BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/10/1997

Gerhardt Construction Co., Inc.

Phone: (773) 325-1600Fax: (773) 878-2799

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: The fracias on the edge of the roof was knocked loose by the men putting shingles up and we asked them and the contractor ***** to put it back up and they said ok but they left and didn't do it. I've called four times and they keeps aiding maybe next week they worked here five days and I asked before they left and ***** said they would put it back in place.

Initial Business Response
The BBB has been advised by Mr ***** ********* that the matter has been resolved. Please confirm whether or not your complaint has been resolved

***** ******
Assistant Manager-Home Services
BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: As above, gutters installed improperly on 3-142012 and are under warranty for 60 months. After several calls and complaints gutters are still not right

Initial Business Response
Gerhardt Construction did not install the gutters, we were hired to adjust the gutters where they did not fit properly against the building. We did come out for a service call last year to make further adjustments. We are planning to make any other necessary adjustments as soon as weather permits, most likely this week until the customer is satisfied.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Gerhardt replaced my roof without removing the gutters and after that they were askew. I paid them to remove and reinstall the existing gutters if they were salvageable. I quote the first two sentences of their proposal: "Remove existing gutter and drain pipe system-re-install same using new metal strap system- Replace any damaged or worn sections ." They did not remove the gutters and try to straighten them out. They really only attached a few new straps. The gutters are listing. The southeast corner leaks the most but so does the northeast corner. I can see the sun shine between the gutter and the building which can cause ice jams. I will attempt to send a photo of the contract but I will put one in the mail to you also.
Thank you,
******** ******

Final Business Response
******** ******, **** W. ******* St., Chicago, Il. XXXXX
1 message
***** ********* <**********@yahoo.com>Fri, May 16, 2014 at 5:28 PM
Reply-To: ***** ********* <**********@yahoo.com>
To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>
Dear Ms. Mendez,

We have been out to Ms. ******'s property twice to take care of her issues about two weeks ago. We have since heard nothing more from her and we believe everything was taken care of to her satisfaction.

Sincerely,

***** *********
Gerhardt Construction Co., Inc.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: After weather has taken a toll on my home, I began to suffer water damage on the inside of my home. I reported the damage to my insurance company, and the adjuster assessed that the damage was due to my roof being installed improperly. This improper installation caused a rippling affect and caused internal water damage which could eventually lead to mold and structural damage.

Initial Business Response
Fw: BBB
1 message
***** ********* <**********@yahoo.com>
Mon, May 12, 2014 at 3:42 PM
Reply-To: ***** ********* <**********@yahoo.com>
To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>


On Monday, May 12, XXXX X:XX PM, ******** ********* <****************@gmail.com> wrote:
This is in response to complaints by Mrs.*******, owner of property.

On the exterior, torn screens are a result of wear and tear not during our work at the property.

The chimney brick she is referring to that has dropped inside is also from wear and tear and brick that was previously deteriorating, prior to our work at the property. There was no brickwork or chimney work included in our scope of work or brought to our attention at the a time we were installing the new roof.

If there is any exterior damage incurred during tear off, this is typically displayed by old shingles and black tar marks. There are no signs of this on the exterior. We are not aware of having created any damage to the downspout. As a courtesy, we would be willing to replace the downspout extension for her.

The interior damage she is reporting is displayed in the pictures attached as well. There are no signs of current water damage. There is obvious signs of old cracking pain't on the first floor. There are no water staying in the area of peeling paint. Furthermore, this is only on the first floor. There is a full second story beneath the roof which shows no sign of any water damage. Only similar areas of old cracking and peeling paint.

We have provided the homeowner with a warranty of roof workmanship which we will honor. We are not responsible for other items of wear and tear that require up keep by the homeowner that is not the result of any damage when we put the roof on nor is there any evidence there is leaking created by the new roof we installed. This roof was installed a year ago.

Any other questions or complaints regarding this can be directed to me,
******** *********
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: 2) A nail gun was used to install the roof. Many of the nails were overdriven, which means the nails were blown through the shingle mat and could compromise wind resistance.

Considering these two items above are done incorrectly, I'm experiencing torn off shingles from Winter wind/weather, and a new roof needed.

I talked with Gerhardt Construction, representative ***** ****** He refused to consider reimbursements or repairs, instead deferring to my Insurance coverage instead.

The new roofing contractor contacted my insurance company and told them about the faulty installation practices listed above. Consequently, my insurance company refused to cover the loss of shingles. My immediate concern is damages as a result of defective installation of roofing materials $2,450.00. Plus the increase of $200.00 per year on insurance cost.







Initial Business Response
#94490638: ********* *****
1 message
***** ********* <**********@yahoo.com>Sat, Apr 5, 2014 at 5:35 PM
Reply-To: ***** ********* <**********@yahoo.com>
To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>
Dear Ms. Mendez,

Ms. ***** did not afford Gerhardt Roofing the opportunity to inspect or repair her roof prior to this complaint. Instead she told the service man that the work had already been done by someone else. She also claimed that damage was done to her roof because a nail gun was used on it.

Gerhardt roofing did not and has never used nail guns to install any type of roofing. Apparently work was done either before or after Gerhardt had ever worked on her property. Ms. ***** also dismissed the possibility of making an insurance claim due to wind and storm damage. Even though Ms. ***** had already had the work done that she felt she needed, we had offered to meet with her insurance company representative to try to help her recover that cost. She declined.

In any event Gerhardt roofing had nothing to do with any damage caused by a nail gun. Additionally, as stated above, Ms. ***** had work done on her roof before she ever contacted us about a problem. If she believed Gerhardt was responsible for damage caused to her roof, why didn't she call us back in the first place?

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter. I hope this makes clear the true chain of events that transpired in this situation.

Sincerely,

***** *********, President
Gerhardt Roofing

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Well, I'm being called a liar, I do not appreciate a claim that I'm dishonest without proof of dishonesty.

I stand on my claim and submit documents that prove I followed Gerhardt Const., advice that my insurance should take care of it.

To be frank, after my insurance refused to cover the entire cost citing faulty installation. I would not have employed Gerhardt Const., to do the job.



Final Business Response
Fw: #94490638: ********* *****
2 messages
***** ********* <**********@yahoo.com>Wed, Apr 30, 2014 at 11:40 AM
Reply-To: ***** ********* <**********@yahoo.com>
To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>
On Saturday, April 5, XXXX X:XX PM, ***** ********* <**********@yahoo.com> wrote:
Dear Ms. Mendez,

Ms. ***** did not afford Gerhardt Roofing the opportunity to inspect or repair her roof prior to this complaint. Instead she told the service man that the work had already been done by someone else. She also claimed that damage was done to her roof because a nail gun was used on it.

Gerhardt roofing did not and has never used nail guns to install any type of roofing. Apparently work was done either before or after Gerhardt had ever worked on her property. Ms. ***** also dismissed the possibility of making an insurance claim due to wind and storm damage. Even though Ms. ***** had already had the work done that she felt she needed, we had offered to meet with her insurance company representative to try to help her recover that cost. She declined.

In any event Gerhardt roofing had nothing to do with any damage caused by a nail gun. Additionally, as stated above, Ms. ***** had work done on her roof before she ever contacted us about a problem. If she believed Gerhardt was responsible for damage caused to her roof, why didn't she call us back in the first place?

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter. I hope this makes clear the true chain of events that transpired in this situation.

Sincerely,

***** *********, President
Gerhardt Roofing

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

09/27/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Tuck Pointing, Roofing Contractors, Home Builders

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.