Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hartz Construction Co., Inc.

Phone: (630) 228-3800 Fax: (630) 228-4910 View Additional Phone Numbers 9026 Heritage Pkwy, Woodridge, IL 60517 http://www.hartzhomes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

South and West suburbs of Chicago home builders with 53 years of experience in selling and building quality homes with value.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hartz Construction Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hartz Construction Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hartz Construction Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 2004 Business started: 12/01/1963 in IL Business started locally: 12/01/1963 Business incorporated 12/19/1963 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department Of Financial And Professi...
320 W Washington St Fl 3, Springfield IL 62701
Phone Number: (800) 560-6420

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Linda Hartz, Office Manager Mr. Donald L. Hartz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Hartz, Office Manager
Business Category

Contractors - General Home Builders Home Design & Planning New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Products & Services

Hartz Construction Co., Inc. offers the following product(s): Condominiums., Single family homes., Townhomes.

Method(s) of Payment
Checks and mortgage funds from local lenders.
Refund and Exchange Policy
1 year warranty included.
Additional Information

Hartz Construction Co., Inc has requested that before filing a BBB complaint, consumers contact Mark Hagen at mhagen@hartzhomes.com or 630-228-3720.

Please understand that you can file a complaint with the BBB now or at any time during this process. It is our hope that Hartz Construction Co., Inc will resolve the matter for you in an expedient manner.

Products & Services

Home builders in the South, West and Southwest Chicago suburbs.


Additional Locations

  • 9026 Heritage Pkwy

    Woodridge, IL 60517 (630) 228-3800 6302283800ext391

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hartz Construction has been building a house next to mine. On several occasions, their employees and/or subcontractors have left garbage in my yard and have driven semis and trailer through my grass, which has left deep ruts. I have attempted to contact them several times about this. Most recently, I called to ask that they be be more respectful. Shortly after, people showed up and as I walked outside, they were discussing my complaints with a lot of profanity. As I approached them, they switched to speaking in Spanish (which I speak), and continued using profanity. I did not tell them I understood what they said. I was then told a supervisor was on the way, but no one ever came and this was over a week ago. There is another lot that they will be building a house on next to this one, and I do not wish to have myself or my neighbors disrespected further while they build that house too. It is clear to myself and my fellow neighbors that Hartz Construction does not care about us, and only cares about getting their job done at whatever cost. All we are asking is for some decency and for Hartz Construction to stop damaging our property.

Desired Settlement: I want Hartz Construction to clean up after themselves and to stop driving their vehicles through our yards. I have already cleaned up the trash and rolled out the ruts, so all I want is for them to show a little respect for our neighborhood while they work.

Business Response:

Hartz Construction talked with Mr. *********** by phone on April 20 to discuss this situation. An in-person follow-up meeting is scheduled for Friday, April 22 with the Hartz Construction Superintendent and Mr. ***********. We want to insure that all of Mr. ***********’s concerns are being handled to his satisfaction.

We recognize the concern relating to the actions of one or more subcontractors (non Hartz Construction employees). We contacted these subcontractors and re-emphasized our policy to be good and respectful neighbors. In addition, we have given Mr. *********** the direct phone number of our Vice President of Construction whom he can call directly with any future concerns without having to talk with subcontractors.


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ***********

5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: condo built in 2002 has multiple water leaks,crooked walls,water damaged wood trim.the mortar in the brick walls has sugary consistency.and has ground out and tuckpointed. the parapet walls at rooftop had to be recovered.there are too many defects to list. so far the owners association has spent more than $50000..00,with $100000.00 or more coming. numerous calls and letters delivered have been ignored.we need an impartial building inspector to inspect this building.

Desired Settlement: repair and/or replacement of inferior material, and workmanship.and we should be made whole financially,for our expenses. there are many senior citizens,among the residents,who find this situation to be an undue hardship.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/15) */ This complaint has been turned over to our insurance company for their review and comments.

5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We closed on the house on 3/11/2014. On 3/16/2014, I sent customer service and email and left a voicemail message, regarding to shingles on my roof having been blown off! On 3/17/2014, ****** ****** of Hartz Construction Customer Service replied to my email stating an order has been placed to the roofers to fix the issue of shingles missing from being blown off. On 3/27/2014, ****** ****** sent me an email confirmation, confirming that she has been advised by the roofing company that the service has been completed. Today, 3/29/2014, I noticed that more shingles have since been blown off again, as well as other shingles that do not look like they are secure and properly installed onto the roof! Both of my neighbors have indicated that they personally saw the shingles on my house blowing off of my roof. My questions are the following: How did this roof pass inspection when the shingles were not properly installed?? I am aware about the glue on the shingles needing to heat up from a warm day to completely secure to the roof, however, the shingles should not have blown off of the roof with or without the shingle glue melting. Furthermore, this is the second time I have noticed shingles flailing in the wind and actually missing from my roof! This is a brand new house, which should not have this problem!!! I need the missing shingles to be replaced, as well as a full review and correction to the entire roof! I do not want to have to contact the BBB again for the same problem. Please advise.

