Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J R Kent Construction Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 994-0594 8025 S Laflin St, Chicago, IL 60620 http://www.jrkentconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J R Kent Construction Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J R Kent Construction Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J R Kent Construction Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 25, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Insurance
100 W. Randolph St. Suite 9-301, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com/doi
Phone Number: (312) 814-2420

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Kent, Owner Torry Mallory, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Kent, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Home Improvements Adjusters - Public Bathroom Accessories Fire & Water Damage Restoration Kitchen Remodeling New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Alternate Business Names
J.R. Kent Adjusting Co., LLC Kent Construction Co.-J.R.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted **** in October of 2013 to do some work around our building. The gutters were replaced by his workers. We inspected the job and everything seemed like it was repaired properly. When winter came the gutters did not work/drain the water appropriately. The water froze coming down the side (I have pictures), on the fence and the ground. It was hazardous to walk out through the back. I called him and told him. He said as soon as the weather broke he would come out and see. I have called him numerous times and sent texts to him(I can print my cell phone log). I called again and told him that the gutter from the front porch is falling and it is dangerous if it falls on somebody's head. He keeps giving me excuses. Last week, I finally told him I was going to file a complaint. He started yelling at me and told me that I didn't understand that the repairs were going to be done. He didn't tell me when though. He got really loud and I hung up on him. I sent him a text and told him he could call me back when he calmed down but he hasn't. He just replied that he was sorry because I thought he was yelling when he wasn't. I have not been offensive. I told him I did not contract ******* (his worker) that I contracted him because his excuse is always about *******. I advised him I was filing a complaint and/or a lawsuit because I want the repairs done. He said to do what I had to do. I waited a week and he hasn't contacted me yet so I decided to file a complaint. Product_Or_Service: 10/29/13 7/5/14 info from consumer: He has not contacted me yet. I leave Monday, July 7th and return Tuesday, July 29th. I will be out of the country but I will keep checking my emails. If he does not respond, what can I do>

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund or the repairs to be done by another company and he pays for them. I do not want Cesario to come and tell me the work is done and then winter comes and we have the same problem. Honestly, I thought I was dealing with an honest, professional business man. His excuses are just not acceptable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/09) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@aol.com I received several calls from Mrs. ****** regarding we installed. I went out and view what she was complaining about. Ice had formed on one end of the gutters where the downspouts was connected.. I told her there had to be blockage in the downspout and hd frozen up. I also told her once the temperture go up and the ice melt it should OK. Well one the temperture with up the gutter and downspouts work find. Mrs. ****** were also complaining about ice forming on the gable end of her home and area we did do any work. This past winter was very harsh. Ice formed on many area of homes. The problems she had was weather related and not the work we did. I sent the worker thet did the work to check the complaint, he did not see anything wrong. When have had a lot of rain in recent days, there has not been any problems. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, I do not agree. I have pictures of the way the side of the building froze. I understand that it was a very harsh winter but even then the gutters shoud not have frozen like that. He always gave me excuses about sending his workers to the house and even him coming out. He complained of not finding a parking spot to stop and inspect or even ring the doorbell. We had to put cement screws or bolts on the front porch gutters so they wouldn't fall right before we left on our vacation. My mother is still home but I don't return until the 29th of July. I would like for another company to look at the job that was done, so I could be at ease. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/08) */ ON August 2, 2014 I had my gutter installer send sonmeone to check on the gutter installation and make any necessary correction. I have visit the site as I mention in the pass. I have discuss this matter with Mrs. ******. The problen was that during this pass ******* with the wind, snow, ice formed at the downspout and over flowed to the walkway at the edge of the house. This had nothing to do with the work that J. R. **** Construction did. The water in te downspout froze. Once the temperture was above freezing, the water down as it suppose to. As mention previously because of the weather there other issues of ice forming on other parts of her home ad we were blame for it. There is nothing wrong with te gutter installation. With all the rain we have had recently, the is not problems with the water moving through the gutter system. Again, the problem she had this past winter was weather related. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/08/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not agree that it was weather related. He told me when I called him that the gutters where probably not "balanced" correctly and that is why the water didn't flow. The gutters from the front porch were falling off because they were not installed properly. Not because of the rain or harsh winter. My husband had to finally screw them on before we went on vacation. Also, I asked him if he had someone come out to inspect the property to please notify me, he didn't. I sent him a text and called **** on August 2nd because a person by the name of **** knocked on my door telling me that *** not **** sent him to inspect the property. Before I even spoke to him about the problem I called ****. I advised **** that he had a strong alcohol smell and that he did not inspect the property because he did not have any equipment. He stated that he would be back on Monday or Tuesday. And I also told **** to contact me before because I wanted to be home. All I wanted is the gutters to be repaired, he is saying the job is done which I believe it isn't. I'm tired of dealing with this situation. It's a she said, he said situation. I am just sorry that I didn't investigate further before I contracted him. I will definitely not recommend him to anyone. I don't think anything is going to be solved by filing this complaint and I don't think it will be cost effective to file a lawsuit. Please let me know if there is any other way I can resolve this matter.

8/9/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J R Kent Construction Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)