BBB Accredited Business since

Haggis II, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 317-9222 6400 N. Northwest Highway  Suite 130, Chicago, IL 60631

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Haggis II, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Haggis II, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Haggis II, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 06, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2005 Business started locally: 06/01/2005 Business incorporated 06/01/2005 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Conor Dunne, Co-owner Mr. James Chase, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Conor Dunne, Co-owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Contractor - Remodel & Repair Demolition Contractors Drywall Contractors Painting Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Handyman Services Contractor - Disabled Access Doors Doors - Installation Windows Contractor - Commercial Contractor - Crawl Space Kitchen Remodeling New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Additional Locations

  • 5932 N O'dell

    Chicago, IL 60631

  • 6400 N. Northwest Highway
    Suite 130

    Chicago, IL 60631 (773) 317-9222

  • 939 Grace

    Chicago, IL 60613


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Haggis II (Haggis) in July 2013, for $5,000.00, to dig and place drain tile around basement /crawl space, clean crawl space of debris, replace insulation on the ceiling of the crawl space and add vapor barrier, and install a third sump pump and sump pit (hereafter referred to as mitigating). This sump is in addition to the existing two sumps in our main basement area (main sump and watchdog back up sump). Ultimately, due to Haggis's improper installation of the mitigation pump, our basement took on 6 inches of water during the June 30th 2014 storm. No power outage occurred during this storm. During the June 30th 2014 storm, both our main sump and the watchdog were working properly but could not keep up with the water coming in. The water would not have come into our basement had the Haggis pump triggered as it was supposed to. We have a formal report from a structural inspection company, as well as an affidavit from a licensed contractor documenting that the mitigation pump in the basement crawl space, which Haggis installed, was installed incorrectly with obstructions, which caused it to fail when large amounts of water started coming in. Additionally, documentation supports that had the protruding pipes and hanging wires not obstructed the trigger, it would have been able to work and prevent water from entering our basement. Details of the installation job: Initially, Haggis Partner ****** ***** was very polite and very timely. However, he did not maintain positive control over his crew and did not oversee the work they were doing when they got near finishing the job. Due to this lack of managerial oversight, Haggis informed us that the work was done and their crew left the site when in fact, they still had to place the vapor barrier over the insulation. We had to inform Connor that the work was left unfinished, at which point he instructed his subcontractors to complete the job. Furthermore, Haggis incorrectly installed and positioned the sump pump, leaving the drain tile pipes extruding into the main water cache, and did not secure the electrical wires leading from the pump at all. The incorrect installation and positioning of the of the sump pump with extruding drain pipes and the unsecured electrical wires caused the float to tangle and the trigger mechanism not to activate when the pit filled with rain water during the June 30th storm. The June 30, 2014 storm was the first activation due to weather of the mitigation pump that Haggis installed. Due to these Haggis oversights, our basement took on six inches of water and caused costly damage. We attempted to maintain open communication with Haggis II, but they show a lack of accountability for what has happened as a result of their own negligence. We tried to contact Haggis during the pump failure. When they finally responded, on July 1st, to our request for help, we showed them our documentation of the trigger entanglement, as well as the documentation that once we released the trigger from the entanglements, the pump worked and sucked up the water, proving that had the trigger not gotten caught in the obstructions resulting from incorrect installation, the pump would have worked, preventing water breach of the basement. We also notified their business insurance agent of the situation, and filed a complaint with *****'s ***** to which Haggis did not respond.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $5,000.00 paid for the installation job and $7,000.00 compensation for damages resulting from faulty installation. TOTAL Settlement: $12,000.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/09/12) */ In August of 2012 Haggis II installed a closed drain tile system with pump in the crawl space in the back of the basement at **** W. ********* The system installed was not a full basement flood control system. The system was designed to take in seepage from on small area of the basement only. In addition to the system Haggis II installed someone previously installed a pit and sump pump system in the center of the basement. The system that Haggis installed work after installation, for 9 months prior to claim, and worked when we went back after the heavy heavy rain. The drain tile that Haggis II installed was not designed to be a full basement flood control system nor did we agree with the homeowner that it would be. Our system was designed to handle the water in the crawlspace area. Furthermore, the city of ******* on that date received a record amount of water. Expressways and schools were shut down that day. Our system handled the load for the area that it was intended to, however, it could not handle the load for the whole basement as it was not ever intended to. After checking out the damage, the homeowner requested our insurance information and they have been in contact with our insurance company. We have been responsive and plan on following through our insurance agents recommendation and procedures. We truly have appreciated working in compliance with the BBB for many years in the past and we look forward to continued success in the future. I hope this clears anything up. Please feel free to call me for any further questions or concerns. Thank you! ***** ***** Owner at Haggis II NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide a copy of your contract for our review. That copy may be attached to your nest response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX. ***** ****** Assistant Manager -Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois ***** ***** <*********> Fri, Sep 19, 2014 at 12:46 PM To: ********* *****" <*******> Attached is the letter we sent to our insurence office. Please let me know if you need anything else. Thanks (Quoted text hidden) ************ 72K Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/09/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To be clear, our complaint specifically speaks to the fact that the pump installed by Haggis II failed to turn on, due to incorrect installation, as validated by the Structural Investigation Report (hereafter referred to as the "Report") and further supported by the Certified Affidavit (hereafter referred to as the "Affidavit"), both of which were submitted with our original complaint. The pump failed to perform its sole purpose, which was to control and pump water