Desired Settlement: I want the shingles to be replaced and ensure that the entire roof has been completely fixed - to where there will not be any more problems in the future. I also want the Village of New Lennox, the individual home inspector, the roofing company and Hartz Construction Co. to be held responsible for fixing this roof as soon as possible!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/04) */ Hartz Construction had the shingles replaced on April 2. Due to cold weather, it is common for shingles not to fully adhere and this is what caused those shingles to blow off. We realize that this can be frustrating to the homeowner, but want to assure them that there is nothing wrong with the roof, shingles or installation. Please see the attached letter from the shingle manufacturer, Owens Corning that addresses this topic. Now with the warmer weather, the shingles should adhere. If however, the problem persists in anyway, we encourage the home owner to contact us directly so that we can send someone out immediately to rectify the situation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes, the shingles appear to have been replaced and repaired for the second time within three weeks! However, the response from Hartz Construction is absolutely unacceptable. If the glue on the shingles did not properly adhere, due to the colder weather, then the entire roof of shingles would have blown off from the high winds! Is this something I should expect within the coming months?? If so, I am going to have to call Hartz Construction every time this happens before the weather has a week of temperatures over 70-80 degrees??? In both instances, sections of shingles have blown off, not the entire roof. So, the excuse of the glue not properly adhering is unacceptable. Moreover, there are homes within the same subdivision, which have been built months prior to my home, which have the same problem. Therefore, the excuse that the glue did not melt is questionable. My house was built in the winter time. Every single shingle had the same temperature exposure throughout the entire roof. The entire roof has not properly bonded due to the fact that there has not been a day over 60 degrees since the home was built. Therefore, if the glue was indeed a problem, every shingle on the roof would have blown off. In my opinion, the roofing company did not properly install the roof, or the shingles are defective?! I have to pick up strips of glue in my yard everyday, which have blown off of my roof, as well as pieces of shingles that have blown off. This tells me it was an improper installation. If I need a third party roofing inspector to provide a professional opinion, I will gladly supply the results to coincide with my complaint. Bottom line question, is this a shingle problem or an improper installation? This is a brand new home, which should not be having these problems. Please advise. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/05/05) */ On April 26 we repaired the homeowner's shingle, one day after the homeowner contacted us. Also on April 26, an inspection of the entire roof was performed. The inspection showed that with the increased temperatures, the shingles had started to adhere as they were designed. We again went out on May 1 to inspect the roof and everything was fine. We inspected the roof again on May 2 and took photos for the homeowner showing everything was fine. We will continue to periodically check the homeowner's roof. We stand behind our work, and have encouraged the homeowner to contact us if a problem should persist so that it can be corrected as quickly as possible. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The meeting did take place at my residence on April 18th as scheduled. Representatives from the manufacturer, the roofing company, and the VP of Construction at ***** all attended. However, the entire roof was not inspected, only the lowest point of the roof. Furthermore, there was nothing said or done to make me feel "comfortable with the quality and installation of the shingles". I was told "there is nothing wrong with the roof or shingles and if the problem happens again, I can call ***** to have the problem fixed". A representative from the roofing company did come to my house the following day to repair the shingles that have blown off of the roof. However, today, April 25, 2014, one week after this meeting, I have shingles blowing off of my roof yet again! I have sent yet another request to ***** Customer Service to have the roofing company come back to my house to make the necessary repairs for the third time in 5 weeks! In this emial to *****, I have also requested the roofing company come back to my house every week to inspect my roof and/or make the necessary repairs. It has gotten to the point where I am making requests to have the roofing company fix the roof every 2-3 weeks, which is absolutely unacceptable. I am not at all satisfied with the quality of the shingles on my roof, nor do I accept the excuse that the glue has not bonded because of the temperature not reaching over 70 degrees for a week. If this is the case, why is the builder installing shingles in the winter time?! All I want is for my roof to not have pieces or sections blow off every two weeks and not waste my time calling or emailing Customer Service to have this issue fixed.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We trusted this company to build our families home. They play off a 50 year reputation but fail to mention the large change of going non-union a few years ago and other cost cutting strategies such as low grade lumber far below the grade they advertise. Plain and simple, Hartz has sub-par standards that increase their profit margins and get you in a home that leaks, creaks, and is a headache from the day you close. We have been mislead in so many ways I don't know where to start. Here are a few of our biggest issues to help any future buyers from making the mistake of choosing this company. We noticed as floors, cabinets and other building property was installed in the house nothing was protected. There is damage to cabinets, grout, flooring and just about anything exposed. We had a Hartz contractor hit our garage door with their truck and the door still does not open properly. When I mentioned this concern at closing to *** he said he had to do what was fair for the flooring guy (guy who hit door/installed tiles like it was his 1st time) and did not want him to have to pay for the door. After closing snow melted and leaking windows started, many shingles had blown off the roof, we noticed a large pile of debris had been burned in our front yard including large plastic pieces. When we reached out to the customer service department I was amazed how rude this family business presents itself. I am not trying to get anything in compensation at this point. I really just want other families to have the heads up that this family business will tell you whatever you need to hear, then cut every cost on the back end they can with no remorse for you "the buyer". We are so sorry we did not build with ****** as we looked at their models as well. Don't be mislead by signing on a base model before design center. These homes are striped down and Cachey provided a much stronger value and quality of service. My parents built 2 home with Cachey and one with Hartz and said the same thing. Buyer beware, I will be voicing my experience to save as many people as possible from the headaches and terrible service of working with this low standard family business. Save your family the headaches and find a company with morals that can balance profit margins with customer service. Our experience leads us to believe Hartz only cares about the money and could not care less about you after they get your money.

