Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Imperial Kitchens & Baths, Inc.

Phone: (708) 485-0020 Fax: (708) 485-2880 8918 W. Ogden Ave., Brookfield, IL 60513 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.imperialkb.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Imperial Kitchens & Baths, Inc. is a general contractor which provides remodeling services for residential customers. This company serves the western suburbs of Chicago, including Riverside, North Riverside, Lyons, Forest View, Stickney, La Grange, La Grange Park, Westchester, Hines, Broadview, Cicero, Berwyn, Summit, Hinsdale, Maywood, Bellwood, Forest Park, Oak Park, Hinsdale, Willowbrook, Oak Brook, Oakbrook Terrace, Downers Grove, Countryside, Hodgkins, Darien, Burr Ridge, Willow Springs, Justice, and Bridgeview. Services available from this company include kitchen and bathroom remodeling and renovation, basement finishing and remodeling, additions, universal and ADA design contracting and consulting, custom cabinetry and counter design and installation, cabinet recovery, artist studio renovation, and wine cellar creation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Imperial Kitchens & Baths, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Imperial Kitchens & Baths, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Imperial Kitchens & Baths, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 10, 1974 Business started: 04/01/1966 Business started locally: 04/01/1966 Business incorporated 03/22/1968 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Stephanie Bullwinkel, Office Manager Mr. John Krupka, Secretary Mr. Lawrence Rychlowski, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Stephanie Bullwinkel, Office Manager
Business Category

Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Home Improvements Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Design & Build Contractor New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Service Area
Southwest Chicago area and surrounding suburbs.

Additional Locations

  • 8918 W. Ogden Ave.

    Brookfield, IL 60513

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Imperial Kitchen & Baths have yet to complete multiple issues from a laundry room remodel with contract dated 10/17/2015. They still have not finished their work. They covered up an outdoor water shutoff, which now does not work as it did before. We made numerous complaints to John ****** about gaps in the flooring and walls they installed and multiple areas of jagged cuts. They tried to cover up the gaps with trim instead of correcting the floor, however, the gap is still evident as it was before. They also charged us for painting trim and doors listed on the unsigned contract, but left a bi-fold door and trim unpainted.

Desired Settlement: We would like Imperial Kitchen & Baths to correct the water shutoff issue, correct the flooring and paint the door and trim as outlined in the contract.

Business Response:

I will be following up with the client as soon as I send this response to the BBB.

I have already been in contact about the shut-off door and the client has agreed to how we will complete this.

If the client would like us to paint the door and trim we will be able to send someone tomorrow.

We will also be taking care of the floor, but it must be stated that the first I heard about this was earlier this week from ****.  I said that I can't fix something if I don't realize there is anything wrong.  He said that I should have known.  But if I don't hear from the client that something isn't completed to their satisfaction I can't schedule a repair.  But again, we will be addressing this issue as well.

The contract was signed on 10-17-15.  Work was started on the project on the third week of March, 2016. 

Business Response:

I am very confused by this letter and the only explanation that I can think of is that these letters are crossing in the email void.  We have been in communication with ****, about the issues and the amount that the reimbursement would be. Then we made an appointment last week, on Friday the 15th,  to do the walk-through today, July 18th, at 9:00 am.  We met at their house, this morning at 9:00 am, with ****, ***** and myself.  We covered the issues that have been discussed and a few more.  We started the work today between 10:30 and 11:00 this morning.  We gave them a rough outline as some of the items that we offered to do for them will take a little wood working, thus some additional time.  But as I told **** this afternoon, I am still hopeful that we will be done this week by Wednesday, worst case Thursday, because the humidity might delay the drying time of the plaster/paint.  I also gave him the figure that I would reimburse him tomorrow.  He thanked me and that was it. 

So why the letter now?  I don't understand it or the timing.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. It appears the follow-up overlapped into our discussions with ****** and Imperial. The pending issues were resolved as of July 20, 2016. 

Sincerely,

******* ******-******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Imperial Kitchens & Baths, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)