractors that did their work for the agreed upon contract price where paid. (See attachment). We have recently also been notified that another sub has placed a lien on our house due to JAW Builders failed attempt to pay the sub the amount that was agreed upon with JAW Builders. JAW Builders presented ZERO change orders. And per the contract (see below), JAW Builders needed our sign off on any amounts that exceeded the original contract. In the most recent draw that JAW Builders sent to Wheaton Bank, it contained amounts that exceeded anything that was discussed or agreed upon. JAW Builders has failed to produce any authorized invoices for over (4) months as proof as to how he came to these numbers. Lastly, to set the record straight, this was a remodel project and not a new construction. We owned the house at the beginning of the project and still own the house today. No certificate of occupancy was needed per the City of Wheaton. From the signed contract: 9. Change Order. Any change, alteration, addition or deletion from the plan and specifications referred to herein shall be in writing and signed by both the Homeowner and Contractor.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on JAW Builders, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)