Desired Settlement: We want our garage door replaced, missing shingles reinstalled, leaking windows fixed, and your garbage removed from our front and back yard. I know we cant get qualified builders to rebuild this home so at this point something is better than nothing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/01) */ Hartz Construction's superintendent met with the homebuyer on 3/28/2014 and satisfied all four areas where the homebuyer desired resolution. Specifically, the missing shingles were fixed on 3/28, the leaking window was repaired on 3/31, the garbage was removed from the front and back yard on 3/22, and the garage door was inspected and the new panel should be painted as soon as the weather permits.

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 13, 2013 my wife and I dropped off earnest money of $2500.00 to ***** at their ******** subdivision to have a home built for our family. On October 20, we returned to sign the contract. During this time we were informed we would also be providing them with our down payment of $8100.00 for them to hold on to. As stated in the contract if for any reason the buyer does not purchase the house we lose our earnest money. My wife had confirmed with the sales agent that would just be the $2500.00. My wife being a cautious person asked more than once if it was just the $2500.00, the sales agent said yes. We were told it takes two months after contract signing to break ground. 30 days to get a full mortgage approval and 30 days after that to get the permits to start construction. We were ahead of the game and had our full mortgage approval within the week of contract signing. Hoping our house would be started before the winter sets in. Less than two weeks after contract signing we found out we are expecting our third child. On January 21, 2014 we decided since the house still has not been started we would forfeit our $2500.00 earnest money because we are worried our house will not be done by the time the baby is born and by the time we were told we need to be out of the home we are renting. When we called to let the sales agent know our decision, she then informed us it would not be just the $2500.00 earnest money but also our down payment of $8100.00. We explained that's not what she had told us at contract signing and to go read the contract. The contract does state the earnest money as $10,600 but it was always referred to as $2500 earnest money and $8100 as the down payment. Even the receipts we were given was listed as earnest money and down payment. If it was all earnest money why not label itthe same? We feel taken advantage of and feel we deserve our money back for the misrepresentation with the sales agent.

Desired Settlement: We would like the settlement of $8100.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *************** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****************@hartzhomes.com On October 20, 2013, the customer entered into a contract with Hartz Construction Co, Inc. to build a home. In the subsequent three months, Hartz began carrying through with its contractual obligations to build the home and incurred substantial costs in doing so. These costs include paying for all permits and fees, making changes to the plan, and purchasing structural components including windows, doors, etc. On January 21, the customer inquired about cancelling the contract. The customer was referred to the stipulation in the contact that covers such cancellations (#5 under Conditions and Stipulations). This stipulation reads: If this contract is terminated without Purchaser's fault, the earnest money shall be returned to the Purchaser, but if the termination is caused by the Purchaser's fault, then upon written notice to the Purchaser, the earnest money and any and all amount paid by he Purchaser to the Seller hereunder shall be forfeited to the Seller and applied first to the payment of Seller's expense; the balance, if any, to be retained by the Seller as liquidated damages. If the customer cancels the contract, he is not entitled to a refund. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The salesperson did not recommend an attorney she actually said she could explain it to us and almost all of you clients go without getting an attorney. Again us being trusting people believed her. When we got to the portion of the contract that said if we do not purchase the house we lose our money. This is when my wife had asked just the $2500? The salesperson said yes! We believe and trusted her because the $2500 was referred to as the earnest money and the $8100 was referred to as the down payment. We do know now that we should not be so trusting with people, regardless of them being in business for 50+ years and its a shame. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/06) */ The salesperson has been selling homes for Hartz for more than 20 years and is highly familiar with the contract. The salesperson went over each page of the contract with the customer and the customer signed or initialed each page. The salesperson went over with the customer the portion of the contract detailing what happens to the earnest money and all other amounts paid by the customer if customer cancels the contract. The customer initialed this page. The customer claims that the Hartz salesperson should have suggested that the customer get an attorney to translate the contract. In fact, the salesperson not only made this suggestion, but also provided the customer with an attorney rider. That attorney rider, signed by the customer, gave the customer five days to review the contract with an attorney. A scanned copy of the signed attorney rider is included in this response. In the three months after the contract was signed, Hartz began carrying though on its contractual obligation to build the home and incurred substantial costs in doing so. If the customer cancels the contract, he is not entitled to a refund.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hartz Construction Co., Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)