Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Handyman Matters-Chicago

Phone: (773) 235-0900 Fax: (773) 202-9990 5251 N Central Ave, Chicago, IL 60630 http://www.handymanmatters.com/chicago View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Handyman Matters-Chicago meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Handyman Matters-Chicago include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Handyman Matters-Chicago
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 16, 2004 Business started: 01/02/2004 Business started locally: 01/02/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of Chicago
121 N La Salle St # 604, Chicago IL 60602
cityclerk@cityofchicago.org

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Paul Bors, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Bors, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Electricians – Residential Electricians Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Gazebos Home Improvements Painting Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas Remodeling Services Handyman Services Doors Doors - Patio Doors - Installation Fence Contractors Resilient & Vinyl Flooring Screens - Door & Window Shutters Storm Windows & Doors Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Tile & Grout Cleaning Tile Restoration Kitchen Remodeling Carpenters New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Alternate Business Names
Castle Assets, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 5251 N Central Ave

    Chicago, IL 60630 (773) 235-0900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dec 2014 hired Handyman Matters to make the electrical panel in my newly purchased condo up to code as well as replace a loose breaker switch. I provided an inspection report to assist the contractor for the repair. Repairman was to upgrade the wire gauge to be compliant with current code. He spent about 10 mins and assured me the problem was fixed. Jan 2016 I contacted Handyman Matters as the breaker switch he replaced stopped working. On, 1/12 Handyman Matters sends out worker to diagnose the problem. The current electrician indicated the breaker switch did not have the correct gauge of wiring. So the electrician from 2014 did not do the work he was paid for. I paid $135 for this visit. Today's electrician warned me of the dangers of having the improper wire gauge. I then called Handyman Matters on 1/12 to speak with a supervisor. He called me back 3 hours later and when I explained my concerns he talked over me and forced me to talk over him. He then placed me on hold for 5 mins and came back on the line and told me to calm down. At no point was I raising my voice and when I told him "don't tell me to calm down" he hung up on me. I immediately called back 4 times with no answer. I am left with no way of getting my concerns heard. I never got a chance to ask him but I do request my visit from 2014 be refunded back to my Mastercard as the original electrician did not do his job...he is no longer with the company by the way. This is not the way to do business especially when you messing around with electricity and fire hazards.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $135 that was charged to my MasterCard credited back that amount for lack of service and breach of contract. I trusted these folks to do an important job that protects my family and the other units in the building.

Business Response: To resolve this issue, we will agree to reimburse the customer for $124.00 which was the full amount that was paid on the invoice in question -- Invoice 40494 dated 12/23/14.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Kevin ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Handyman Matters-Chicago
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)