from the crawlspace area under the addition of our home. The influx of water from the crawl space area is what flooded and damaged the basement. We are claiming faulty workmanship and incorrect installation of the Haggis II pump, leading to water damage in the full basement, stemming from the crawlspace area. The water influx came from the crawlspace area in which the pump was installed, as referenced in the (Report) - not from the main basement area. The Report references the main water entry as coming in from the area under the addition (crawlspace area) - the area in which the Haggis II sump was installed. We have also attached video demonstrating the Haggis II pump not turning on/not pumping the water out with the water filling the crawlspace area, which caused that area to flood and water to flow into and damage the entire basement area. Had the pump been installed correctly, it would have mitigated the water damage to the basement stemming from the crawlspace area, as it was meant to. Again, the water that flooded the basement did not stem from the main sump area in the center of the basement- it flowed in from the crawlspace area as the Haggis II pump did not turn on and do the job it was meant to do. As referenced in the Affidavit, once the contractor who responded to our call was able to get the Haggis II pump to work (note that it was still storming heavily outside at that time), it drained most of the water from the area in approximately 10 minutes, further demonstrating that had the Haggis II pump turned on (i.e. been correctly installed), it would have mitigated the influx of water coming up from the heavy rains into the crawlspace area, which then flowed from the crawlspace/addition area, flooding the main basement area, and therefore would have mitigated the full basement flooding. The Haggis II pump worked when Haggis II responded to our calls on July 1st, the day after the storm (we called Haggis II during the storm on June 30th)only because the contractor that did respond to our call during the storm on June 30th, had already been to our home (i.e. already identified and addressed the nonworking pump) and released the pump trigger from the pit obstructions in order to get it to work. As also stated in the Report, it is not believed that the Haggis pump had been triggered prior to this storm. These heavy rains on the loss date were the first time the pump had been tested by the weather. Haggis II tested the pump after initial installation in 2013 in a controlled environment, under optimal conditions. The pump's sole purpose, as further referenced by Mr. ***** in his reply, is to control water in the crawl space area- which it did not do. The main purpose of the pump is to function in less than optimal conditions. We asked Haggis II for their insurance contact immediately when they responded the following day, on July 1st, to our calls for help (our calls were placed on June 30th during the storm). We contacted Haggis II's insurance agent *** ********* in July, and he was rude and uncooperative, indicating that if his client claimed no accountability, that's the direction he would go, and he wouldn't do anything else. Additionally, Mr. ********* said that he would call us back after speaking with his client, which he never did. Haggis II has not contacted us regarding this incident since July 1st (the day following the storm), and Mr. ********* has not contacted us since our initial conversation with him in July. Further speaking to Haggis II's lack of responsiveness in this matter, as stated in our initial complaint, we also filed a complaint with *****'s ***** requiring a response from Haggis II to *****'s **** complaint resolution division within a specific timeframe, to which Haggis II never responded. Per *****'s ***** Haggis II is now in the Penalty Box; we can provide BBB with the *****'s **** Representative contact information upon request. That said, we are asking for $5,000 refund of work as the pump was installed with obstructions, resulting in it not turning on and thus not working to control the water in the crawlspace area under the addition- which it was intended to do, as further referenced by Mr. ***** in his response. We are also asking for $7,000 damages (including the cost of the repair work) to our full basement as the result of the Haggis II pump not turning on to control water in the crawlspace area, ultimately directly causing flooding and resulting damages to our entire finished basement. **NOTE: We have also submitted pictures, the contract, the Affadavit and video to Assistant Manager ****** via email as the link to this response allows attachment of only one file. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2014/09/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Haggis II's Sept 15th 2014 response still fails to address our complaint: Haggis II installed the pump with obstructions (negligence), which impeded the trigger mechanism and prevented the pump from activating as the water entered the pit. The pump should have worked-period. It would have worked if installed correctly without obstructions. Quite simply, the pump failed to control the water in the crawlspace/addition area (the job it was meant to do, supported by Mr.*****'s Sept. 12, 2014 response), which directly led to our basement flooding. Moreover, as also validated by our supporting evidence, had the pump turned on, it would have ejected the water from the crawl space/area under the addition (as it DID as the responding contractor proved during the stormwhile it was still raining heavily and water was still entering the crawlspace and flowing from there into the basement once he was able to free the trigger from the installation obstructions, and the pump removed the water from the area within 10 minutes) and prevented the water from that area from entering into and flooding our basement. This clearly shows that this has nothing to do with pitch or collectionthis pump would have handled and controlled the water entering the crawlspace area as it was installed to do, had the installation been done correctly and not obstructed the trigger mechanism. Remediation request remains the same: $5,000 refund and $7,000 damages as outlined in the initial complaint and our response dated Sept. 14th. Mediation 1 message ******* ******* <**************> Thu, Sep 25, 2014 at 11:43 AM Reply-To: ******* ******* <**************> To: "*******" <*******> Dear *****; We would like to add mediation to case#XXXXXXXX. We would like to have proof that the Insurance company has been notified and that a claim has been filed. If these simple requests are not met we are more than willing to bypass the arbitration stage of this process and go to court. Thank You for your time and effort. ******* ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/10/14) */ (SPAM) Re: BBB Complaint Case# 94514444 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX) 1 message ***** <*********> Tue, Oct 14, 2014 at 9:30 AM To: "Better Business Bureau (Do Not Reply To This Email Address)" <***********> ***** Haggis II is filing a claim for the basement issues. We will pass along the claim number as soon as we have it. ***** ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX [SPAM] Re: BBB Complaint Case# 94514444 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX) 1 message ***** <*********> Thu, Oct 16, 2014 at 10:26 AM To: "Better Business Bureau (Do Not Reply To This Email Address)" <***********> ***** We filed a claim with our insurance company in this issue. Claim number is AFXXXXX ***** ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX